Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD WINDSTAR - 2000 FORD WINDSTAR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1665 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD WINDSTAR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD WINDSTAR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD WINDSTAR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment (12) Latches Locks Linkages (52) Service Brakes Electric (51) Trailer Hitches (2)
Child Seat (2) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (214) Unknown Or Other (39)
Communications (5) Exterior Lighting (16) Power Train (277) Steering (74) Vehicle Speed Control (140)
Electrical System (223) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (19) Structure (219) Visibility (71)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel System Gasoline (31) Seats (10) Suspension (358) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (6) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (123) Tires (32) Wheels (22)
Engine And Engine Cooling (96) Interior Lighting (5) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 162
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

7/19/2019 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD WINDSTAR. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH OVER A SPEED BUMP, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND WAS ABLE TO PARK THE VEHICLE IN A NEARBY PARKING LOT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE WAS BENT INWARD TOWARDS THE VEHICLE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V608000 (SUSPENSION). THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S HOME AND THEN TOWED TO SUPERIOR FORD OF PLYMOUTH (9700 56TH AVE N, PLYMOUTH, MN 55442, (877) 735-4755). THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT QUALIFY TO BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 173,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/8/2019 - GARDNER, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD WINDSTAR. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL SOUND COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE REAR AXLE FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V194000 (SUSPENSION). THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 123,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2019 - LIVONIA, MI
I LIKE TO BRING TO YOUR ATTENTION A STILL ONGOING LIFE-THREATENING SAFETY ISSUE WITH THE FORD WINDSTAR 2000 REAR AXLE. AS YOU KNOW, THE WINDSTAR+S WERE RECALLED FOR THIS SAFETY ISSUE IN 2010. MY PARTICULAR CAR WAS REINFORCED WITH 2 BRACKETS UNDER SAFETY RECALL 10S13 AT THE MOST CRITICAL PART OF THE AXLE AND I THINK IN THE AREA WERE THE BRACKETS ARE INSTALLED THE AXLE WILL HOLD UP EVEN WITH A LOT OF CORROSION PRESENT. THE PROBLEM IS THE AXLE IS CRACKING JUST 1 INCH TO THE RIGHT BESIDE THE REINFORCED BRACKET IN MY CASE THE DRIVER+S SIDE OF THE CAR. THE ONLY REASON I FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS, A FEW WEEKS AGO I HAD MY CAR SERVICED AND I DID AN INSPECTION ON THE AXLE AND THAT+S WHEN I FOUND THAT BIG CRACK HALF WAY AROUND THE AXLE!!! THAT SAME DAY I WENT TO MY FORD DEALER (BILL BROWN) TO BRING IT TO THEIR ATTENTION, UNFORTUNATELY FOR THE SERVICE MANAGER THIS WAS NOT A RECALL MATTER ANYMORE AND HE HAD NO INTEREST OF INSPECTING THE AXLE WITHOUT CHARGING ME $ 125.00. NATURALLY I REFUSED TO PAY THAT AMOUNT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/1/2019 - KNOXVILLE, TN
I STARTED HEARING A SOUND FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING ESPECIALLY WHEN TURNING. I INSPECTED UNDER THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE AND FOUND A SIGNIFICANT CRACK IN THE REAR AXLE. I DISCOVERED THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE WITH MY MAKE AND MODEL AND YEAR; HOWEVER, MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. I HAVE PARKED THE VEHICLE IN THE GARAGE AND AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/29/2019 - MONTAGUE, MI
MY 2000 FORD WINDSTAR AXLE JUST BROKE HAD REPAIR DONE WHEN I GOT RECALL NOTICE , VEHICLE WAS STORED IN MY GARAGE FOR THE WINTER WHEN WE CAME BACK IN THE SPRING LEFT REAR TIRE WAS FLAT WHEN CHRYSLER DEALER FIXED FLAT THEY NOTICED BROKEN AXLE

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/25/2019 - KNOXVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD WINDSTAR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR AXLE AND FRAME ASSOCIATED WITH THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE HAD EXTENSIVE RUST AND CORROSION. THERE WAS ALSO A CRACK THAT EXTENDED FROM THE REAR AXLE WHEN THE CONTACT INSPECTED UNDER THE VEHICLE. AN ABNORMAL NOISE WAS HEARD. LANCE CUNNINGHAM FORD (4101 EAST CLINTON HWY, KNOXVILLE, TN 37912, 1-(866) 591-3943) WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO BE SAFELY DRIVEN DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 158,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

3/25/2019 - KNOXVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD WINDSTAR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR AXLE AND FRAME ASSOCIATED WITH THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE HAD EXTENSIVE RUST AND CORROSION. THERE WAS ALSO A CRACK THAT EXTENDED FROM THE REAR AXLE WHEN THE CONTACT INSPECTED UNDER THE VEHICLE. AN ABNORMAL NOISE WAS HEARD. LANCE CUNNINGHAM FORD (4101 EAST CLINTON HWY, KNOXVILLE, TN 37912, 1-(866) 591-3943) WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO BE SAFELY DRIVEN DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 158,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/11/2019 - CHICAGO, IL
MY REAR AXLE BROKE WHILE I WAS DRIVING UNDER NORMAL CONDITIONS ON A CITY STREET. I TWICE GOT THE PREVIOUS RECALL WORK DONE ON THE AXLE (THE "BRACKET FIX" AND THE SUBSEQUENT INSPECTION OF THE "FIX"). I WAS TOLD MY THE DEALER THAT THE AXLE LOOKED GOOD AND I DIDN'T NEED TO REPLACE THE AXLE FOR THE DISCOUNTED $300 PRICE. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW THE NHTSA ALLOWED FORD TO CHARGE MONEY FOR AN ACTUAL FIX AND ONLY OFFER A STOP GAP FIX THAT WOULD EVENTUALLY FAIL ANYWAY AS A SOLUTION. IN MY ATTACHED PICTURE, YOU CAN SEE WHERE THE AXLE FAILED UNDER THE RECALL REPAIR BRACKET. FORTUNATELY, I WAS ON A CITY STREET AND ABLE TO QUICKLY GET MY VAN INTO A PARKING PLACE. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE RESULT COULD HAVE BEEN MUCH WORSE. I AM WRITING MAINLY TO IMPLORE YOUR AGENCY TO NEVER AGAIN ALLOW A PIECEMEAL RECALL LIKE THIS AGAIN. I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION MY AXLE WAS FIXED BY THE PREVIOUS RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AXLE ASSEMBLY

11/15/2018 - UINTAH, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD WINDSTAR. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE REAR AXLE DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO WESTLAND FORD (LOCATED AT 3450 WALL AVE, OGDEN, UT 84401, (801) 629-5500) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR AXLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE REPAIR FEES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY INSPECTED REGARDING NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V193000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 16366106. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 212,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/11/2018 - KAYSVILLE, UT
MY FORD WINDSTAR HAS HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE ABS FOR A COUPLE OF YEARS. IT TURNS ON AND OFF ON THE DASHBOARD RANDOMLY. WHEN THE ABS LIGHT IS ON, THE ABS IS NOT WORKING. WHEN THE ABS LIGHT IS OFF, THE ABS IS WORKING. I HAD MY MECHANIC FIX THIS FOR $850. THREE WEEKS LATER, THE NEW PART STARTED DOING THE SAME THING. I NEVER KNOW HOW TO BRAKE IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION BECAUSE THE ABS IS ON SOME OF THE TIME AND OFF SOME OF THE TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 162
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds