Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA PROTEGE - 2000 MAZDA PROTEGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda North American Operations

There are 101 complaints filed for the 2000 MAZDA PROTEGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 MAZDA PROTEGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 MAZDA PROTEGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (8) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (6) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Seats (5) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (33) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Tires (7) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/10/2018 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
I DROVE THE CAR FOR 2 MILES AND THE LEFT UNDERSIDE OF THE ENGINE CAUGHT FIRE, NOW THE ENGINE IS DEAD AND IN NEED OF A NEW ENGINE?

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/5/2014 - CULLMAN, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 MAZDA PROTEGE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED INADVERTENTLY AND WITHOUT WARNING. NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS MERGED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD SAFELY AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/13/2012 - PHILADELPHIA , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 MAZDA PROTEGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ENGINE TOOK A LONG TIME TO START UP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER CONTROL MODULE WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 138,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/6/2012 - GARYVILLE, LA
THE LEFT FRONT SEAT BELT WOULD NOT RELEASE. MY SPOUSE SPENT FIFTEEN MINUTES TRYING TO GET IT UNBUCKLED AND POPPED A BLOOD VESSEL IN HER THUMB TRYING TO RELEASE IT. GOING TO REPLACE IT AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS. WILL CONTACT DEALER TO SEE IF IT CAN BE WARRANTIED. THEY SHOULD, IT IS A SAFETY ITEM!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

1/25/2011 - HOUMA, LA
PASSENGER VEHICLES LEFT SIDE REAR BRAKE HOSES DAMAGED, BRAKE FLUID LEAKAGE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/25/2010 - LIVERMORE, CA
THE DIM LIGHTS WENT OUT AND THE BRIGHT LIGHT INDICATOR CAME ON. FORTUNATELY THE BRIGHT LIGHTS WORKED, OR I WOULD HAVE BEEN DRIVING WITHOUT LIGHTS. THE TURN SIGNAL/LIGHT CONTROL WAND WAS REPLACED. ABOUT TWO MONTHS LATER THE PROBLEM REPEATED. IT WAS LATE WITHOUT MUCH TRAFFIC AND I DROVE HOME FOR 30 MILES WITH ONLY BRIGHT LIGHTS. THIS TIME I TOOK THE CAR TO THE MAZDA DEALER. THE WIRE CONTROLLING THE LIGHTS HAD OVER HEATED WHICH CAUSED THE WAND TO BURNOUT AND A WIRE CONNECTOR TO WARP. A NEW WIRE WAS THREADED FROM THE CONNECTOR THROUGH THE FIREWALL TO THE CONTROL WAND. THE LIGHTS ARE NOW WORKING.

View Details

TIRES

5/17/2010 - ORLANDO, FL
ON MAY 12, 2010 MY SON CALLED ME AT MY PHONE TO ADVISED ME THAT AS HE WAS DRIVING HIS 2000 MAZDA PROTEGE AND WITHOUT ANY REASON HIS FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE GAVE UP ALL AROUND THE OUTSIDE SIDE CENTER OF THE TIRE MAKING A BLOWOUT NOISE AND WENT FLAT. HE WENT TO A TIRE SERVICES CENTER AND THERE HE WAS INFORMED THAT THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO TO REPAIR THE TIRE AND ALSO THEY RECOMMENDED HIM TO CHANGE ALL THE TIRES (KUMHO SOLUS HP/4/PLUS-P195/55//15. I JUST BOUGHT TWO OF THEM IN DECEMBER. I WROTE TO KHOMO TIRES WEB-SITE ASKING IF THERE IS ANY RECALL FOR THE TIRES AND WHAT KIND OF GUARANTEE IS THERE. I NEVER GOT A REPLY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/15/2009 - LACEY, WA
MY 2000 MAZDA PROTEGE LX HAS HAD SOME "MAJOR SURGERY" LATELY. ABOUT A YEAR AGO (EARLY 2008), WHEN BACKING UP ESPECIALLY, THE CAR WOULD MAKE A STRESS THEN POP NOISE ON THE RIGHT SIDE AND TOWARDS THE MIDDLE UNDERSIDE OF THE CAR. I WAS TOLD THIS AND THAT. I HAD NEW REAR STRUTS PUT ON, ALIGNMENTS, TIGHTENING OF THE SUSPENSION, ETC. SOME OF THESE WORKED TEMPORARILY. MY CAR WAS INVOLVED IN AN "ACCIDENT" AT THE END OF DECEMBER 2008. WE HAD BAD SNOW AND ICE AND MY CAR'S LEFT FRONT TIRE HIT AN ICE RUT PRETTY GOOD. AFTER THAT, MY CAR POPPED AND POPPED. TURNS OUT, THE ENTIRE STEERING RACK AND EVERYTHING THAT GOES WITH IT HAD TO BE REPLACED. WHEN I DROVE THE CAR BACK TO WORK AFTER THE REPAIR, THE STICK SHIFT TURNED TO JELLO. I BARELY MADE IT BACK TO THE REPAIR SHOP WHERE IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE BUSHING HAD COME APART. WELL, NOW I HAVE BEEN BATTLING A CREAKY CLUTCH PEDDLE. WITH EACH RELEASE, IT CREAKS LIKE AN OLD HINGE AS IF IT'S TRYING TO GET BACK INTO POSITION. IT'S GETTING WORSE. I TALKED TO MECHANICS AND READ ON-LINE ABOUT IT. SOME SAY IT COULD BE THE FLUID RESERVOIR (HOW EMPTY IT IS) OR THIS SPRING THAT IS RUBBING ON ANOTHER COMPONENT. THE PEDAL FEELS OKAY, IT'S NOT LOOSE. I JUST NOW WONDER IF THIS IS COINCIDENTAL DUE TO THE REPAIR OF THE STEERING RACK AND WEAK BUSHING OF THE STICK SHIFT. AND FOR THE RECORD, THE MANUAL IN THE CAR IS FOR AN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION, NOT A 5SPD. I BOUGHT THE CAR USED IN 2001 WITH 24,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

11/21/2006 - N. WINDHAM, CT
I HAD BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT IN EARLY 2006 THAT WAS REPORTED TO THE POLICE AND WHEN I APPLIED MY BRAKES, THEY WERE NOT EFFECTIVE. I THOUGHT IT WAS THE TYPE OF TIRE I HAD ON MY CAR SO ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO I SPENT 600 FOR TOP OF THE LINE TIRES. ON 11/17/2006, I WAS BEHIND A CAR THAT SLAMMED ON THEIR BRAKES AND WHEN I APPLIED MINE THEY DID NOT SLOW THE CAR DOWN SO I KEPT PUMPING THEM SO HARD I BRUISED MY FOOT AND CRASHED INTO THE PERSON IN FRONT OF ME TOTALING MY CAR. I HAD MY SEAT BELT ON BUT SINCE THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT THE BRAKES WERE BEING APPLIED, THE BELT REMAINED LOOSE AND MY HEAD SMASHED INTO THE WINDSHIELD SHATTERING IT. AFTER GIVING MY INFO TO THE DRIVER I HIT AND MAKING SURE THAT I WAS ALRIGHT, HE LEFT AND SAID NOT TO WORRY AS THE DAMAGE TO HIS CAR WAS MINIMAL AND HE COULD FIX IT HIMSELF. AN OFFICER DID ARRIVE AND NOTED THAT MY TIRE MARKS WERE EXTREMELY FAINT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE AND ALMOST UNDETECTABLE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WHICH SUPPORTED THE BRAKE FAILURE. I DON'T KNOW WHO I NEED TO CONTACT TO EXAMINE MY CAR TO DETERMINE THE BRAKE FAILURE BUT I NEED TO DO THIS BEFORE MY INSURANCE COMPANY CLAIMS THE CAR. ANY ASSISTANCE OR DIRECTION WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/6/2006 - KINGSPORT, TN
I JUST SPENT 2200 ON REPAIRS TO MY TRANSMISSION. MY VEHICLE HAD BEEN LUNGING FORWARD WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND THE REPAIR SHOP THOUGHT IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION. THEY FOUND MAJOR DAMAGE TO THE TRANSMISSION. IT WAS FIXED AND NOW MY VEHICLE IS LUNGING FORWARD AGAIN. IT JUST STARTED AGAIN TODAY. IF I HAD BEEN DRIVING TOO CLOSE TO SOMEONE, I WOULD HAVE HIT THEM. MAZDA NEEDS TO STEP UP AND FIX THIS AND DO A RECALL. NOW I HAVE TO GO AND LET THE SHOP TRY TO SEE WHY THIS IS GOING ON. I MAY BE OUT MORE MONEY. I HATE THIS CAR AND I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND MAZDA. AND JUST NOTE THIS VEHICLE ONLY HAS 59000 MILES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds