Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 155 complaints filed for the 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (2) Power Train (8) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electrical System (25) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (6) Visibility (8)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (19) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (51) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/16/2009 - TIOGA, PA
I HAVE A 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA THAT HAS OVER 100,000 MILES ON IT THAT JERKS AND SHAKES DUE TO A PROBLEM WITH THE NUMBER 4 CYLINDER. HAVE HAD SEVERAL DIAGNOSTICS CHECKS DONE AND HAVE REPLACED ALL EXTERNAL PARTS THAT WOULD CAUSE THE NUMBER 4 CYLINDER TO NOT FIRE CORRECTLY AND BELIEVE THAT IT IS PROBABLY THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE IT CAUSES THE CAR TO STALL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

10/29/2009 - ACWORTH, GA
INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET FAILURE CAUSING IDLE TO FLUCTUATE, INTERMITTENT STALLING 2000 ALTIMA WITH 57,000 MILES, THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT DUE TO THE EGR PIPE RUNNING TO CLOSE TO CYLINDER 4 AREA OF THE MANIFOLD. THIS IS HAPPENING TO ALL ALTIMAS 1998-2001. NISSAN SHOULD REPAIR AS RECALL, THIS COULD CAUSE ACCIDENTS DUE TO STALLING. THIS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED AND NISSAN SHOULD HONOR ALL THE REPAIR COSTS TO ALL AFFECTED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/22/2009 - HOLLAND, PA
2000 NISSAN ALTIMA, CAR IDLES ROUGHLY AND VIOLENTLY SHAKES AS IF IT WERE ABOUT TO STALL CAUSING THE CAR TO JERK EVEN WITH THE BRAKES ON. THE CAR HAS BECOME SO BEAT-UP BY THIS, IT NO LONGER HAS ANY POWER TO IT. RESEARCH SHOWS THIS IS THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET AVERAGING 800 DOLLARS IN REPAIR. BECAUSE I DO NOT HAVE THIS MONEY, I CAN'T FIX MY CAR MEANING I CAN'T GET TO CLASS, NOR GET TO WORK TO MAKE MONEY. WEBSITES SUCH AS THIS (HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/NISSAN/ALTIMA/2000/ENGINE/INTAKE_MANIFOLD_GASKET_LEAK_CAR_SHAKES.SHTML) SHOW THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WITH THIS PROBLEM. NISSAN SHOULD BE HONORING A DEFECT SUCH AS THIS INSTEAD OF RAKING THE MONEY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2009 - SILVER SPRING, MD
THE DASHBOARD DISPLAY ON MY 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA GXE FREEZES INTERMITTENTLY. THE ODOMETER GOES BLANK AND THE TACHOMETER, SPEEDOMETER, HEAT SENSORS, ETC EITHER FREEZE IN PLACE OR DROP TO ZERO. THERE HAS BEEN NO DAMAGE, BUT THE SHOP CANNOT SEEM TO DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

6/13/2009 - CHICAGO, IL
THE GAUGES ALL GO DEAD IN THE DASH ON MY 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA. THIS IS REALLY VERY SCARY AS I HAVE REALLY NO IDEA HOW FAST I'M GOING AND JUST TRY AND GO WITH THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC WHEN THIS HAPPENS. LIVING IN A VERY BUSY CITY AND TAKING THE EXPRESSWAY WHEN NECESSARY POSES A THREAT TO MYSELF AND OTHER DRIVERS. I HAVE HAD TO PULL OVER AND LET THE CAR COOL AND THEN COMPLETE MY TRIP SO AS TO HAVE WORKING GAUGES. NO NISSAN DEALER OR MECHANIC HAS BEEN ABLE TO OFFER A SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM AND BASED ON MY RESEARCH THIS SEEMS TO BE A WIDESPREAD ISSUE WITH NISSAN. ALSO, THE O2 SENSORS AND THE GASKETS ARE BAD ON THIS CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/13/2009 - CHICAGO, IL
THE GAUGES ALL GO DEAD IN THE DASH ON MY 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA. THIS IS REALLY VERY SCARY AS I HAVE REALLY NO IDEA HOW FAST I'M GOING AND JUST TRY AND GO WITH THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC WHEN THIS HAPPENS. LIVING IN A VERY BUSY CITY AND TAKING THE EXPRESSWAY WHEN NECESSARY POSES A THREAT TO MYSELF AND OTHER DRIVERS. I HAVE HAD TO PULL OVER AND LET THE CAR COOL AND THEN COMPLETE MY TRIP SO AS TO HAVE WORKING GAUGES. NO NISSAN DEALER OR MECHANIC HAS BEEN ABLE TO OFFER A SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM AND BASED ON MY RESEARCH THIS SEEMS TO BE A WIDESPREAD ISSUE WITH NISSAN. ALSO, THE O2 SENSORS AND THE GASKETS ARE BAD ON THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/12/2009 - HAMPSTEAD, NC
MY 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA IDLES ROUGH AND SOUNDS LIKE THE ENGINE IS COUGHING. MY MECHANIC RAN A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND SAID CYLINDER 4 WAS MISFIRING AND THE ONLY WAY TO CORRECT IT WAS TO CHANGE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET. THE PRICE: $1200. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM BECAUSE I SEE THE SAME COMPLAINTS FROM 98-01 ALTIMA OWNERS. THE MECHANIC, WHO WORKS FOR NISSAN, SAID THIS WAS COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS. HE ALSO SAID CHANGING THE GASKET WILL FIX THE PROBLEM BUT THE GASKET WILL LEAK AGAIN AFTER ABOUT A YEAR OR SO. WHY ISN'T NISSAN FORCED TO RECALL THIS ISSUE? SOMEONE NEEDS TO DO THEIR JOB AND LOOK AT THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/1/2009 - SOMERVILLE, MA
AT 90K MILES, THE ENGINE IS LOUDER AND VIBRATES DURING ACCELERATION AND WHEN STOPPING AT A RED LIGHT. THERE IS MOTOR OIL CONSTANTLY LEAKING FROM THE MANIFOLD GASKET. ALL SPARK PLUGS WERE REPLACED AND OIL CHANGED, BUT THIS DIDN'T HELP. IT IS MOST LIKELY THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET OR SOME OTHER GASKET UNDER THE MANIFOLD COVER.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/23/2009 - REDLANDS, CA
I OWN A 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA GLE, AND I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING WHAT MANY OTHERS WITH THE SAME VEHICLE ARE ALSO EXPERIENCING. MY CAR IDLES VERY ROUGH, AND IT IS STEMMING FROM AN ISSUE THAT NISSAN WILL NOT OWN UP TO. THERE ARE OVER 500 REPORTED CASES WITH THE SAME ISSUE, AS WELL AS CASES REPORTED DIRECTLY TO YOUR ATTENTION. AND YET, THERE IS NO RECALL. YOU CAN CHECK YOU RECORDS FOR THE SAME ISSUE IF YOU WOULD LIKE: #10167168 #10145161 #10100639 #10163901 I WOULD LIKE A RESPONSE PLEASE, AND THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/21/2009 - CENTEREACH, NY
SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON. CAR CONSTANTLY JERKS WHEN IDLING AND SOMETIMES CUTS OUT. SPENT $55 ON A SYSTEM DIAGNOSTIC TEST. INTAKE VALVE GASKET FAILURE. CAUSING IDLE TO FLUCTUATE, INTERMITTENT STALLING 2000 ALTIMA WITH 37500 MILES, THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT DUE TO THE EGR PIPE RUNNING TO CLOSE TO CYLINDER 4 AREA OF THE MANIFOLD. THIS IS HAPPENING TO ALL ALTIMAS 1998-2001. NISSAN SHOULD REPAIR AS RECALL, THIS COULD CAUSE ACCIDENTS DUE TO STALLING. THIS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED. REPAIRS ARE EST. AT $850.00. ACCORDING TO THE NISSAN ADVISOR THE LIFETIME OF THE GASKET SHOULD EXCEED 100000 MILES. NISSAN HAS A PROGRAM TO CORRECT ANY UNUSUAL DEFECTS AFTER THE WARRANTY IS EXPIRED BUT THEY REFUSE TO HONOR THEIR AGREEMENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds