Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 157 complaints filed for the 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment (2) Power Train (9) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (6) Visibility (8)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (19) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (51) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

4/8/2010 - PANORAMA CITY, CA
2000 NISSAN ALTIMA GASKET MANIFOLD INTAKE THE CONSUMER STATED HE FIRST DISCOVERED A PROBLEM WHEN HE TOOK OFF THE INTAKE MANIFOLD AND CHECKED THE CONDITION OF THE GASKET. THE SIDE WITH THE LEAK WAS AT CYLINDER 4. IT WAS HARD AND BRITTLE AND COULD CRACK AND SNAP VERY EASILY. THE CLOSER THE GASKET WAS TO THE NUMBER 1 CYLINDER IT REMAINED MORE PLIABLE AND WOULD HAVE MORE FLEX INSTEAD OF JUST CRACKING LIKE HARD PLASTIC. OBVIOUSLY, THE GASKET SEEMED TO HOLD UP BETTER WHEN IT WAS CLOSER TO THE CYLINDER 1 BECAUSE IT WAS COOLER THERE. THE CONSUMER BELIEVED THE GASKET WAS BEING EXPOSED TO MORE HEAT THAN IT WAS DESIGNED TO WITHSTAND.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

12/17/2009 - LAKE VILLA , IL
I WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND ALL SEEMED NORMAL, UNTIL I PULLED INTO A GAS STATION TO REFUEL. SURPRISINGLY I COULD NOT GET MORE THAN 1/4 GALLON INTO THE TANK BEFORE THE PUMP KICKED OFF AND GASOLINE SPIT OUT OF THE FILLER NECK AND ALL OVER THE GROUND. MY FUEL GAUGE WAS AT ABOUT 1/4 TANK, SO I KNEW I NEEDED ABOUT 11 GALLONS. I CONTINUED TO PUT FUEL INTO THE TANK AT A VERY SLOW RATE, AND THE PUMP KEPT KICKING OFF AND FUEL SPITTING OUT OF THE TANK FILLER NECK. I FINALLY GOT 8 GALLONS INTO THE TANK AND SO I STOPPED THERE. SHORTLY AFTER LEAVING THE GAS STATION MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I GOT HOME AND HOOK UP MY CODE READER, AND IT RETURNED A CODE P1441. SOME PROBLEM WITH THE EVAP SYSTEM. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT NISSAN DEALERSHIPS HAVE A SERVICE BULLETIN ABOUT THIS PROBLEMS DATING BACK QUITE A FEW YEARS, BUT DO NOT WANT TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM FREE OF CHARGE. DEALERS WANT ABOUT $100 TO ANALYZE THE PROBLEM AND ABOUT $400 TO REPAIR THE CAR. I BELIEVE THIS COULD BE A BIG SAFETY ISSUE WHEN PEOPLE WITH A 2000 ALTIMA TRY TO FUEL UP THEIR CAR AND GASOLINE KEEPS SPITTING OUT OF THE FILLER NECK OF THE GAS TANK.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/14/2009 - ROSLYN, PA
THIS MORNING THE CAR WAS WARMING UP IN FRONT OF OUR HOUSE ; IT EXPLODED AND BURNED DOWN; THE FRONT IS COMPLETELY MELTED; WE WERE LUCKY NOT TO HAVE ENTERED THE CAR YET - FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND MANAGED TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE BEFORE IT REACHED THE TANK - OTHER WISE WE WOULD ALL BE DEAD AND OUR HOUSE GONE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/16/2009 - TIOGA, PA
I HAVE A 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA THAT HAS OVER 100,000 MILES ON IT THAT JERKS AND SHAKES DUE TO A PROBLEM WITH THE NUMBER 4 CYLINDER. HAVE HAD SEVERAL DIAGNOSTICS CHECKS DONE AND HAVE REPLACED ALL EXTERNAL PARTS THAT WOULD CAUSE THE NUMBER 4 CYLINDER TO NOT FIRE CORRECTLY AND BELIEVE THAT IT IS PROBABLY THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE IT CAUSES THE CAR TO STALL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

10/29/2009 - ACWORTH, GA
INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET FAILURE CAUSING IDLE TO FLUCTUATE, INTERMITTENT STALLING 2000 ALTIMA WITH 57,000 MILES, THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT DUE TO THE EGR PIPE RUNNING TO CLOSE TO CYLINDER 4 AREA OF THE MANIFOLD. THIS IS HAPPENING TO ALL ALTIMAS 1998-2001. NISSAN SHOULD REPAIR AS RECALL, THIS COULD CAUSE ACCIDENTS DUE TO STALLING. THIS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED AND NISSAN SHOULD HONOR ALL THE REPAIR COSTS TO ALL AFFECTED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/22/2009 - HOLLAND, PA
2000 NISSAN ALTIMA, CAR IDLES ROUGHLY AND VIOLENTLY SHAKES AS IF IT WERE ABOUT TO STALL CAUSING THE CAR TO JERK EVEN WITH THE BRAKES ON. THE CAR HAS BECOME SO BEAT-UP BY THIS, IT NO LONGER HAS ANY POWER TO IT. RESEARCH SHOWS THIS IS THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET AVERAGING 800 DOLLARS IN REPAIR. BECAUSE I DO NOT HAVE THIS MONEY, I CAN'T FIX MY CAR MEANING I CAN'T GET TO CLASS, NOR GET TO WORK TO MAKE MONEY. WEBSITES SUCH AS THIS (HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/NISSAN/ALTIMA/2000/ENGINE/INTAKE_MANIFOLD_GASKET_LEAK_CAR_SHAKES.SHTML) SHOW THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WITH THIS PROBLEM. NISSAN SHOULD BE HONORING A DEFECT SUCH AS THIS INSTEAD OF RAKING THE MONEY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2009 - SILVER SPRING, MD
THE DASHBOARD DISPLAY ON MY 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA GXE FREEZES INTERMITTENTLY. THE ODOMETER GOES BLANK AND THE TACHOMETER, SPEEDOMETER, HEAT SENSORS, ETC EITHER FREEZE IN PLACE OR DROP TO ZERO. THERE HAS BEEN NO DAMAGE, BUT THE SHOP CANNOT SEEM TO DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

6/13/2009 - CHICAGO, IL
THE GAUGES ALL GO DEAD IN THE DASH ON MY 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA. THIS IS REALLY VERY SCARY AS I HAVE REALLY NO IDEA HOW FAST I'M GOING AND JUST TRY AND GO WITH THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC WHEN THIS HAPPENS. LIVING IN A VERY BUSY CITY AND TAKING THE EXPRESSWAY WHEN NECESSARY POSES A THREAT TO MYSELF AND OTHER DRIVERS. I HAVE HAD TO PULL OVER AND LET THE CAR COOL AND THEN COMPLETE MY TRIP SO AS TO HAVE WORKING GAUGES. NO NISSAN DEALER OR MECHANIC HAS BEEN ABLE TO OFFER A SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM AND BASED ON MY RESEARCH THIS SEEMS TO BE A WIDESPREAD ISSUE WITH NISSAN. ALSO, THE O2 SENSORS AND THE GASKETS ARE BAD ON THIS CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/13/2009 - CHICAGO, IL
THE GAUGES ALL GO DEAD IN THE DASH ON MY 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA. THIS IS REALLY VERY SCARY AS I HAVE REALLY NO IDEA HOW FAST I'M GOING AND JUST TRY AND GO WITH THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC WHEN THIS HAPPENS. LIVING IN A VERY BUSY CITY AND TAKING THE EXPRESSWAY WHEN NECESSARY POSES A THREAT TO MYSELF AND OTHER DRIVERS. I HAVE HAD TO PULL OVER AND LET THE CAR COOL AND THEN COMPLETE MY TRIP SO AS TO HAVE WORKING GAUGES. NO NISSAN DEALER OR MECHANIC HAS BEEN ABLE TO OFFER A SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM AND BASED ON MY RESEARCH THIS SEEMS TO BE A WIDESPREAD ISSUE WITH NISSAN. ALSO, THE O2 SENSORS AND THE GASKETS ARE BAD ON THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/12/2009 - HAMPSTEAD, NC
MY 2000 NISSAN ALTIMA IDLES ROUGH AND SOUNDS LIKE THE ENGINE IS COUGHING. MY MECHANIC RAN A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND SAID CYLINDER 4 WAS MISFIRING AND THE ONLY WAY TO CORRECT IT WAS TO CHANGE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET. THE PRICE: $1200. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM BECAUSE I SEE THE SAME COMPLAINTS FROM 98-01 ALTIMA OWNERS. THE MECHANIC, WHO WORKS FOR NISSAN, SAID THIS WAS COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS. HE ALSO SAID CHANGING THE GASKET WILL FIX THE PROBLEM BUT THE GASKET WILL LEAK AGAIN AFTER ABOUT A YEAR OR SO. WHY ISN'T NISSAN FORCED TO RECALL THIS ISSUE? SOMEONE NEEDS TO DO THEIR JOB AND LOOK AT THIS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds