Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC MONTANA - 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 230 complaints filed for the 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Engine And Engine Cooling (73) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (6)
Child Seat (4) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (23) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (16) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (16) Structure (33) Visibility (21)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

10/24/2004 - SALEM, OH
LOWER INTAKE GASKET FAILED. MDEALERSHIP REPAIRED AT MY COST SHORTLY AFTER, THE CAM SHAFT BROKE. I WILL NOT PAY TO FIX.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

10/22/2004 - LAKE VILLA, IL
WHEN DRIVING ANY SPEED REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT AND SEPARATED. CONSUMER PULLED OVER AND CHANGED THE TIRE. DEALERSHIP WAS NOTIFIED, BUT DID NOT RESOLVE THE PROBLEM. FIRESTONE, INSIGNIA, 21570/R15.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

9/23/2004 - TIPP CITY, OH
I READ OF YOUR INVESTIGATION IN AUTOMOTIVE NEWS. MY 12 YR OLD DAUGHTER'S WRIST WAS BROKEN LAST SUMMER WHILE ATTEMPTING TO OPEN THE DOOR OF OUR 2000 MONTANA. SHE GRABBED THE HANDLE FROM INSIDE AND AS THE DOOR MOVED OPEN IT BENT HER WRIST BACKWARD. IT DIDN'T STOP, DESPITE THE RESISTANCE. IT WAS BROKEN IN THE GROWTH PLATE AND DID NOT REQUIRE A CAST BUT WAS SPLINTED FOR 2 WEEKS. PE04064.PCO

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: WARNING LIGHT/DEVICES

9/18/2004 - FERNLEY, NV
SRS BAG LIGHT STEADILY ON AND SEAT BELT LIGHT MAN ON DASH CHIMES FOR NO REASON AND BLINKS ON/OFF. TOOK IN TO PONTIAC 6/18/04, THEY FIXED WIRING HARNESS THAT DAY (UNCLEAR ON INVOICE) WE JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE IN MAY 2004. A FEW WEEKS LATER WE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AND TOOK IT BACK IN, JUST TO HEAR THAT IT WAS A CLUSTER THIS TIME, THEY CLAIM THEY'RE WERE TOYS UNDER THE SEAT AND A PLUG WAS BROKEN BUT THE ONLY TOYS IN THERE WERE LITTLE HOT WHEELS. SO, THEY PUT IN A NEW CLUSTER AND HERE WE ARE THREE WEEKS LATER AND I AM STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE SEAT BELT MAN LIGHT AND THE SRS BAG LIGHT ON THE DASH. PONTIAC WILL LOOK AT IT AGAIN, THEY SAY, BUT I CANNOT SEE THAT ONE PART AFTER ANOTHER NEEDING TO BE REPLACED EVERY TWO WEEKS AND THE OUTCOME IS ALWAYS THE SAME WITH THE SAME ITEM DEFAULTING(SEAT BELT GUY LIGHT/SRS AIR BAG LIGHT ON DASH STAYS ON).

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

9/18/2004 - FERNLEY, NV
SRS BAG LIGHT STEADILY ON AND SEAT BELT LIGHT MAN ON DASH CHIMES FOR NO REASON AND BLINKS ON/OFF. TOOK IN TO PONTIAC 6/18/04, THEY FIXED WIRING HARNESS THAT DAY (UNCLEAR ON INVOICE) WE JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE IN MAY 2004. A FEW WEEKS LATER WE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AND TOOK IT BACK IN, JUST TO HEAR THAT IT WAS A CLUSTER THIS TIME, THEY CLAIM THEY'RE WERE TOYS UNDER THE SEAT AND A PLUG WAS BROKEN BUT THE ONLY TOYS IN THERE WERE LITTLE HOT WHEELS. SO, THEY PUT IN A NEW CLUSTER AND HERE WE ARE THREE WEEKS LATER AND I AM STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE SEAT BELT MAN LIGHT AND THE SRS BAG LIGHT ON THE DASH. PONTIAC WILL LOOK AT IT AGAIN, THEY SAY, BUT I CANNOT SEE THAT ONE PART AFTER ANOTHER NEEDING TO BE REPLACED EVERY TWO WEEKS AND THE OUTCOME IS ALWAYS THE SAME WITH THE SAME ITEM DEFAULTING(SEAT BELT GUY LIGHT/SRS AIR BAG LIGHT ON DASH STAYS ON).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

8/31/2004 - OCEANSIDE, CA
I WOULD LIKE TO REPORT A POSSIBLE MANUFACTURE DEFECT OF MY 2000 PONTIAC MONTANA. THERE WAS ELECTRICAL DAMAGE WITHIN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT DUE TO THE FACTORY (WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS ASSEMBLED) MISS ROUTING OF THE HARNESS FROM THE POSITIVE CABLE OF THE BATTERY. THE HARNESS WAS FOUND, BY THE MECHANIC, TO BE ROUTED OVER THE AIR CONDITIONER, WHICH IN-TIME BURNED THROUGH TO THE BARE WIRES, WHICH IN-TURN SHORTED OUT CAUSING DAMAGE TO THE PCM AND BATTERY PLUS BURNED OUT MOST OF THE WIRING CONNECTED TO THE POSITIVE CABLE OF THE BATTERY. ACCORDING TO THE MECHANIC WHO PREFORMED THE REPAIRS, THIS PROBLEM APPEARS TO BE A MANUFACTURE DEFECT AND CONSIDERING THE YEAR AND MILEAGE OF THE VEHICLE THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPEN. THE PCM, BATTERY AND WIRING HAD TO BE REPLACED, WITH NEW HARNESS; IN ADDITION THE MECHANIC HAD TO RE-ROUTE THE HARNESS UNDER THE ENGINE IN ORDER TO PREVENT IT FROM BURNING UP AGAIN IN THE FUTURE. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AND HAD TO BE TOWED TO A LOCAL PONTIAC DEALER. TOTAL REPAIR BILL $823.00 NOT INCLUDING TOWING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

8/24/2004 - SPRING VALLEY, OH
INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET LEAKING COOLANT. REPLACEMENT OF INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET, COOLING SYSTEM FLUSH, OIL AND FILTER CHANGE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

8/9/2004 - AMORY, MS
MY 2000 MONTANA VAN WOULD NOT START AT 18000 MILES AFTER TOWING TWICE TO THE DEALER FOUND CONNECTOR TO FUEL PUMP BAD. THEN AT 20000 MILES WIRE HARNESS TO FUEL PUMP. THEN AT 25000 MILES FUEL PUMP WENT OUT. NOW AT 55000 MILE THE VAN SUDDENLY STALLED DRIVING AT 65 MILES AN HOUR MAKING STEERING AND BRAKING DIFFICULT. DEALERSHIP FOUND FUEL PUMP OUT. THE LAST TIME THE BILL WAS 870.00 TOTAL. GM HAS SAID THAT THEY WILL PAY 50% OF THE REPAIRS MINUS TOWING. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A DEFECT THAT HAS BEEN APPARENT SINCE THE BEGINNING AND THAT THEY SHOULD PAY FOR THE ENTIRE COST OF THE REPAIR AND TOW. THIS IS ALSO A SAFETY PROBLEM BECAUSE MY WIFE NEARLY LOST CONTROL OF THE VAN WHEN THE PUMP WENT OUT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/5/2004 - NEW HOPE, MN
HEAD GASKET FAILURE, WHICH ALOT OF OTHER PEOPLE WITH 2000 PONTIAC MONTANAS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT ALSO...GM IS DOING NOTHING ABOUT THIS AND THEY KNOW ABOUT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

4/21/2004 - DALLAS, TX
VEHICLES STALLED AT ANY SPEED WITHOUT WARNING. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, AND DEALER SAID THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE FUEL PUMP. THE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED TWICE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds