Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN LS - 2000 SATURN LS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 407 complaints filed for the 2000 SATURN LS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 SATURN LS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 SATURN LS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (3) Tires (21)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (73) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (62) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Power Train (26) Steering (39) Visibility (15)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (4) Structure (28) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (142) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (7) Suspension (28)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/26/2017 - MIDDLETOWN, OH
NOTHING, THANK GOD HAD HAPPENED YET, BUT IT WILL IN A MATTER OF TIME, HOW MUCH TIME I HAVE NO IDEA. THE PROBLEM IS THE MOTOR CRADLE OR FRAME IS RUSTING OUT, THE FRONT WHERE THE MOTOR SETS HAD WHOLES RUSTED IN IT, THE WHOLE THING IS RUSTING AWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

8/24/2016 - LA VERNE, CA
REF: 07V519 I AM FILLING THIS COMPLAINT CONCERNING MY 2000 SATURN LS1 2.2L ENGINE. WHILE DRIVING ON A SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA FREEWAY IN JULY 2008 MY TIMING CHAIN BROKE. THIS CAUSED US TO TRY AND GET TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY FROM THE LEFT SIDE OF THE FREEWAY, A VERY NERVE-RACKING SITUATION. AFTER TALKING TO THE DEALERSHIP AND SEVERAL INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOPS I ELECTED TO REPLACE THE ENGINE INSTEAD OF FIXING THE TIMING CHAIN AND THE OTHER DAMAGE THAT WAS CAUSED IN THE BROKEN TIMING CHAIN. THE REPAIR WAS COMPLETED BY CLAREMONT AUTO CENTER IN POMONA CA ON 14/JULY/2008. IF NECESSARY I SHOULD BE ABLE TO GET A COPY OF THE REPAIR BILL.

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2016 - FORT MEYERS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LS. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE RANDOMLY STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT THAT THERE WAS AN INTERNAL FAILURE WHERE THE TIMING BELT PREMATURELY FRACTURED INTO THE MOTOR AND FRACTURED THE VALVES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL

5/9/2016 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LS. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE TURN SIGNAL DID NOT AUTOMATICALLY DISENGAGE. THE CONTACT HAD TO MANUALLY DISENGAGE THE SIGNAL. THERE WAS NO WARNING INDICATOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TURN SIGNAL CANCEL CAM ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,704.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/17/2015 - DUXBURY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED AN ABNORMAL NOISE FROM BOTH THE FRONT PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDES OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS CORROSION AROUND ALL OF THE WHEEL WELLS AND THE SUBFRAME NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/17/2015 - DUXBURY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED AN ABNORMAL NOISE FROM BOTH THE FRONT PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDES OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS CORROSION AROUND ALL OF THE WHEEL WELLS AND THE SUBFRAME NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/24/2015 - AURORA, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN LS. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL INTO THE VEHICLE AND THE HIGH BEAMS ACTIVATED WITHOUT BEING PROMPTED. THE HIGH BEAMS FAILED TO TURN OFF CAUSING THE CONTACT TO DETACH THE HEADLIGHTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 152,680.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/13/2015 - MAPLE SHADE, NJ
TOOK CAR TO HAVE STRUTS REPLACED AND WAS TOLD THE SUB FRAME HAD RUSTED AWAY TO MAKE THE CAR UNSAFE TO DRIVE,ALWAYS CHECKED THE BODY AND FRAME YEARLY FOR RUST ON CHASSIS AND UNI BODY SO THERE WOULD NOT BE ANY POTENTIAL PROBLEM S. I LIVE IN THE NORTHEAST PART OF THE USA.. THE PROBLEM WITH THE SUB FRAME IS IT RUSTS FROM THE INSIDE OUT SO IT MAKES INSPECTION EXTREMELY HARD TO SEE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/3/2014 - OZARK, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 SATURN L SERIES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE THE DRIVER INADVERTENTLY PULLED THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION AND THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/19/2014 - FERN PARK, FL
I WAS DRIVING A 98 TOYOTA TACOMA ON A 45 MPH HIGHWAY WHEN A PEDESTRIAN IN THE ROAD CAUSED ALL LANES OF TRAFFIC TO SUDDENLY STOP. I WAS UNABLE TO STOP IN TIME AND WENT INTO THE MEDIAN TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT. I WAS UNABLE TO KEEP MY VEHICLE IN THE MEDIAN AND STRUCK THE 2000 SATURN COUPE DRIVERS SIDE FENDER TO DRIVERS SIDE FENDER. UPON IMPACT THE BODY OF THE SATURN BURST INTO 12 TO 14 INCH SHARDS OF WHATEVER THE BODY IS MADE OF, (PERHAPS FIBERGLASS OR SOMETHING SIMILAR). ONE SUCH SHARD SHATTERED THE DRIVERS WINDOW AND IMPALED ME THROUGH MY LEFT SHOULDER AND LODGED ITSELF PROTRUDING SLIGHTLY FROM MY BACK. THE EMERGENCY RESPONDERS WERE UNABLE TO STOP THE BLEEDING SO I WAS AIRLIFTED TO ORMC FOR EMERGENCY SURGERY, AND AM LUCKY TO HAVE SURVIVED. THE SURGEON STATED THAT ANOTHER INCH WOULD HAVE MEANT ME BLEEDING OUT IN THE ROAD. THAT VEHICLE SHOULD NOT HAVE SHOT DEADLY PROJECTILES UPON IMPACT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds