Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE - 2000 VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 40 complaints filed for the 2000 VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (14) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM

1/18/2004 - NASHVILLE, TN
CAR HAS A HISTORY OF STALLING WHEN IT IS DECELERATING, SINCE ORIGINAL PURCHASE DATE IN JUNE 2000. PROBLEM STILL HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED BY DEALER. HERE IS THE HISTORY OF THE PROBLEM. JULY 2000: CAR SPATTERS AND STALLS. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER IN TAMPA WHERE I HAD PURCHASED THE CAR FROM AND THEY FIXED IT UNDER WARRANTY SAYING IT WAS A FUEL INJECTION PROBLEM. SEPTEMBER 2001 BEGINS STALLING AGAIN PERIODICALLY. TOOK IT TO DEALER IN NASHVILLE, DECEMBER 2002. THEY REPLACED THE AIR INTAKE SENSOR FOR THE FUEL INJECTION. OCTOBER 2003 CAR STILL STALLING PERIODICALLY BUT WITH MORE FREQUENCY. TOOK IT TO DEALER AND THEY SAID THE AIR INTAKE CENSOR FOR THE FUEL INJECTION WAS FAULTY AND THEY REPLACED PART FOR FREE AS IT WAS UNDER ONE-YEAR WARRANTY. OCTOBER 2003: A FEW DAYS LATER THE CAR BEGINS TO STALL. MONDAY, JANUARY 12, 2004: TAKE CAR BACK TO DEALER WHO SAID FUEL INJECTION GASKETS WERE LEAKING. WORK IS COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. PICKED UP CAR ON THURSDAY, JANUARY 15. CAR STALLED AGAIN SATURDAY, JANUARY 17. CAR STALLS AGAIN SUNDAY, JANUARY 18. CAR HAS STALLED AROUND 50 TIMES OVER ITS HISTORY. IT HAS STALLED IN VERY DANGEROUS CIRCUMSTANCES SUCH AS WHILE I DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: DRIVER SIDE INFLATOR MODULE

9/24/2003 - GREENSBORO, NC
MY 2000 VW BEETLE HAS RECENTLY HAD IT'S AIRBAG SAFETY LIGHT COME ON. I TOOK IT TO BILL BLACK VW DEALERSHIP IN GREENSBORO NC. THEY SAY IT'S A COMON PROBLEM THAT IS NOT COVERED UNDER ANY FACTORY DEFECT OR WARRANTY. ACCORDING TO THE SERVICE MANAGER THE AIRBAG MAY NOT DEPLOY IF I WAS TO BE INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT. THE SERVICE MANAGER ALSO SAID IT'S CONNECTED TO THE SEATBELT. I THOUGHT SEATBELTS AND AIRBAGS WERE GOVERNMENT MANDATES ON ALL VEHICALES. SHOULD THIS NOT BE COVERED UNDER A VW RECALL? THEY WANT $400.00 TO CHANGE OUT THE WIRING HARNESS FOR THE SEATBELT/AIRBAG. THAT'S NOT ACCEPTABLE. NOT FOR AN AIRBAG OR SEATBELT SAFETLY EQUIPMENT. THE VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT, OR HAD THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. THE DEALERSHIP COULD NOT EXPLAIN TO ME A MECHANICAL REASON WHY THIS HARNESS COULD "WEAR OUT" (WHICH IS THE EXACT WORDS THEY USED). AS STATED THEY SAY THE DEFECT IS ALSO CONNECTED TO THE SEATBELT, AND THAT "EXCESSIVE WEAR" OR "STRAIN" OF THE SEATBELT MAY BE THE CAUSE. HELLO? THE LAW IN MY STATE REQUIRES THAT I WEAR A SEATBELT. I WEIGH 105 LBS, AND IF THAT CAN CAUSE "EXCESSIVE WEAR" OR "STRAIN" THEN THE MAJORITY OF ALL DRIVERS WILL NOT BE SAFE DRIVING A VW. I AM ACTUALLY PLAYING RUSSION ROULET EVERY TIME I STEP INTO MY CAR. CAN SOMEONE DIRECT ME ON HOW TO GET HELP ON THIS ISSUE. SINCERELY, TRACEY MCCALL

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/3/2003 - DUMFRIES, VA
BRAKE SWITCH MALFUNCTION EDON THE 2000 ,VOLKSWAGEN, NEW BEETLE CAUSED THE TRANSMISSION TO STICK IN PARK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

8/3/2003 - DUMFRIES, VA
BRAKE SWITCH MALFUNCTION EDON THE 2000 ,VOLKSWAGEN, NEW BEETLE CAUSED THE TRANSMISSION TO STICK IN PARK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

6/21/2003 - CRESTWOOD, KY
I BOUGHT A VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE ON THE 12TH OF JUNE BEFORE WE WENT ON VACATION. WE TRAVELED 860 MILES ONE WAY. THE CRUISE LIGHT WOULD NEVER COME ON, NOT EVEN WHEN YOU STARTED THE VEHICLE. ANYWAY WE COULD GO ANYWHERE FROM 10 MILES TO 100 MILES AND THE CRUISE WOULD AUTOMATICALLY KICK OFF, JERKING THE CAR. WE CALLED OUR DEALER IMMEDIATELY BUT HE COULD NOT HELP. WHEN WE GOT BACK FROM VACATION WE TOOK IT UP THERE. THEY SAID THAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO THAT. ALSO IN THE MANUAL IT SAYS THAT THERE IS SUPPOSED TO BE A FUSE FOR CRUISE: THERE IS NOT ONE. THEY TEST DROVE ANOTHER ONE THAT WAS ON THEIR LOT AND THAT CRUISE LIGHT DIDN'T WORK EITHER. I'M JUST WONDERING IS THERE A RECALL ON THIS OR HOW CAN SOMEONE FIX IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/19/2003 - LANSDALE, PA
WITHIN 5,500 MILES OF PURCHASING MY 2000 BEETLE I STARTED EXPERIENCING SUDDEN MAJOR POWER LOSS WHILE DRIVING THE CAR. WHEN I TOOK IT IN THEY WOULD RUN A DIAGNOSTIC AND COME UP WITH NOTHING. ACCORDING TO THEM THE PROBLEM DID NOT EXIST. THEY SAID TO ME, THEY WERE NOT GOING TO START THROWING PARTS AT IT. THEY REFUSED TO TAKE ANY CORRECTIVE STEPS TO TRY AND CORRECT THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE IT WASN'T SHOWING UP ON THE DIAGNOSTIC EQUIPMENT. NOW WITH A TOTAL OF 12,455 MILE ON THIS CAR ( I DON'T DRIVE IT MUCH BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM) VW HAS RECALLED THEIR VEHICLES WITH THE 1.8 LITER ENGINES DUE TO AN IGNITION COIL PROBLEM. I HAVE THIS SAME TYPE ENGINE BUT THE RECALL DID NOT COVER MY MODEL YEAR. I HAD TO ARGUE AND INSIST THAT THEY LOOK AT MY VEHICLE. THE DEALER FINALLY AGREED , ACCORDING TO THEM MY COIL IS FINE . THEY DID NOT REPLACE IT AND THEY STILL REFUSE TO TAKE ANY CORRECTIVE ACTION TO START TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. I CAN NOT SELL MY CAR BECAUSE I WILL BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY ACCIDENT CREATED BY THIS PRE-EXISTING PROBLEM, AND IF I DISCLOSE THIS PROBLEM TO A PERSPECTIVE BUYER THEY WILL NOT BUY IT. IF I WAS ABLE TO AFFORD TO TRADE IT IN, LET'S SAY, ON A NEW VW, THE DEALER WOULD NOT GIVE ME MUCH ON THE TRADE IN ( KNOWING IT HAS THIS PROBLEM) AND THEN THEY WOULD HAVE TO TURN AROUND AND FINALLY FIX IT. THEY COULDN'T RESELL IT OTHERWISE. THIS IS A MAJOR POTENTIAL ACCIDENT PROBLEM WAITING TO HAPPEN. UPDATE: THE DEALER CALLED ME. THEY FINALLY DID SOMETHING. THEY REPLACED THE "FUEL PUMP RELAY". THEY WOULD NOT COVER IT UNDER THE ORIGINAL WARRANTY SO NOW I HAVE A BIG REPAIR BILL TO DEAL WITH. THAT IS ANOTHER ISSUE I WILL HAVE TO DEAL WITH SEPARATELY. I HOPE THIS WILL CORRECT MY PROBLEM, TIME WILL TELL. I WILL STILL FILE THIS COMPLAINT FOR THE RECORD (HOPING THE REPLACEMENT PART WORKS). IF THE PROBLEM CONTINUES I WILL FOLLOW UP WITH ANOTHER COMPLAINT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/8/2003 - ATHENS, GA
MY 2000 VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE GLX CAUGHT FIRE FIFTEEN MINUTES AFTER I PARKED IT IN MY GARAGE, CAUSING THE DESTRUCTION OF THE GARAGE, THE BEETLE, AND TWO OTHER CARS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

2/3/2003 - SOUTH RANGE, WI
ON JANUARY 16, 2003 WHILE DRIVING MY VW NEW BEETLE TDI (DIESEL) ON THE INTERSTATE WITH A HALF OF A TANK OF NO. 1 DIESEL FUEL WITH THE TEMPERATURE BELOW 0 DEGREES F AND WIND CHILL IN THE -40 TO -50 F RANGE, MY VEHICLE DIED SEVERAL TIMES AND TOOK SEVERAL MINUTES TO RESTART EACH TIME. BY THE TIME I GOT IT TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP 12 MILES FROM MY RESIDENCE 5 DAYS LATER (I LIVE OVER 100 MILES FROM THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP) THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL UNDER LIGHT LOAD (ANY SPEED ABOVE 20-40 M.P.H.) OR TRYING TO DRIVE UP A HILL AND, AFTER STALLING 4 TIMES THE BATTERY WAS BECOMING DRAINED. THE REPAIR SHOP MADE SEVERAL CALLS TO A DEALERSHIP IN BURNSVILLE, MN. (WHICH HAD 4 OR 5 OTHER VWS WITH THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM) AND WAS TOLD THAT VOLKSWAGON RECOMMENDED TO THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT TO REMOVE (NOT REPLACE) THE ANTI-SIPHON FLAP IN THE FUEL TANK BECAUSE MOISTURE WAS FREEZING ON IT THUS LETTING AIR INTO THE FUEL LINES. WHILE AT THE REPAIR SHOP I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THERE WERE ALSO 3 OR 4 OTHERS COME IN OR BE TOWED IN WITH THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. SINCE THIS WAS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT ON JUST MY VEHICLE AND VOLKSWAGON RECOMMENDED TO THE DEALERSHIP TO REMOVE THIS PART, I WOULD CONSIDED THIS TO BE A DESIGN FLAW AND AM EXPECTING TO BE REIMBURSED. THE VW CUSTOMER CARE CENTER IN ROCHESTER HILLS, MI. DOES NOT AGREE. SO, I AM NOT CONTACTING YOU NECESSARILY TO HELP ME BE REIMBURSED FOR THIS $200 EXPENSE BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY TO INFORM YOU OF THE SEVERITY OF THIS PROBLEM. NOT ONLY HAS IT COST ME AND OTHERS HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS IN TOWING AND REPAIR COSTS BUT IS LEAVING PEOPLE STRANDED IN VERY DANGEROUS WEATHER CONDITIONS WHERE FROSTBITE WILL SET IN LITERALLY IN A COUPLE OF MINUTES. IT SEEMS APPARENT THAT VW HAS NO PLAN TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM IN SPITE OF THEM KNOWING THERE IS A PROBLEM SO I HOPE YOU CAN HELP OR AT LEAST INVESTIGATE THIS. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND EFFORTS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: SWITCHES: BRAKE LIGHT

11/6/2002 - SEVIERVILLE, TN
I HAVE HAD TWO BRAKE RELAY SWITCH PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR IN THREE MONTHS. I THINK ITS A COMMON DEFECT. DT

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

9/6/2002 - ST. PAUL, MN
WHILE DRIVING WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR FAILED, THE CONSUMER COULD HEAR THE MOTOR RUNNING BUT THE WIPERS WOULD NOT MOVE. NLM

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds