Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE - 2000 VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 40 complaints filed for the 2000 VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (14) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3 
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: FRONT UNDERHOOD

6/2/2002 - LYNN, MA
AT 4:20PM ON 5/28/02 MY WIFE WAS ON INTERSTATE 95 NEAR GEORGETOWN, MA ON THE WAY TO THE DEALERSHIP IN AMESBUY FOR SERVICE BECAUSE THE CAR'S AIRCONDITIONER HAD QUIT AND SOME OF THE DASHBOARD INDICATOR LIGHTS WOULD NOT STOP FLASHING. SUDDENLY SHE SAW SMOKE IN THE REARVIEW MIRROR AND PULLED THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THEN MORE SMOKE CAME FROM UNDER THE HOOD, SO SHE GOT OUT OF THE CAR. MINUTES LATER THE CAR WAS ENGULFED IN FLAMES AND BLACK SMOKE. TEN MINUTES LATER IT WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED. THE GEORGETOWN FIRE DEPARTMENT AND STATE POLICE HAD RESPONDED, BUT BY THE TIME THEY GOT THERE, THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. WE HAVE NOT CONTACTED VOLKSWAGEN DIRECTLY BECAUSE WE FEEL THEY WOULD NOT BE RESPONSIVE. MAYBE THE INSURANCE COMPANY OR THE NHTSA CAN FORCE THE MANUFACTURER TO LOOK INTO THIS, SINCE THIS SEEMS TO BE HAPPENING TO OTHER 2000 BEETLES AS WELL, AND SOONER OR LATER SOMEONE WILL BE SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED BECAUSE OF THIS APPARENT DEFECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

4/9/2002 - BOSTIC, NC
WHEN CAR WAS PURCHASED, IT WAS MISSING THE FUSE FOR THE REAR DEFROSTER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/4/2002 - COLLINSVILLE, IL
CONSUMER STATES VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP 7 TIMES FOR REPAIRS, EACH TIME HE IS ASSURED THAT THE CAR IS FIXED. VW CUSTOMER SERVICES POSITION IS THAT IF IT IS CURRENTLY FIXED THEY HAVE NO FURTHER OBLIGATION. THE CAR WAS BACK 4 TIMES UNDER ITS 24,000 MILE WARRENTY BUT EACH TIME CONSUMER WAS ASSURED THAT THE PROBLEM WAS FOUND AND NECESSARY REPAIRS WERE MADE, ALL SEVEN TIMES THE CAR WAS TAKEN IN FOR SERVICE IT WAS BECAUSE THE AIR BAG LIGHT WAS ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

1/13/2002 - FREMONT, CA
CAR WAS PARKED AND CAUGHT FIRE-TOTAL LOSS, WAS THIS AN ELECTRICAL FAILURE OR VANDALISM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

1/4/2002 - AMESBURY, MA
ON 12/27/01 WHILE DRIVING MY 2000 VW BEETLE TO WORK ALL THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS STARTED TO FLASH AND MAKE A CLICKING SOUND. I THEN SMELLED WIRES BURNING. I GOT OUT OF MY CAR , CALLED MY HUSBAND AS I WAS NOT EXPECTING THE CAR TO CATCH ON FIRE. WITHIN MINUTES I NOTICED SMOKE AND THEN FLAMES COMING FROM BENEATH THE DRIVERS SIDE DASH. I THEN CALLED 911 BUT THE CAR WAS FULLY ENGULFED IN FLAMES BY THE TIME THE F.D. GOT THERE. THE FIRE STATION IS APROX. 1 MILE FROM THE INCIDENT. VW HAS BEEN DEAF TO MY COMPLAINT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: FRONT UNDERHOOD

12/27/2001 - AMESBURY, MA
CAR BEGAN TO HESITATE BUT DID NOT STALL. ALL PANEL LIGHTS BEGAN TO FLASH, ALSO A ''CLICKING'' SOUND. THERE ALSO WAS A SMELL OF BURNING WIRES. THE CAR BECAME FULLY ENGULFED IN FLAME IN LESS THAN 10 MINUTES. THE FIRE BEGAN ON DRIVERS SIDE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: LINKAGES

12/14/2001 - JACKSON, GA
WHILE COMING TO AN INTERSECTION AND DOWNSHIFTING, INSTEAD OF THE CAR SLOWING DOWN, THE CRUISE CONTROL TURNED ITSELF ON AND PROCEEDED TO ACCELERATE. BY PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE CRUISE CONTROL TURNED OFF. THE CRUISE CONTROL SWITCH HAS ALREADY BEEN REPLACED ONE TIME. MY CAR HAS NOW BEEN IN THE SHOP 8 TIMES FOR NUMEROUS ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS AND VW OF AMERICA DOESN'T SEEM TOO INTERESTED ON SOLVING THE PROBLEMS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: FRONT UNDERHOOD

12/14/2001 - JACKSON, GA
WHILE COMING TO AN INTERSECTION AND DOWNSHIFTING, INSTEAD OF THE CAR SLOWING DOWN, THE CRUISE CONTROL TURNED ITSELF ON AND PROCEEDED TO ACCELERATE. BY PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE CRUISE CONTROL TURNED OFF. THE CRUISE CONTROL SWITCH HAS ALREADY BEEN REPLACED ONE TIME. MY CAR HAS NOW BEEN IN THE SHOP 8 TIMES FOR NUMEROUS ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS AND VW OF AMERICA DOESN'T SEEM TOO INTERESTED ON SOLVING THE PROBLEMS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE

9/5/2001 - FREMONT, CA
2.0 LITER ENGINE IS BURNING OIL. DEALER HAS BEEN CONTACTED FOR THIS PROBLEM, BUT HAS BEEN UNABLE TO REMEDY THE PROBLEM. PLEASE PROVIDE FURTHER DETAILS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/8/2001 - TUTTLE, OK
ENGINE WOULD NOT START, AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS IT STARTED BUT CHECK ENGINE & AIR BAG LIGHT WAS ON. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT OFF AFTER 23 MILES, BUT AIR BAG LIGHT STAYED ON UNTIL INSTRUMENT CLUSTER WAS REPLACED BY DEALER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds