Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW X5 - 2001 BMW X5 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 170 complaints filed for the 2001 BMW X5

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 BMW X5. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 BMW X5, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Electrical System (22) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Seats (6) Structure (13) Visibility (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Other (3) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Equipment (5)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING: LINKAGES: KNUCKLE: SPINDLE: ARM

4/1/2005 - WEST CHESTER, OH
I PURCHASED MY 2001 BMW X5, NEW IN SEPT OF 2000. I BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH IT PRETTY QUICKLY. THE MOST PLAUGING PROBLEM WAS THE GAS GAUGE. IT TOOK BMW 5 TIMES TO FINALLY FIX IT. 2/26/01 14461 MILAGE, 3/9/01 14512 MILAGE, 5/16/01 18566 MILES, 8/29/01 24493 MILES, AND FINALLY 2/26/02 37268 MILES. THERE WERE A NUMBER OF OTHER ISSUES WITH THE CAR, WATER PUMP, LOWER CONTRO ARM (TWICE), AND VARIOUS OTHER NON-ESSENTIAL ITEMS. I TRIED TO ENACT THE LEMON LAW, BUT SINCE THE 3RD TIME ON THE FUEL GAUGE WAS AT 18500 MILES, I WAS TOLD IT DIDN'T APPLY. NOW AFTER 4 AND A HALF YEARS, I HAVE 114,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND I WAS JUST TOLD THAT THE MOTOR IS SHOT AND WILL HAVE TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $11,500. I CAN'T SINK THAT KIND OF MONEY INTO A CAR WITH THAT MANY MILES BUT I CAN'T SELL IT WITH A BAD MOTOR AND I CAN'T MAKE PAYMENTS ON TWO CARS. THIS CAR HAS BEEN ONE PROBLEM AFTER ANOTHER AND BMW HAS REFUESED HELP ME. THE ONLY OFFER THEY MADE WAS TO GIVE ME $5000.00 OFF ON A NEW CAR WHEN I HIRED A LAWYER TO TRY TO ENACT THE LEMON LAW, BUT WITH THE MILAGE I HAD ON THE CAR ALREADY I STILL WOULD HAVE OWED THEM MONEY ON THE TRADE-IN. THERE HASN'T BEEN ONE INCIDENT. IT'S JUST BEEN ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR. I HAVE PAID BMW OVER $3600.00 FOR SERVICE AND REPAIRS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY SINCE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. NOW IT'S GOING TO COST ME OVER $11,000 MORE TO GET THE CAR RUNNING AGAIN. I HAVE ALL THE SERVICE RECORDS AND HAVE ALWAYS PAMPERED THE CAR. I ONLY USED THE BEST GAS, NEVER MISSED ANY SCHEDULED SERVICES. I CAN'T BELIEVE BMW IS NOT STANDING BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS BETTER THAN THIS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/1/2005 - WEST CHESTER, OH
I PURCHASED MY 2001 BMW X5, NEW IN SEPT OF 2000. I BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH IT PRETTY QUICKLY. THE MOST PLAUGING PROBLEM WAS THE GAS GAUGE. IT TOOK BMW 5 TIMES TO FINALLY FIX IT. 2/26/01 14461 MILAGE, 3/9/01 14512 MILAGE, 5/16/01 18566 MILES, 8/29/01 24493 MILES, AND FINALLY 2/26/02 37268 MILES. THERE WERE A NUMBER OF OTHER ISSUES WITH THE CAR, WATER PUMP, LOWER CONTRO ARM (TWICE), AND VARIOUS OTHER NON-ESSENTIAL ITEMS. I TRIED TO ENACT THE LEMON LAW, BUT SINCE THE 3RD TIME ON THE FUEL GAUGE WAS AT 18500 MILES, I WAS TOLD IT DIDN'T APPLY. NOW AFTER 4 AND A HALF YEARS, I HAVE 114,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND I WAS JUST TOLD THAT THE MOTOR IS SHOT AND WILL HAVE TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $11,500. I CAN'T SINK THAT KIND OF MONEY INTO A CAR WITH THAT MANY MILES BUT I CAN'T SELL IT WITH A BAD MOTOR AND I CAN'T MAKE PAYMENTS ON TWO CARS. THIS CAR HAS BEEN ONE PROBLEM AFTER ANOTHER AND BMW HAS REFUESED HELP ME. THE ONLY OFFER THEY MADE WAS TO GIVE ME $5000.00 OFF ON A NEW CAR WHEN I HIRED A LAWYER TO TRY TO ENACT THE LEMON LAW, BUT WITH THE MILAGE I HAD ON THE CAR ALREADY I STILL WOULD HAVE OWED THEM MONEY ON THE TRADE-IN. THERE HASN'T BEEN ONE INCIDENT. IT'S JUST BEEN ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR. I HAVE PAID BMW OVER $3600.00 FOR SERVICE AND REPAIRS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY SINCE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. NOW IT'S GOING TO COST ME OVER $11,000 MORE TO GET THE CAR RUNNING AGAIN. I HAVE ALL THE SERVICE RECORDS AND HAVE ALWAYS PAMPERED THE CAR. I ONLY USED THE BEST GAS, NEVER MISSED ANY SCHEDULED SERVICES. I CAN'T BELIEVE BMW IS NOT STANDING BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS BETTER THAN THIS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE

4/1/2005 - WEST CHESTER, OH
I PURCHASED MY 2001 BMW X5, NEW IN SEPT OF 2000. I BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH IT PRETTY QUICKLY. THE MOST PLAUGING PROBLEM WAS THE GAS GAUGE. IT TOOK BMW 5 TIMES TO FINALLY FIX IT. 2/26/01 14461 MILAGE, 3/9/01 14512 MILAGE, 5/16/01 18566 MILES, 8/29/01 24493 MILES, AND FINALLY 2/26/02 37268 MILES. THERE WERE A NUMBER OF OTHER ISSUES WITH THE CAR, WATER PUMP, LOWER CONTRO ARM (TWICE), AND VARIOUS OTHER NON-ESSENTIAL ITEMS. I TRIED TO ENACT THE LEMON LAW, BUT SINCE THE 3RD TIME ON THE FUEL GAUGE WAS AT 18500 MILES, I WAS TOLD IT DIDN'T APPLY. NOW AFTER 4 AND A HALF YEARS, I HAVE 114,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND I WAS JUST TOLD THAT THE MOTOR IS SHOT AND WILL HAVE TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $11,500. I CAN'T SINK THAT KIND OF MONEY INTO A CAR WITH THAT MANY MILES BUT I CAN'T SELL IT WITH A BAD MOTOR AND I CAN'T MAKE PAYMENTS ON TWO CARS. THIS CAR HAS BEEN ONE PROBLEM AFTER ANOTHER AND BMW HAS REFUESED HELP ME. THE ONLY OFFER THEY MADE WAS TO GIVE ME $5000.00 OFF ON A NEW CAR WHEN I HIRED A LAWYER TO TRY TO ENACT THE LEMON LAW, BUT WITH THE MILAGE I HAD ON THE CAR ALREADY I STILL WOULD HAVE OWED THEM MONEY ON THE TRADE-IN. THERE HASN'T BEEN ONE INCIDENT. IT'S JUST BEEN ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR. I HAVE PAID BMW OVER $3600.00 FOR SERVICE AND REPAIRS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY SINCE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. NOW IT'S GOING TO COST ME OVER $11,000 MORE TO GET THE CAR RUNNING AGAIN. I HAVE ALL THE SERVICE RECORDS AND HAVE ALWAYS PAMPERED THE CAR. I ONLY USED THE BEST GAS, NEVER MISSED ANY SCHEDULED SERVICES. I CAN'T BELIEVE BMW IS NOT STANDING BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS BETTER THAN THIS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

4/1/2005 - WEST CHESTER, OH
I PURCHASED MY 2001 BMW X5, NEW IN SEPT OF 2000. I BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH IT PRETTY QUICKLY. THE MOST PLAUGING PROBLEM WAS THE GAS GAUGE. IT TOOK BMW 5 TIMES TO FINALLY FIX IT. 2/26/01 14461 MILAGE, 3/9/01 14512 MILAGE, 5/16/01 18566 MILES, 8/29/01 24493 MILES, AND FINALLY 2/26/02 37268 MILES. THERE WERE A NUMBER OF OTHER ISSUES WITH THE CAR, WATER PUMP, LOWER CONTRO ARM (TWICE), AND VARIOUS OTHER NON-ESSENTIAL ITEMS. I TRIED TO ENACT THE LEMON LAW, BUT SINCE THE 3RD TIME ON THE FUEL GAUGE WAS AT 18500 MILES, I WAS TOLD IT DIDN'T APPLY. NOW AFTER 4 AND A HALF YEARS, I HAVE 114,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND I WAS JUST TOLD THAT THE MOTOR IS SHOT AND WILL HAVE TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $11,500. I CAN'T SINK THAT KIND OF MONEY INTO A CAR WITH THAT MANY MILES BUT I CAN'T SELL IT WITH A BAD MOTOR AND I CAN'T MAKE PAYMENTS ON TWO CARS. THIS CAR HAS BEEN ONE PROBLEM AFTER ANOTHER AND BMW HAS REFUESED HELP ME. THE ONLY OFFER THEY MADE WAS TO GIVE ME $5000.00 OFF ON A NEW CAR WHEN I HIRED A LAWYER TO TRY TO ENACT THE LEMON LAW, BUT WITH THE MILAGE I HAD ON THE CAR ALREADY I STILL WOULD HAVE OWED THEM MONEY ON THE TRADE-IN. THERE HASN'T BEEN ONE INCIDENT. IT'S JUST BEEN ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR. I HAVE PAID BMW OVER $3600.00 FOR SERVICE AND REPAIRS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY SINCE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. NOW IT'S GOING TO COST ME OVER $11,000 MORE TO GET THE CAR RUNNING AGAIN. I HAVE ALL THE SERVICE RECORDS AND HAVE ALWAYS PAMPERED THE CAR. I ONLY USED THE BEST GAS, NEVER MISSED ANY SCHEDULED SERVICES. I CAN'T BELIEVE BMW IS NOT STANDING BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS BETTER THAN THIS.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2/10/2005 - APO , NY
I HAVE A 2001 BMW X5 WHICH HAS PROBLEMS WITH FREEZING FRONT DOORS (BMW HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THE DESIGN DEFECT, REFERENCE # 200503100195, SI 510204, AND S.I. 51 51 02 DATED MARCH 2002.) THAT POSE A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY HAZARD, AND HAVE NOT RECEIVED AN ADEQUATE RESPONSE IN DEALING WITH THE MATTER. I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE NHTSA. I AM AN ACTIVE DUTY ARMY OFFICER STATIONED IN GARMISCH, GERMANY. THE CAR WAS WITH US IN CALIFORNIA AND KANSAS FROM 2001 TO 2004. THE CAR DID NOT HAVE THE DOOR FREEZING PROBLEMS WHILE UNDER WARRANTY; WE KEPT IT IN A GARAGE AND THE BOWDEN CABLES DID NOT GET WET DURING COLD WEATHER. WE HAVE NO GARAGE HERE, AND ANY TIME THE WEATHER GETS A FEW DEGREES BELOW FREEZING, THE FRONT DOORS CEASE TO OPERATE. ONE MUST RUN THE CAR BETWEEN 15 MINUTES TO 1.5 HOURS BEFORE THE DOORS OPERATE NORMALLY. WHEN THE CAR COOLS DOWN, THE DOORS FREEZE AGAIN. THE PROBLEM WITH THE DOORS HERE IN GERMANY IS SEVERE AND POSES A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY RISK; DOES BMW REALLY WANT TO RISK LITIGATION FOR SOMEONE TRAPPED IN THE CAR IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT? I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THE CAR WAS NOT RECALLED FOR SUCH A SERIOUS AND ACKNOWLEDGED SAFETY DESIGN DEFECT. OUR LOCAL DEALERSHIP IN GARMISCH IS UNABLE TO LOCATE THE BELOW SI IN HIS DATABASE. HE DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO FIX THE PROBLEM. I AM ALSO DISTURBED THAT I WILL HAVE TO PAY UPWARDS OF $1000 TO FIX THE PROBLEM---THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN FIXED WHEN THE CAR WENT UNDER SERVICES IN LATE WINTER OF 2004 (AND ALSO HAD OTHER SI WORK DONE, SUCH AS A FAULTY RADIATOR FAN THAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE CAR TO BURN----HECK OF A COMBINATION IF THE FREEZING DOORS HAD BEEN ACTING UP AT THE SAME TIME!).

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/3/2005 - IRVINE, CA
THE CONSUMER EXPERIENCED SUDDEN STALLING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS WHILE ON THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SHOP, HOWEVER THE CAUSE WAS UNDETERMINED.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

1/27/2005 - CAMBRIDGE, MA
I HAVE 2001 BMW X5 3.0. AFTER LAST WEEK'S SNOW STORM AND COLD WEATHER IN BOSTON AREA, MY 2001 X5 DOORS ARE FROZEN. ACTUALLY, I OPENED THEM FROM OUTSIDE YESTERDAY MORNING (FEELS LIKE DOOR HANDLE GOT FROZEN). BUT THEN I COULD NOT GET THEM CLOSED. SO, I HAD TO PUSH DOWN DOOR LOCK (LITTLE KNOB) BY WINDOW AND PULL HARD TO GET THEM CLOSED. NOW, I COULD NOT OPEN THEM AT ALL. I AM CLIMBING IN AND OUT OF THE TRUNK DOOR TO GET INSIDE. FORTUATELY, THERE IS NO ACCIDENT. BUT, I THINK THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WHEN AN ACCIDENT DOES OCCUR (HARD TO ESCAPE). BMW NORTH AMERICA IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM (SI 51 51 02), HOWEVER THERE IS NO PROPER ACTION FROM THEM.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

1/19/2005 - ITHACA, NY
I LIVE IN UPSTATE NY. LAST NIGHT THE TEMPERATURES DROPPED TO A VERY CHILLY 0 DEGREES F. OR SO. IN THE MORNING I ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR OF MY BMW X5 4.4 (2001). THE LATCH SEEMED TO WORK BUT THE DOOR SEEMED FROZEN SHUT, SO I PULLED HARDER. THE DOOR FINALLY CAME OPEN - BUT ALL LATCHES ON THAT DOOR HAVE CEASED TO WORK - FROM THE INSIDE OR THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR SEEMS TO BE SHOWING SIMILAR SYMPTOMS BUT I HAVE NOT PULLED THE DOOR OPEN YET FOR FEAR OF FURTHER DAMAGE. FORTUNATELY I WASN'T DRIVING WHEN THIS HAPPENED BUT I COULD HAVE POTENTIALLY BEEN LOCKED INSIDE MY CAR WITHOUT ANY WAY TO EXIT IT! I'LL BE TAKING THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP ASAP TO GET IT REPAIRED BUT THIS SEEMS LIKE A VERY SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT BMW HAS BEEN UNWILLING TO ADDRESS!

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

1/11/2005 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
READ THAT THE BMW X5 HAD PROBLEMS WITH IT'S DOOR LOCK MECHANISM. I HAD EXPERIENCED THE LOCKS NOT OPENING IN THE COLD MYSELF, AND HAD SEEN SEVERAL PEOPLE AT THE DEALERSHIP WITH THE PROBLEM. DURING A SKI TRIP TO MOUNTT SNOW VERMONT MY DOOR LOCKS WERE SLOW TO OPEN. THE PASSENGER DOOR WOULDN'T CLOSE AT FIRST. THEN WHEN PUSHED HARD IT CLOSED. THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN WITH MY PASSENGER INSIDE. SHE TRIED THE DOOR HANDLE, FROM INSIDE AND I HAD TRIED IT FROM OUTSIDE. THE DOOR WAS UNLOCKED, BUT WOULD NOT OPEN AT ALL. I THEN TRIED THE DRIVER'S DOOR AND IT WOULDN'T OPEN. THE PASSENGER HAD TO CLIMB OUT THE REAR DOORS. IT TOOK ABOUT A HALF HOUR OF THE CAR RUNNING BEFORE THE DOOR WOULD OPEN. IN AN EMERGENCY, THE PASSENGER AND DRIVER WOULD HAVE BEEN TOAST.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

12/19/2004 - DALLAS, TX
BMW X-5 COOLANT SYSTEM FAILURE WITH ONLY 26,800 MILES. THE COOLANT RESERVOIR AND TUBES TO THE RADIATOR BURNED OUT. ALSO 3 POWER WINDOW REGULATORS MALFUNCTIONED. AT THIS MOMENT FIXED BUT UNACCEPTABLE FOR THE COST AND ENGINEERING OF THE CAR. ALL PARTS WERE REPLACED AND SUPPOSEDLY NEW. DID NOT SEE NEW OR OLD PARTS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds