Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW X5 - 2001 BMW X5 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 170 complaints filed for the 2001 BMW X5

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 BMW X5. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 BMW X5, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Electrical System (22) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Seats (6) Structure (13) Visibility (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Other (3) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Equipment (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/4/2018 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
IN 2001 I HAD A RECALL FOR THE ELECTRIC COOLING FAN, IT WAS SUPPOSED TO HAVE BEEN FIXED THEN IN 2007 ELECTRIC COOLING FAN GOES OUT AGAIN, THEN IN 2011 THE ELECTRIC COOLING FAN GOES OUT AGAIN, THEN IN 2018 THE ELECTRIC COOLING FAN GOES OUT AGAIN OVERHEAT AND BLOWS THE HEAD GASKET WHILE DRIVING BACK FROM LAS VEGAS IN GILROY CALIFORNIA ???

View Details

ENGINE

11/4/2018 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
IN 2001 I HAD A RECALL FOR THE ELECTRIC COOLING FAN, IT WAS SUPPOSED TO HAVE BEEN FIXED THEN IN 2007 ELECTRIC COOLING FAN GOES OUT AGAIN, THEN IN 2011 THE ELECTRIC COOLING FAN GOES OUT AGAIN, THEN IN 2018 THE ELECTRIC COOLING FAN GOES OUT AGAIN OVERHEAT AND BLOWS THE HEAD GASKET WHILE DRIVING BACK FROM LAS VEGAS IN GILROY CALIFORNIA ???

View Details

STEERING

8/13/2018 - CHARLACK, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 01V173000 (STEERING). THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PLAZA BMW (11858 OLIVE BLVD, CREVE COEUR, MO) WHERE THE FAILURE WAS CONFIRMED; HOWEVER, THE VIN HAD NO OPEN RECALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND CONFIRMED THAT THERE WERE NO OPEN RECALLS UNDER THE VIN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/14/2017 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR IMPACT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR REPAIRS. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES, WHICH DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/12/2017 - AHMEEK, MI
WHEN DRIVING MY 2001 BMW X5 ON ICE, SOFT DIRT ROAD, SLUSH, (ICE WITH PAVEMENT) THE CAR FISHTAILS IN THE REAR. I HAD BRAND NEW WINTER TIRES PUT ON AND THE VEHICLE WAS JUST ALIGNED. I HAD 4 DIFFERENT MECHANICS LOOK AT IT AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIGURE IT OUT. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/12/2017 - AHMEEK, MI
WHEN DRIVING MY 2001 BMW X5 ON ICE, SOFT DIRT ROAD, SLUSH, (ICE WITH PAVEMENT) THE CAR FISHTAILS IN THE REAR. I HAD BRAND NEW WINTER TIRES PUT ON AND THE VEHICLE WAS JUST ALIGNED. I HAD 4 DIFFERENT MECHANICS LOOK AT IT AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIGURE IT OUT. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/12/2017 - AHMEEK, MI
WHEN DRIVING MY 2001 BMW X5 ON ICE, SOFT DIRT ROAD, SLUSH, (ICE WITH PAVEMENT) THE CAR FISHTAILS IN THE REAR. I HAD BRAND NEW WINTER TIRES PUT ON AND THE VEHICLE WAS JUST ALIGNED. I HAD 4 DIFFERENT MECHANICS LOOK AT IT AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIGURE IT OUT. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

5/14/2017 - WHEATON, IL
PARKED X5 AT A ACE HARDWARE STORE, A PERSON CAME RUNNING IN SAYING A CAR WAS ON FIRE! IT WAS MY X5 IN GLEN ELLEN IL TOTAL LOSS ALLSTATE INSURANCE CLAIM #0158238170KR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/17/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V047000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT. ..UPDATED 06/21/17

View Details

STEERING

4/12/2017 - PELION, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO OPERATE PROPERLY. THE DRIVER COASTED THE VEHICLE ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER AND THEN TOOK THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC POTENTIALLY LOCATED A FAILURE WITH THE STEERING COLUMN SPINDLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds