Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW X5 - 2001 BMW X5 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 170 complaints filed for the 2001 BMW X5

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 BMW X5. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 BMW X5, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Electrical System (22) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Seats (6) Structure (13) Visibility (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Other (3) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Equipment (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

1/28/2011 - LANSDOWNE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DRIVING IN INCLEMENT WEATHER THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD BECOME INOPERABLE INTERMITTENTLY, CAUSING A LOSS OF VISIBILITY. THE DEALER MADE FOUR ATTEMPTS TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY. THE CONTACT STATE THAT THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN REPAIRED SEVERAL TIMES IN THE LAST NINE YEARS BECAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 130,000 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/14/2010 - CARMEL, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE OIL SEPARATOR FRACTURED AND CAUSED OIL TO SPRAY OVER ALL COMPONENTS UNDER THE HOOD. THE CONTACT THEN NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT HE WOULD NEED TO REPLACE THE OIL SEPARATOR, VALVE COVER GASKET AND THE VALVE COVER. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE DEALER ALSO INSTALLED A CRANK CASE VENTILATION BLANKET IN ORDER TO KEEP IT WARM. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 86,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/20/2010 - TACOMA PARK, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED WHEN SHE ATTEMPTED TO PARK THE VEHICLE ALTHOUGH HER FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. SHE ENGAGED THE BRAKE PEDAL CONTINUOUSLY IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE FROM ACCELERATING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT SPOKEN WITH THE MANUFACTURER WHEN THE COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 66,500.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

7/14/2010 - LOS GATOS, CA
VEHICLE ELECTRIC WINDOWS STICK FULL OPEN AND CANNOT CLOSE. I BOUGHT THE BMW X5 4.4I NEW IN 2001, I STILL OWN THE VEHICLE, AND THIS HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES SINCE NEW (2004, 2005, 2006, 2010). EACH TIME IT RENDERS THE VEHICLE UNUSABLE SINCE IT CANNOT BE SECURED AND LEFT UNATTENDED. THE WINDOW MOTOR REGULATOR WAS REPLACED TWICE UNDER WARRANTY AND TWICE I HAD TO PAY. THIS SHOULD NOT EVEN HAPPEN ONCE!

View Details

EQUIPMENT

4/12/2010 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THIS IS A SAFETY COMPLAINT ON THE 2001 BMW X5. THERE ARE SEVERAL DEFECT, SAFETY REPORTS ON THE VEHICLE AT THIS WEBSITE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM: FAN

1/15/2010 - O'FALLON, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH ON NORMAL ROAD CONDITIONS WITH THE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM IN ACTIVATION. THE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM BEGAN TO CIRCULATE WARM AIR. IMMEDIATELY, THE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM WAS DEACTIVATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE FAILURE WAS CONTRIBUTED TO THE COOLING FAN. THERE WERE TWO RECALLS UNDER THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 02V138000 AND 01V206000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM:FAN). THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM THE SAFETY RECALL. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED AT THIS TIME. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

6/24/2009 - ROUND LAKE , IL
DRIVER SIDE FRONT AND REAR WINDOW REGULATOR FAILURE WITH SIXTY DAYS, WHICH CAUSED THE WINDOWS TO BECOME STUCK IN THE DOWN POSTION. IN BOTH OCCASIONS, KNAUZ BMW DEALERSHIP REPLACED REGULATOR AND MOTOR . TO DATE, THE MANUFACTURER BMW HAS FAILED TO PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE, LAST FAILURE AND REPAIR MILEAGE WAS 78,089 .

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/14/2009 - KENT, WA
I BOUGHT MY 2001 BMW X5 LAST SATURDAY... 7 DAYS LATER, I GOT THE NO REVERSE PROBLEM THAT I AM NOW HEARING IS TYPICAL IN BMWS. IT JUST WENT OUT. LUCKILY THE DEALER I BOUGHT IT FROM WAS NICE ENOUGH TO TAKE THE CAR BACK. THEY DIDN'T HAVE TO AS IT WAS USED. OTHERWISE I WOULD HAVE BEEN OUT $5,000. THIS CAR HAD 107K MILES ON IT. BMW NEEDS TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS SERIOUS PROBLEM AND CORRECT IT AT THEIR EXPENSE. THIS IS WRONG.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/9/2009 - SANTA MONICA, CA
I OWN A 2001 BMW X5. THE CAR IS IN WORKING CONDITION, REPAIRED AND MAINTAINED AS NEEDED. THE AUTOMOBILE NO LONGER GOES IN REVERSE AT 91,000 MILES. THE TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE REBUILT. I HEAR THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH BMW'S. I WAS TOLD THAT IT IS THE ZF5HP19 OR STEPTRONIC TRANSMISSION. IT IS A FAILURE OF THE D-G CLUTCH DRUM. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY HAZARD FOR THE PERSON DRIVING THE VEHICLE AND FOR EVERYONE AROUND THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/25/2009 - JAMESTOWN, CA
2001 BMW X5 TRANSMISSION FAILURE. NO REVERSE, JUST WENT OUT NO WARNING, AT LOW MILEAGE, FOUND THIS WAS COMMON TO COMMON ALSO FOUND OUT REPAIR PARTS ARE UPGRADED BY BMW, BUT BMW WONT ACKNOWLEDGE A PROBLEM EVEN THOUGH THEIR ARE PAGE AFTER PAGE OR REPORTS, BMW ALSO WILL NOT PAY FOR REPAIR, AVERAGE ESTIMATE IS $4500.00. IF BMW DIDN'T RECOGNIZE THE INFERIOR PART, THEN WHY DID THEY UPGRADE THE REPAIR PART, MY VEHICLE IS DOWN NOW BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE THE RESOURCES TO FUND THIS REPAIR, I HAVE A NINE YEAR OLD AND AN EIGHTY FOUR YEAR OLD DEPENDING ON THIS TRANSPORTATION, AND DUE TO THE DEATH OF MY MOTHER ON THE 03/09/2009 AND HAVING TO MOVE MY FATHER FROM OKLAHOMA TO CALIFORNIA MY MONEY IS IN A NEGATIVE, THIS FAILURE HAS REALLY PLACE A HARDSHIP ON US.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds