Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW X5 - 2001 BMW X5 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 170 complaints filed for the 2001 BMW X5

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 BMW X5. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 BMW X5, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Electrical System (22) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Seats (6) Structure (13) Visibility (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Other (3) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Equipment (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

1/26/2009 - SCARSDALE, NY
ON COLD DAY, '01 BMW X5 3.0, STARTED, BRIEFLY WARMED AND DRIVEN 8 MILES B/F ENGINE QUITS AND WILL NOT RESTART. NO WARNING LIGHTS, NOR OVERHEATING INVOLVED. MECHANIC INDICATES ENGINE COMPLETELY SEIZED DUE TO OIL SEPARATOR FREEZING FROM RESIDUAL CONDENSATION IN AIR AS WELL AS CRANKCASE RESULTING IN OIL FORCED INTO CYLINDERS, CHOKING MOTOR, AND CRACKING CONNECTING RODS. ENGINE HAS NOW FAILED REQUIRING A NEW OR USED MOTOR - ESTIMATED AT $7,500 REPLACEMENT (NOT TO MENTION SIGNIFICANTLY LOWERING RESALE VALUE SINCE NEW MOTOR WILL NOT MATCH VIN). VEHICLE HAS BEEN METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED BEYOND MANUFACTURERS RECOMMENDED INTERVALS (EG: OIL CHANGE EVERY 3K MILES WITH BMW SPEC'D OIL AND FILTERS). THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH BMW, PARTICULARLY THE X5 - OIL SEPARATOR IN SUBSEQUENT YEARS WAS REDESIGNED TO ADDRESS ISSUE. NO WARNING FROM DEALERSHIP WHO MAINTAINED CAR UNTIL 2 YEARS AGO. THIS IS A WELL DOCUMENTED PROBLEM THAT HAS NOW CAUSED CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE AND COULD VERY WELL CAUSE CATASTROPHIC INJURY OR DEATH OF VEHICLE OCCUPANTS IF ENGINE FAILS ON HIGHWAY, RATHER THAN ON A NEIGHBORHOOD ROAD DRIVING @ 5 MPH.. BMW SHOULD HAVE MADE A RECALL ON THIS PART BEFORE THIS ISSUE STARTED OCCURRING WITH REGULAR FREQUENCY TO ANYONE LIVING IN A COLD CLIMATE. OLD PARTS AND MOTOR ARE STILL AVAILABLE - AT LEAST FOR THE CURRENT TIME. WILL NEED TO BE DISPOSED AS A CORE CHARGE IN NEAR FUTURE ONCE NEW ENGINE CAN BE LOCATED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

1/26/2009 - SCARSDALE, NY
ON COLD DAY, '01 BMW X5 3.0, STARTED, BRIEFLY WARMED AND DRIVEN 8 MILES B/F ENGINE QUITS AND WILL NOT RESTART. NO WARNING LIGHTS, NOR OVERHEATING INVOLVED. MECHANIC INDICATES ENGINE COMPLETELY SEIZED DUE TO OIL SEPARATOR FREEZING FROM RESIDUAL CONDENSATION IN AIR AS WELL AS CRANKCASE RESULTING IN OIL FORCED INTO CYLINDERS, CHOKING MOTOR, AND CRACKING CONNECTING RODS. ENGINE HAS NOW FAILED REQUIRING A NEW OR USED MOTOR - ESTIMATED AT $7,500 REPLACEMENT (NOT TO MENTION SIGNIFICANTLY LOWERING RESALE VALUE SINCE NEW MOTOR WILL NOT MATCH VIN). VEHICLE HAS BEEN METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED BEYOND MANUFACTURERS RECOMMENDED INTERVALS (EG: OIL CHANGE EVERY 3K MILES WITH BMW SPEC'D OIL AND FILTERS). THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH BMW, PARTICULARLY THE X5 - OIL SEPARATOR IN SUBSEQUENT YEARS WAS REDESIGNED TO ADDRESS ISSUE. NO WARNING FROM DEALERSHIP WHO MAINTAINED CAR UNTIL 2 YEARS AGO. THIS IS A WELL DOCUMENTED PROBLEM THAT HAS NOW CAUSED CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE AND COULD VERY WELL CAUSE CATASTROPHIC INJURY OR DEATH OF VEHICLE OCCUPANTS IF ENGINE FAILS ON HIGHWAY, RATHER THAN ON A NEIGHBORHOOD ROAD DRIVING @ 5 MPH.. BMW SHOULD HAVE MADE A RECALL ON THIS PART BEFORE THIS ISSUE STARTED OCCURRING WITH REGULAR FREQUENCY TO ANYONE LIVING IN A COLD CLIMATE. OLD PARTS AND MOTOR ARE STILL AVAILABLE - AT LEAST FOR THE CURRENT TIME. WILL NEED TO BE DISPOSED AS A CORE CHARGE IN NEAR FUTURE ONCE NEW ENGINE CAN BE LOCATED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/21/2009 - BREEZY POINT, MN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH IN SIX DEGREE WEATHER, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY BEGAN TO LOSE POWER AND THE SPEED DECREASED. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER AND NOTICED A LOT OF SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE TAIL PIPE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS CAUSED BY AN OIL VALVE SEPARATOR ISSUE. THE MECHANIC EXPLAINED THAT THE ENGINE FROZE AND SHOT OUT ALL OF THE OIL FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THE FAILURE COVERED BY HER AFTERMARKET WARRANTY, BUT THEY REFUSED BECAUSE IT WAS NOT AN INTERNAL ENGINE FAILURE; THEREFORE, THE MANUFACTURER WOULD HAVE TO ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY WOULD REPLACE THE OIL VALVE SEPARATOR. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THROUGH RESEARCH, SHE LEARNED THAT NUMEROUS PEOPLE WITH THE SAME VEHICLE HAVE EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE AND, AFTER THE REPAIR IS PERFORMED, THE FAILURE PERSISTS. SHE BELIEVES THAT THIS IS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 94,500.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/16/2009 - APPLETON, WI
BMW - VENT VALVE THE VEHICLE IS OBVIOUSLY ENGINEERED WRONG AND THE COMPANY SHOULD BE LIABLE. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME IT WOULD COST $1,000 TO REPLACE AND CLEANUP A FROZEN VENT VALVE DUE TO CONDENSATION FROM MOISTURE. THE EXTREME WEATHER WHERE I LIVE CAUSE THE CONDENSATION TO FREEZE CAUSING OIL TO BACKUP AND BLOW THE ENGINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/18/2008 - SEATTLE, WA
2001 BMW X5 4.4 WITH 88,000 MILES. I SHIFTED TO REVERSE TO BACK OUT OF MY PARKING SPOT, AND WHEN I TRIED TO APPLY THE GAS THE ENGINE REVVED BUT THE CAR DID NOT REVERSE. REVERSE WAS LIKE ANOTHER NEUTRAL. TOOK IT INTO LOCAL BMW DEALERSHIP FOR INSPECTION AND THEY SAID WE NEED TO REPLACE OUR TRANSMISSION.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/10/2008 - TEMECULA, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT TIRE. THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT FILLED WITH SMOKE. SHE DROVE TO A GAS STATION AND OBSERVED ALL OF THE WARNING INDICATORS BEGINNING TO ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF AND TOWED TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP. A FEW DAYS LATER, THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE THERMOSTAT CONTROL MELTED, WHICH CAUSED THE COPPER HOUSING UNIT TO MELT AND REST OVER THE FUEL SYSTEM OF THE ENGINE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD INVESTIGATE THE FAILURE. THE DEALER HAS NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN REPAIRED. THE CONTACT KEPT THE DEFECTIVE PARTS AND HAS SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 58,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/25/2008 - BRONX, NY
ON OCT.16,2008 I WAS EXPERIENCING HESITATION WHEN ACCELERATING AFTER I BRING IT TO AUTO REPAIR SHOP, AFTER THEY DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE ENTIRE WIRING HARNESS AND THE THROTTLE IS BAD AND NEED TO REPLACED AND INFORM ME THERE WAS SERVICE BULLETIN ON IT I CALL BMW DEALER SPEAK TO THEN ABOUT IT BUT THEY SAID THERE NOTHING THEY COULD DO FOR ME BECAUSE THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THE BULLETIN WAS OVER I, IT COST ME $1,200 TO FIT THE PROBLEM 2001 X5 3.0 60,000 MI.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

8/17/2008 - FALL RIVER, MA
FRONT DOORS ARE FREEZING UP IN COLD WEATHER. ONCE THE TEMPERATURE RISES THE DOORS WILL OPEN. HAPPENS EARLY IN THE MORNING/ LATE NIGHT WHEN I NEED TO LEAVE FOR WORK. SOMETIMES YOU CAN FORCE THE HANDLE TO OPEN BUT THEN THE DOOR WILL NOT CLOSE AND HAVE TO DRIVE HOLDING THE DOOR SHUT. THERE MUST BE A RECALL ON THIS,THERE HAVE BEEN SO MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME DOZENS OF TIMES. WENT TO DEALER MANY TIMES, REPLACED BOWDEN CABLE/ACTUATORS. COST ME $600.00 TO FIX, WILL SEE IF IT WORKS NEXT WINTER.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

8/17/2008 - FALL RIVER, MA
FRONT DOORS ARE FREEZING UP IN COLD WEATHER. ONCE THE TEMPERATURE RISES THE DOORS WILL OPEN. HAPPENS EARLY IN THE MORNING/ LATE NIGHT WHEN I NEED TO LEAVE FOR WORK. SOMETIMES YOU CAN FORCE THE HANDLE TO OPEN BUT THEN THE DOOR WILL NOT CLOSE AND HAVE TO DRIVE HOLDING THE DOOR SHUT. THERE MUST BE A RECALL ON THIS,THERE HAVE BEEN SO MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME DOZENS OF TIMES. WENT TO DEALER MANY TIMES, REPLACED BOWDEN CABLE/ACTUATORS. COST ME $600.00 TO FIX, WILL SEE IF IT WORKS NEXT WINTER.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

6/20/2008 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 55-60 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO OVERHEAT AND SMOKE, AND THE ENGINE FAILED. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE TOWED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBERS 01V206000 AND 02V138000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM:FAN). THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 87,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds