Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW X5 - 2001 BMW X5 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 170 complaints filed for the 2001 BMW X5

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 BMW X5. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 BMW X5, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Electrical System (22) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Seats (6) Structure (13) Visibility (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Other (3) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Equipment (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

5/12/2008 - SILVER SPRING, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER WINDOW DEVICES WERE INOPERATIVE, WHICH CAUSED THE WINDOWS TO SPORADICALLY BECOME STUCK IN THE UP OR DOWN POSITION. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND A TECHNICIAN REPLACED THE REGULATOR AND THE MOTOR. SEVERAL MONTHS LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER WILL NOT ASSUME ANY FINANCIAL LIABILITY BECAUSE THE VEHICLE HAS EXCEEDED ITS WARRANTY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS UNABLE TO ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 125,000. UPDATED 7/3/08 UPDATED 07/03/08

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/23/2008 - ANTIOCH, IL
I HAVE A 2001 BMW X-5. ON A COLD DAY IN JANUARY OF THIS YEAR I LEFT WORK AND DROVE APPROXIMATELY 25 MILES WHEN MY YELLOW CHECK OIL LIGHT CAME ON. I COULD SMELL OIL AND NOTICED THAT MY VEHICLE WAS SMOKING OUT THE EXHAUST PIPE. I WENT TO THE NEAREST SERVICE STATION AND TURNED OFF MY VEHICLE TO CHECK THE OIL. WHEN I PULLED OUT THE DIP STICK, OIL SHOT OUT OF THE HOLE AND SPRAYED ALL OVER THE INTERIOR OF MY HOOD, ON MY FACE AND ALL OVER MY CLOTHING. THE OIL CRANKCASE HAD BECOME PRESSURIZED AND WAS FORCING THE OIL OUT THE ENGINE, THROUGH THE RINGS AND VALVE COVERS. AFTER WIPING OFF MY FACE, HANDS AND CLOTHING THE BEST I COULD, I ADDED THREE QUARTS OF OIL TO RETURN THE LEVEL TO ACCEPTABLE CONDITIONS. REPAIRS NEEDED TO GET NEW GASKETS AND OIL SEPARATOR, PCV VALVE, DIP STICK GUIDE TUBE AND HOSES. THESE REPAIRS COST $1690. LATER I UNDERSTOOD THAT BMW WAS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND HAD ISSUED A SERVICE INFORMATION BULLETIN # SI B 11 08 03 TO ITS SERVICE DEPARTMENT. I ALSO HEARD THAT MORE THAN 100 SIMILAR EVENTS OCCURRED IN MINNEAPOLIS DURING THE FIRST COLD SPELL OF THIS SEASON. BMW SHOULD HAVE INFORMED OWNERS OF BMW OF THE NEED TO REPLACE PCV VALVES IF REQUIRED TO BOTH PREVENT POTENTIAL DAMAGE TO CARS AND DRIVERS WHO LIKE MYSELF RESPONDED TO THE SITUATION AND ENDED UP BEING SPRAYED BY WARM ENGINE OIL. A POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD EXISTED WITH OIL BEING FORCED FROM MY CRANKCASE INTO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS

2/12/2008 - HARRISBURG, PA
I OWN A 2001 BMW X5 WITH 65,000 MILES AND A COUPLE OF DAYS AGO I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO REPAIR A FLAT TIRE. WHEN I WENT TO TURN ON THE HAZARD LIGHTS THEY WOULD NOT WORK AT ALL. OBVIOUSLY THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGERS. TODAY I STARTED THE CAR AND THE HAZARDS STARTED BLINKING ON THEIR OWN. NOW I CAN'T TURN THEM OFF THEY CONTINUE TO KILL MY BATTERY. I PLAN TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT TO GET THEM FIXED ASAP.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TAIL LIGHTS

10/22/2007 - GLENWOOD SPRINGS, CO
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE TAIL LIGHT INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, WHICH INDICATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR LIGHT FAILED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE TWO DAYS LATER. THE DEALER WAS AWARE OF THE FAILURE, BUT WAS UNABLE TO REPAIR IT BECAUSE THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT CLEANED THE CONTACTS, WHICH WORKED FOR A DAY OR SO. THE DRIVER SIDE REAR LIGHT FAILED ON OCTOBER 20, 2007. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 130,150 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,498. UPDATED 01-14-08. UPDATED 12/12/07.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/26/2007 - SACRAMENTO, CA
BMW X5 3.0L 2001 1) CAR LOST POWER ON THE FREEWAY REQUIRING AN EMERGENCY STOP. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION BUT NO ONE WAS INJURED. 2) A HOLE IN THE PLASTIC COOLING SYSTEM CAUSED THE COOLANT TO EJECT. THE ENGINE OVERHEATED CAUSING TOTAL LOSS OF ENGINE. THERE WERE NO AUDIBLE OR VISIBLE WARNINGS. APPARENTLY THIS VEHICLE DOES NOT HAVE A COOLANT SENSOR AND THE ENGINE TEMPERATURE GAUGE CAN MALFUNCTION IF THE COOLANT HAS ALL LEAKED OUT. 3) ENTIRE ENGINE REPLACEMENT AT 63,000 MILES (OUT OF WARRANTY). CAR HAS HAD ALL BMW RECOMMENDED MAINTENANCE SERVICE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

2/20/2007 - MARTINSVILLE, VA
2001 BMW X5 RIGHT FRONT AXEL BOOT DISCOVERED LEAKING AFTER 5-1/2 YEARS LIGHT DUTY (57K MILES). LEFT FRONT ONE WAS FOUND TO BE CRACKED AND ALSO NEEDED REPLACEMENT. IF NOT DISCOVERED, POTENTIALLY COULD HAVE RESULTED IN LOSS OF STEERING CONTROL.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

1/30/2007 - FLOWERY BRANCH, GA
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 BMW X5. WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH A PASSENGER TOUCHED THE AUTOMATIC WINDOW CONTROL BUTTON AND THE WINDOW FELL OFF TRACK, FALLING INTO THE DOOR. UPDATED 02/27/07.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

11/28/2006 - PLACERVILLE, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, ALL EXTERIOR LIGHTS FAILED, AS WELL AS, POWER BRAKES, POWER STEERING AND THE ENGINE. AFTER COASTING TO A STOP, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, AFTER 25 MINUTES, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS IN FAILSAFE MODE FOR THE ENGINE AND THE TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN HOME ABOUT A MILE AWAY. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE SERVICE DEALER FOR SERVICE. THERE WERE NO SYMPTOMS OF THE PREVIOUS NIGHT. THE PROBLEM WAS NOT RECREATED, ALTHOUGH THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND WAS WILLING TO SEND A TECHNICIAN FOR FURTHER INVESTIGATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/28/2006 - PLACERVILLE, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, ALL EXTERIOR LIGHTS FAILED, AS WELL AS, POWER BRAKES, POWER STEERING AND THE ENGINE. AFTER COASTING TO A STOP, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, AFTER 25 MINUTES, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS IN FAILSAFE MODE FOR THE ENGINE AND THE TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN HOME ABOUT A MILE AWAY. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE SERVICE DEALER FOR SERVICE. THERE WERE NO SYMPTOMS OF THE PREVIOUS NIGHT. THE PROBLEM WAS NOT RECREATED, ALTHOUGH THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND WAS WILLING TO SEND A TECHNICIAN FOR FURTHER INVESTIGATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

11/27/2006 - PLACERVILLE, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH ON A DARK RURAL ROAD, THE VEHICLE LOST ALL LIGHTS AND POWER. EVENTUALLY THE ENGINE COMPLETELY DIED. AFTER 25 MINUTES, THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED, AND WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPLACED. THE PROBLEM WAS THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPLACED A YEAR AGO FOR INTERMITTENT START PROBLEMS. THE CONTACT'S SPOUSE WAS VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF DRIVING THE VEHICLE WITH THE FAMILY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds