Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW X5 - 2001 BMW X5 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 170 complaints filed for the 2001 BMW X5

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 BMW X5. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 BMW X5, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Electrical System (22) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Seats (6) Structure (13) Visibility (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Other (3) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Equipment (5)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

11/27/2006 - PLACERVILLE, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH ON A COUNTRY ROAD AT NIGHT, THERE WAS A LOSS OF THE HEADLIGHTS FOLLOWED BY THE ENGINE STALLING WITHOUT WARNING. THE ENGINE RESTARTED AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS, AND AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME. THERE WERE NO FURTHER INCIDENTS OF HEADLIGHT FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER, WHO DETERMINED THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALERTED.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

9/26/2006 - RICHARDSON, TX
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ROLL THE WINDOWS DOWN, THE MOTOR FAILED TO OPERATE. ALL FOUR WINDOWS WERE AFFECTED DURING THE PAST FOUR MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER, WHO DETERMINED THE REGULATORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. UPDATED 12/28/2006 - THE CONSUMER HAS CHANGED ALL 4 REGULATORS IN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/27/2006 - HALF MOON BAY, CA
WHILE PARKED, THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SHIFT LEVER MOVED INTO THE REVERSE POSITION, BUT THE CAR FAILED TO MOVE WITH THE LEVER IN THAT POSITION. WE CHANGED THE POSITION OF THE SHIFT LEVER SEVERAL TIMES ALWAYS GOING BACK TO REVERSE, BUT THE CAR WOULD NEVER MOVE WHEN IN REVERSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/21/2006 - CHULA VISTA, CA
AT 40K MILES 4.4 X 5 HAD ELECTRICAL FAILURE, ALL DASH LIGHTS AND DIGITAL GAUGES WENT OUT WHEN I TURNED THE CAR ON. DROVE WITH ONLY SPEEDOMETER AND NON DIGITAL GAUGES WORKING. CHECKED FUSES AND CHANGED A FEW BUT COULD NOT GET THEM TO WORK. CHARGED FOR SERVICE TO REPAIR 200. DIGITAL GAUGES ARE STILL NOT ALL LIT. ONLY PARTIAL DIGITS FOR TIME AND ODOMETER READING. THESE GAUGES SHOULD WORK UNTIL AT LEAST 100,000 MILES ON ANY CAR. I AM CONSIDERING A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT AS I FEEL ROBBED AND CHEATED TO BY BMW ALONG WITH MANY OTHERS.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

1/31/2006 - WEST HARTFORD, CT
: THE CONTACT STATED IN FREEZING CONDITIONS, THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR LATCH FREEZES SHUT. THE DEALERSHIP DETERMINED THE LATCH NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT IS UNAWARE IF THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH THE OTHER DOORS, SINCE THEY ARE NOT USED. UPDATED 03/09/06

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

1/16/2006 - WAKEFIELD, MA
THE DRIVER AND FRONT PASSENGER DOOR MECHANISM FREEZES (FREQUENTLY) IN COLD WEATHER SUCH THAT THE DOOR WILL OPEN BUT WILL NOT LATCH WHEN CLOSED. THE RESULT IS THAT A DRIVER MUST DRIVE HOLDING THE DOOR CLOSED OR NOT DRIVE THE CAR AT ALL, WHICH IS DIFFICULT IF YOU NEED TO GET HOME.

View Details

STRUCTURE

9/28/2005 - CORONA, CA
PURCHASED NEW X5 IN SEPT. 2001 - AND THAT'S WHEN MY PROBLEMS BEGAN! LUCKILY THE CAR WAS UNDER WARRANTY IN THE BEGINNING, OTHERWISE I WOULD HAVE PAID JUST AS MUCH IN REPAIRS AS I DID FOR THAT SO CALLED LUXURY VEHICLE OF MINE. (1) I IMMEDIATELY BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH CONDENSATION INSIDE THE FRONT HEADLAMPS WHICH TOOK DAYS TO CLEAR UP. DEALER DIDN'T KNOW WHY THIS HAPPENED. SEVERAL YEARS LATER AND I'M STILL EXPERIENCING THIS SAME PROBLEM. (2) ALL OF THE RUBBER TRIM AND MOLDING ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE (ESPECIALLY AROUND THE WINDOWS) HAS FADED AND BECOME DISCOLORED. (3) THE MOLDING AROUND THE DOOR FRAMES HAS DISINTEGRATED HORRIBLY AND STARTED TO COME OFF ($250 TO REPAIR). THE DEALER SAID THIS IS NORMAL. (4) WITHIN THE PAST THREE YEARS, I HAVE HAD THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW REGULATOR REPLACED THREE TIMES. I WAS ALSO TOLD THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM W/BMWS. (5) I NOW MUST ROLL DOWN MY WINDOW AND OPEN MY DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE BECAUSE THE DOOR HANDLE JAMS AND WON'T ALLOW ME TO OPEN DOOR FROM THE INSIDE. THIS HAS HAPPENED FOUR TIMES ALREADY, ($1,000 TO FIX). (6) BOTH FRONT HEADLIGHTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED TWICE ALREADY - AND OF COURSE THE DEALER RECOMMENDS REPLACING THE ENTIRE ASSEMBLY AT $200 A POP. (7) THE BOTH FRONT DOOR LOCK ACTUATORS ARE DEFECTIVE AND NEED TO BE REPLACED ($400 EACH). IT WILL NOT LOCK/UNLOCK THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR SO WE MUST DO SO MANUALLY. (8) THE REAR HATCH WOULD NOT OPEN PROPERLY. THE LATCH ASSEMBLY HAD TO BE REPLACED TWICE (THANKFULLY UNDER WARRANTY) BEFORE OUR PROBLEM WAS RESOLVED. (9) THE LEFT REAR TAIL LAMP ASSEMBLY IS NOW BEING REPLACED FOR THE THIRD TIME ($259) BECAUSE THE BULB CONTINUES TO GO OUT FOR SOME UNKNOWN REASON. HAD I KNOWN THAT I WAS BUYING A "MONEY PIT" INSTEAD OF A LUXURY VEHICLE, I WOULD HAVE RUN AWAY FROM THE DEALERSHIP SCREAMING. I AM PREPARING TO SELL OR TRADE THIS HEADACHE FOR SOMETHING WITH FEWER PROBLEMS. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER BMW AGAIN!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM: FAN

9/28/2005 - CORONA, CA
THE COOLING FAN BEGAN TURNING ON AND BLOW AT MAXIMUM POWER BY ITSELF. THIS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES. I WAS NOT UNTIL WE TALKED WITH A ANOTHER PERSON WHO ALSO EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM, THAT WE FOUND IT THERE WAS A RECALL BY BMW. WE TOOK OUR VEHICLE TO THE DEALER (IN BUENA PARK,CA) AND WAS TOLD THAT WE HAD TO PAY FOR REPAIRS BECAUSE WE WAITED TO LONG TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN! REMEMBER - NEITHER SAVAGE BMW NOR BMW NORTH AMERICA NOTIFIED US ABOUT THE DEFECT! SO WE HAD TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS OUT OF POCKET AND THE DEALER REFUSED TO REIMBURSE US.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

9/1/2005 - NEW ALBANY, OH
MY 2001 BMW X5 DOOR LOCKS GET STUCK WHEN IT IS VERY COLD, USUALLY BELOW 15 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT. THE KEY REMOTE DOES NOT WORK & IF I CAN GET THE KEY TO MANUALLY UNLOCK THE DOOR, AND GET INTO THE VEHICLE, WHEN I GO TO SHUT THE DOOR THE LATCH IS STUCK "OPEN" AND WILL NOT CLOSE, THEREFORE MAKING THE CAR UN-DRIVABLE BECAUSE THE DOOR WILL NOT LATCH CLOSE. I HAVE DISCUSSED THIS W/ BMW ON 8/16/05 & THEY REVIEWED IT. A BMW DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE SAID THAT THEY HAVE NOTICED THAT THE CURRENT "LATCHING/LOCKING" SYSTEM CAN ALLOW MOISTURE TO GET INTO THE LOCKS & MAKE THEM UNUSABLE. THEY OFFERED TO REPLACE ALL 4 LOCKING MECHANISMS BUT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY 1/2 PART & LABOR, COST TO ME $450.00 OUT OF POCKET. THIS SOUNDS LIKE AN ENGINEERING PROBLEM THAT BMW SHOULD RECALL. I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE THIS INVESTIGATED.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

9/1/2005 - MERIDIAN, ID
1. HAD CAR SERVICED AT 60,000 MILES, ONLY 3 WEEKS LATER THE GREEN DASHES STARTED APPEARING AGAIN AND STAYING ON, AS IF I NEEDED TO HAVE CAR SERVICED. CALLED DEALER AND THEY SAID NOT TO WORRY, THIS HAS BEEN KNOW TO HAPPEN, JUST IGNORE IT. 2. VERY LOUD NOISE FROM SUN ROOF (CLOSED) WHILE TRAVELING ON FREEWAY AND LEAKS DURING CAR WASHES? DEALER SAID THEY CAN REPLACE THE SEAL AND THIS SHOULD FIX THE PROBLEM. 3. BRAKE LIGHT INDICATOR ON DASH COMES ON AND OFF, AS IF BULB IS OUT, BUT JUST REPLACED BULB, THEN REPLACED AGAIN, SOMETIMES THIS BRAKE LIGHT WORKS AND SOMETIMES IT DOESN'T. 4. WINDOW ON FRONT PASSENGER WINDOW WOULD NOT GO BACK UP AFTER OPENED, THEN A DAY LATER, THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN OR CLOSE. DEALER REPLACED THE WINDOW MECHANISM THAT CONTROLS BOTH THE DOOR HANDLE AND THE WINDOW AT MY COST MIND YOU THE REAR WINDOW AND DOOR HAD BEEN DONE ONLY A YEAR BEFORE. THE DEALER TOLD ME THAT THIS HAPPENS ON ALL GERMAN CARS, DOESN'T MATTER THE AGE OF CAR OR MAKE. HOW FRUSTRATING - SPEND $45,000 AND KNOW WINDOWS WILL EVENTUALLY QUIT WORKING?? 5. FRONT RIGHT HEADLAMP GETS MOISTURE IN IT AND IT TAKES 3-5 DAYS TO CLEAR UP. 6. DRIVER CUP HOLDERS, WHAT IS UP WITH THAT - CAN ONLY PUT ONE CUP IN IT, WHEN TRY TO PUT 2 IN, THEY OVERLAP, VERY FRUSTRATING WHEN DRIVING. 7. STORAGE IN FRONT MINIMAL AND A HASSLE, YOU HAVE TO REACH BACK AND SORT OF BEHIND YOU TO GET INTO COMPARTMENT - DANGEROUS WHILE DRIVING. 8. LEATHER SEATS ARE VERY HARD, NEED A PLUSHIER LEATHER. 9. WHEELS, BRAKE "DUST" GETS ALL OVER THE WHEELS MUCH MUCH MORE THAN ANY OTHER LUXURY CAR I HAVE EVER HAD. 10. CARGO COVER IN REAR NEEDS WORK, CHECK OUT THE ONE LEXUS USES IN RX30. 11. NEED MORE CARGO SPACE - COMPARED TO RX330 AND THE VOLVO X90, SPACE IS EXTREMELY SMALL. 12. DISAPPOINTED IN MY CAR - WANT TO SELL IT, WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER BMW.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds