Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET S10 - 2001 CHEVROLET S10 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 271 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET S10

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET S10. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET S10, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Exterior Lighting (5) Other (6) Service Brakes (6) Tires (11)
Electrical System (25) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (53) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Power Train (18) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (12) Seat Belts (9) Structure (67) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (10) Suspension (19) Wheels (1)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

5/21/2015 - ALBANY, OR
THE EMERGENCY BRAKE IS MISSING THE TEETH FOR HOLDING THE BRAKE IN PLACE. ALSO THE ABS LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON AND THEY SAY IT IS THE MASTER THAT NEEDS REPLACEMENT AT OVER $1,200. THIS IS ONLY A DANGER IF USING THE CURSOR CONTROL ON WET PAVEMENT WHICH I NEVER USE DUE TO THE ABS NOT WORKING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/28/2015 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
GAS GAUGE NOT WORKING PROPERLY WHEN GAS TANK IS FULL OF GAS THE GAUGE WILL SHOW EMPTY, HALF FULL OR FULL. THE DEFECTIVE GAS GAUGE FAULTY READING HAVE BEEN A PROBLEM ON NUMEROUS MODELS OF GMC AUTOMOBILES. HAVE A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN BEEN ISSUED TO THE CONCERN DEALERSHIP. THE PRICE TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM RANGE FROM $250.00 DOLLARS TO $500.00 DOLLARS. DRIVING WITH A FAULTY GAS GAUGE CAN BE QUITE AN EXPERIENCE. SIDNEY RICKS

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/10/2014 - NUTLEY, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET S10. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE SPARE TIRE CARRIER DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS A CERTIFIED MECHANIC AND REPAIRED THE SPARE TIRE HOIST ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/17/2014 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
OUR ABS LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON AND WHEN IT DOES THE ABS DON'T WORK. IT COMES ON WHENEVER IT WANTS. IT IS THE SAME ISSUES AS THE 2000 ARE HAVING AND THEY HAVE A RECALL. IT RECENTLY CAUSED THE BACK WHEEL NOT TO MOVE AT ALL. WE WERE TOLD THE SPRING INSIDE THE MODULE IS GOING OUT. IT ALSO AFFECTS THE AIR BAG FROM GOING ON. ALSO, THE IGNITION WON'T WORK THE TRUCK WON'T START. IT TAKES SEVERAL TRIES TO GET IT TO START. WE WERE JUST TOLD THAT IT'S THE STARTER. THE SEATBELT LOCKS INTERMITTENTLY AND WON'T LET ME MOVE.

View Details

STEERING

8/17/2014 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
OUR ABS LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON AND WHEN IT DOES THE ABS DON'T WORK. IT COMES ON WHENEVER IT WANTS. IT IS THE SAME ISSUES AS THE 2000 ARE HAVING AND THEY HAVE A RECALL. IT RECENTLY CAUSED THE BACK WHEEL NOT TO MOVE AT ALL. WE WERE TOLD THE SPRING INSIDE THE MODULE IS GOING OUT. IT ALSO AFFECTS THE AIR BAG FROM GOING ON. ALSO, THE IGNITION WON'T WORK THE TRUCK WON'T START. IT TAKES SEVERAL TRIES TO GET IT TO START. WE WERE JUST TOLD THAT IT'S THE STARTER. THE SEATBELT LOCKS INTERMITTENTLY AND WON'T LET ME MOVE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/17/2014 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
OUR ABS LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON AND WHEN IT DOES THE ABS DON'T WORK. IT COMES ON WHENEVER IT WANTS. IT IS THE SAME ISSUES AS THE 2000 ARE HAVING AND THEY HAVE A RECALL. IT RECENTLY CAUSED THE BACK WHEEL NOT TO MOVE AT ALL. WE WERE TOLD THE SPRING INSIDE THE MODULE IS GOING OUT. IT ALSO AFFECTS THE AIR BAG FROM GOING ON. ALSO, THE IGNITION WON'T WORK THE TRUCK WON'T START. IT TAKES SEVERAL TRIES TO GET IT TO START. WE WERE JUST TOLD THAT IT'S THE STARTER. THE SEATBELT LOCKS INTERMITTENTLY AND WON'T LET ME MOVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/17/2014 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
OUR ABS LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON AND WHEN IT DOES THE ABS DON'T WORK. IT COMES ON WHENEVER IT WANTS. IT IS THE SAME ISSUES AS THE 2000 ARE HAVING AND THEY HAVE A RECALL. IT RECENTLY CAUSED THE BACK WHEEL NOT TO MOVE AT ALL. WE WERE TOLD THE SPRING INSIDE THE MODULE IS GOING OUT. IT ALSO AFFECTS THE AIR BAG FROM GOING ON. ALSO, THE IGNITION WON'T WORK THE TRUCK WON'T START. IT TAKES SEVERAL TRIES TO GET IT TO START. WE WERE JUST TOLD THAT IT'S THE STARTER. THE SEATBELT LOCKS INTERMITTENTLY AND WON'T LET ME MOVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/11/2013 - OLYMPIA, WA
MY 2001 S10 CHEVROLET PICK UP ABS LIGHT HAS BEEN ON FOR EVER AND THE BRAKE SHOPS AND THE TIRE STORE MECHANICS TELL ME THERE ARE A LOT OF CHEVROLET TRUCKS WITH THIS PROBLEM. THE REPAIR ESTIMATES I HAVE RECEIVED RANGE FROM $1000.00 TO $1500.00. AFTER INTERNET RESEARCH I HAVE FOUND THIS IS A BIG PROBLEM AND IT HAS TO DO WITH TWO SOLDER POINTS IN THE ABS CONTROL CIRCUIT BOARD AT THE ABS HEAD. SOME FOLKS TAKE THIS UNIT APART AND SOLDER THESE TWO POINTS AND THEY WORK/REPAIRED THE PROBLEM, SOMETIMES NOT. .IS GENERAL MOTORS FIXING THESE PROBLEMS??

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/29/2012 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
ABS BRAKE SYSTEM CONTINUOUSLY BECOMES INOPERABLE AND THE LIGHT COMES ON WITH THE RED BRAKE LIGHT. THE DEALER SAYS IT TRASH IN THE SYSTEM AND DOESN'T THINK IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. NOW THE LIGHTS STAY ON ALL THE TIME AND INSPECTION IS DUE. DUE TO THIS MANUFACTURER DEFECT, THE PART COST $900.00 AND THEN LABOR, JOB WILL BE $1300.00. I HAVE A 2000 FORD WINDSTAR VAN WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. IS THERE SOMETHING THAT CAN MAKE THE MANUFACTURER PAY FOR THE REPAIR? THIS IS A CLOSED SYSTEM THAT HAS NEVER BEEN TOUCHED OR SERVICED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/17/2012 - MARTINSVILLE , VA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 CHEVROLET S10. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A LIGHT POLE, BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE DRIVER HIT HIS HEAD ON THE WINDSHIELD UPON IMPACT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER RECEIVED STITCHES AND COMPLAINED THAT HIS BACK AND NECK WERE CONSTANTLY HURTING. HE ALSO SUSTAINED BRUISES AND ABRASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS DECLARED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 180,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds