Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET S10 - 2001 CHEVROLET S10 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 263 complaints filed for the 2001 CHEVROLET S10

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 CHEVROLET S10. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 CHEVROLET S10, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (53) Tires (11)
Electrical System (23) Fuel System Other (12) Power Train (18) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Interior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (8) Structure (66) Visibility (7)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Seats (10) Suspension (19) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (4) Other (6) Service Brakes (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/11/2013 - OLYMPIA, WA
MY 2001 S10 CHEVROLET PICK UP ABS LIGHT HAS BEEN ON FOR EVER AND THE BRAKE SHOPS AND THE TIRE STORE MECHANICS TELL ME THERE ARE A LOT OF CHEVROLET TRUCKS WITH THIS PROBLEM. THE REPAIR ESTIMATES I HAVE RECEIVED RANGE FROM $1000.00 TO $1500.00. AFTER INTERNET RESEARCH I HAVE FOUND THIS IS A BIG PROBLEM AND IT HAS TO DO WITH TWO SOLDER POINTS IN THE ABS CONTROL CIRCUIT BOARD AT THE ABS HEAD. SOME FOLKS TAKE THIS UNIT APART AND SOLDER THESE TWO POINTS AND THEY WORK/REPAIRED THE PROBLEM, SOMETIMES NOT. .IS GENERAL MOTORS FIXING THESE PROBLEMS??

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/29/2012 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
ABS BRAKE SYSTEM CONTINUOUSLY BECOMES INOPERABLE AND THE LIGHT COMES ON WITH THE RED BRAKE LIGHT. THE DEALER SAYS IT TRASH IN THE SYSTEM AND DOESN'T THINK IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. NOW THE LIGHTS STAY ON ALL THE TIME AND INSPECTION IS DUE. DUE TO THIS MANUFACTURER DEFECT, THE PART COST $900.00 AND THEN LABOR, JOB WILL BE $1300.00. I HAVE A 2000 FORD WINDSTAR VAN WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. IS THERE SOMETHING THAT CAN MAKE THE MANUFACTURER PAY FOR THE REPAIR? THIS IS A CLOSED SYSTEM THAT HAS NEVER BEEN TOUCHED OR SERVICED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/17/2012 - MARTINSVILLE , VA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 CHEVROLET S10. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A LIGHT POLE, BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE DRIVER HIT HIS HEAD ON THE WINDSHIELD UPON IMPACT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER RECEIVED STITCHES AND COMPLAINED THAT HIS BACK AND NECK WERE CONSTANTLY HURTING. HE ALSO SUSTAINED BRUISES AND ABRASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS DECLARED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 180,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

12/20/2010 - MCCONNELLSBURG, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET S-10 PICKUP. AFTER TAKING THE VEHICLE IN FOR A STATE INSPECTION THEY FOUND THAT THE FRONT BRAKE ROTORS RUSTED VERY BADLY AND HAD FALLEN APART. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO REPLACED THE ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS AT THE CONTACTS EXPENSE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE FOR THE REPAIRS. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/26/2010 - HARRISON, TN
I HAVE BEEN VERY LUCKY AND NOT KILLED IN AN ACCIDENT, MY ENGINE STALLS DUE TO FUEL STARVATION. INVESTIGATION PE02066 , I HAVE HAD TUNE UP NEW SPARK PLUGS, NEW THROTTLE CONTROL SENSOR, AND ANOTHER SENSOR, FUEL INJECTORS, THROTTLE BODY AND STILL THE TRUCK DOES THE STALLING OUT. I FEEL THAT IS A PROBLEM WITH THE TRUCK, AND A REAL SAFETY HAZARD. THIS IS A DAILY OCCURRENCE .

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

4/20/2010 - ALBURN, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET S10 BLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THE STRIKER PLATE ON THE DOOR WAS CRACKED. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE CRACK WOULD EXTEND AROUND THE DOOR AND POTENTIALLY CAUSE THE DOOR TO FRACTURE FROM THE VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING. THE DEALER ADVISED HE HAD NOT RECEIVED ANY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 96,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL

5/21/2009 - MANCHESTER , MA
S10 CANNOT PASS EMISSIONS TEST IN MA. DUE TO A LATENT DEFECT THAT ALLOWS WATER,MUD. AND SLUDGE TO GET INTO THE AIR COMPRESSOR, EFFECTING THE ENTIRE EMISSIONS SYSTEM. A TECH ALERT HAS BEEN ISSUED. DEALERSHIPS BOTH WERE I BOUGHT IT AND NEAREST TO ADDERS ARE A JOKE. I HAVE SPENT OVER $1200 FOR NEW O2 SENSORS IN TAILPIPE AND MAIN ENGINE INTAKE, NOW IT IS A NEW AIR PUMP AND MORE DEFECTIVE SENSORS. AT AN ESTIMATE OF OVER $1100. THE TRUCK OTHERWISE RUNS FINE. IF IT WERE NOT FOR EMISSIONS TESTS I WOULD NOT BE COMPLAINING. THIS IS A GM DESIGN PROBLEM. THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT HAS BEEN ON FOR EVER. WHO ELSE CAN I CONTACT?PLEASE , I CANNOT AFFORD TO DRIVE TO WORK W/O BEING IN VIOLATION OF THE LAW. I AM OUTRAGED BY GM'S TOTAL LACK OF SUPPORT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

10/26/2008 - SUISUN CITY, CA
I HAVE A 2001 CHEVORLET EXTREME "S-10". IT HAS THE THIRD DOOR BEHIND THE DRIVERS DOOR, IN THE LAST TWO YEARS, I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE DOOR HANDLE FOR THE THIRD DOOR ATLEAST 6 TIMES. THE THIRD DOOR IS NOT USED REGULARLY, BUT AGAIN, ATLEAST 6 TIMES IN THE PAST TWO YEARS IT HAS SNAPPED AT THE HINGES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/13/2008 - HURST, TX
BRAKE LIGHT AND ABS LIGHT COME ON AND STAY ON FOR A WHILE AND THEN GO OFF. AFTER BRAKING AND ROLLING OVER A SMALL BUMP IN ROAD AT STOP SIGN PEDAL LOSES PRESSURE AND STOPPING BECOMES HARD. I ROLLED PAST STOP SIGN AND WAS LIGHTLY STRUCK ON PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. I HAVE INVESTIGATED THIS PROBLEM AND I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE TO HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/30/2008 - NORTH ADAMS, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET S10. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT WAS CONSTANTLY ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT CONTROL PANEL. SHE TOOK HER VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY REPLACED THE FUEL FILTER. SEVERAL MONTHS LATER, THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE PCM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE VEHICLE; THEREFORE, SHE WOULD HAVE TO ASSUME LIABILITY FOR THE REPAIR COST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 146,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds