Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC YUKON XL - 2001 GMC YUKON XL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2001 GMC YUKON XL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 GMC YUKON XL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 GMC YUKON XL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Parking Brake (24) Service Brakes Air (5) Structure (7)
Electrical System (7) Fuel System Other (1) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (34) Tires (8)
Exterior Lighting (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Fuel System Diesel (1) Other (2) Service Brakes (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

3/10/2010 - COUNCIL BLUFFS, IA
INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). WHEN THE VEHICLE IS AT A LOW SPEED NEAR STOPPING THE BRAKE KICKS BACK AS IF THE ABS BECOMES ACTIVATED AND THE STOPPING DISTANCE IS INCREASED. THIS OCCURS ON ALL SURFACES WET OR DRY. THE ISSUE HAS NOT BEEN CORRECTED AND THE PARTS ARE AVAILABLE. THE SAME VEHICLE (YEAR/MAKE/MODEL) HAS A RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE BUT I HAVE BEEN TOLD MY VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL PER THE VIN NUMBER. THE GM RECALL NUMBER IS 05068 AND YOUR REPORT NUMBER IS 05V521000. [XXX]. THE SYSTEM WILL NOT ALLOW ME TO ENTER THIS AS MY VIN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

7/2/2009 - BOCA RATON, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC YUKON XL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE HAD ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES ON HIS VEHICLE. THE SENSOR WOULD AUTOMATICALLY APPLY THE BRAKES WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKES WOULD AUTOMATICALLY LOCK WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS. A MECHANIC STATED THAT THE WHEEL SPEED SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS NO RECALL SO THE DEALER WOULD NOT REPLACE THE COMPONENT FOR FREE. THE CONTACT TOOK HIS VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A TSB FOR THE FAILURE. HE WOULD HAVE TO PAY $300 TO REPLACE THE WHEEL SPEED SENSOR. THE CONTACT INFORMED THE DEALER THAT HE WOULD HAVE HIS MECHANIC REPAIR IT FOR $75. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 102,783.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/3/2009 - DELPHOS, OH
CORROSION BETWEEN FRONT HUB/BEARING ASSEMBLY AND WHEEL SPEED SENSOR IN GMC YUKON XL CAUSING UNWANTED ANTI-LOCK BRAKE SYSTEM (ABS) ACTIVATION WHEN VEHICLE IS TRAVELING AT A SPEED OF APPROX. 7 MPH DURING BRAKING. CAN LEAD TO CRASH. RECALL BULLETIN 05068 COVERS THIS ISSUE AND MY VIN IS IN THE BULLETIN FOR RECALL, BUT GM WILL NOT COVER EXPENSE FOR REPAIR. THEIR ELECTRONIC DATABASE DOESN'T HAVE MY VIN IN THE SYSTEM AND REFUSE SERVICE DESPITE ITS INCLUSION WITHIN THE RECALL. I LIVE IN OHIO AND BOUGHT THE VEHICLE IN OHIO. THE RECALL COVERS OHIO VEHICLES AND OTHER HIGH CORROSION STATES IN THE U.S.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/3/2009 - DELPHOS, OH
CORROSION BETWEEN FRONT HUB/BEARING ASSEMBLY AND WHEEL SPEED SENSOR IN GMC YUKON XL CAUSING UNWANTED ANTI-LOCK BRAKE SYSTEM (ABS) ACTIVATION WHEN VEHICLE IS TRAVELING AT A SPEED OF APPROX. 7 MPH DURING BRAKING. CAN LEAD TO CRASH. RECALL BULLETIN 05068 COVERS THIS ISSUE AND MY VIN IS IN THE BULLETIN FOR RECALL, BUT GM WILL NOT COVER EXPENSE FOR REPAIR. THEIR ELECTRONIC DATABASE DOESN'T HAVE MY VIN IN THE SYSTEM AND REFUSE SERVICE DESPITE ITS INCLUSION WITHIN THE RECALL. I LIVE IN OHIO AND BOUGHT THE VEHICLE IN OHIO. THE RECALL COVERS OHIO VEHICLES AND OTHER HIGH CORROSION STATES IN THE U.S.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

3/3/2008 - CUMMING, GA
HEATED SEAT MODULE FAILED AND INSTEAD OF JUST NOT WORKING IT STAYED ON, RAN MY BATTERY DOWN, CAUSED MY SEAT TO GET REALLY HOT TO THE TOUCH AND I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT IT CATCHING FIRE. IF A MODULE IS FAULTY IT SHOULD SHUT OFF NOT STAY ON AND CAUSED THE POSSIBILITY OF A FIRE AND RUN YOUR BATTERY DOWN. GM HAD TO DISCONNECT THE SEAT MODULE TO GET IT TO GO OFF. THEY WANT $481 TO FIX AND COULD NOT GUARANTEE THAT IT WOULDN'T HAPPEN AGAIN. I PAID THEM $150 TO DISCONNECT AND THIS WAY I KNOW IT WON'T HAPPEN AGAIN. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, MY YUKON COULD HAVE BURNED UP.....AFTER BUYING A NEW BATTERY (SINCE THIS CAUSED THE OTHER ONE TO GO BAD)I HAD TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY UNTIL I COULD GET IT TO CARL BLACK TO DISCONNECT PERMANENTLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY

3/3/2008 - CUMMING, GA
HEATED SEAT MODULE FAILED AND INSTEAD OF JUST NOT WORKING IT STAYED ON, RAN MY BATTERY DOWN, CAUSED MY SEAT TO GET REALLY HOT TO THE TOUCH AND I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT IT CATCHING FIRE. IF A MODULE IS FAULTY IT SHOULD SHUT OFF NOT STAY ON AND CAUSED THE POSSIBILITY OF A FIRE AND RUN YOUR BATTERY DOWN. GM HAD TO DISCONNECT THE SEAT MODULE TO GET IT TO GO OFF. THEY WANT $481 TO FIX AND COULD NOT GUARANTEE THAT IT WOULDN'T HAPPEN AGAIN. I PAID THEM $150 TO DISCONNECT AND THIS WAY I KNOW IT WON'T HAPPEN AGAIN. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, MY YUKON COULD HAVE BURNED UP.....AFTER BUYING A NEW BATTERY (SINCE THIS CAUSED THE OTHER ONE TO GO BAD)I HAD TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY UNTIL I COULD GET IT TO CARL BLACK TO DISCONNECT PERMANENTLY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK: ABS WARNING LIGHT

1/2/2008 - FRANKLIN, TN
INTERIOR ABS LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THEN A HUMMING NOISE HEARD UNDER THE DRIVER SIDE COMPARTMENT. GMC DEALER DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS FAILURE OF THE ABS ELECTRONIC MODULE UNIT. THEY ADVISED ME THAT IT WOULD BE $1130.00 + TAX TO REPLACE. THIS BRAKE FAILURE OCCURRED AT 70,000 MILES. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPEN TO THIS VEHICLE. THE OTHER TIME IT WAS UNDER A EXTENDED WARRANTY (09/2004). I HOPE THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN EVERY 3 YEARS. DEALERSHIP SAYS THEY REPLACE THEM ALL THE TIME. I WAS TOLD IT WAS PLACED NEXT TO THE FRAME WHERE WATER COULD GET IN THE UNIT AND CAUSE DAMAGE...ENOUGH TO REPLACE. HOPEFULLY A RECALL CAMPAIGN WILL HAPPEN BEFORE I HAVE TO REPLACE THE NEXT ONE. I HAVE READ NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS TYPE OF BRAKE FAILURE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: LOCK

12/27/2007 - MARIANNA, FL
RIGHT GLASS LIFT GATE HINGE FAILED AND BROKE AWAY FROM GLASS AFTER APPROXIMATELY 50,000 MILES. LIFT GATE WAS RENDERED INOPERABLE BUT STAYED SHUT. AT ABOUT 60,000 MILES THE ENTIRE LIFT GATE BROKE AWAY AND FELL ONTO THE ROAD WHILE DRIVING. A REPLACEMENT LIFT GATE GLASS HAD TO BE PURCHASED FROM A JUNK YARD FOR $500. INSTALLATION WAS PERFORMED BY MYSELF.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

12/13/2007 - MABLETON, GA
SECOND INCIDENT WITH FAULTY ABS MODULE. THE DEALER CHARGED OVER $2000 TO FIX IN 2005 AND I AM HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. THE DEALER STATES THE PART IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY GM IS PUTTING DEFECTIVE PARTS IN CARS CONTINUOUSLY AND OVERCHARGING CUSTOMERS TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM FIXED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

9/5/2007 - CINCINNATI, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC YUKON XL. WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH, THE CONTACT DECELERATED, BUT THE SPEEDOMETER DISPLAYED 120 MPH. HE STATED THAT ON SOME OCCASIONS THE SPEEDOMETER WILL DISPLAY 0 MPH AND ON OTHER OCCASIONS IT FAILS TO DISPLAY ANYTHING. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE AS THE STEEPER MOTOR AND STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE REPLACEMENT WILL COST $600. GMC STATED THAT THEY CANNOT INVESTIGATE THE FAILURE BECAUSE THERE ARE NO REPORTS AVAILABLE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 62,995 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds