Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC YUKON XL - 2001 GMC YUKON XL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 108 complaints filed for the 2001 GMC YUKON XL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 GMC YUKON XL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 GMC YUKON XL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (7) Fuel System Other (1) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Air (5) Structure (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (1)
Exterior Lighting (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Tires (8)
Fuel System Diesel (1) Other (2) Service Brakes (6) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Fuel System Gasoline (10) Parking Brake (24)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

3/3/2008 - CUMMING, GA
HEATED SEAT MODULE FAILED AND INSTEAD OF JUST NOT WORKING IT STAYED ON, RAN MY BATTERY DOWN, CAUSED MY SEAT TO GET REALLY HOT TO THE TOUCH AND I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT IT CATCHING FIRE. IF A MODULE IS FAULTY IT SHOULD SHUT OFF NOT STAY ON AND CAUSED THE POSSIBILITY OF A FIRE AND RUN YOUR BATTERY DOWN. GM HAD TO DISCONNECT THE SEAT MODULE TO GET IT TO GO OFF. THEY WANT $481 TO FIX AND COULD NOT GUARANTEE THAT IT WOULDN'T HAPPEN AGAIN. I PAID THEM $150 TO DISCONNECT AND THIS WAY I KNOW IT WON'T HAPPEN AGAIN. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, MY YUKON COULD HAVE BURNED UP.....AFTER BUYING A NEW BATTERY (SINCE THIS CAUSED THE OTHER ONE TO GO BAD)I HAD TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY UNTIL I COULD GET IT TO CARL BLACK TO DISCONNECT PERMANENTLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY

3/3/2008 - CUMMING, GA
HEATED SEAT MODULE FAILED AND INSTEAD OF JUST NOT WORKING IT STAYED ON, RAN MY BATTERY DOWN, CAUSED MY SEAT TO GET REALLY HOT TO THE TOUCH AND I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT IT CATCHING FIRE. IF A MODULE IS FAULTY IT SHOULD SHUT OFF NOT STAY ON AND CAUSED THE POSSIBILITY OF A FIRE AND RUN YOUR BATTERY DOWN. GM HAD TO DISCONNECT THE SEAT MODULE TO GET IT TO GO OFF. THEY WANT $481 TO FIX AND COULD NOT GUARANTEE THAT IT WOULDN'T HAPPEN AGAIN. I PAID THEM $150 TO DISCONNECT AND THIS WAY I KNOW IT WON'T HAPPEN AGAIN. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, MY YUKON COULD HAVE BURNED UP.....AFTER BUYING A NEW BATTERY (SINCE THIS CAUSED THE OTHER ONE TO GO BAD)I HAD TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY UNTIL I COULD GET IT TO CARL BLACK TO DISCONNECT PERMANENTLY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK: ABS WARNING LIGHT

1/2/2008 - FRANKLIN, TN
INTERIOR ABS LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THEN A HUMMING NOISE HEARD UNDER THE DRIVER SIDE COMPARTMENT. GMC DEALER DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS FAILURE OF THE ABS ELECTRONIC MODULE UNIT. THEY ADVISED ME THAT IT WOULD BE $1130.00 + TAX TO REPLACE. THIS BRAKE FAILURE OCCURRED AT 70,000 MILES. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPEN TO THIS VEHICLE. THE OTHER TIME IT WAS UNDER A EXTENDED WARRANTY (09/2004). I HOPE THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN EVERY 3 YEARS. DEALERSHIP SAYS THEY REPLACE THEM ALL THE TIME. I WAS TOLD IT WAS PLACED NEXT TO THE FRAME WHERE WATER COULD GET IN THE UNIT AND CAUSE DAMAGE...ENOUGH TO REPLACE. HOPEFULLY A RECALL CAMPAIGN WILL HAPPEN BEFORE I HAVE TO REPLACE THE NEXT ONE. I HAVE READ NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS TYPE OF BRAKE FAILURE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: LOCK

12/27/2007 - MARIANNA, FL
RIGHT GLASS LIFT GATE HINGE FAILED AND BROKE AWAY FROM GLASS AFTER APPROXIMATELY 50,000 MILES. LIFT GATE WAS RENDERED INOPERABLE BUT STAYED SHUT. AT ABOUT 60,000 MILES THE ENTIRE LIFT GATE BROKE AWAY AND FELL ONTO THE ROAD WHILE DRIVING. A REPLACEMENT LIFT GATE GLASS HAD TO BE PURCHASED FROM A JUNK YARD FOR $500. INSTALLATION WAS PERFORMED BY MYSELF.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

12/13/2007 - MABLETON, GA
SECOND INCIDENT WITH FAULTY ABS MODULE. THE DEALER CHARGED OVER $2000 TO FIX IN 2005 AND I AM HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. THE DEALER STATES THE PART IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY GM IS PUTTING DEFECTIVE PARTS IN CARS CONTINUOUSLY AND OVERCHARGING CUSTOMERS TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM FIXED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

9/5/2007 - CINCINNATI, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC YUKON XL. WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH, THE CONTACT DECELERATED, BUT THE SPEEDOMETER DISPLAYED 120 MPH. HE STATED THAT ON SOME OCCASIONS THE SPEEDOMETER WILL DISPLAY 0 MPH AND ON OTHER OCCASIONS IT FAILS TO DISPLAY ANYTHING. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE AS THE STEEPER MOTOR AND STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE REPLACEMENT WILL COST $600. GMC STATED THAT THEY CANNOT INVESTIGATE THE FAILURE BECAUSE THERE ARE NO REPORTS AVAILABLE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 62,995 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

3/13/2007 - SUN LAKE, AZ
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC YUKON. WHILE DRIVING HE HEARD A LOUD NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE METAL CLASHING ON METAL. THE CONTACT TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, AND THEY STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO A A DEFECTIVE FLEX PLATE. HE FELT THAT THIS WAS A HUGE SAFETY PROBLEM BECAUSE THE FAILURE COULD RESULT IN A LOSS OF THE ABILITY TO STOP THE VEHICLE. ALSO, THIS WAS A HUGE CONCERN FOR ANYONE WHO WAS PULLING A TRAVEL TRAILER. THE CONTACT COULD PROVIDE PICTURES IF NEEDED. THE FAILURE WAS 80,000 MILES. THE NOISE WAS NOTICED A IDLE AND PARTICULARLY AT ACCELERATION. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE FLEX PLATE CONNECTING THE CRANK TORQUE CONVERTER WAS FRACTURED. THE CONSUMER STATED THE PROBABLE FAILURE MODE ON THIS PART IS FLEXURAL FATIGUE WHICH WOULD RESULT MISALIGNMENT OF THE TRANSMISSION INPUT SHAFT AND THE CRANKSHAFT, OR EXCESSIVE RUN OUT ON THE ATTACHMENT SURFACE OF EITHER THE CRANKSHAFT OR THE CONVERTER. UPDATED 05/04/07

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/22/2007 - HAUGHTON, LA
- THE CONTACT CALLED REGARDING THE 2001 GMC YUKON. ON FEBRUARY 13, 2007, THE CONTACT WAS TRAVELING AT 45-50 MPH AND REAR ENDED A GARBAGE TRUCK. THE CONTACT HAD ADEQUATE TIME TO STOP, BUT WHEN SHE APPLIED THE BRAKES, THE VEHICLE SLID INTO THE TRUCK. THE ROAD CONDITIONS WERE DRY. THERE WAS ONE INJURY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AWAY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE IN SEVERAL TIMES TO THE DEALER, AND THE DEALER COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/12/2006 - BENICIA, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE AND REDUCED ENGINE POWER LIGHT ILLUMINATED FOLLOWED BY THE VEHICLE OPERATING AT A REDUCED SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER WHO DETERMINED THE THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE AND APP SENSOR ASSEMBLY OF THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. AFTER THE INITIAL REPLACEMENT, THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER WHO DETERMINED THE THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE AND APP SENSOR ASSEMBLY NEEDED REPLACED AGAIN. AFTERWARDS THE SECOND REPAIR, THE PROBLEM CONTINUED TO PERSIST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALERTED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/12/2006 - BENICIA, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE AND REDUCED ENGINE POWER LIGHT ILLUMINATED FOLLOWED BY THE VEHICLE OPERATING AT A REDUCED SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER WHO DETERMINED THE THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE AND APP SENSOR ASSEMBLY OF THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. AFTER THE INITIAL REPLACEMENT, THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER WHO DETERMINED THE THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE AND APP SENSOR ASSEMBLY NEEDED REPLACED AGAIN. AFTERWARDS THE SECOND REPAIR, THE PROBLEM CONTINUED TO PERSIST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALERTED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds