Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC SUNFIRE - 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 67 complaints filed for the 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Other (1) Steering (2) Traction Control System (2)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (4)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

OTHER

4/12/2007 - SHAMONG, NJ
VEHICLE SLIPPED ON ICE GOING APPROXIMATELY 20 MILES AN HOUR, HIT A TREE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. EXTREME DAMAGE, DRIVER SUSTAINED SEVERE HEAD TRAUMA ON THE RIGHT SIDE FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE COLLAPSING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: BELTS AND ASSOCIATED PULLEYS

11/28/2006 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
TIMING CHAIN GUIDES WENT OUT AFTER ONLY 50,000 MILES. MY MECHANIC SAID THIS IS THE THIRD ONE HE'S DONE LIKE THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/29/2006 - FULTON, NY
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILURE. UNDER DASH WIRE HARNESS NEEDS REPLACEMENT. SPEEDOMETER, TACH AND ALL OTHER GAUGES FAILED. ALL SAFETY AND DIAGNOSTIC LIGHTS COME ON ... REPUTABLE ELECTRONICS REPAIR SHOP DIAGNOSED PROBLEM AND COST TO REPAIR IN EXCESS $2,000. CAR NOT DRIVABLE, NOT ABLE TO SELL, NOT ABLE TO BE REGISTER IN NY STATE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

2/27/2006 - CLEVELAND, OH
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 20 MPH, THE ABS ENGAGES. THE ABS NORMALLY ENGAGED WHEN GOING OVER SLIGHT BUMPS IN THE ROAD AND COMING TO A STOP SIGN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE DEALER REPLACED THE BRAKE SHOES, PADS AND ROTORS ON THE FRONT AND REAR OF THE VEHICLE. HOWEVER, THIS DID NOT REMEDY THE ABS ENGAGING. UPDATED 04/17/06.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: STORAGE: FUEL GAUGE SYSTEM

1/20/2006 - STTE COLLEGE, PA
FUEL GAUGE NOT CORRECT IN AMOUNT OF FUEL LEFT IN TANK. TWICE IN THE YEAR 2005, CAR STOPPED AND HAD TO BE TOWED. THE ONLY PROBLEM FOUND WAS THAT IT WAS OUT OF GAS AND THE GAUGE WAS NOT SHOWING THIS. WAS ADVISED BY TECHNICIAN TO NEVER LET THE GAUGE GO BELOW 1/4 FULL. HE SAID HE HAD WITNESSED THIS IN OTHER PONTIAC SUNFIRES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/25/2005 - PHOENIX, AZ
MY CAR HAS MADE A TICKING NOISE SINCE THE DAY I BOUGHT IT. THE DEALER SAID THEY COULD GET TO THE BOTTOM OF WHAT WAS CAUSING THE NOISE, FOR ME NOT TO WORRY. 63,000 MILES LATER, I DO NOT HAVE A CAR ANYMORE, THE ENGINE BLEW UP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/6/2005 - OLATHE, KS
ODOMETER DISPLAY IS VISIBLE WHEN FIRST STARTING CAR. AS SOON AS YOU BEGIN TO DRIVE, THE ODOMETER READING BEGINS TO FLICKER. DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE GIVING AN ACCURATE READING EITHER. SHOP STATED THAT NEW DASH ASSEMBLY WOULD HAVE TO BE INSTALLED TO CORRECT ISSUE SINCE ACCESS TO WIRING WAS NOT POSSIBLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/3/2005 - SPRING, TX
2001 PONTIAC - AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT CAUSES TOTAL WRECK JUNE 28, 2005, CA. 1130 - ON A RIGHT-ANGLE TURN AT LESS THAN 5 MPH INTO A NARROW LANE IN A PARKING AREA AT CONROE REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER , CONROE, TX, AT ABOUT 1130 JUNE 28, THE LEFT REAR WHEEL OF MY 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE WENT UP ONTO A 3-TO-4-INCH-HIGH CONCRETE MEDIAN. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO STEER OFF THE MEDIAN, THE RESULTING SLIGHT DROP CAUSED MY AIRBAGS TO DEPLOY. THIS DEPLOYMENT CAUSED BRUISES ON BOTH FOREARMS, BRUISED MY LOWER RIGHT RIBCAGE AND FORCED BOTH HANDS BACK OFF THE WHEEL, PREVENTING ME FROM STEERING THE CAR. FURTHERMORE, THE DEPLOYMENT FORCED MY LEGS AWAY FROM THE FOOT CONTROLS. THE DEPLOYING AIRBAG KNOCKED MY SPECTACLES UP ONTO MY FOREHEAD, THE LEFT TEMPLE CAUSING A SMALL CUT AND BENDING THE SPECTACLES SO THEY COULD NOT BE WORN AND HAD TO BE REPAIRED LATER. AS A RESULT OF THIS AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT I WAS TOTALLY UNABLE TO CONTROL DIRECTION OR SPEED. THE CAR LUNGED AT ABOUT A 30-DEGREE ANGLE TO THE RIGHT FOR A DISTANCE OF ABOUT 12 FEET AND SMASHED INTO A PILLAR, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SUSTAIN SEVERE DAMAGE TO THE FRONT END, SMASHING THE BUMPER AND THE RADIATOR AND CRACKING THE RIGHT PART OF THE WINDSHIELD. PERSONNEL FROM THE HOSPITAL, THE CONROE POLICE DEPARTMENT, AND THE LOCAL EMS WERE ON THE SCENE IMMEDIATELY. THE CONROE POLICE ASSIGNED A CASE NUMBER 05064218 TO THE ACCIDENT. I AM APPALLED TO THINK THAT THIS SAME ACCIDENT WHICH DESTROYED MY VEHICLE AND HURT ME WITHIN A FEW FEET AT EXTREMELY LOW SPEED MIGHT HAVE HAPPENED AT A BUMP IN THE ROAD AT HIGHWAY SPEED. HAD THE AIRBAGS NOT DEPLOYED THERE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT, AS I WOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO OPERATE MY VEHICLE PROPERLY. THIS EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN VERY COSTLY IN TERMS OF VEHICLE REPLACEMENT AND PERSONAL PAIN. OBVIOUSLY, MORE THOUGHT HAS TO BE GIVEN TO THE SUBJECT OF AIRBAGS AND SAFETY. A ONE-SIZE-FITS-ALL MENTALITY DOES NOT WORK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/22/2005 - SPIRO, OK
WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH DRIVER HIT A BUMP IN THE ROAD. INADVERTENTLY THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED, BREAKING THE WINDSHIELD, AND CAUSING DAMAGE TO THE DASHBOARD. OWNER DROVE THE VEHICLE TO RESIDENCE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/23/2005 - FORT DODGE, IA
THE TRACTION LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THEN THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TAKEN IN FOR SERVICE, BUT THE PROBLEM COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds