Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S60 - 2001 VOLVO S60 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 214 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLVO S60

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLVO S60. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLVO S60, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (27) Fuel System Gasoline (69) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (5) Seats (5) Structure (4) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (4) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (4) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

2/21/2008 - WOODBRIDGE, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S60. WHENEVER THE CONTACT ATTEMPTS TO DRIVE HIS VEHICLE, HE SMELLS GASOLINE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE SMELL IS ALSO IN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT, BUT IS NOT AS STRONG. THE VIN IS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V152000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP). THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 63,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. UPDATED 03/26/08.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

2/4/2008 - IRVINE, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S60. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT SMELLED A STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. HE ALSO NOTICED A PUDDLE OF GASOLINE UNDERNEATH THE MIDDLE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC AND THEY REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP. HE HAS NOT NOTIFIED THE DEALER IN REFERENCE TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V152000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP), IN WHICH HE NEVER RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 85,000. UPDATED 03-04-08

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

1/7/2008 - GAINESVILLE, FL
I HAVE A VOLVO S60 WHICH PERFECTLY FITS THE DESCRIPTION THAT PEOPLE WERE GIVING AS A COMPLAINT FOR VOLVO RECALL NO. R176. I HAVE A STRONG ODOR OF GAS AND HARD STARTING. I LOOKED AT THE FUEL PUMP MYSELF AND IT IS CRACKED. I CONTACTED VOLVO AND THEY SAID SINCE I DON'T LIVE IN NEVADA OR ARIZONA I'M NOT COVERED, THEN THEY STATED ITS BECAUSE OF THE HEAT. THEN I TOLD THEM I LIVE IN FLORIDA ITS HOT HERE TOO. THEN THEY SAID IT HAS TO DO WITH THE SULFUR CONTENT IN THE GAS. AFTER CONTACTING BOTH THE FLORIDA EPA AND THE ARIZONA EPA I FOUND THAT THE SULFUR CONTENT IN PPM IS IDENTICAL. I PRESENTED THIS INFORMATION TO GAINESVILLE VOLVO AND VOLVO OF AMERICA. AND THEY STILL REFUSE BECAUSE I'M NOT IN ARIZONA OR NEVADA.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

1/2/2008 - FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
MY CAR GIVES OFF A STRONG GAS/FUEL SMELL, WHICH IS NOT COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD, BUT CAN BE SMELLED BOTH INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE CAR. IT HAS ABOUT 74,000 MILES ON IT, AND IS LESS THAN 8 YEARS OLD. I NOTICED THE SMELL NOW FOR MANY MONTHS, WHICH CONTINUES TO GET STRONGER. I SAW THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE CARS IN ARIZONA AND NEVADA, BUT I LIVE IN FLORIDA, WHERE IT CAN GET PRETTY HOT AS WELL. I BELIEVE THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE FUEL PUMP. THIS PROBLEM MUST BE HAPPENING QUITE OFTEN WITH OTHER VOLVO S60S. THE PROBLEM MAY STEM FROM A POORLY DESIGNED PLASTIC PUMP HOUSING. I TOOK THE CAR IN FOR THE VOLVO ETM WARRANTY PROGRAM ON 08/15/07 THINKING THAT THE FUEL SMELL WOULD BE CORRECTED WHEN THEY FIXED THE EMISSION SYSTEM PROBLEM. THE DEALER'S RECEIPT INDICATES THEY PERFORMED A FUEL INDUCTION SERVICE BECAUSE OF THROTLE BODY DIRT, BUT THE FUEL SMELL HAS ONLY GOTTEN WORSE. I DON'T WANT TO HAVE TO SPEND $$$ TO HAVE IT REPAIRED, WHEN IT IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

1/2/2008 - FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
MY CAR GIVES OFF A STRONG GAS/FUEL SMELL, WHICH IS NOT COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD, BUT CAN BE SMELLED BOTH INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE CAR. IT HAS ABOUT 74,000 MILES ON IT, AND IS LESS THAN 8 YEARS OLD. I NOTICED THE SMELL NOW FOR MANY MONTHS, WHICH CONTINUES TO GET STRONGER. I SAW THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE CARS IN ARIZONA AND NEVADA, BUT I LIVE IN FLORIDA, WHERE IT CAN GET PRETTY HOT AS WELL. I BELIEVE THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE FUEL PUMP. THIS PROBLEM MUST BE HAPPENING QUITE OFTEN WITH OTHER VOLVO S60S. THE PROBLEM MAY STEM FROM A POORLY DESIGNED PLASTIC PUMP HOUSING. I TOOK THE CAR IN FOR THE VOLVO ETM WARRANTY PROGRAM ON 08/15/07 THINKING THAT THE FUEL SMELL WOULD BE CORRECTED WHEN THEY FIXED THE EMISSION SYSTEM PROBLEM. THE DEALER'S RECEIPT INDICATES THEY PERFORMED A FUEL INDUCTION SERVICE BECAUSE OF THROTLE BODY DIRT, BUT THE FUEL SMELL HAS ONLY GOTTEN WORSE. I DON'T WANT TO HAVE TO SPEND $$$ TO HAVE IT REPAIRED, WHEN IT IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

12/9/2007 - HIALEAH, FL
2001 VOLVO S60 FAILURE OF GAS PUMP. STRONG GAS ODOR LEAKING GAS THRU TOP OF PUMP, HARD TO START, DANGEROUS LEADING TO HAZARDOUS EVENTS. VOLVO ACKNOWLEDGES THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE FUEL PUMP BUT ONLY OFFERS A RECALL IN TWO STATES THEY CONSIDER TO HAVE HOT CLIMATES. I LIVE IN THE STATE OF FLORIDA AND THEY DO NOT CONSIDER THIS TO BE A RECALL STATE. LET ME TELL YOU IT IS OVER 80 DEGREES IN WINTER TIME AND WELL OVER HIGH 90'S IN SUMMER AND OVER 100 IF YOU FACTOR IN THE HUMIDITY. I FIXED THE CAR IT COST ME $642.01, I WOULD LIKE FOR VOLVO TO PAY ME BACK. THE COST OF THE PUMP AND SEAL WERE $400.00 ALONE. I THINK THAT AS A CONSUMER I SHOULD BE PROTECTED NOT ONLY THAT, BUT WHAT IS VOLVO WAITING TO WARN PEOPLE OF THIS DEFFECT. THIS IS A DEADLY SITUATION DO NOT WAIT UNTIL SOMEBODY DIES FOR YOU TO TAKE ACTION, THE FIRE AND GAS INHALATION ARE CATASTROPHIC. I HAVE ALL THE PAPER WORK I WOULD LIKE TO GET MY MONEY BACK AND I WOULD LIKE FOR THE OWNERS OF VOLVO'S TO BE AWARE OF THIS SITUATION. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME. PLEASE DO NOT WAIT FOR SOMEBODY OR A FAMILY TO DIE BEFORE YOPU TAKE ACTION.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY

12/7/2007 - STROUDSBURG, PA
MY VOLVO S60 IS IDLING VERY ROUGH. IT IS NOT SHOWING ANY CODES BUT I SUSPECT IT'S THE ETM. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH ON VEXED'S WEBSITE I HAVE CONCERNS ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THIS CAR DUE TO THE IMPROPER DESIGN OF THE ETM MADE BY MAGNETI MARELLI. I'M HOPING STEPHEN MCHENRY WILL GET VOLVO TO REDESIGN THIS ILL DESIGNED PART.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

11/28/2007 - TUSTIN, CA
FUEL PUMP IS LEAKING, CAUSING CAR TO SMELL LIKE GASOLINE. POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

11/23/2007 - ST AUGUSTINE, FL
APPROXIMATELY 10/25/07 BEGAN TO SMELL STRONG FUEL FUMES EMANATING FROM VOLVO 2001 S-60 ALONG WITH A DIFFICULTY IN STARTING THE VEHICLE. ON-LINE INVESTIGATION AND DISCUSSION WITH VOLVO SPECIALIST REPAIR SHOP INDICATES ISSUE RELATED TO FAULTY FUEL PUMP / FILTER WHICH THE CORPORATION IS CURRENTLY RECALLING ONLY NEVADA AND ARIZONA......VOLVO SPECIALIST INDICATED THAT THEY ARE SEEING NUMEROUS VEHICLES (IN JACKSONVILLE FLORIDA) WITH THE SAME ISSUE. OBVIOUSLY A SAFETY CONCERN WHEN STRONG FUEL FUMES ARE NOTICEABLE AROUND THE VEHICLE....

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

11/21/2007 - NORTH EAST BEACH, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT SMELLED A STRONG GASOLINE SMELL AND NOTICED A PUDDLE BY THE FUEL TANK. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL MECHANIC AND HE STATED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL OF HIS VEHICLE. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR IT FOR FREE BECAUSE IT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V152000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP). THE CONTACT FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds