Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S60 - 2001 VOLVO S60 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

There are 204 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLVO S60

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLVO S60. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLVO S60, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Fuel System Gasoline (69) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (26) Fuel System Other (5) Seats (5) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (38)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (5)
Exterior Lighting (3) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (2)
Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

11/16/2007 - OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL
MY 2001 VOLVO S60, AT 68K MILES, HAD CRACKS IN THE FUEL PUMP, CAUSING A STRONG GAS SMELL DUE TO THE LEAKS. THIS APPEARS TO BE A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM WITH THE S60 IN PARTICULAR, SINCE NUMEROUS POSTINGS HAVE BEEN SEEN REGARDING THIS SAME PROBLEM. WHEN I CALLED THE VOLVO DEALERSHIP, THEY KNEW IMMEDIATELY WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. THIS IS A $1000 REPAIR THAT IS NEARLY CERTAIN FROM WHAT I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO TELL. APPARENTLY VOLVO HAS ISSUED A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM, BUT ONLY IN ARIZONA AND NEVADA. THE IDEA THAT THE CAR DEVELOPS THIS PROBLEM UPON ENTERING THESE STATES SEEMS AMUSING. THIS APPEARS TO BE AN S60 ISSUE, REGARDLESS OF LOCATION. PERHAPS THE RECALL NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO COVER ALL AFFECTED MODELS/CARS? JOEL MILLER

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

11/13/2007 - LIGHTHOUSE PT, FL
MY 2001 VOLVO S60 STARTED SMELLING LIKE GAS INSIDE THE CAR. I TOOK IT TO THE VOLVO SPECIALIST WHO SERVICES MY CAR AND HE SAID THAT IT WAS CAUSED BY A CRACKED FUEL PUMP CASING. HE SAID THAT IN THE LAST MONTH HE HAS SEEN 5 OR 6 2001 VOLVOS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. I SEARCHED THE INTERNET AND FOUND THAT THE PROBLEM IS BECOMING COMMONLY REPORTED AND THAT VOLVO ACKNOWLEDGES THE PROBLEM IN NEVADA AND ARIZONA. I THINK THEY NEED TO INCLUDE SOUTH FLORIDA. I CONTACTED THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR AND THE SERVICE REP SAID THEY HAVE SEEN QUITE A FEW CARDS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM AND THAT WHILE VOLVO WOULD NOT DO ANYTHING TO HELP ME, THEY - THE DEALERSHIP - WOULD REPLACE THE PART FOR ONLY LABOR ($130 X 5 HOURS) AND NOT CHARGE THE $500+ PART.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

11/6/2007 - COPPELL, TX
STRONG FUEL ODOR AROUND MY 2001 VOLVO S60 STARTING AROUND 11-2-2007. THE CAR HAS LESS THAN 40K MILES AND WELL MAINTAINED. THE DEALER STATES THAT THERE IS LEAKAGE FROM THE FUEL PUMP AND IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

10/17/2007 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
I HAD THE VERY VERY STRONG GAS SMELL WITH MY 2001 S60 T5 A MONTH AGO BOTH DURING DRIVING AND PARKING. TURNED OUT TO BE A LEAKING FUEL ON THE TOP OF TANK WHICH CAUSE KIND OF WET AT BOTTOM OF CAR AROUND THE TANK. FLOOR DRIPPING ALSO CAN BE SEEN AFTER SEVERAL HOURS PARKING. RECENTLY, SEVERAL COLD ENGINE STAT BECAME HARDER. VOLVO DIAGNOSED AS FAILURE OF FUEL PUMP WHICH NEEDS TO BE REPLACED(POORLY DESIGNED PLASTIC PUMP HOUSING). I SCARED TO PARK MY VOLVO IN THE GARAGE BECAUSE OF POTENTIAL FIRE. I HEARD THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED IN HUNDREDS VOLVOS IN ARIZONA AND NEVADA WHICH CAUSED SAFETY RECALL. I'M WONDERING WHY THE SAME SAFETY PROBLEM CAN'T RESULT IN RECALL IN OTHER STATES. HUMAN LIFE SHOULD BE THE SAME VALUE AS VOLVO BUILDERS. I HOPE VOLVO BUILDER MUST RESPECT CUSTOMER LIFE INSTEAD OF JUST SELLING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

10/15/2007 - WINSTON SALEM, NC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT SMELLED A GASEOUS ODOR NEAR THE FUEL FILLER DOOR. A MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP FAILED, BUT NO REPLACEMENT WAS MADE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 72,800 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,500. THE CONSUMER STATED THE PUMP HAS NOT FAILED AS OF YET, BUT WILL EVENTUALLY NEED TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF $550 OR ABOVE. UPDATED 10/31/07

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/16/2007 - PLANTATION, FL
STRONG SMELL OF FUEL WITHIN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. LOCAL VOLVO SERVICE HAD TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP WHICH IS LOCATED DIRECTLY UNDER THE REAR SEAT OF THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. APPEARS TO BE SIMILAR TO THE RECALL OF CARS IN NEVADA AND ARIZONA, BUT ALTHOUGH FLORIDA ALSO EXHIBITS SIMILAR CLIMATE CONDITIONS, DOES NOT PERTAIN TO FL VEHICLES PER VOLVO. GASOLINE FUMES WERE VERY STRONG & COULD HAVE VERY LIKELY RESULTED IN FIRE. THIS SEEMS TO BE A VERY VERY SERIOUS DESIGN FLAW. VOLVO CHARGED OVER $900 TO REPAIR. AUTO HAS ONLY 32,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/13/2007 - NORTHRIDGE, CA
THERE IS A RECALL # 07V152000 FOR VOLVO S60 2001 T5 CARS IN ARIZONA AND NEVADA. IT IS REGRADING FALIURE IN THE FEUL PUMP DUE TO GAS ODOR AND CLIMATE CONDITIONS. I AM USING THE BEST KIND OF GAS AVAILABLE HERE AND I BELEIVE THIS SUMMER WE HAD THE SAME CLIMATE CONDITIONS IN NEVADA AND ARIZONA. THEREFORE, I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM, WHICH IS LEAKING GAS FROM THE FEUL PUMP. THIS IS KIND OF DANGEROUS SITUATION WHICH CAUSE POLLUTION. FOR SAFTEY, I AM REPARING THE CAR NOW. BUT PLEASE CHECK IF THIS CAN BE RECALLED FOR THE CARS IN CALIFORNIA. JUST SO I CAN GET MY MONEY BACK. AROUND 750$ FROM THE VOLVO DEALERSHIP. THANKS

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/13/2007 - LAFAYETTE, LA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT SMELLED GAS FUMES INSIDE THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. HE CHECKED THE VEHICLE AND DID NOT FIND ANY LEAKS UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC AND THEY STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP, LOCATED UNDERNEATH THE BACK SEAT, CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH VOLVO AND THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 68,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000. UPDATED 12/12/2007 UPDATED 12/12/07

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/10/2007 - NASHVILLE, TN
ON CERTAIN VEHICLES ORIGINALLY SOLD IN OR CURRENTLY REGISTERED IN THE STATES OF ARIZONA AND NEVADA, DUE TO THE COMBINATION OF FUEL QUALITY AND CLIMATE CONDITIONS, THE FUEL PUMP MAY, IN CERTAIN CASES, EXPERIENCE A REDUCED FUNCTIONALITY. THE MOST COMMON SYMPTOMS WOULD BE FUEL ODOR. I LIVE IN TENNESSEE AND MY CAR DOES THE SAME THING. WE HAVE HAD OVER 3 WEEKS OF 100 PLUS DEGREE TEMPS HERE. THE CONSUMER STATED TRIED REPLACING THE FUEL FILTER, UNFORTUNATELY THAT DID NOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM. THE CONSUMER FURTHER STATED THERE IS EVIDENCE OF A FUEL LEAK IN THE GAS TANK AND THE VEHICLE IS VERY HARD TO START. UPDATED 09/26/07 PERM GRANTED VIA EMAIL TO RELEASE INFO TO MFR ON 09/28/2007.PCO

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/10/2007 - FT WORTH, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT SMELLED GASOLINE FUMES OUTSIDE AND INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP HOUSING CRACKED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT HIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V152000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP). AS OF SEPTEMBER 10, 2007, THE DEALER HAD NOT REPAIRED THE VEHICLE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 72,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds