Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S60 - 2001 VOLVO S60 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

There are 201 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLVO S60

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLVO S60. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLVO S60, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Fuel System Gasoline (68) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (25) Fuel System Other (5) Seats (5) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (38)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (5)
Exterior Lighting (3) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7) Wheels (2)
Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

10/15/2007 - WINSTON SALEM, NC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT SMELLED A GASEOUS ODOR NEAR THE FUEL FILLER DOOR. A MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP FAILED, BUT NO REPLACEMENT WAS MADE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 72,800 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,500. THE CONSUMER STATED THE PUMP HAS NOT FAILED AS OF YET, BUT WILL EVENTUALLY NEED TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF $550 OR ABOVE. UPDATED 10/31/07

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/16/2007 - PLANTATION, FL
STRONG SMELL OF FUEL WITHIN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. LOCAL VOLVO SERVICE HAD TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP WHICH IS LOCATED DIRECTLY UNDER THE REAR SEAT OF THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. APPEARS TO BE SIMILAR TO THE RECALL OF CARS IN NEVADA AND ARIZONA, BUT ALTHOUGH FLORIDA ALSO EXHIBITS SIMILAR CLIMATE CONDITIONS, DOES NOT PERTAIN TO FL VEHICLES PER VOLVO. GASOLINE FUMES WERE VERY STRONG & COULD HAVE VERY LIKELY RESULTED IN FIRE. THIS SEEMS TO BE A VERY VERY SERIOUS DESIGN FLAW. VOLVO CHARGED OVER $900 TO REPAIR. AUTO HAS ONLY 32,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/13/2007 - NORTHRIDGE, CA
THERE IS A RECALL # 07V152000 FOR VOLVO S60 2001 T5 CARS IN ARIZONA AND NEVADA. IT IS REGRADING FALIURE IN THE FEUL PUMP DUE TO GAS ODOR AND CLIMATE CONDITIONS. I AM USING THE BEST KIND OF GAS AVAILABLE HERE AND I BELEIVE THIS SUMMER WE HAD THE SAME CLIMATE CONDITIONS IN NEVADA AND ARIZONA. THEREFORE, I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM, WHICH IS LEAKING GAS FROM THE FEUL PUMP. THIS IS KIND OF DANGEROUS SITUATION WHICH CAUSE POLLUTION. FOR SAFTEY, I AM REPARING THE CAR NOW. BUT PLEASE CHECK IF THIS CAN BE RECALLED FOR THE CARS IN CALIFORNIA. JUST SO I CAN GET MY MONEY BACK. AROUND 750$ FROM THE VOLVO DEALERSHIP. THANKS

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/13/2007 - LAFAYETTE, LA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT SMELLED GAS FUMES INSIDE THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. HE CHECKED THE VEHICLE AND DID NOT FIND ANY LEAKS UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC AND THEY STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP, LOCATED UNDERNEATH THE BACK SEAT, CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH VOLVO AND THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 68,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000. UPDATED 12/12/2007 UPDATED 12/12/07

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/10/2007 - NASHVILLE, TN
ON CERTAIN VEHICLES ORIGINALLY SOLD IN OR CURRENTLY REGISTERED IN THE STATES OF ARIZONA AND NEVADA, DUE TO THE COMBINATION OF FUEL QUALITY AND CLIMATE CONDITIONS, THE FUEL PUMP MAY, IN CERTAIN CASES, EXPERIENCE A REDUCED FUNCTIONALITY. THE MOST COMMON SYMPTOMS WOULD BE FUEL ODOR. I LIVE IN TENNESSEE AND MY CAR DOES THE SAME THING. WE HAVE HAD OVER 3 WEEKS OF 100 PLUS DEGREE TEMPS HERE. THE CONSUMER STATED TRIED REPLACING THE FUEL FILTER, UNFORTUNATELY THAT DID NOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM. THE CONSUMER FURTHER STATED THERE IS EVIDENCE OF A FUEL LEAK IN THE GAS TANK AND THE VEHICLE IS VERY HARD TO START. UPDATED 09/26/07 PERM GRANTED VIA EMAIL TO RELEASE INFO TO MFR ON 09/28/2007.PCO

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/10/2007 - FT WORTH, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT SMELLED GASOLINE FUMES OUTSIDE AND INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP HOUSING CRACKED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT HIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V152000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP). AS OF SEPTEMBER 10, 2007, THE DEALER HAD NOT REPAIRED THE VEHICLE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 72,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/6/2007 - LAFAYETTE, LA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR HIS VEHICLE REGARDING THE ACCELERATOR. WHEN HE RETRIEVED HIS VEHICLE FROM THE DEALER, HE SMELLED GASOLINE FUMES INSIDE THE VEHICLE, WHICH REMAINED FOR A WEEK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NO FLUIDS WERE LEAKING. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP FAILED. THROUGH ONLINE RESEARCH, HE DISCOVERED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V152000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP). VOLVO INFORMED HIM THAT HIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, HOWEVER, THE CONTACT FELT OTHERWISE. THE VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY AT THE DEALER. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER FOR THE ACCELERATOR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE VIN, ENGINE SIZE, NUMBER OF CYLINDERS, AND SPEED WERE UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 70,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/4/2007 - KERNERSVILLE , NC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S60. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN THE GARAGE THE ODOR OF FUEL WAS PRESENT IN HER 2 STORY HOME. THE ODOR WAS STRONGER WHEN THE FUEL TANK WAS FILLED TO THE CAPACITY. THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP AND ELBOW ASSEMBLY WERE CRACKED. THE MECHANIC REMOVED THE SEATS, DRAINED THE FUEL PUMP, REPLACED THE SEATS AND TESTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND IT TO BE OPERATING NORMALLY. THE FAILURE CONTINUED AFTER THE REPAIR WAS MADE. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE O RING AND SENSOR. THE ODOR WAS NOT SMELLED AFTER THE REPAIR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 66,800. THE CONSUMER STATED THE RECALL SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO NORTH CAROLINA AND OTHER STATES. UPDATED 09/25/07.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/2/2007 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF A 2001 VOLVO S60; NOTED A STRONG GASOLINE ODOR IN THE GARAGE AND AT THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE (NOTED DURING EXTREME SUMMER WEATHER IN SOUTH). CAR WAS TAKEN TO VOLVO CERTIFIED REPAIRSHOP AND WAS NOTED TO HAVE A LEAK AT THE FUEL PUMP. THE PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED- TOTAL EXPENSE OF $810.00. THE VEHICLE HAS 92,000 MILES ON IT AND HAS BEEN METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

8/14/2007 - SAN JOSE, CA
I OWN A 2001 VOLVO S60. I SMELLED GASOLINE WHEN I STARTED THE VEHICLE, BUT THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT INDICATED A PROBLEM. WHEN I REVIEWED THE RECALLS FOR THIS VEHICLE ON WWW.NHTSA.GOV, I NOTED THE FOLLOWING PROBLEM UNDER REVIEW: PE06-053 2001 VOLVO S60 FUEL PUMP LEAKAGE 15-NOV-2006 I BELIEVE THE PROBLEM I AM EXPERIENCING IS RELATED TO THIS ITEM. I WISH TO BE CONTACTED IF THIS BECOMES A RECALLED ITEM BY THE NHTSA.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds