Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S80 - 2001 VOLVO S80 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 163 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLVO S80

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLVO S80. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLVO S80, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (2)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (20) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (64)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/16/2005 - LAKE OSWEGO, OR
1) DRIVING IN A 35 MPH ZONE. SLOWING DOWN TO TURN TO SIDE STREET, APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH. 2) WITHOUT WARNING, THE CAR STALLED. LOST POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. I COASTED TO THE INTERSECTION AND STOPPED. PLACED CAR IN PARK AND RESTARTED ON SECOND ATTEMPT. 3)TOOK THE CAR INTO DEALER JIM FISHER VOLVO, PORTLAND OREGON. THEY CHECKED THE THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE FOR CLEANING. IT WAS CLEAN SO NO WORK WAS PERFORMED. THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE PROBLEM, SO THE RETURNED CAR WITH NO CORRECTIVE ACTION. NO CHARGE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: MODULE

9/12/2005 - MARLTON, NJ
CAR RAN ROUGH RPMS UP & DOWN FELT LIKE CAR WOULD STALL IF FOOT DID NOT STAY ON GAS PEDAL. DID NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING BECAUSE OF POTENTIAL TO STALL AT ANY TIME. TOOK TO DEALER WHO REPLACED THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE (AT OUR EXPENSE). NOW WE ARE READING THAT VOLVO HAS REVERSED ITS POSITION--BUT ONLY IN SWEDEN NOT NORTH AMERICA. NOW CAR IS RUNNING ROUGH AGAIN AND RPMS ARE STICKING HIGH, THEN DROPPING, DO NOT FEEL COMFORTABLE DRIVING. VOLVO SAYS TOO BAD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: MODULE

9/9/2005 - TEXARKANA, TX
MY 2001 VOLVO S80 DIED IN TRAFFIC AS I WAS LEAVING THE POST OFFICE IN TEXARKANA, TX. IT WOULD NOT RESTART AND I LET IT ROLL BACK TO TRY AND GET PARTIALLY OUT OF THE ROADWAY. IT WAS TOWED TO THE VOLVO DEALERSHIP IN SHREVEPORT, LA. THE SERVICE MANAGER CALLED AND TOLD ME IT WAS THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULATOR AND WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. HE CALLED BACK LATER AND TOLD ME THE ELECTRONIC MODULE IN THE GAS PEDAL HAD A FAULT AND ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IN TOTAL THE BILL WAS OVER $1500.00 I RESEARCHED ONLINE AND FOUND THAT THIS WAS A HIGH FAILURE RATE PART AND THAT CALIFORNIA HAD FILED A LAWSUIT TO FORCE VOLVO TO DO A RECALL AND ALSO REIMBURSE OWNERS WHO HAD ALREADY PAID TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM FIXED. I CALLED VOLVO AND TALKED TO DONNA, A CUSTOMER SERVICE REP, WHO SAID SHE WOULD TALK TO THE REGIONAL MANAGER TO SEE IS THERE WAS ANYTHING THEY COULD DO FOR ME. THE CAR WAS REPAIRED AND AFTER A WEEK OF PHONE CALLS BACK AND FORTH, OF COURSE VOLVO SAID THEY COULD DO NOTHING TO HELP ME WITH THE EXPENSE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/7/2005 - AIKEN, SC
CAR SURGED AND RAN UNEVENLY. IT WAS DIFFICULT TO ACCELERATE WITHOUT SURGING AHEAD. TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE AND THEY "PERFORMED SOFTWARE UPGRADES TO ECM AND ETM." THEN, A MONTH LATER, THE CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE IF AN INTERSECTION AND WOULD NOT RESTART. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THE ETM WAS REPLACED AS WELL AS THE MASS AIR FLOWMETER. SOFTWARE WAS THEN RELOADED. IT HAS WORKED WELL SINCE THEN.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY

9/3/2005 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE VEHICLE GAVE NO INDICATION PRIOR TO THE MAF AND THROTTLE UNIT GIVING OUT THE FIRST TIME. WE WERE STRANDED ON INTERSTATE 15 IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DESERT. THE VEHICLE ALL OF A SUDDEN JUST STOPPED RUNNING. LUCKILY THE ITEM WAS REPAIRED, STILL UNDER WARRANTY. THIS SAME PART FAILED FOR THE SECOND TIME 9/4/2004. REPLACED AGAIN AFTER HAVING IT TOWED FROM RESIDENCE TO VOLVO OF LAS VEGAS. SMELL OF GAS AND ENGINE SURGE OCCURRED PRIOR TO STALLING. BROUGHT INTO VOLVO OF LAS VEGAS 9/2/2005 TO HAVE CHECKED FOR ENGINE SURGE AND SPORADIC RPM SURGES. I INFORMED THEM THAT IT IS PROBABLY THE MAF AND OR THE THROTTLE UNIT, VOLVO OF LAS VEGAS SAYS THAT NOTHING IS WRONG. HOWEVER, I HAD TO PAY $105.00 FOR LABOR WITH NO RESOLVE. I AM VERY CONCERNED FOR THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY IF THIS SAME INSTANCE OCCURS AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/31/2005 - PLATTSMOUTH, NE
I EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN LOSS OF ENGINE POWER WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE. AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, MY VOLVO 2001 S80 SEDAN EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER WITH AN INSTRUMENT INDICATION OF "REDUCED POWER". THE PROBLEM RECURRED TWICE BEFORE I WAS FORCED TO TAKE THE CAR TO A VOLVO DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR. THE DEALERSHIP ADVISED ME THAT THE AUTO REQUIRED A MAJOR REPAIR, FOR WHICH I INCURRED A BILL OF $1142.68. THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE BILLED: REPLACE THROTTLE BODY AND DOWNLOAD NEW SOFTWARE FOR THROTTLE BODY MODULE: (1) 8644347 0 THROTTLE BODY ($561.90) (1) 8636753 9 GASKET ($4.69) (1) 9438290 0 ETM RELOAD ($40.95) (1) 1003 CLAMP ($1.75) REPLACE PEDAL SENSOR: (1) 111 CP ($85.00) (1) 30683516 ACCELERATOR PE ($108.39) PARTS TOTAL: $717.68 LABOR TOTAL: $425.00.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/30/2005 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
I OWN A 2001 VOLVO S80. I HAVE HAD TROUBLE WITH THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE NOT RESPONDING TO THE THROTTLE INPUTS AND SURGING AT IDLE. IT WOULD SOMETIMES KILL THE CAR WITHOUT WARNING WHEN COMING TO A STOP (LOSING POWER-STEERING WHILE IN TURNS) OR MAKE THE CAR LUNGE FORWARD UNEXPECTEDLY. THE LUNGING FORWARD HAS ALMOST CAUSED ACCIDENTS AT INTERSECTIONS. I'VE BEEN LUCKY FOR NOW, BUT I WILL NOT LET MY WIFE DRIVE THE CAR WHILE IT IS DOING THIS BECAUSE SHE MAY NOT BE ABLE TO CONTROL THE CAR WITHOUT POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. I TOOK IT IN FOR REPAIR AND THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE, AND THEY NEED REPLACING AFTER A WHILE, SO I REPLACED IT. 4 MONTHS LATER, I'M EXPERIENCING THE SAME IDLE PROBLEMS AS WELL AS THE LUNGING PROBLEMS. I AM BEING TOLD THAT IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE THROTTLE MODULE. I'VE LOOKED AT MANY WEBSITE FORUMS AND FOUND MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM THROUGH OUT THE GLOBE. THERE HAVE ALSO BEEN TIMES WHEN IT HAS DIED WHILE IN REVERSE AND I LOOSE POWER BRAKES WHILE BACKING, WITHOUT NOTICE. I WOULD REQUEST A RECALL AND AN IMPROVED PART. USA TODAY IS ALSO REPORTING ON THIS ISSUE AS WELL: HTTP://YAHOO.USATODAY.COM/MONEY/AUTOS/2005-08-01-VOLVO_X.HTM?CSP=1 FORUM WEB SITE: HTTP://WWW.VOLVOXC.COM/FORUMS/SHOWTHREAD.PHP?MODE=HYBRID&T=6026 THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/22/2005 - NATICK, MA
I WAS DRIVING MY VLOLVO S80 ON 07/10/2005 ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN IT SUDDENLY LOST POWER. I COULD BARELY OPERATE IT OVER 30 MILES AN HOUR. I GOT STOPPED BY A STATE POLICEMAN AND GOT TICKET FOR OPERATING UNDER 30 MILES/HOUR AND NEGLIGENT OPERATION. I'M SCHEFULED FOR AN APPEAL HEARING. THROTTLE WAS REPLACED BY A DEALESRHIP, NUT THEY SAID THAT IT CAN HAPPEN AGAIN, SINCE IT'S THE SAME DESIGN PART.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/17/2005 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE FOLLOWING NARRATIVE IS SUBMITTED AS INFORMATION REGARDING THE NHTSA PRELIMINARY EVALUATION ON JULY 26, 2005 TO INVESTIGATE A VARIETY OF CONCERNS RESULTING FROM THE FAILURE OR REDUCED PERFORMANCE OF THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE IN 1999-2001 VOLVO PASSENGER CARS. IN ADDITION TOO THE HIGH FAILURE RATE OF THE ETM, THE AIR MASS METER FAILURE RATE IN MY OPINION IS JUST AS HIGH AND AS COSTLY. IT HAS BEEN MY EXPERIENCE AS WELL AS OTHERS TO LOOSE ENGINE POWER WHEN THIS UNIT FAILS. THIS UNIT FAILED WHILE STOPPED AT A LIGHT. ONCE THE LIGHT CHANGED THE CAR REFUSED TO MOVE. ONCE THE ACCELERATOR WAS DEPRESSED THE ENGINE WOULD BOG DOWN AND SHUT OFF. THIS RESULTED IN A $425 REPAIR AND $35 TOW. MY VEHICLE IS A VOLVO S-80, 2001.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2005 - KINGSPORT, TN
ON OR ABOUT MAY 3RD, 2005, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING OUR 2001 VOLVO T6 WHEN SHE SUDDENLY LOST ENGINE PERFORMANCE. SHE WAS TRAVELING ALONG A BUSY INTERSTATE AND SHE MANAGED TO GET THE CAR INTO THE EMERGENCY LANE WHILE HOLDING UP TRAFFIC BEHIND HER. THE FOLLOWING MSG APPEARED ON THE DASH, "ENGINE PERFORMANCE REDUCED". WHEN SHE GOT THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, SHE TURNED THE CAR OFF AND CALLED ME TO INFORM ME THE CAR WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY. SHE STARTED THE CAR AFTER A FEW MINUTES AND IT PERFORMED OKAY ON THE WAY HOME. AT THIS TIME, I THOUGHT IT MIGHT HAVE BEEN A FUEL OR GAS CAP PROBLEM. SHE WAS VERY CLOSE TO HAVING A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE NEXT DAY SHE WAS TRAVELING WITH OUR CHILDREN ON A VERY BUSY BYPASS AND THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED. THIS TIME, I MADE A CALL TO THE VOLVO DEALER AND THEY INFORMED ME TO LEAVE THE CAR OFF FOR A MINUTE AND THE COMPUTER WOULD RESET. NOT A GOOD SOLUTION. NEEDLESS TO SAY, SHE HAD TO NAVIGATE THE CAR FROM THE INSIDE LANE TO THE EMERGENCY LANE WHILE TRAVELING NO FASTER THAN 20 MPH. AGAIN, THIS WAS A VERY BUSY BYPASS AND LUCKILY SHE MANAGED TO GET THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. FINALLY, I DROVE THE CAR THE NEXT DAY TO SEE HOW IT PERFORMED FOR ME. AGAIN, THE CAR FAILED (I.E. SLOWED TO 20 MPH ON A 70 MPH INTERSTATE) WHILE I WAS DRIVING. I CALLED THE DEALER AGAIN THE NEXT DAY AND THEY INFORMED ME THEY WOULD NEED TO SEE THE CAR IN ORDER TO DIAGNOSE. I INFORMED THEM I NEEDED RECALL WORK PERFORMED ON AN ELECTRICAL FAN SO THEY COULD CHECK INTO MY "ENGINE PERFORMANCE REDUCED" PROBLEM AT THE SAME TIME. ALL THIS SAID, THE CAR FAILED APPROXIMATELY 8-10 TIMES BEFORE I COULD GET THE CAR TO THE SHOP AND REPAIRED ($933.00). THE PROBLEM PART WAS DETERMINED TO BE AN ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE. LUCKILY, MY WIFE, AS WELL AS MYSELF, WERE ABLE TO GET THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITHOUT GETTING RAN OVER BY TRAFFIC. THIS PROBLEM DEFINITELY NEEDS THE ATTENTION OF THE NHTSA. THANKS FOR ANY HELP YOU CAN PROVIDE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds