Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S80 - 2001 VOLVO S80 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 163 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLVO S80

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLVO S80. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLVO S80, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (2)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (20) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (64)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

12/15/2012 - MEMPHIS , TN
I PURCHASED VEHICLE 8 MONTHS AGO I NOW HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE FRONT AND BACK SUSPENSION. THE AIR TURNS ON ITS OWN, THE AXLE HAS BROKEN, THE SUNROOF OPENS WHEN IT WANTS TO OPEN, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS TURNED ON ALONG WITH MAINTENANCE LIGHT, MY DOORS WILL UNLOCK THEMSELVES WHEN I LOCK THEM AND THE ALARM WILL ENGAGE, THE LEFT WINDOW DOES NOT WORK , SOMETIMES I CANT UNLOCK THE DOORS HAVE TO UNLOCK WITH MY HAND. MY CRUISE CONTROL DOES NOT WORK, THE BATTERY STOPS WORKING OFTEN, THE INSIDE LIGHTS WORK SOMETIMES. IT IS RUNNING TERRIBLE , IDLE UP AND DOWN I KNOW ALL HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH RECALL PLEASE HELP!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/18/2012 - PORT CHARLOTTE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S80. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RPMS BEGAN TO FLUCTUATE ABNORMALLY AS THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED SIGNS OF POSSIBLE STALLING. THE VEHICLE THEN ACTIVATED IN LIMP MODE AND STOPPED RUNNING. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 06V441000 (VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) THAT DEALT WITH THE DIRTY THROTTLE HOUSING. THE RECALL REPAIR CONSISTED OF A SOFTWARE UPGRADE TO CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, BUT THE VEHICLE EXCEEDED THE WARRANTY STIPULATIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 87,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/9/2012 - LAS CRUCES, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S80. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH THE VEHICLE SHIFTED INTO LIMP MODE AND DECELERATED AFTER THE CHECK ENGINE LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE BUT DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 06V441000 (VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 170,200.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/29/2011 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S80. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIRS UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09V483000 (FUEL SYSTEM; GASOLINE; DELIVERY; FUEL PUMP) AND WAS TOLD THAT THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE REPAIRED UNDER THE RECALL BECAUSE IT HAD BEEN TEN YEARS SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED. THE RECALL WAS ISSUED DECEMBER 7, 2009. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/24/2011 - SPRINGFILED , MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S80. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION URGENT WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SOLENOID WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 126,741. UPDATED 3/1/12

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/20/2011 - DEPEW, NY
MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON. I TOOK MY CAR TO MY MECHANIC WHO INFORMED ME THE CODE WAS FOR THROTTLE BODY POSITION SENSOR AND THAT THERE WAS A RECALL. I CALLED THE VOLVO DEALER AND ASKED THEM ABOUT IT. THEY SAID, YES THERE WAS A RECALL FOR SOFTWARE AND THAT MY VEHICLE HAD GOTTEN THE UPGRADE. I ASKED IF THERE WAS ANYTHING ELSE THEY COULD DO ABOUT IT, THE EMPLOYEE IN VOLVO SERVICE SAID NO. I RECEIVED THE SAME ANSWER WHEN I ASKED THEM IN PERSON. ON MARCH 1, 2011, NEARLY A YEAR LATER, I ASKED ANOTHER MECHANIC, WHO INFORMED ME THAT IF THE SOFTWARE UPGRADE DIDN'T WORK, THE DEALER WAS SUPPOSED TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE THROTTLE BODY. I CALLED THE ANOTHER VOLVO DEALER WHO INFORMED ME THAT YES, THIS WAS THE CASE. MY CAR WAS ONE DAY OUT OF COVERAGE FOR THE RECALL NOW. AND SOMETIME WITHIN THE YEAR MY COMPUTER WAS RESET AND THE PROBLEM CODE FOR THE THROTTLE BODY IS GONE. I AM UPSET BECAUSE WHEN IT WAS A PROBLEM FOR ME, THE FIRST DEALER GAVE ME THE INCORRECT INFORMATION ABOUT THE RECALL. I WAS DRIVING FOR A LONG TIME WITH MY CAR IN LIMP MODE AND A MALFUNCTIONING THROTTLE BODY. I AM SURE THAT THE DEALER WAS OBLIGATED TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY, SINCE IT IS PART OF THE ACCELERATION SYSTEM. I THINK YOU SHOULD COMPEL THEM TO REPLACE MY THROTTLE BODY OR GUARANTEE REPLACEMENT IF MY THROTTLE BODY MALFUNCTIONS AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

7/20/2010 - TULSA, OK
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S80 T6. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 TO 30 MPH THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE SMELLED FUEL INSIDE THE VEHICLE. HE DROVE HOME AND HAD NOT DRIVEN THE VEHICLE SINCE THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY OWNED AND PURCHASED ONE WEEK AGO. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT A PART OF NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09V483000, FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE DELIVERY, FUEL PUMP. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 155,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

5/10/2010 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S-80. THE CONTACT STATED AFTER HAVING THE BATTERY REPLACED, THE CLIMATE CONTROL UNIT BECAME INOPERABLE. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO RESET THE UNIT AND ADVISED IT WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD TAKE THE LIABILITY FOR THE FAILURE WHICH COULD POTENTIALLY BECOME A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN TRYING TO DEFOG THE WINDOWS, DISRUPTING VISIBILITY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,610 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 74,665.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER BALL JOINT

3/15/2010 - ATLANTA, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S80. WHILE DRIVING 5MPH TRAVELING OVER A SPEED BUMP THE LEFT FRONT TIRE SUDDENLY SEPARATED FROM THE LOWER BALL JOINT DAMAGING THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE .THE VOLVO MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED AT THE TIME OF THE COMPLAINT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,900.

View Details

EQUIPMENT

3/8/2010 - YARDLEY, PA
VOLVO VEHICLES SUDDEN SPEEDS INCREASE THERE IS A AIR-BOX PROBLEM WHICH CAUSES THE ENGINE TO ACCELERATE,AND VEHICLE TO LUNGE FORWARD. SPEEDS THE ENGINE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds