Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S80 - 2001 VOLVO S80 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 163 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLVO S80

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLVO S80. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLVO S80, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (2)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (20) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (64)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/9/2009 - TAMPA, FL
WHILE TRAVELING AT 25 MPH, I APPLIED BRAKES TO STOP ABOUT 30-35 FEET BEHIND ANOTHER VEHICLE, WHEN MY VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED (WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKES AND) AND LAUNCHED FORWARD AND STRUCK THE VEHICLE AHEAD OF ME, CAUSING INJURY TO THE DRIVER AND THE PASSENGER AND RESULTED IN A LAWSUIT AGAINST ME. THE LAWSUIT IS SET FOR TRIAL ON NOVEMBER 30, 2009.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2009 - DENVER, CO
MY ETM ON VOLVO S80, T6 MODEL (YEAR 2001) HAS A RECALL ON IT ISSUED BY VOLVO BUT THE PROBLEM IS THAT THIS PART ALONG WITH THE THROTTLE BODY IS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDS CONSTANT COMPUTER UPDATE, AND THAN THE ETM FAULTS WITHOUT NOTICE AND TAKES WITH IT THE WHOLE INFRASTRUCTURE DESPITE ETM BEING SERVICED AND NEW SOFTWARE BEING INSTALLED BY DEALER. THE DEALER IS NOT ALWAYS KEEN ON WORKING ON ETM OR THROTTLE BOTTLE ISSUES AS THEY DON'T GET PAYMENT ON TIME FROM VOLVO AND THEY NEED TO DO A LOT OF PAPER WORK TO ET PAID BY VOLVO USA. THE CAR STALLS SUDDENLY AND ONE OF THESE DAYS I AM AFRAID THIS WILL LEAD TO A MAJOR CRASH AS GOV.'T CAN'T STOP WHAT VOLVO USA WANTS TO ACCOMPLISH AND THAT IS PROFITS AND NOT RECALLING THEIR DEFECTIVE EQUIPMENT. HUMAN LIVES ARE SECOND TO CORPORATE PROFITS HAS ALREADY BEING NOTED AD SHOWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/7/2009 - SOUTHINGTON, CT
MOST RECENT IS AN UPPER IDLER ARM WENT CAUSING THE TIMING BELT TO SKIP DAMAGING THE MOTOR: COST 4K TO FIX OR 5K TO INSTALL A USED MOTOR. PRESSURE TEST CAME BACK (NO PRESSURE)PISTONS ARE OK. SUNROOF CAVED IN ON MY HEAD. I DID GET CUTUP WITH THE GLASS. CAR STALLED, NEED NEW ALTERNATOR, FUEL LINK SHIELD FELL OFF BOTTOM OF CAR CAUSING THE FUEL LINE TO DRAG ON ROAD. I HAD TO TAPE THE RUBBER FUEL LINE UP UNTIL GARAGE TO INSTALL A NEW SHIELD. PASSENGER SIDE SAFETY BELT LINKAGE BROKE (NO PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT) THERE ARE OTHER 'ROUTINE MAINTAINENCE' TIRES/BRAKES/ ETC THAT I DID HAVE DONE. I'VE TAKE GOOD CAR, BUT THESE LARGE TICKET ITEMS CONTINUE. THERE ARE ALWAYS LIGHTS OUT SOMEWHERE ON THIS CAR. ONE OF THE TIRE RIMS CRACKED AND I NEED A NEW ONE (DANGEROUS TO DRIVE HIGHWAY WITH THAT). I DID NOT THINK VOLVO WOULD EXCEPT SOMETHING LIKE THIS, WHEN I BROUGHT THE CAR TO GENGRIS VOLVO DEALER THEY TOLD ME THAT THAT 'WOULD NOT TOUCH' THIS CAR AND TRADE-IN WAS NOT AN OPTION. THIS CAR IS WORTHLESS WHAT WITH ALL THESE PROBLEMS. THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS MODEL (2000/2001) OF THE S80 T6 ARE LEMONS AND SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN MADE ROAD WORTHY. IS THERE ANYTHING YOU ARE ABLE TO DO... I STILL OWE 13K ON THIS WORTHLESS CAR. I SHOULD HAVE NEVER BOUGHT A VOLVO - THIS IS MY SECOND AND AND VERY WILLING TO SHARE THIS WITH OTHER POTENTIAL BUYERS IF NOTHING IS DOME BY VOLVO WITH THIS MATTER... THERE ARE MORE PROBLEMS I CAN SHARE IF YOU ARE INTERESTED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/7/2009 - SOUTHINGTON, CT
MOST RECENT IS AN UPPER IDLER ARM WENT CAUSING THE TIMING BELT TO SKIP DAMAGING THE MOTOR: COST 4K TO FIX OR 5K TO INSTALL A USED MOTOR. PRESSURE TEST CAME BACK (NO PRESSURE)PISTONS ARE OK. SUNROOF CAVED IN ON MY HEAD. I DID GET CUTUP WITH THE GLASS. CAR STALLED, NEED NEW ALTERNATOR, FUEL LINK SHIELD FELL OFF BOTTOM OF CAR CAUSING THE FUEL LINE TO DRAG ON ROAD. I HAD TO TAPE THE RUBBER FUEL LINE UP UNTIL GARAGE TO INSTALL A NEW SHIELD. PASSENGER SIDE SAFETY BELT LINKAGE BROKE (NO PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT) THERE ARE OTHER 'ROUTINE MAINTAINENCE' TIRES/BRAKES/ ETC THAT I DID HAVE DONE. I'VE TAKE GOOD CAR, BUT THESE LARGE TICKET ITEMS CONTINUE. THERE ARE ALWAYS LIGHTS OUT SOMEWHERE ON THIS CAR. ONE OF THE TIRE RIMS CRACKED AND I NEED A NEW ONE (DANGEROUS TO DRIVE HIGHWAY WITH THAT). I DID NOT THINK VOLVO WOULD EXCEPT SOMETHING LIKE THIS, WHEN I BROUGHT THE CAR TO GENGRIS VOLVO DEALER THEY TOLD ME THAT THAT 'WOULD NOT TOUCH' THIS CAR AND TRADE-IN WAS NOT AN OPTION. THIS CAR IS WORTHLESS WHAT WITH ALL THESE PROBLEMS. THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS MODEL (2000/2001) OF THE S80 T6 ARE LEMONS AND SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN MADE ROAD WORTHY. IS THERE ANYTHING YOU ARE ABLE TO DO... I STILL OWE 13K ON THIS WORTHLESS CAR. I SHOULD HAVE NEVER BOUGHT A VOLVO - THIS IS MY SECOND AND AND VERY WILLING TO SHARE THIS WITH OTHER POTENTIAL BUYERS IF NOTHING IS DOME BY VOLVO WITH THIS MATTER... THERE ARE MORE PROBLEMS I CAN SHARE IF YOU ARE INTERESTED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/23/2009 - EATONVILLE, WA
UPPER STRUT BUSHINGS CRACKED FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM BUSHINGS FRONT LINK RODS REAR LINK RODS FLAME TRAP BOX LEAKING OIL THIS 2001 S80 VOLVO IS A PIECE OF JUNK TRIED TO HAVE THIS VOLVO WORK DONE PER THE EXTENDED WARR ULTIMATE I HAVE A PIECE OF JUNK.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/21/2009 - ATLANTA, GA
I WAS GOING THROUGH AN AUTOBUFF'S CARWASH IN DOUGLASVILLE, GA AND MY SUNROOF IMPLODED! I TOOK MY CAR TO VOLVO AND THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD ONLY COVER THE GLASS, NOT THE LABOR, NOR THE CRACKED WINDSHIELD, ETC. THERE ARE MORE THAN 81 OTHER PERSONS WHO HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE WITH THEIR VOLVO, AND YET VOLVO DOES NOT CHOOSE TO CONSIDER IT A NECESSARY RECALL. IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD, AND I WANT SOMETHING TO BE DONE ABOUT IT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/31/2008 - NORTH PROVIDENCE, RI
HESITATION, SURGING, LOSS OF POWER, ETC. THIS CAR RUNS SO ERRATICALLY THAT I AM EVEN AFRAID TO CHANGE LANES IN TRAFFIC BECAUSE I AM JUST AFRAID THAT IT IS GOING TO STOP RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE AND I AM GOING TO BE HIT BY THE CAR BEHIND ME. I AM AFRAID TO STOP AT TRAFFIC LIGHTS BECAUSE THE CAR WONT ACCELERATE AND RUN NORMALLY THEREFORE ILL HAVE UPSET DRIVERS IN BACK OF ME WAITING UNTIL THE CAR DECIDES TO MOVE FORWARD. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING WITH A LOT OF TRAFFIC AROUND YOU. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER BUT THEY JUST SAY THAT IF THERE ARE NO MESSAGES OR CODES THEY CANNOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT BECAUSE VOLVO WONT REIMBURSE THEM FOR THE EXPENSE. THIS ERRATIC BEHAVIOR HAS BEEN HAPPENING MORE AND MORE OFTEN AND I DON'T BELIEVE IT HAS BEEN A DAY THAT HAS NOT HAPPENED SINCE IT FIRST STARTED. I HAVE HAD AN UPGRADE, A CLEANING BUT NO REPLACEMENT IN SIGHT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

9/11/2007 - BYRON CENTER, MI
I HAVE A 2001 VOLVO S80 T6 WITH 61000 MILES. WITHIN THE LAST TWO WEEKS IT FELT AS THOUGH THE CAR WAS "SLIPPING" OUT OF GEAR ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS... THE RPMS WOULD FLAIR THEN NORMALIZE. YESTERDAY THE CAR JUST QUIT MOVING. IT WAS TOWED TO THE VOLVO DEALER AND I WAS JUST TOLD THE TRANSMISSION IS SHOT AND WOULD COST $4000 TO REPLACE WITH A REMANUFACTURED ONE. MY PROBLEM DOES NOT SEEM TO BE AN ISOLATED INCIDENT. I'VE FOUND THAT ITS WELL KNOWN THE TRANSMISSION IS A PROBLEM AND SINCE THEY TEND TO FAIL AFTER 50000 MILES, VOLVO'S WARRANTY IS EXPIRED. NOW I'M STUCK WITH PUTTING THE SAME WORTHLESS TRANSMISSION BACK INTO THE VEHICLE ONLY TO EXPECT IT TO FAIL AGAIN IN THE FUTURE. VOLVO NEEDS TO RECALL THE TRANSMISSION OR EXTEND THE WARRANTY TO AT LEAST 100000 MILES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/4/2007 - ANNAPOLIS, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S80. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THEY REFUSED TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO ANOTHER FORD DEALER THAT WILL PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE HAS OCCURRED BEFORE AND SHE BELIEVES THAT THE CAUSE IS THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL, WHICH IS CURRENTLY UNDER NHTSA RECALL NUMBER 06V441000. SHE ALSO STATED THAT THE RADIATOR WAS REPLACED AT 28,000 AND 56,000 MILES AND CURRENTLY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RADIATOR FAILS EVERY 28,000 MILES AND THE ENGINE COOLANT LIGHT ILLUMINATES. THE PURCHASE DATE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 87,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM: RADIATOR ASSEMBLY

9/4/2007 - ANNAPOLIS, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S80. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THEY REFUSED TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO ANOTHER FORD DEALER THAT WILL PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE HAS OCCURRED BEFORE AND SHE BELIEVES THAT THE CAUSE IS THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL, WHICH IS CURRENTLY UNDER NHTSA RECALL NUMBER 06V441000. SHE ALSO STATED THAT THE RADIATOR WAS REPLACED AT 28,000 AND 56,000 MILES AND CURRENTLY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RADIATOR FAILS EVERY 28,000 MILES AND THE ENGINE COOLANT LIGHT ILLUMINATES. THE PURCHASE DATE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 87,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds