Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S80 - 2001 VOLVO S80 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 163 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLVO S80

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLVO S80. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLVO S80, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (2)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (20) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (64)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/24/2007 - DAYVILLE, CT
I WAS DRIVING APPROX. 65 MILES AN HOUR ON I395 AND I WAS IN THE PASSING LANE. I WENT TO ACCELERATE AND MOVE INTO THE TRAVEL LANE AND I WAS NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE. MY SPEED STARED TO REDUCE AND ALL OF THE POWER SHUT OFF IN THE VEHICLE. NO WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON AND NO INDICATION ON WHAT THE CAR WAS SHUTTING DOWN. I CHECKED FOR VEHICLES BEHIND ME AND AROUND ME AND PUT ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS. I QUICKLY PULLED OFF OF THE BUSY HIGHWAY AND MANAGED TO STOP AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD (MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY - NEXT TO THE MEDIAN). THE POLICE HAD SEEN ME PULL OVER AND CALLED A WRECKER SERVICE. THE CAR WAS BROUGHT TO THE PLACE WHERE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE (FOREIGN MOTORS EAST IN BROOKLYN, CT) AND THEY KEPT THE CAR FOR THE NEXT 3 DAYS. THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE AND THIS JUST HAPPENED AGAIN LAST MONTH (JUNE 20TH 2007). IT WAS THE SAME CONDITIONS...DRIVING ON I395 WHEN THE ACCELERATION STOPPED AND THE CAR STARTED TO SLOW DOWN. I PULLED THE CAR OVER AND TURNED OFF THE CAR. I WAITED 2 MINUTES AND TURNED THE KEY AGAIN AND THE CAR WAS FINE. I DROVE THE NEXT 45 MINUTES WITH NO ISSUES.

View Details

VISIBILITY: REARVIEW MIRRORS/DEVICES

7/5/2007 - FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S80. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A COLOR DIFFERENTIAL ON THE REARVIEW MIRROR, WHICH MADE VISIBILITY DIFFICULT. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE COMPUTER WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. AS OF JULY 5, 2007, THE REARVIEW MIRROR HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE POWERTRAIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 87,400 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,200.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/18/2007 - CANONSBURG, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S80. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH DOWNHILL, THE CONTACT SMELLED BURNING AND SAW SMOKE. THE VEHICLE HAD NO ACCELERATION, POWER STEERING, OR BRAKE FUNCTION. THE CONTACT APPLIED THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. ALL OF THE WARNING INDICATOR LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE BURST INTO FLAMES FIFTEEN SECONDS AFTER STOPPING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE VOLVO INVESTIGATORS STATED THAT THE FIRE WAS CAUSED BY BIRD SEED DEPOSITS UNDERNEATH THE HOOD. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 56,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/11/2007 - BERRYVILLE, VA
2001 S80 VOLVO, HEADLIGHTS GATHER MOISTURE ANYTIME IT RAINS. HAD TO REPLACE BEFORE PASSING INSPECTION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/25/2007 - WESTMINSTER, MA
I'M A NEW OWNER OF A 2001 S80 T6 WITH 66K MILES. SECOND DAY OF OWNERSHIP I'M ON MY WAY HOME IN THE PASSING LANE OF A FREEWAY IN MA, TRAFFIC SLOWS TO A STOP. AS I ACCELERATE THE CAR STALLS. I PULL TO THE LEFT OF THE TRAVELING LANE, PUT THE CAR IN PARK, RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE NEXT DAY, I PULL UP TO A RED LIGHT, ACCELERATE AND THE CAR STALLS. I PUT IT IN PARK, RESTART THE CAR, AND AWAY I GO. NO MESSAGES, NO CHECK ENGINE, NO CODES THAT I KNOW OF. I TRAVEL 100 MILES A DAY, AND THE PROBLEM OCCURS AT LEAST EVERY OTHER DAY. THIS PROBLEM IN INTERMITTANT AND EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. THE HIGHWAY I TRAVEL ON ALLOWS TRAVEL IN BREAKDOWN LANES DURING RUSH HOUR. I NEED TO TRAVEL IN THE RIGHT TRAVEL LANE ALWAYS IN THE EVENT OF ANOTHER STALL. DEALERSHIP CLEANED THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE. PROBLEM CONTINUES. RETURNED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY SAY, "NO CODES, NO NEW THROTTLE". THAT'S THE VOLVO POLICY, GALLO VOLVO, WORCESTER, MASS. LOU IS THE SERVICE MANAGER. HOW MANY TIMES DOES MY CAR NEED TO UNEXPECTEDLY STALL BEFORE MY CAR SHOWS A CODE SO I CAN REPAIR MY FAULTY ETM? IT'S DANGEROUS TO MY FAMILY AND ME.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/15/2007 - CORAL LANE SPRINGS, FL
- THE CONTACT CALLED REGARDING THE 2000 VOLVO S80. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND THE EMISSION SERVICE LIGHT KEPT TURNING ON, THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000. THE LOCAL VOLVO DEALER REFUSED TO DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE BECAUSE OF PAST PROBLEMS REGARDING THE BILL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WERE NO OTHER VOLVO DEALERS IN HIS AREA. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 55000. FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000. UPDATED 03/19/07.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL

1/17/2007 - BOULDER, CO
WE BEGAN REPORTING PROBLEMS WITH HESITATION AND SURGING IN OUR 2001 S80 T6 SEVERAL YEARS AGO TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT OUR NEAREST DEALER, SILL TERHAR MOTORS IN BROOMFIELD, COLORADO. THEY TRIED REPLACING A TURBO VALVE AND A SOFTWARE UPGRADE THAT WAS AVAILABLE AT THE TIME, AND WE WERE TOLD THAT USING THE HIGHEST OCTANE FUEL WOULD BE NECESSARY IN ORDER TO PREVENT THE HESITATION. THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. GIVEN THE INCONVENIENCE OF THE DEALERS LOCATION AND THAT THEY HAD NOT SEEMED TO BE ABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, WE HAD THE VEHICLE SERVICED FOR A WHILE AT AN INDEPENDENT VOLVO MECHANIC. LAST FALL THE EMISSIONS AND CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS TURNED ON, AND THEY REPLACED AN OXYGEN SENSOR AND/OR MASS AIR SENSOR. THE WARNING LIGHTS TURNED ON AGAIN, AND THEY RECOMMENDED THAT WE GO TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE DEALER. WE LEARNED OF THE "EXTENDED WARRANTY" VOLVO WAS BEGINNING TO OFFER AS A RESULT OF THE PROBLEMS IN THE DESIGN OF THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE. IN EARLY DECEMBER WE LEFT THE VEHICLE WITH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT SILL TERHAR, AND THEY DID THE SOFTWARE UPGRADE. WITHIN DAYS THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING HORRIBLY AND WAS STALLING IN INTERSECTIONS. SILL TERHAR HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED AND REPORTED THAT THE PROBLEM WAS DUE TO A HOSE THAT HAD NOT BEEN FASTENED SECURELY. DUE TO TRAVEL DURING THE HOLIDAYS AND THE MULTIPLE SNOWSTORMS IN COLORADO IN LATE DECEMBER, WE DROVE THIS VEHICLE IN EARLY JANUARY AFTER HAVING PUT ONLY ABOUT 100 MILES ON THE VEHICLE SINCE THE TIME THAT IT WAS REPORTEDLY FULLY CLEARED OF PROBLEMS WITH REGARD TO THE ETM, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT TURNED ON AGAIN. WE RETURNED TO SILL TERHAR, AND THEY SAID THAT THE PROBLEM WAS DUE TO A FAULTY RIGHT FRONT OXYGEN SENSOR. THEY WERE CERTAIN THAT THIS WAS UNRELATED TO THE ETM PROBLEM. THAT MOST RECENT WORK COST US $400. WE PICKED UP THE VEHICLE LAST FRIDAY EVENING AND, TODAY, ONLY A FEW DAYS LATER, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT HAS TURNED ON YET AGAIN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/17/2007 - BOULDER, CO
WE BEGAN REPORTING PROBLEMS WITH HESITATION AND SURGING IN OUR 2001 S80 T6 SEVERAL YEARS AGO TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT OUR NEAREST DEALER, SILL TERHAR MOTORS IN BROOMFIELD, COLORADO. THEY TRIED REPLACING A TURBO VALVE AND A SOFTWARE UPGRADE THAT WAS AVAILABLE AT THE TIME, AND WE WERE TOLD THAT USING THE HIGHEST OCTANE FUEL WOULD BE NECESSARY IN ORDER TO PREVENT THE HESITATION. THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. GIVEN THE INCONVENIENCE OF THE DEALERS LOCATION AND THAT THEY HAD NOT SEEMED TO BE ABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, WE HAD THE VEHICLE SERVICED FOR A WHILE AT AN INDEPENDENT VOLVO MECHANIC. LAST FALL THE EMISSIONS AND CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS TURNED ON, AND THEY REPLACED AN OXYGEN SENSOR AND/OR MASS AIR SENSOR. THE WARNING LIGHTS TURNED ON AGAIN, AND THEY RECOMMENDED THAT WE GO TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE DEALER. WE LEARNED OF THE "EXTENDED WARRANTY" VOLVO WAS BEGINNING TO OFFER AS A RESULT OF THE PROBLEMS IN THE DESIGN OF THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE. IN EARLY DECEMBER WE LEFT THE VEHICLE WITH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT SILL TERHAR, AND THEY DID THE SOFTWARE UPGRADE. WITHIN DAYS THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING HORRIBLY AND WAS STALLING IN INTERSECTIONS. SILL TERHAR HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED AND REPORTED THAT THE PROBLEM WAS DUE TO A HOSE THAT HAD NOT BEEN FASTENED SECURELY. DUE TO TRAVEL DURING THE HOLIDAYS AND THE MULTIPLE SNOWSTORMS IN COLORADO IN LATE DECEMBER, WE DROVE THIS VEHICLE IN EARLY JANUARY AFTER HAVING PUT ONLY ABOUT 100 MILES ON THE VEHICLE SINCE THE TIME THAT IT WAS REPORTEDLY FULLY CLEARED OF PROBLEMS WITH REGARD TO THE ETM, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT TURNED ON AGAIN. WE RETURNED TO SILL TERHAR, AND THEY SAID THAT THE PROBLEM WAS DUE TO A FAULTY RIGHT FRONT OXYGEN SENSOR. THEY WERE CERTAIN THAT THIS WAS UNRELATED TO THE ETM PROBLEM. THAT MOST RECENT WORK COST US $400. WE PICKED UP THE VEHICLE LAST FRIDAY EVENING AND, TODAY, ONLY A FEW DAYS LATER, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT HAS TURNED ON YET AGAIN.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

1/12/2007 - SPRING ARBOR, MI
MY 2001 VOLVO S80 T6 COST ME AROUND $3,500 IN REPAIRS/MAINTENANCE AFTER PURCHASE IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS. THIS CAR HAS SOMETHING GOING WRONG ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER. TO MENTION SOME: FRONT SWAY-BAR LINKS, TURBO CHARGER DRAIN, BAD ALTERNATOR (THAT CAUSE OTHER ELECTRONICS TO MALFUNCTION I.E. THE VEHICLE'S ENTIRE HEATING SYSTEM), IN-CAR SENSOR FAILURE FOR INTERIOR AIR QUALITY , ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE FAILURE THAT CAUSED ME TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE VOLVO DEALERSHIP FOR $190, CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAILURE, OXYGEN SENSOR FAILURE, THE FRONT STRUTS AND MOUNTS NEED TO BE REPLACED, YET. MAINTENANCE WISE, THE 60K MAINTENANCE, WHICH THE DEALERSHIP NEVER MENTIONED THAT IT HAD BEEN COMPLETED ON THIS VEHICLE ( NO PAPER WORK FOR THE VEHICLE WAS PROVIDED TO ME AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE), THE BRAKES WENT BAD IN TWO WEEKS AFTER PURCHASE, THE TIRES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, TOTAL COST: AROUND $2,000. I DON'T KNOW WHAT MORE TO EXPECT TO HAVE GONE WRONG ON THIS VEHICLE. THIS CAR HAS PUT ME THROUGH LOTS OF STRESS, WASTE OF TIME, AND LOSS OF MONEY. I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE FOR $14,000 AND HAS PUT IN ALMOST $3,500 AND IT'S NOT EVEN WORTH $17,000 IN THE MARKET AT THIS POINT. VOLVO NEEDS TO HAVE A RECALL ON THEIR SUSPENSION PROBLEMS (STRUTS, SWAY BAR LINKS, BUSHINGS) WHICH HAPPEN QUITE OFTEN AS I HAVE HEARD AND READ ON THE CONSUMER COMPLAINTS ONLINE, AND ALSO FOR THE ALTERNATOR FAILURE AND CAUSE AFTERWARDS. ALSO, IF THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED BECAUSE OF A RECALL PROBLEM, THEY SHOULD COVER THE COST OF TOW SINCE THE PROBLEM WAS CAUSED BY THEIR RECALL ITEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/12/2007 - SPRING ARBOR, MI
MY 2001 VOLVO S80 T6 COST ME AROUND $3,500 IN REPAIRS/MAINTENANCE AFTER PURCHASE IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS. THIS CAR HAS SOMETHING GOING WRONG ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER. TO MENTION SOME: FRONT SWAY-BAR LINKS, TURBO CHARGER DRAIN, BAD ALTERNATOR (THAT CAUSE OTHER ELECTRONICS TO MALFUNCTION I.E. THE VEHICLE'S ENTIRE HEATING SYSTEM), IN-CAR SENSOR FAILURE FOR INTERIOR AIR QUALITY , ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE FAILURE THAT CAUSED ME TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE VOLVO DEALERSHIP FOR $190, CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAILURE, OXYGEN SENSOR FAILURE, THE FRONT STRUTS AND MOUNTS NEED TO BE REPLACED, YET. MAINTENANCE WISE, THE 60K MAINTENANCE, WHICH THE DEALERSHIP NEVER MENTIONED THAT IT HAD BEEN COMPLETED ON THIS VEHICLE ( NO PAPER WORK FOR THE VEHICLE WAS PROVIDED TO ME AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE), THE BRAKES WENT BAD IN TWO WEEKS AFTER PURCHASE, THE TIRES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, TOTAL COST: AROUND $2,000. I DON'T KNOW WHAT MORE TO EXPECT TO HAVE GONE WRONG ON THIS VEHICLE. THIS CAR HAS PUT ME THROUGH LOTS OF STRESS, WASTE OF TIME, AND LOSS OF MONEY. I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE FOR $14,000 AND HAS PUT IN ALMOST $3,500 AND IT'S NOT EVEN WORTH $17,000 IN THE MARKET AT THIS POINT. VOLVO NEEDS TO HAVE A RECALL ON THEIR SUSPENSION PROBLEMS (STRUTS, SWAY BAR LINKS, BUSHINGS) WHICH HAPPEN QUITE OFTEN AS I HAVE HEARD AND READ ON THE CONSUMER COMPLAINTS ONLINE, AND ALSO FOR THE ALTERNATOR FAILURE AND CAUSE AFTERWARDS. ALSO, IF THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED BECAUSE OF A RECALL PROBLEM, THEY SHOULD COVER THE COST OF TOW SINCE THE PROBLEM WAS CAUSED BY THEIR RECALL ITEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds