Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S80 - 2001 VOLVO S80 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 163 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLVO S80

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLVO S80. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLVO S80, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (2)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (20) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (64)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/22/2006 - TROY, IL
WHILE ON A ROAD TRIP, MY 2001 VOLVO S80 STARTED LURCHING FORWARD AND SPEEDING UP/SLOWING DOWN BY ITSELF. THE CAR WAS IDLING ERRATICALLY AND WOULD STALL OUT. AS I WAS AWAY FROM HOME AND NEEDED TO RETURN SOON, I TOOK MY CAR TO BE CHECKED OUT. I WAS TOLD THAT I NEEDED A NEW ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE. I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO HAVE THE CAR FIXED AT A COST OF OVER $800.00. NOW I FIND OUT THAT VOLVO KNEW OF PROBLEMS WITH THIS PARTICULAR PART AND THAT THERE MAY BE A RECALL AND I AM VERY ANGRY THAT I HAD TO PAY TO REPLACE A PART THEY (VOLVO) KNEW WAS DEFECTIVE!!! ADDITIONALLY, AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, I WONDER ABOUT THE POTENTIAL DANGER I AND MY FAMILY WERE UNKNOWINGLY SUBJECTED TO DUE TO VOLVO'S DECISION TO NOT INFORM CONSUMERS OF THIS DEFECT.

View Details

OTHER

6/22/2006 - TROY, IL
WHILE ON A ROAD TRIP, MY 2001 VOLVO S80 STARTED LURCHING FORWARD AND SPEEDING UP/SLOWING DOWN BY ITSELF. THE CAR WAS IDLING ERRATICALLY AND WOULD STALL OUT. AS I WAS AWAY FROM HOME AND NEEDED TO RETURN SOON, I TOOK MY CAR TO BE CHECKED OUT. I WAS TOLD THAT I NEEDED A NEW ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE. I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO HAVE THE CAR FIXED AT A COST OF OVER $800.00. NOW I FIND OUT THAT VOLVO KNEW OF PROBLEMS WITH THIS PARTICULAR PART AND THAT THERE MAY BE A RECALL AND I AM VERY ANGRY THAT I HAD TO PAY TO REPLACE A PART THEY (VOLVO) KNEW WAS DEFECTIVE!!! ADDITIONALLY, AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, I WONDER ABOUT THE POTENTIAL DANGER I AND MY FAMILY WERE UNKNOWINGLY SUBJECTED TO DUE TO VOLVO'S DECISION TO NOT INFORM CONSUMERS OF THIS DEFECT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM

3/26/2006 - BROOKLAND, AR
2001 S80 VOLVO ETM FAILURE. IT STARTED AS VEHICLE HESITATION, THEN PROCEEDED TO SURGING FORWARD WITH NO THROTTLE INPUT, THEN PROGRESSED TO NO ACCELERATOR RESPONSE WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THEN TO STALLING WHEN COASTING LEAVING THE DRIVER WITH NO POWER STEERING OR BRAKES AT SPEEDS UP TO 55 MPH, THEN TO ROUGH IDLE AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. ALL SYMPTOMS WERE PRESENT UPON TAKING TO THE DEALER BASED ON SOME WEB RESEARCH TO IDENTIFY TO PROBLEM. THE DEALER RETURNED WITH AN ANALYSIS FOR TIMING BELT REPLACEMENT, ENGINE TUNE UP, ENGINE COOLANT FLUSH, CRANKCASE VENTILATION SYSTEM CLEANING, BRAKE SYSTEM FLUSHING, AND MASS AIR FLOW REPLACEMENT AMOUNTING TO AN INITIAL COST OF $1980.00 US. I REQUESTED A CONFERENCE WITH THE TECHNICIAN, AND A REVIEW OF THE DIAGNOSTICS REPORT. THE END RESULT WAS A MAF REPLACEMENT PAID FOR BY ME (CUSTOMER) AND AMAZINGLY THE TECH NOTES RECOMMENDED CLEANING OF THE CRANKCASE VENTILATION SYSTEM AND THE ETM CLEANING WHICH WAS COVERED BY THE DEALER. TOTAL COST WAS $328.21 TO CONSUMER AND BALANCE COVERED BY DEALER. THE REPAIRS WERE MADE ON 3/07/06, REPLACED MAF UNAVAILABLE. I FEEL THAT I HAVE BEEN TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF AND ESSENTIALLY PAID $328 UNNECESSARILY DUE TO FURTHER WEB RESEARCH IDENTIFYING CLEANING OF THE ETM AND CRANKCASE VENTILATION SYSTEM WOULD IN FACT CAUSE TROUBLE CODES LEADING THE REPLACEMENT OF THE MAF.

View Details

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST: HOSE, PIPING, AND CONNECTIONS

3/24/2006 - BRIGHTON, MA
: THE CONTACT STATED THE POWER STEERING RESERVOIR HOSE CONNECTING CLAMP LEAKED FLUID. THE VEHICLE WAS SEEN BY A DEALER AND CONNECTING CLAMP WAS REPLACED. AFTERWARDS, THE POWER STEERING FLUID CONTINUED TO LEAK AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT DETERMINED THE CLAMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/17/2006 - HURON, OH
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC THE VEHICLE STALLED THREE TIMES. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED EACH TIME AND WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE 60,000 MILES CHECKUP. ALTHOUGH THERE WERE NO CODES ON THE COMPUTER, THE DEALERSHIP PERFORMED A SOFTWARE UPDATE FOR THIS PROBLEM. UPDATED 4/19/2006 - 25 MILES AFTER THE 60000 MILE CHECK UP THE VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT STALLED AGAIN SINCE THE SOFTWARE UPDATED WAS PERFORMED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/14/2006 - CAVE CREEK, AZ
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE IN REVERSE THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED SUDDENLY AND RAN INTO A CACTUS. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE SUSTAINED BODY DAMAGE. THE DEALERSHIP INSPECTED THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP, WHICH REPLACED THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR AND PANEL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED; HOWEVER NO ADDITIONAL REPAIRS WERE MADE. UPDATED 5/10/2006 - THE DEALER REPLACED THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/23/2006 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
2001 S80, MULTIPLE FAILINGS OF THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE. THIS HAS HAPPENED REPEATEDLY OVER THE LAST 2 WEEKS. TOO MANY TIMES TO COUNT. CAR W/O NOTICE WILL NOT ACCELERATE BEYOND 20 MPH, IDLES ROUGHLY. HAS ALMOST CAUSED SEVERAL ACCIDENTS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/6/2005 - MURRELLS INLET, SC
MY 2001 VOLVO S-80 SUDDENLY LOST ALL POWER AND CAME TO A STOP AND WOULD NOT RESTART. THIS OCCURRED IN SEPT. 2003. THE DEALERSHIP, BEACH VOLVO IN MYRTLE BEACH, SC, WANTED OVER $600 TO REPAIR THE AUTO SINCE IT WAS BEYOND THE 50,000 MILE WARRANTY. IT HAD 60,000 MILES AT THE TIME. AFTER A LENGTHY DISCUSSION WITH VOLVO AMERICA, THEY AGREED TO SPLIT THE COST BETWEEN MYSELF, THE DEALERSHIP AND VOLVO AMERICA. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY WAS REPLACED. ON 12/05/05 THE SAME THING HAPPENED. THE CAR NOW HAS 82,700 MILES. IT IS BEING LOOKED AT BY BEACH VOLVO AT THIS MOMENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/5/2005 - DANBURY, CT
I OWN A 2001 VOLVO S80, 4 DR. SEDAN WHICH I AM IN THE PROCESS OF TRADING IN BECAUSE ON 3 DIFFERENT OCCASIONS THIS YEAR (2005) THE CAR STALLED, THE LAST TIME I NEEDED TO HAVE IT TOWED. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I NOTED THAT VOLVO HAD REACHED AN AGREEMENT REGARDING COMPLAINTS FILED IN CALIFORNIA ABOUT THE ETM MODULE. I BELIEVE THAT WAS THE CAUSE OF MY STALLING. I DID HAVE THE PART REPLACED, AT MY EXPENSE AND THE MECHANIC SHOWED ME THE PART THAT WOULD NOT STAY CLOSED CONSEQUENTLY CAUSING THE CAR TO STALL. AT NO TIME WAS THERE AN INDICATION THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM - NO WARNING LIGHT. WHILE I LOVE THE CAR, I DON'T FEEL I CAN TRUST IT EVEN THOUGH A NEW PART WAS PUT IN. ACCORDING TO THE VOLVO DEALER, PART WOULD NOT BE REPLACED UNLESS WARNING INDICATOR CAME ON. THE LAST TIME THE CAR STALLED WAS THANKSGIVING NIGHT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/2/2005 - STONE MOUNTAIN, GA
DT: THE CONTACT STATES WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE CAR COMPLETELY STALLED, RESULTING IN LOSS OF POWER. THE WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON PRIOR TO THE CAR STOPPING. SHE REPORTED HAVING NO PROBLEMS PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, AND THEY STATED TO CONTACT THE NHTSA HOT LINE SERVICES AND FILE A COMPLAINT. THE CAUSE HAS NOT BEEN DETERMINED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds