Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S80 - 2001 VOLVO S80 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 163 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLVO S80

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLVO S80. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLVO S80, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (2)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (20) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (64)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/2/2005 - MAPLE GLEN, PA
DT: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS ON WHEN THIS HAPPENED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP ,AND THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE AT THE CONTACT'S EXPENSE. SHE RECEIVED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FROM VOLVO, AND IT STATED SHE NEEDED TO CONTACT THE MANUFACTURER FOR REIMBURSEMENT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM

11/30/2005 - VENICE, FL
I OWN A 2001 VOLVO S-80. THERE IS A DANGEROUS PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR . IT INVOLVES THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE (ETM). THE CAR AT TIMES WILL NOT MOVE EVEN THOUGH THE ENGINE IS RUNNING AND THE CAR IS IN GEAR. IT JUST WILL NOT MOVE. PARTICULARLY WHEN TRYING TO MOVE INTO TRAFFIC. I AM AWARE THROUGH MY READING OF THE FACT THAT THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS OF VEHICLES WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. VOLVO KNOWS ABOUT THIS BUT TO DATE HAS DONE NOTHING TO CORRECT IT. I ALSO KNOW THAT NHTSA IS INVESTIGATIONS THE PROBLEM AND I WANTED TO LIST MY NAME WITH YOU FOR A COMPLAINT ON THIS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/21/2005 - NAPERVILLE, IL
VEHICLE REPEATEDLY STALLS AT LOW RPMS, DECELERATING, OR COMING TO STOP AT TRAFFIC LIGHTS, OFF-RAMPS, TOLL BOOTHS ETC. PROBLEM IS INTERMITTANT, AND DOESN NOT YIELD DIAGNOTICS ON CONSISTANT BASIS. DEALERS REFUSE TO FOLLOW-UP ON PROBLEM AS DIAGNOSTICS ARE INCONSISTANT. ONE INJURY AVOIDING ONCOMING VEHICLE UPON EXITING STALLED VEHICLE. INJURY MINOR, AND TREATED LOCALLY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/18/2005 - COOKSVILLE, MD
X REF 10131066, 2 ETMS, SMCH. 8-26-5 E-MAIL THAT IS THE UNIT THAT HAS CAUSED THE CAR TO TO BE TOWED TWICE. ONCE WHILE DRIVING, AND ONCE WHILE STARTING IN A PARKING LOT. THE ELECTRICAL THROTTLE MODULE (ETM) FAILED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2005 - OAK RIDGE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS 2000 VOLVO S80. PURCHASED IT UNDER AN EXTENDED WARRANTY CERTIFIED USED CAR PROGRAM FROM CLAYTON VOLVO IN KNOXVILLE TENNESSEE IN APRIL 2001. SEVERAL MONTHS LATER, WHILE THE CAR WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, THE CAR DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION. AFTER TOWING IT TO THE DEALER IT WAS DISCOVERED THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE WASFILLED WITH CARBON. THAT UNIT WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. A COUPLE YEARS LATER, THE CAR AGAIN DIED. THIS TIME IT HAPPENED IN A PARKING LOT. THANKFULLY, IN BOTH CASES IT HAPPENED IN A SAFE SITUATION. AGAIN, THE ETM WAS DETERMINED TO BE THE PROBLEM. BUT, THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER REFUSED TO RECOGNIZE THAT THE PROBLEM WAS AN ONGOING ISSUE. THIS TIME THE CONTACT WAS FORCED TO PAY NEARLY $1000 FOR REPAIRS. IT WAS THE CONTACT'S UNDERSTANDING THAT INFORMATION WAS BEING COLLECTED ON THIS PROBLEM, SO HE FELT COMPELLED TO ADD THIS COMPLAINT. ALTHOUGH HAD SPECIFIC DATES AVAILABLE , THE CONTACT COULD CHECK MY RECORDS AND PROVIDE THEM IF NECESSARY. . X-REF 10131424, 2 ETMS INSTALLED, SMCH. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS CLEANED TWICE AND THE MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR WAS REPLACED. UPDATED 12/07/05.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/18/2005 - OAK RIDGE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS 2000 VOLVO S80. PURCHASED IT UNDER AN EXTENDED WARRANTY CERTIFIED USED CAR PROGRAM FROM CLAYTON VOLVO IN KNOXVILLE TENNESSEE IN APRIL 2001. SEVERAL MONTHS LATER, WHILE THE CAR WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, THE CAR DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION. AFTER TOWING IT TO THE DEALER IT WAS DISCOVERED THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE WASFILLED WITH CARBON. THAT UNIT WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. A COUPLE YEARS LATER, THE CAR AGAIN DIED. THIS TIME IT HAPPENED IN A PARKING LOT. THANKFULLY, IN BOTH CASES IT HAPPENED IN A SAFE SITUATION. AGAIN, THE ETM WAS DETERMINED TO BE THE PROBLEM. BUT, THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER REFUSED TO RECOGNIZE THAT THE PROBLEM WAS AN ONGOING ISSUE. THIS TIME THE CONTACT WAS FORCED TO PAY NEARLY $1000 FOR REPAIRS. IT WAS THE CONTACT'S UNDERSTANDING THAT INFORMATION WAS BEING COLLECTED ON THIS PROBLEM, SO HE FELT COMPELLED TO ADD THIS COMPLAINT. ALTHOUGH HAD SPECIFIC DATES AVAILABLE , THE CONTACT COULD CHECK MY RECORDS AND PROVIDE THEM IF NECESSARY. . X-REF 10131424, 2 ETMS INSTALLED, SMCH. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS CLEANED TWICE AND THE MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR WAS REPLACED. UPDATED 12/07/05.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/18/2005 - FAYETTEVILLE, GA
DT: 2001 VOLVO S80. VEHICLE STALLED/DIED AND LOST POWER DUE TO THROTTLE BODY FAILURE. . THE THROTTLE BODY AND GASKET HAVE BEEN REPLACED THREE TIMES TO ALLEVIATE THE STALLING PROBLEM. X-REF 10132057, SECOND ETM, SMCH.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL

11/17/2005 - BRISTOW, VA
WELL, WELL - LET'S SEE, I BOUGHT A 2001 VOLVO S-80, T-6 IN FEBRUARY 2005 TO REPLACE MY 1996 740 IL BMW - I THOUGHT I WOULD GET A MORE ECONOMICAL AND SAFE CAR. BOY WAS I WRONG! TO MY DISGUST I PAID ALMOST $20,000 FOR THIS USED CAR AND WITHIN WEEKS IT STARTED ACTING UP. IT TURNED OUT TO BE THE MASS AIRFLOW SENSOR AND THE THROTTLE BODY. I FINALLY - 9 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASING THE CAR - HAVE HAD TO GET IT FIXED - OVER $1200.00. I, LIKE ANOTHER PERSON WHO FILED A COMPLAINT, WAS MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN ON A VERY BUSY ROAD, AND THE CAR DIED WHILE IN THE MIDDLE OF MY TURN. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PUT IT IN NEUTRAL QUICK ENOUGH AND RESTART IT BEFORE I GOT HIT. THE CAR ALSO SURGES DANGEROUSLY AT STOPS. IF YOU DON'T HAVE YOUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE 110%, THE CAR WOULD LURCH FORWARD AND HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF IT. I'M SO DISAPPOINTED IN THIS CAR I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER VOLVO. SO MUCH FOR LOOKING FORWARD TO "ONE DAY PURCHASING THIS SAFE CAR". NOW THAT I HAVE DUMPED LOTS OF MONEY INTO THIS CAR, TAKEN VACATION TIME TO PICK IT UP AND DROP IT OFF, IT WORKS OKAY. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS REPLACED ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO, BUT THE CAR STILL FEELS LIKE ITS NOT GIVING ME 100% - BUT AT LEAST IT ISN'T STALLING OR SURGING. I STILL HAVE MY BMW - THANK GOODNESS. I'LL BE GETTING RID OF THIS VOLVO. FORD BOUGHT VOLVO AND THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR MAKING THIS UNRELIABLE CAR. I ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT THERE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST VOLVO (FORD) - IT'S TIME THEY DO THE RIGHT THING AND REIMBURSE CUSTOMERS WHO HAVE BEEN SUBJECTED TO THIS DANGEROUS AND POORLY DESIGNED FUEL SYSTEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/17/2005 - BRISTOW, VA
WELL, WELL - LET'S SEE, I BOUGHT A 2001 VOLVO S-80, T-6 IN FEBRUARY 2005 TO REPLACE MY 1996 740 IL BMW - I THOUGHT I WOULD GET A MORE ECONOMICAL AND SAFE CAR. BOY WAS I WRONG! TO MY DISGUST I PAID ALMOST $20,000 FOR THIS USED CAR AND WITHIN WEEKS IT STARTED ACTING UP. IT TURNED OUT TO BE THE MASS AIRFLOW SENSOR AND THE THROTTLE BODY. I FINALLY - 9 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASING THE CAR - HAVE HAD TO GET IT FIXED - OVER $1200.00. I, LIKE ANOTHER PERSON WHO FILED A COMPLAINT, WAS MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN ON A VERY BUSY ROAD, AND THE CAR DIED WHILE IN THE MIDDLE OF MY TURN. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PUT IT IN NEUTRAL QUICK ENOUGH AND RESTART IT BEFORE I GOT HIT. THE CAR ALSO SURGES DANGEROUSLY AT STOPS. IF YOU DON'T HAVE YOUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE 110%, THE CAR WOULD LURCH FORWARD AND HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF IT. I'M SO DISAPPOINTED IN THIS CAR I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER VOLVO. SO MUCH FOR LOOKING FORWARD TO "ONE DAY PURCHASING THIS SAFE CAR". NOW THAT I HAVE DUMPED LOTS OF MONEY INTO THIS CAR, TAKEN VACATION TIME TO PICK IT UP AND DROP IT OFF, IT WORKS OKAY. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS REPLACED ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO, BUT THE CAR STILL FEELS LIKE ITS NOT GIVING ME 100% - BUT AT LEAST IT ISN'T STALLING OR SURGING. I STILL HAVE MY BMW - THANK GOODNESS. I'LL BE GETTING RID OF THIS VOLVO. FORD BOUGHT VOLVO AND THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR MAKING THIS UNRELIABLE CAR. I ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT THERE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST VOLVO (FORD) - IT'S TIME THEY DO THE RIGHT THING AND REIMBURSE CUSTOMERS WHO HAVE BEEN SUBJECTED TO THIS DANGEROUS AND POORLY DESIGNED FUEL SYSTEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/15/2005 - KANSAS CITY, MO
WHILE DRIVING ON AN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY AT 65-70 MPH, 2001 VOLVO S80 T6 DISPLAYED A MESSAGE INDICATING REDUCED POWER. WAS ABLE TO STEER THE CAR, BUT PUSHING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL IT HAD NO EFFECT. THE CONTACT WAS FORCED TO MANEUVER TO THE SHOULDER, AND HAD THE CAR TOWED TO LOCAL DEALER. THE CAR WOULD START AND CONTINUED TO RUN, BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT GO. IT WAS AS IF THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL HAD BEEN DISCONNECTED. THIS HAPPENED AT ALL SPEEDS. THE MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE ELECTRICAL THROTTLE MODULE (ETM) MALFUNCTIONED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds