Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S80 - 2001 VOLVO S80 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 163 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLVO S80

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLVO S80. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLVO S80, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (2)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (20) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (64)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/15/2005 - BELCHERTOWN, MA
ETM BAD/ ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE THIS HAS BEEN A NIGHTMARE AND IT'S NOT RESOLVED YET! I BOUGHT MY USED VOLVO S-80 T6 OCTOBER 20 TH WITH 76,000 MILES. WITHIN THE DAY OF OWNERSHIP THE SERVICE ENGINE REQUIRED LIGHT CAME ON, AND I FAILED MASS INSPECTION. I TRIED TO GET MY MONEY BACK, BUT I BOUGHT OUT OF STATE, AND THEY REFUSE TO RETURN CALLS. I RESEARCHED THE PROBLEM AND FOUND IT WAS THE ETM. ON WEDNESDAY NOV 10TH 2005, I CALLED MY LOCAL DEALER PIONEER VOLVO IN SOUTH DEERFIELD MASS 1 800 680 2140, AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE ETM WARRANTY EXPIRED AT 70,000 MILES, AT 76,000 MILE, THERE WAS NO WARRANTY. I ASKED HIM ABOUT KNOWN PROBLEMS WITH THE ETM, AND DENIED THAT HE WAS AWARE OF ANY! I ASKED HIM FOR AN APPOINTMENT, EXPLAINED THAT HE IS THE CLOSEST DEALER AT 47 MINUTES AWAY, AND THAT I NEEDED HELP ASAP DUE TO FAILED EMISSIONS. HE TOLD ME "BRING IT IN...AT 9 30 AM AND MAYBE I'LL LOOK AT IT....WHEN I ASKED HIM FOR A GUARANTEED TIME....HE SAID ..."MAYBE IN 2 WEEKS" I DECIDED TO FIX THE PROBLEM MYSELF BY CLEANING THE ETM, WHICH I UNDERSTAND HELPS TEMPORARILY. I HAD NO CHOICE BEING I AM EXTREMELY BUSY IN AN UNFLEXIBLE JOB AND FINANCIALLY STRAPPED. HOWEVER, WHEN REINSTALLING THE ETM, THE BOLTS ARE DESIGNED TO SHEER. THE BOLT SNAPPED AND I HAVE BEEN UNDER MY CAR FOR 3 DAYS....STILL CAN'T EXTRACT IT. I NEED MY CAR! I NEED IT TO PASS INSPECTION! WHY WON'T VOLVO COVER THIS?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/9/2005 - BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI
ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE (ETM )REPLACED SECOND TIME, 50 MPH, STALLED X REF 10131141, SMCH. UPDATED 1/4/2006 -

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/2/2005 - BRADENTON, FL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A US HIGHWAY WHEN I NOTICED MY CAR WAS 'LURCHING' FORWARD THEN WOULD LOOSE SPEED ALL TOGETHER KIND OF LIKE IT WANTED TO STALL. I WOULD PUSH ON THE ACCELERATOR AND NOTHING WOULD HAPPEN, THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE CAR WOULD DRIVE NORMALLY. I WAS ABOUT A MILE FROM MY WORK, SO I DIDN'T PULL OVER IMMEDIATELY. THE NEXT TWO STOP LIGHTS I ALMOST STALLED, BUT DIDN'T. AT THE THIRD TRAFFIC LIGHT ON ANOTHER US HIGHWAY, I WASN'T SO LUCKY - MY CAR STALLED AND WOULD NOT RE-START. I HAD TO CALL FOR A TOW TRUCK. MY SERVICE REPORT STATES THAT THE CODE ECM-130A WAS DETECTED. I FIGURED FOR SURE THIS WOULD BE COVERED UNDER MY EXTENDED WARRANTY. VOLVO SAID NO AS IT WAS 'JUST A DIRTY THROTTLE UNIT'. THEY SUPPOSEDLY TOOK IT APART, CLEANED IT, REPLACED A GASKET, UPGRADED THE ECM PET, AND PUT IT ALL BACK TOGETHER AND TOLD ME TO BE SURE TO USE PREMIUM GASOLINE BY ONLY A REPUTABLE GAS STATION, AND ONCE EVERY FEW MONTHS USE A FUEL SYSTEM CLEANER AND I SHOULDN'T HAVE ANY MORE PROBLEMS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/29/2005 - CINCINNATI, OH
FOR THE PAST YEAR (10/04-10/05), MY 2001 VOLVO S80 SEDAN HAS HAD REPEATED PROBLEMS WITH STALLING AND LOSS OF POWER STEERING. IT HAS OCCURRED AT SLOW SPEEDS AND UP TO 40 MPH IN TRAFFIC. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALER TWICE. THEY CAN NOT FIND ANY FAULT CODES DURING THE COMPUTER TROUBLESHOOTING, SO MY WARRANTY WILL NOT COVER ANY REPAIR. THEY SUGGESTED IT MIGHT BE "BAD GAS" AND HAVE SENT ME HOME TWICE HAVING DONE NOTHING. THE STALLING PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED FIVE TIMES IN THE LAST MONTH. THE CAR HAS 66,500 MILES ON IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/26/2005 - PLYMOUTH, MI
NO ACCELERATION AT TIMES. FROM TIME TO TIME WHEN MERGING ON FREEWAYS OR TRAFFIC CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. SOMETIMES IT WOULD SERGE. HAD A FEW CLOSE CALLS. FIRST HAD THROTTLE BODY (ETM) CLEANED WHICH DIDN'T WORK THEN HAD THROTTLE BODY REPLACED TWO DAYS LATER AT COST OF $1,177.16.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/24/2005 - HILLSBOROUGH, NJ
SURGING IDLE SPEED. CAR LURCHES FORWARD AT TIMES WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP. CAR ALMOST STALLS WHEN IDLING IN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC, REQUIRING YOU TO PRESS ON THE GAS TO KEEP IT FROM STALLING, BUT THIS MAKES THE CAR LURCH FORWARD EVEN MORE. SEVERAL TIMES I HAVE ALMOST HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. THIS PROBLEM IS DUE TO A FAULTY ETM (ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE) THAT IS DESCRIBED IN THE NHTSA DEFECT INVESTIGATION SHOWN BELOW. THE ETM IN MY CAR WAS REPLACED TWO YEARS AGO AT 46K MILES BUT THE SAME SYMPTOMS ARE RECURRING. NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : PE05041 NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER : N/A MAKE : VOLVO MODEL: S80 MANUFACTURER : VOLVO CARS OF N.A. LLC. YEAR : 2001 COMPONENT : VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL DATE INVESTIGATION OPENED : JULY 26, 2005 DATE INVESTIGATION CLOSED : OPEN SUMMARY: THE OFFICE OF DEFECTS INVESTIGATION (ODI) HAS RECEIVED ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY-ONE (131) CONSUMER COMPLAINTS ALLEGING A VARIETY OF CONCERNS RESULTING FROM FAILURE OF THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE (ETM) IN THE SUBJECT VEHICLES, INCLUDING A SUDDEN LOSS OF SPEED AND STEERING ASSIST WHEN DRIVING IN HIGHWAY TRAFFIC AND SUDDEN AND COMPLETE STALL WITHOUT WARNING. IN SOME INSTANCES, IT HAS BEEN REPORTED THAT THE VEHICLES WOULD RESTART, AND IN SOME CASES THE VEHICLES WERE TOWED. SOME CONSUMERS ALLEGE THAT AFTER HAVING THE ETM REPLACED THE NEW COMPONENT FAILED IN A SIMILAR MANNER. A PRELIMINARY EVALUATION HAS BEEN OPENED TO DETERMINE THE SCOPE, FREQUENCY, AND POTENTIAL SAFETY-RELATED CONSEQUENCES OF THE ALLEGED DEFECT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY

10/24/2005 - HILLSBOROUGH, NJ
SURGING IDLE SPEED. CAR LURCHES FORWARD AT TIMES WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP. CAR ALMOST STALLS WHEN IDLING IN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC, REQUIRING YOU TO PRESS ON THE GAS TO KEEP IT FROM STALLING, BUT THIS MAKES THE CAR LURCH FORWARD EVEN MORE. SEVERAL TIMES I HAVE ALMOST HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. THIS PROBLEM IS DUE TO A FAULTY ETM (ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE) THAT IS DESCRIBED IN THE NHTSA DEFECT INVESTIGATION SHOWN BELOW. THE ETM IN MY CAR WAS REPLACED TWO YEARS AGO AT 46K MILES BUT THE SAME SYMPTOMS ARE RECURRING. NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : PE05041 NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER : N/A MAKE : VOLVO MODEL: S80 MANUFACTURER : VOLVO CARS OF N.A. LLC. YEAR : 2001 COMPONENT : VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL DATE INVESTIGATION OPENED : JULY 26, 2005 DATE INVESTIGATION CLOSED : OPEN SUMMARY: THE OFFICE OF DEFECTS INVESTIGATION (ODI) HAS RECEIVED ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY-ONE (131) CONSUMER COMPLAINTS ALLEGING A VARIETY OF CONCERNS RESULTING FROM FAILURE OF THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE (ETM) IN THE SUBJECT VEHICLES, INCLUDING A SUDDEN LOSS OF SPEED AND STEERING ASSIST WHEN DRIVING IN HIGHWAY TRAFFIC AND SUDDEN AND COMPLETE STALL WITHOUT WARNING. IN SOME INSTANCES, IT HAS BEEN REPORTED THAT THE VEHICLES WOULD RESTART, AND IN SOME CASES THE VEHICLES WERE TOWED. SOME CONSUMERS ALLEGE THAT AFTER HAVING THE ETM REPLACED THE NEW COMPONENT FAILED IN A SIMILAR MANNER. A PRELIMINARY EVALUATION HAS BEEN OPENED TO DETERMINE THE SCOPE, FREQUENCY, AND POTENTIAL SAFETY-RELATED CONSEQUENCES OF THE ALLEGED DEFECT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/18/2005 - GREER, SC
WEEK OF 10/10/05 AS TRAVELING UPHILL, MY CAR SPUTTERED AND LOSS POWER. AFTER NEARLY BEING REAR ENDED ON THE BUSY ROAD, I WAS ABLE TO LIMB MY CAR INTO A PARKING LOT AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE. AFTER A FEW MINUTES, I WAS ABLE TO RESTART MY CAR AND CONTINUE DRIVING. TODAY, 10/18/05, AS I WAS ENTERING I-85, MY CAR ONCE AGAIN SPUTTERED AND STALLED. THE ENTRANCE RAMP WAS DOWNHILL, SO I WAS ABLE TO COAST INTO THE EMERGENCY LANE AS TRACTOR TRAILERS AND CARS WHIZZED BY ME. I RESTARTED THE CAR AFTER A FEW MINUTES OF BEING TURNED OFF. I WENT TO A MECHANIC FRIEND AND HE TOLD ME THAT IT WAS PROBABLY THE ETM AND IF IT WAS NOT, IT WOULD BE THE NEXT TIME THE CAR BREAKS DOWN. HE COULD NOT REPAIR IT. HE ESTIMATED THE DEALERSHIP WOULD CHARGE ME $1200.00. HE REPORTED THAT HE SEES THIS AT LEAST ONCE A MONTH IN VOLVOS. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER. AN HOUR AND A HALF LATER, I WAS INFORMED MY ETM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND THE COST WOULD BE $1150.00. I RELUNCTANTLY AGREED TO THE REPAIR. I HAVE RESEARCHED THE ETM PROBLEM OVER THE INTERNET AND HAVE LEARNED THAT VOLVO KNEW OF THIS PROBLEM YEARS BEFORE THEY SOLD THE CAR TO ME. AT A PERSONAL LEVEL, I HAD TO PAY FOR A DEFECTIVE PART THAT VOLVO HAS KNOWN IT HAS A 94%-100% FAILURE RATE! AT A MUCH HIGHER LEVEL, VOLVO IS RISKING PEOPLE LIVES BY NOT INFORMING OR VOLUNTARILY RECALLING THIS DEFECTIVE PART. CARS STALL UNEXPECTIVELY. I WAS FORTUNATE THAT I WAS NOT ON THE INTERSTATE YET. OTHERWISE, THE OUTCOME COULD HAVE BEEN DEADLY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/14/2005 - MARGATE, FL
WHILE DRIVING LOST STEERING POWER AND ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN, UNSAFE ON THE TURNPIKE, I SCARED. TOOK CAR TO DEALERSHIP WHILE UNDER WARRANTY REPLACED THROTTLE UNIT. CAR SHUT DOWN AND LUNGES FORWARD AT A LIGHT/TOOK TO DEALER AND FIXED RESET VALVE STICKING AND GASKET HAPPENED AGAIN REPLACED BOX AND PIPE REMOVED TRAP BOX IN PIPE, SHUT DOWN AGAIN REPLACED DID TOTAL CAN UP GRADE FAILED AGAIN. UNTIL TODAY CAR STILL SHUTS DOWN VERY DANGEROUS THIS CAR IS A DEATH TRAP AND MY WARRANTY IS OVER AND THEY WANT TO PAY 3,000.00 DOLLARS TO FIX, I FEEL THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE THEY SOLD ME A LEMON AND A VERY DANGEROUS CAR. AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE OF VOLVO CLAIM THEY CARE ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE VERY UNTRUE THEY GOT YOUR MONEY AND THE DON'T CARE MY PROBLEMS STILL EXIST AND I GET SCARED JUST GETTING INTO THIS CAR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/12/2005 - OLATHE, KS
I WAS DRIVING A 2001 VOLVO S80 T6 ON THE HIGHWAY PREPARING TO PASS A VEHICLE IN ORDER TO MAKE MY EXIT. AT THIS TIME THE CAR LOST POWER AND I RECEIVED A MESSAGE "PERFORMANCE REDUCTION". AFTER DODGING A COUPLE OF CARS I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. AT THAT TIME THE CAR WOULD NOT START BACK UP, I DECIDED TO LET THE CAR SIT AND COOL DOWN FOR ABOUT 15 MINUTES. THE CAR WOULD STILL NOT START. I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE ETM HAD FAILED AND THE OXYGEN SENSOR WHICH COST ME ABOUT $1300.00 TO REPAIR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds