Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S80 - 2001 VOLVO S80 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 163 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLVO S80

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLVO S80. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLVO S80, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (2)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (20) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (64)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/6/2005 - SHELTON, WA
DT: THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 VOLVO S80. THE VEHICLE WILL BEGIN TO BUCK AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THE CRUISE CONTROL WILL DROP OFF AT RANDOM AND STOP WORKING BEFORE THE BUCKING STARTS. SOMETIMES AT START UP IT WILL IDLE REALLY ROUGH. THE CONTACT PURCHASED THE VEHICLE ON JULY 16, 2005 AND THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN OCCURRING EVER SINCE HE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WILL COMPLETELY STALL AS WELL AS RUN AT LOW SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE FAILED AT LEAST 50 TIMES SINCE HE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER WAS NOT THE ORIGINAL OWNER. THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN DIAGNOSED AS THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE, BUT HAS NOT BEEN FIXED AT THIS POINT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/6/2005 - OAK PARK, IL
DT: THE CONSUMER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED / DIED AND LOST POWER. THE ENGINE WAS MISSING, AND WHEN THE GAS PEDAL WAS PRESSED THE CAR WOULDN'T ACCERLATE. THE CAR WOULD ONLY GET UP TO ABOUT 20-40 MPH. CONSUMER WAS GOING ABOUT 70 AND THE CAR LOST POWER. THE DRIVER WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY FAILED. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED IT AND CHARGED THE CONSUMER $883.00 FOR THE PARTS AND LABOR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/30/2005 - WOODLANDS, TX
I HAVE EXPERIENCED REPEATED PROBLEMS WITH THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE ON MY 2000 S80 VOLVO. FOR THE LAST COUPLE YEARS I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO THE VOLVO SERVICE DEALER FOR REPEATED PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR ENGINE SURGING WHEN COMING TO A STOP. THE VOLVO DEALER SERVICE WORKED ON THE ISSUE MULTIPLE THROUGHOUT THE WARRANTY PERIOD, STATING THEY KNEW OF A PROBLEM WITH THE ETM AND TO WATCH IT. NOW MY VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THE PROBLEM WAS DEFINITELY DIAGNOSED AND I HAD TO PAY OVER $900.00 TO GET IT FIXED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/29/2005 - MARLTON , NJ
DT: ON SEPTEMBER 12, 2005 THE CONSUMER'S HUSBAND HAD HIS FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND THE VEHICLE SURGED FORWARD. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE FAILED AND WAS REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/27/2005 - FAIRFAX, VA
CAR WAS RACING AND STALLING ON HIGHWAY AND WHILE IDLING. TOOK IT IN AND DIAGNOSTIC CODES IDENTIFIED A FAULTY MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR AND ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE/RELOAD AND THROTTLE BODY. CAR HAS 48,800 MILES ON IT. THESE REPAIRS COST OVER $1400. PLEASE HAVE VOLVO LOOK INTO THIS AND A RECALL IS JUSTIFIED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/27/2005 - SAGAMORE HILLS, OH
DT: THE CALLER SAID THAT WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE SPUTTERED AND STALLED. THE CALLER SAID THAT WHEN THE PROBLEM STARTED IT WOULD HAPPEN ABOUT ONCE A WEEK, AND IT GOT PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. IT WOULD STALL APPLYING THE BRAKES. HE SAID THIS PROBLEM MADE IT VERY HARD TO DRIVE IN DAILY TRAFFIC. THE CALLER WAS ABLE TO GET VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD. THEN, IT STARTED BACK UP. HE HAD THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE REPLACED. DEALER SAID THE PROBLEM WAS COMMON IN THIS VEHICLE, AND THEY FIXED IT. MANUFACTURER SAID TO CALL DEALER. THE CALLER HAD THE PROBLEM FIXED ABOUT SIX MONTHS AGO. HE JUST WANTED TO LET NHTSA KNOW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/26/2005 - SPRINGFIELD, NJ
I OWN A 2001 VOLVO S 80. IT DIED ON THE HIGHWAY IN THE MIDDLE OF BUSY RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. HAD IT TOWED TO VOLVO AND REPAIRED. NEED A NEW THROTTLE BODY AND MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR. VERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR AND WAS TOLD OFF THE RECORD THAT THIS PART FAILURE HAS BEEN MUCH MORE COMMON THAN IT SHOULD BE. I AM NOTIFYING YOU SO THAT YOU WILL LOOK INTO MANNER. SEEMS THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL ITEM. THANK YOU.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/23/2005 - FRANKLIN LAKES, NJ
CAR STALLED IN TRAFFIC AND THEN FAILED TO ACCELERATE AT AN INTERSECTION. PAID $900 FOR A NEW ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE AND THE LEARNED VOLVO IS WELL AWARE OF PROBLEM WITH THE PART AND THAT MANY, MANY VEHICLES HAVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM

9/23/2005 - NORTH KINGSTOWN, RI
WE OWN A 2001 VOLVO S80 WITH AN ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE PROBLEM THAT WE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THE VOLVO DEALER FIX IN AUGUST 04. THE CAR HAD 98,000 MILES ON IT AT THAT TIME. THE DEALER CLAIMED TO NOT BE AWARE OF ANY PROBLEMS WITH THE ETM, BUT THAT THEY COULD ATTEMPT TO CLEAN THE SYSTEM, WHICH THEY PROCEEDED TO DO AT $566. THE PROBLEM WASN'T FIXED, BUT THE DEALER SAID THEY COULD NOW FIX THE PROBLEM FOR AN ADDITIONAL $1000. THIS REALLY IRKED ME, I NEVER WENT BACK, NOW IT IS A YEAR LATER AND THE CAR STILL IS NOT FIXED, BUT IT WON'T PASS INSPECTION UN TIL IT IS CORRECTED. I'VE VISITED SEVERAL NON-DEALER MECHANICS WHO HAVE ALL SAID THEY CAN'T FIX THE PROBLEM, SO I'M STUCK HAVING TO GO BACK TO A DEALER WHO HAS TRIED TO SWINDLE ME. I RECENTLY BECAME AWARE OF THE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM WITH THE VOLVOS, BUT I REFUSE TO HAVE THE UNTRUSTWORTHY AND "UNKNOWING" VOLVO DEALERSHIP TOUCH THE CAR. I NOW HAVE FOUND A MECHANIC WHO FORMALLY WORKED FOR VOLVO ATTEMPT TO REPAIR THE CAR. IT WILL PROBABLY COST ME DOULBE WHAT THE VOLVO MECHANIC HAS SAID IT WOULD, BUT THERE IS NO FAITH IN THE DEALERSHIP. I UN DERSTAND THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST VOLVO BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM, I WILL SAVE ALL MY RECEIPTS FOR THE POSSIBILITY OF FILING A CLAIM EITHER WITH YOU OR WITH THE LAWSUIT PLAINTIFFS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/19/2005 - MARSTONS MILLS, MA
VEHICLE STALLS WITHOUT WARNING. IT HAS OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS, ON STRAIGHT AWAYS, ON CORNERS AND WHEN COMING TO A STOP. THE CAR , ON OCCASION, WILL ATTEMPT TO LURCH FORWARD WHILE COMING TO A STOP WITH THE FOOT ON THE BRAKE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds