Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE INTREPID - 2002 DODGE INTREPID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 327 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE INTREPID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (213) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (5) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (60) Structure (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (10) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/7/2017 - ROSWELL, NM
AN OIL PLUG FRONT LEFT OF ENGINE BLOCK BLEW OUT PUMPING OIL ONTO CATALYTIC CONVERTER. OPEN FLAMES MELTED WHEEL WELL, BACK BUMPER, AND FUEL HOSES OFF OF GAS TANK. FIRE WENT OUT WENT ALL THE OIL WAS PUMPED OUT OF ENGINE AND CAR STOPPED MOVING. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER SAFETY, THEY REFERRED ME TO DODGE CUSTOMER CARE; THEY INITIALLY CREATED A CASE #31892226 BUT THEN SENT A LETTER SAYING THEY WERE NOT RESPONSIBLE BECAUSE THE CAR WAS OUT OF A THREE-YEAR WARRANTY PERIOD AND ALSO UNSPECIFIED ENVIRONMENTAL FACTORS. ALTHOUGH MY WIFE AND SON WERE ALMOST IMMOLATED, IT WASN'T IMPORTANT ENOUGH FOR THEM TO CHECK INTO. THE CAR REMAINS PARKED AT A LOCAL GARAGE AWAITING INVESTIGATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/7/2017 - ROSWELL, NM
AN OIL PLUG FRONT LEFT OF ENGINE BLOCK BLEW OUT PUMPING OIL ONTO CATALYTIC CONVERTER. OPEN FLAMES MELTED WHEEL WELL, BACK BUMPER, AND FUEL HOSES OFF OF GAS TANK. FIRE WENT OUT WENT ALL THE OIL WAS PUMPED OUT OF ENGINE AND CAR STOPPED MOVING. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER SAFETY, THEY REFERRED ME TO DODGE CUSTOMER CARE; THEY INITIALLY CREATED A CASE #31892226 BUT THEN SENT A LETTER SAYING THEY WERE NOT RESPONSIBLE BECAUSE THE CAR WAS OUT OF A THREE-YEAR WARRANTY PERIOD AND ALSO UNSPECIFIED ENVIRONMENTAL FACTORS. ALTHOUGH MY WIFE AND SON WERE ALMOST IMMOLATED, IT WASN'T IMPORTANT ENOUGH FOR THEM TO CHECK INTO. THE CAR REMAINS PARKED AT A LOCAL GARAGE AWAITING INVESTIGATION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/7/2017 - ROSWELL, NM
AN OIL PLUG FRONT LEFT OF ENGINE BLOCK BLEW OUT PUMPING OIL ONTO CATALYTIC CONVERTER. OPEN FLAMES MELTED WHEEL WELL, BACK BUMPER, AND FUEL HOSES OFF OF GAS TANK. FIRE WENT OUT WENT ALL THE OIL WAS PUMPED OUT OF ENGINE AND CAR STOPPED MOVING. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER SAFETY, THEY REFERRED ME TO DODGE CUSTOMER CARE; THEY INITIALLY CREATED A CASE #31892226 BUT THEN SENT A LETTER SAYING THEY WERE NOT RESPONSIBLE BECAUSE THE CAR WAS OUT OF A THREE-YEAR WARRANTY PERIOD AND ALSO UNSPECIFIED ENVIRONMENTAL FACTORS. ALTHOUGH MY WIFE AND SON WERE ALMOST IMMOLATED, IT WASN'T IMPORTANT ENOUGH FOR THEM TO CHECK INTO. THE CAR REMAINS PARKED AT A LOCAL GARAGE AWAITING INVESTIGATION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/10/2016 - EVANSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL FUMES WERE EMITTING IN AND AROUND THE VEHICLE. AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT FUEL WAS LEAKING FROM THE TOP OF THE ENGINE AND THE CHECK WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/10/2016 - EVANSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL FUMES WERE EMITTING IN AND AROUND THE VEHICLE. AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT FUEL WAS LEAKING FROM THE TOP OF THE ENGINE AND THE CHECK WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000.

View Details

WHEELS

10/28/2015 - SAINT ANN, MO
TIRES CONSISTENTLY LOSE AIR PRESSURE AND MUST BE RE-INFLATED ANYWHERE FROM 5 TO 14 DAYS APART. TAKEN TO TIRE DEALER WHO INSPECTED THE WHEELS AND TIRES ON VARIOUS OCCASIONS OVER THE LAST THREE YEARS AND TOLD THAT THE TIRES ARE FINE, AND THE LOST AIR PRESSURE IS DUE TO THE WHEELS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/21/2015 - CINCINNATI , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HORN AND CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE WERE ACTIVATED, BUT FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 146,000. UPDATED 02/23/16 THE CONSUMER CONTACTED THE DEALER. HOWEVER THEY REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THE AIR BAG PROBLEM. UPDATED 02/23/16.

View Details

SEATS

11/6/2014 - ELKHART , IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE DRIVER SEAT RECLINED INDEPENDENTLY AND FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

8/20/2014 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
IGNITION SWITCH FAILURE. AFTER TURNING OFF CAR, SWITCH SLIPS INTO ACCESSORY POSITION AND DRAINS BATTERY. CAR DOES NOT START WHEN I RETURN TO THE CAR TO GO SOMEWHERE. I NEED TO PAY FOR A JUMP OR NEW BATTERY, OR TOW TO MY MECHANIC. THEN I HAVE TO KEEP REPLACING THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE ORIGINAL IGNITION SWITCH LASTED UNTIL 2011. THE AFTER MARKET IGNITION SWITCHES FAIL WITHIN ABOUT A YEAR. SOMETIMES WITHIN A FEW MONTHS. SINCE JAN. 2011, I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE IGNITION SWITCH ON 1/10/11 COST $147.50, 2/16/2012, COST $220.39, ALTERNATOR ASSEMBLY, COST $588.28 (MECHANIC THOUGHT IT COULDN'T BE THE SWITCH AGAIN), STARTER ASSEMBLY AGAIN 2/21/14, COST $384.23; RECOMMENDED I REPLACE THE RADIO SINCE THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHORTED OUT 3/14/2014, COST $45:IGNITION SWITCH AGAIN ON 8/01/14, COST $110.56. ALSO THIS CAR KEEPS HAVING THE LEFT REAR TAILLIGHTS FAIL. THEY TELL ME THIS IS ALL PART OF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHORT WHICH THEY GUESS IS CAUSING ALL OF THE ABOVE PROBLEMS. BUT ALL THESE PROBLEMS DIDN'T EXIST UNTIL I MADE THE FIRST REPLACEMENT OF THE ORIGINAL IGNITION SWITCH. I BELIEVE THAT THE AFTERMARKET WAS FULL OF FAULTY GM IGNITION SWITCHES AND THERE WAS NO WAY FOR MY MECHANIC TO TELL IF WE WERE GETTING BAD GM DESIGNED SWITCHES. LUCKILY FOR ME AND MY PASSENGERS MY CAR DIDN'T FAIL WHILE I WAS DRIVING. IT ALWAYS HAPPENED WHEN THE CAR WAS PARKED. BUT HAVING 95 YEAR OLD PASSENGERS, ON HOT FLORIDA DAYS, GET INTO A CAR THAT WON'T START, CANNOT BE COOLED DOWN, CANNOT EVEN ROLL DOWN THE WINDOWS SINCE THEY ARE ELECTRIC , THESE CONDITIONS COULD HAVE KILLED MY ELDERLY FRAGILE PASSENGERS. THERE SHOULD BE SOME WAY OF INSURING THAT ALL THOSE BAD SWITCHES ARE REMOVED FROM THE AFTERMARKET.

View Details

ENGINE

8/2/2014 - MANTECA, CA
ENGINE FAILURE 2.7L 2002 DODGE INTREPID VEHICLE OWNED OVER 10 YEARS 111K MILES CURRENT ODM, OIL CHANGE WAS NOT DUE AT THE TIME OF ENGINE FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds