Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE INTREPID - 2002 DODGE INTREPID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 327 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE INTREPID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (213) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (5) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (60) Structure (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (10) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/2/2014 - MANTECA, CA
ENGINE FAILURE SLUDGE , ENGINE DESIGN.

View Details

STEERING

5/12/2014 - INDEPENDENCE, IA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH IN REVERSE, HE HEARD A POP. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THE RACK AND PINION BOLTS HAVE FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. AP

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/22/2013 - GRASS LAKE, MI
WE BOUGHT THIS CAR AS THE THIRD OWNER THE AIR BAG LIGHT WAS ON THE CRUISE CONTROL DIDN'T WORK AND THE HORN WOULDN'T SOUND.AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET,AND FINDING OUT THAT THEY HAD MANY MANY OF THE INTERNAL PASTS CHANGED AND THE MULTITUDES OF PEOPLE REIMBURSED, WE TOOK OUR CAR TO THE DEALER AND TOLD BECAUSE WE WERE THE THIRD OWNER,AND THAT THE MILEAGE WAS HIGH,THEY WOULD NOT ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY. THE CAR WAS NEVER BEEN IN A ACCIDENT,NOR HAS IT BEEN ABUSED. I THINK THAT BECAUSE MY HORN CAN'T WORK IT MAY BE A CONCERN. I ALSO THINK WILE DRIVING MY AIR BAG MAY DEPLOY CAUSING AN INSIDENT.BOTH DODGE INTREPID , AND OTHER DODGES HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS. THE PROBLEM CAN BE RESOLVED BY PAYING 4-TO5 HUNDRED DOLLARS TO THE CONSUMER. I FEEL AS THOUGH THE COST AND REPLACEMENT OF THE PART SHOULD GO BACK TO THE MANUFACTURER AS IT IS AN INTERNAL PART IN THE STEERING THAT BREAKS WITH OUT WARNING AND WITHOUT ANY CAUSE FROM OUTSIDE SOURCES I.E.ACCEDENTSOR OTHER. BECAUSE NOT ENOUGH PEOPLE CONTACTED YOU, THE MANUFACTURER DECIDED IT WASN'T GOOD ENOUGH TO BE CONSIDERED OR ISSUE A RECALL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/22/2013 - GRASS LAKE, MI
WE BOUGHT THIS CAR AS THE THIRD OWNER THE AIR BAG LIGHT WAS ON THE CRUISE CONTROL DIDN'T WORK AND THE HORN WOULDN'T SOUND.AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET,AND FINDING OUT THAT THEY HAD MANY MANY OF THE INTERNAL PASTS CHANGED AND THE MULTITUDES OF PEOPLE REIMBURSED, WE TOOK OUR CAR TO THE DEALER AND TOLD BECAUSE WE WERE THE THIRD OWNER,AND THAT THE MILEAGE WAS HIGH,THEY WOULD NOT ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY. THE CAR WAS NEVER BEEN IN A ACCIDENT,NOR HAS IT BEEN ABUSED. I THINK THAT BECAUSE MY HORN CAN'T WORK IT MAY BE A CONCERN. I ALSO THINK WILE DRIVING MY AIR BAG MAY DEPLOY CAUSING AN INSIDENT.BOTH DODGE INTREPID , AND OTHER DODGES HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS. THE PROBLEM CAN BE RESOLVED BY PAYING 4-TO5 HUNDRED DOLLARS TO THE CONSUMER. I FEEL AS THOUGH THE COST AND REPLACEMENT OF THE PART SHOULD GO BACK TO THE MANUFACTURER AS IT IS AN INTERNAL PART IN THE STEERING THAT BREAKS WITH OUT WARNING AND WITHOUT ANY CAUSE FROM OUTSIDE SOURCES I.E.ACCEDENTSOR OTHER. BECAUSE NOT ENOUGH PEOPLE CONTACTED YOU, THE MANUFACTURER DECIDED IT WASN'T GOOD ENOUGH TO BE CONSIDERED OR ISSUE A RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2013 - GRASS LAKE, MI
WE BOUGHT THIS CAR AS THE THIRD OWNER THE AIR BAG LIGHT WAS ON THE CRUISE CONTROL DIDN'T WORK AND THE HORN WOULDN'T SOUND.AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET,AND FINDING OUT THAT THEY HAD MANY MANY OF THE INTERNAL PASTS CHANGED AND THE MULTITUDES OF PEOPLE REIMBURSED, WE TOOK OUR CAR TO THE DEALER AND TOLD BECAUSE WE WERE THE THIRD OWNER,AND THAT THE MILEAGE WAS HIGH,THEY WOULD NOT ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY. THE CAR WAS NEVER BEEN IN A ACCIDENT,NOR HAS IT BEEN ABUSED. I THINK THAT BECAUSE MY HORN CAN'T WORK IT MAY BE A CONCERN. I ALSO THINK WILE DRIVING MY AIR BAG MAY DEPLOY CAUSING AN INSIDENT.BOTH DODGE INTREPID , AND OTHER DODGES HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS. THE PROBLEM CAN BE RESOLVED BY PAYING 4-TO5 HUNDRED DOLLARS TO THE CONSUMER. I FEEL AS THOUGH THE COST AND REPLACEMENT OF THE PART SHOULD GO BACK TO THE MANUFACTURER AS IT IS AN INTERNAL PART IN THE STEERING THAT BREAKS WITH OUT WARNING AND WITHOUT ANY CAUSE FROM OUTSIDE SOURCES I.E.ACCEDENTSOR OTHER. BECAUSE NOT ENOUGH PEOPLE CONTACTED YOU, THE MANUFACTURER DECIDED IT WASN'T GOOD ENOUGH TO BE CONSIDERED OR ISSUE A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2013 - SANGER, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH OR LESS, SHE WOULD HEAR A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE WITH THE ILLUMINATION OF THE LOW OIL WARNING LIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED HER THAT THERE WAS SLUDGE IN THE MOTOR, WHICH NEEDED TO BE CLEANED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY CLEANING THE SLUDGE OUT OF THE ENGINE HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED THAT THE FUEL AND THE CAM SENSOR COULD HAVE BEEN THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED FOR BOTH COMPONENTS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 129,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 130,000. UPDATED 04/02/13

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/28/2013 - SANGER, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH OR LESS, SHE WOULD HEAR A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE WITH THE ILLUMINATION OF THE LOW OIL WARNING LIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED HER THAT THERE WAS SLUDGE IN THE MOTOR, WHICH NEEDED TO BE CLEANED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY CLEANING THE SLUDGE OUT OF THE ENGINE HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED THAT THE FUEL AND THE CAM SENSOR COULD HAVE BEEN THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED FOR BOTH COMPONENTS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 129,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 130,000. UPDATED 04/02/13

View Details

STEERING

3/18/2012 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
MY PREGNANT WIFE WAS LEAVING A FRIENDS WEDDING WITH MY THREE YEAR OLD IN THE CAR, SHE WAS TURNING AROUND ON A SIDE STREET SHE LOST ALL STEERING I WAS THERE IN A SEPARATE CAR I WENT OUT AND CHECKED FOR THE PROBLEM. I FOUND THAT BOTH BOLTS THAT CONNECT THE INNER TIE RODS TO THE RACK AND PINION STEERING HAD BEEN BROKEN COMPLETELY. THIS IS MY WIFE'S DAILY DRIVER SHE HAS IT ON THE FREEWAY EVERYDAY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/17/2012 - ST JOHNS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HAVING REPAIRS ON THE VEHICLE, SHE WAS ADVISED BY THE TECHNICIANS THAT THE VALVE GASKET WAS COVERED IN OIL SLUDGE. THE MECHANIC ADVISED THAT THE VALVE GASKET COVER NEEDED TO BE CLEANED AND THE OIL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 186,000. UPDATED 02/0812 UPDATED 03/16/12

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/6/2011 - TUCSON, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS WHERE THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT THE AIR BAG MODULE WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds