Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE INTREPID - 2002 DODGE INTREPID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 327 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE INTREPID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (213) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (5) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (60) Structure (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (10) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/28/2011 - ONAMIA, MN
NOTICED ANTIFREEZE LEAKING FROM UNDER CENTER AREA OF CAR, ATTEMPTED TO PIT IN ANTIFREEZE, LEAKED OUT RIGHT AWAY. I CHECKED THE OIL AND IT WAS FULL OF ANTIFREEZE. THE MOTOR IS SHOT. THERE WAS NO WARNING NO SERVICE LIGHTS THE CAR HAS NOT BEEN OVER HEATED, IT WAS VERY WELL MAINTAINED BY A LOCAL DEALER.

View Details

STEERING

7/24/2011 - RALEIGH, NC
STEERING PROBLEMS 2002 DODGE INTREPID. STEERING GEAR REPLACED AT APPROX 60,000 MILES THEN INNER TIE ROD BUSHINGS FAILED AT 196,000 MILES NOW THEY HAVE FAILED AGAIN AT 224,000 MILES 18 MONTHS AND THERE IS MAJOR PLAY IN THE STEERING OF THE CAR AS WELL AS MOVEMENT IN THE TIRE LEADING TO POSSIBLE EXCESSIVE TIRE WEAR.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

7/10/2011 - ARBOR VITAE, WI
2002 DODGE INTREPID 2.7 ENGINE CAR SUDENLY OVERHEATED. ANTI FREEZE WENT OUT ON GROUND AND INTO OIL. REPALCED WATER PUMP, TENSIONER, TIMIMG CHAIN, SEVERAL SENSORS, GASKETS AND MORE.ALWAYS MAINTAINED OIL CHANGES AT 300K AND OIL FILTERS. BAD ENGINE- PARTS SAVED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/10/2011 - ARBOR VITAE, WI
2002 DODGE INTREPID 2.7 ENGINE CAR SUDENLY OVERHEATED. ANTI FREEZE WENT OUT ON GROUND AND INTO OIL. REPALCED WATER PUMP, TENSIONER, TIMIMG CHAIN, SEVERAL SENSORS, GASKETS AND MORE.ALWAYS MAINTAINED OIL CHANGES AT 300K AND OIL FILTERS. BAD ENGINE- PARTS SAVED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

6/20/2011 - COLUMBUS , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 50 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO ADVISED THAT THERE WAS AN INTERNAL ENGINE FAILURE BUT WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE A CONCRETE DIAGNOSIS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 105,675.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/27/2011 - AMES, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WHEN HE OBSERVED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER AND TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THE INNER CORE OF THE TRANSMISSION WAS LEAKING TRANSMISSION FLUID. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 146,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/29/2011 - CLINTON, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE TRANSMISSION STARTED SLIPPING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT DID NOT CALL THE MANUFACTURER. THE CONTACT NOTICED SEVERAL COMPLAINTS REGARDING THE TRANSMISSION FOR THE SAME YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL AND WAS CONCERNED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/14/2010 - CLINTON, IA
WE BOUGHT A 2002 USED IN 2005. IT RAN OKAY, THOUGHE H THE OIL PRESSURE LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON WHEN IDLING. WE WERE ASSURED BY THE DEALER WE BOUGHT IT FROM THAT IT WAS JUST SENSOR AND NOT TO WORRY. HAD SOME SMALL PROBLEMS WITH IT, NOTHING TOO MAJOR. THEY JUST SEEMED TO HAPPEN ALL THE TIME. THEN IN 3/09 THE ALTERNATOR AND WATER PUMP WENT OUT FOR THE 2ND TIME, AND EVEN AFTER REPAIR THE CAR WOULD OVER HEAT OUT OF NO WHERE AND WITHOUT WARNING. CONTINUED TO HAVE THE PROBLEMS WITH THE OIL PRESSURE LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT. SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN RID OF IT THEN, BUT DIDN'T HAVE THE MONEY FOR A NEW CAR. THEN IN 11/09 THE CAR DID THE OVERHEAT FOR NO REASON WHILE MY HUSBAND WAS GOING 70 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY, THANK GOD THERE WASN'T AN ACCIDENT. THE GAUGES DIDN'T INDICATE ANYTHING, ALL OF THEM INCLUDING THE SPEDOMETER WENT TO 0. IT STARTED GUSHING WATER AND ANTIFREEZE. THE ENGINE IS SHOT, IT IS NOW A GOLD LAWN ORNAMENT. WE MAINTAINED THE CAR, OIL CHANGES EVERY 3000MI ETC. WAS TOLD ITS DUE TO "SLUDGE" IN THE ENGINE AND THAT ITS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH DODGES 2.7 ENGINES. WISH I WOULD'VE KNOWN THIS BEFORE I BOUGHT THE CAR, AND I WISH SOMEONE WOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THE TON YARD ORNAMENT I NOW HAVE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/14/2010 - CLINTON, IA
WE BOUGHT A 2002 USED IN 2005. IT RAN OKAY, THOUGHE H THE OIL PRESSURE LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON WHEN IDLING. WE WERE ASSURED BY THE DEALER WE BOUGHT IT FROM THAT IT WAS JUST SENSOR AND NOT TO WORRY. HAD SOME SMALL PROBLEMS WITH IT, NOTHING TOO MAJOR. THEY JUST SEEMED TO HAPPEN ALL THE TIME. THEN IN 3/09 THE ALTERNATOR AND WATER PUMP WENT OUT FOR THE 2ND TIME, AND EVEN AFTER REPAIR THE CAR WOULD OVER HEAT OUT OF NO WHERE AND WITHOUT WARNING. CONTINUED TO HAVE THE PROBLEMS WITH THE OIL PRESSURE LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT. SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN RID OF IT THEN, BUT DIDN'T HAVE THE MONEY FOR A NEW CAR. THEN IN 11/09 THE CAR DID THE OVERHEAT FOR NO REASON WHILE MY HUSBAND WAS GOING 70 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY, THANK GOD THERE WASN'T AN ACCIDENT. THE GAUGES DIDN'T INDICATE ANYTHING, ALL OF THEM INCLUDING THE SPEDOMETER WENT TO 0. IT STARTED GUSHING WATER AND ANTIFREEZE. THE ENGINE IS SHOT, IT IS NOW A GOLD LAWN ORNAMENT. WE MAINTAINED THE CAR, OIL CHANGES EVERY 3000MI ETC. WAS TOLD ITS DUE TO "SLUDGE" IN THE ENGINE AND THAT ITS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH DODGES 2.7 ENGINES. WISH I WOULD'VE KNOWN THIS BEFORE I BOUGHT THE CAR, AND I WISH SOMEONE WOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THE TON YARD ORNAMENT I NOW HAVE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

9/25/2010 - MCMINNVILLE, OR
MY 2002 DODGE INTREPID SE BEGAN HAVE ENGINE TROUBLES AT 125,000 MILES. I HAD THE ENGINE FLUSHED IN AN ATTEMPT TO STOP A NEW KNOCKING SOUND FROM GETTING WORSE. WHILE DRIVING WITH MY CHILDREN ON THE INTERSTATE TWO DAYS LATER THE ENGINE COMPLETELY FAILED. I HAVE BEEN PAYING THE FINANCE ON THIS VEHICLE FOR THE PAST YEAR AND A HALF. I AM UNABLE TO PAY THE EXCESSIVE ENGINE REPAIR COSTS AND SO THE CAR SITS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds