Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE INTREPID - 2002 DODGE INTREPID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 327 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE INTREPID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (213) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (5) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (60) Structure (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (10) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  26  27  28  29  30  31  32 
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

4/1/2002 - FREMONT, CA
I HAVE HAD STEERING/SUSPENSION AND BRAKE RELATED ISSUES FROM NORMAL DRIVING IN THE BAY AREA SINCE 200 MILES AFTER PURCHASING VEHICLE NEW. I HAVE HAD TO PAY FOR A PROFESSIONAL COMPUTERIZED FULL PRECISION ALIGNMENT AND BALANCING OF TWO TIRES THAT WERE OUT OF BALANCE FROM THE FACTORY. TWO DODGE/CHRYSLER DEALERS AND WHEEL SPECIALSTS HAVE CHECKED AND ADJUSTED TIRE PRESSURE. VEHICLE SEEMS TO DRIVE STRAIGHT MORE OFTEN BUT STILL DRIFTS TO THE LEFT, SOMETIMES TO THE RIGHT. FRONT WHEELS FEEL LIKE THEY ARE SLIPPING BAD OVER BUMPS EVEN AT LOW SPEEDS. VERY INTERMITTENTLY STEERING WHEEL BECOMES HARDER TO TURN AND IS MUCH MORE SENSITIVE ALL OF A SUDDEN. VEHICLE DOES NOT SEEM TO BE HANDLING OR TAKING BUMPS VERY WELL AT TIMES. WHEEL DOES NOT USUALLY RETURN SMOOTHLY OR CONSISTANTLY, SOMETIMES JERKY AND SOMETIMES SLOW, USUALLY OFF CENTER, OVERSTEERING OR UNDERSTEERING. STEERING WHEEL SOMETIMES NEEDS CONSTANT ATTENTION, HAVING TO REMIND WHEEL WHERE TO GO. WHEEL WILL MOVE BY ITSELF EXCESSIVELY AT TIMES ON BUMPY ROADS OR ON SLANTED ROADS SOMETIMES ALMOST MAKING COMPLETE TURNS ON IT'S OWN. SOMETIMES STEERING WHEEL HAS LOOSENESS. CLUNK IN STEERING STILL CONTINUES WHEEN WHEEL IS TURNED SHARP AND BRAKING. EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF GROANING NOISE WHEEN TURNING WHEEL AT TIMES. I HAD TO BRAKE HARD THE OTHER DAY AND WAS ABLE TO LOCK VEHICLE UP INTO A HEAVY SKID ALTHOUGH VEHICLE HAS ABS. VEHICLE FEELS UNSTABLE SOMETIMES AND OVER BUMPY ROADS SOMETIMES. EVERY ONCE AND A WHILE YOU CAN HEAR SQUEAKING FROM STRUTS. I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON EXPERIENCING THESE ISSUES. I HAVE WITNESS TESTIMONY ON VIDEO AND VIDEO PROOF. I HAVE VIDEO OF MASSIVE TIRE SQUEALING AT LOW SPEED 15MPH MANUVERING IN PARKING LOT. MY GIRLFRIEND DOES NOT WANT TO DRIVE THE CAR ALSO EXPERIENCING AND COMPLAINING OF THESE ISSUES. TRANSMISSION STILL HESITATES OR STUMBLES SOMETIMES. TWO DEALERSHIPS SAY THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH CAR AND COULDN'T DUPLICATE ANYTHING ABNORMAL WITH STEERING. CHRYSLER DOES NOTHING. CAR IS UNSAFE AT TIMES.

View Details

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

4/1/2002 - FREMONT, CA
I HAVE HAD STEERING/SUSPENSION AND BRAKE RELATED ISSUES FROM NORMAL DRIVING IN THE BAY AREA SINCE 200 MILES AFTER PURCHASING VEHICLE NEW. I HAVE HAD TO PAY FOR A PROFESSIONAL COMPUTERIZED FULL PRECISION ALIGNMENT AND BALANCING OF TWO TIRES THAT WERE OUT OF BALANCE FROM THE FACTORY. TWO DODGE/CHRYSLER DEALERS AND WHEEL SPECIALSTS HAVE CHECKED AND ADJUSTED TIRE PRESSURE. VEHICLE SEEMS TO DRIVE STRAIGHT MORE OFTEN BUT STILL DRIFTS TO THE LEFT, SOMETIMES TO THE RIGHT. FRONT WHEELS FEEL LIKE THEY ARE SLIPPING BAD OVER BUMPS EVEN AT LOW SPEEDS. VERY INTERMITTENTLY STEERING WHEEL BECOMES HARDER TO TURN AND IS MUCH MORE SENSITIVE ALL OF A SUDDEN. VEHICLE DOES NOT SEEM TO BE HANDLING OR TAKING BUMPS VERY WELL AT TIMES. WHEEL DOES NOT USUALLY RETURN SMOOTHLY OR CONSISTANTLY, SOMETIMES JERKY AND SOMETIMES SLOW, USUALLY OFF CENTER, OVERSTEERING OR UNDERSTEERING. STEERING WHEEL SOMETIMES NEEDS CONSTANT ATTENTION, HAVING TO REMIND WHEEL WHERE TO GO. WHEEL WILL MOVE BY ITSELF EXCESSIVELY AT TIMES ON BUMPY ROADS OR ON SLANTED ROADS SOMETIMES ALMOST MAKING COMPLETE TURNS ON IT'S OWN. SOMETIMES STEERING WHEEL HAS LOOSENESS. CLUNK IN STEERING STILL CONTINUES WHEEN WHEEL IS TURNED SHARP AND BRAKING. EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF GROANING NOISE WHEEN TURNING WHEEL AT TIMES. I HAD TO BRAKE HARD THE OTHER DAY AND WAS ABLE TO LOCK VEHICLE UP INTO A HEAVY SKID ALTHOUGH VEHICLE HAS ABS. VEHICLE FEELS UNSTABLE SOMETIMES AND OVER BUMPY ROADS SOMETIMES. EVERY ONCE AND A WHILE YOU CAN HEAR SQUEAKING FROM STRUTS. I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON EXPERIENCING THESE ISSUES. I HAVE WITNESS TESTIMONY ON VIDEO AND VIDEO PROOF. I HAVE VIDEO OF MASSIVE TIRE SQUEALING AT LOW SPEED 15MPH MANUVERING IN PARKING LOT. MY GIRLFRIEND DOES NOT WANT TO DRIVE THE CAR ALSO EXPERIENCING AND COMPLAINING OF THESE ISSUES. TRANSMISSION STILL HESITATES OR STUMBLES SOMETIMES. TWO DEALERSHIPS SAY THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH CAR AND COULDN'T DUPLICATE ANYTHING ABNORMAL WITH STEERING. CHRYSLER DOES NOTHING. CAR IS UNSAFE AT TIMES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

4/1/2002 - FREMONT, CA
I HAVE HAD STEERING/SUSPENSION AND BRAKE RELATED ISSUES FROM NORMAL DRIVING IN THE BAY AREA SINCE 200 MILES AFTER PURCHASING VEHICLE NEW. I HAVE HAD TO PAY FOR A PROFESSIONAL COMPUTERIZED FULL PRECISION ALIGNMENT AND BALANCING OF TWO TIRES THAT WERE OUT OF BALANCE FROM THE FACTORY. TWO DODGE/CHRYSLER DEALERS AND WHEEL SPECIALSTS HAVE CHECKED AND ADJUSTED TIRE PRESSURE. VEHICLE SEEMS TO DRIVE STRAIGHT MORE OFTEN BUT STILL DRIFTS TO THE LEFT, SOMETIMES TO THE RIGHT. FRONT WHEELS FEEL LIKE THEY ARE SLIPPING BAD OVER BUMPS EVEN AT LOW SPEEDS. VERY INTERMITTENTLY STEERING WHEEL BECOMES HARDER TO TURN AND IS MUCH MORE SENSITIVE ALL OF A SUDDEN. VEHICLE DOES NOT SEEM TO BE HANDLING OR TAKING BUMPS VERY WELL AT TIMES. WHEEL DOES NOT USUALLY RETURN SMOOTHLY OR CONSISTANTLY, SOMETIMES JERKY AND SOMETIMES SLOW, USUALLY OFF CENTER, OVERSTEERING OR UNDERSTEERING. STEERING WHEEL SOMETIMES NEEDS CONSTANT ATTENTION, HAVING TO REMIND WHEEL WHERE TO GO. WHEEL WILL MOVE BY ITSELF EXCESSIVELY AT TIMES ON BUMPY ROADS OR ON SLANTED ROADS SOMETIMES ALMOST MAKING COMPLETE TURNS ON IT'S OWN. SOMETIMES STEERING WHEEL HAS LOOSENESS. CLUNK IN STEERING STILL CONTINUES WHEEN WHEEL IS TURNED SHARP AND BRAKING. EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF GROANING NOISE WHEEN TURNING WHEEL AT TIMES. I HAD TO BRAKE HARD THE OTHER DAY AND WAS ABLE TO LOCK VEHICLE UP INTO A HEAVY SKID ALTHOUGH VEHICLE HAS ABS. VEHICLE FEELS UNSTABLE SOMETIMES AND OVER BUMPY ROADS SOMETIMES. EVERY ONCE AND A WHILE YOU CAN HEAR SQUEAKING FROM STRUTS. I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON EXPERIENCING THESE ISSUES. I HAVE WITNESS TESTIMONY ON VIDEO AND VIDEO PROOF. I HAVE VIDEO OF MASSIVE TIRE SQUEALING AT LOW SPEED 15MPH MANUVERING IN PARKING LOT. MY GIRLFRIEND DOES NOT WANT TO DRIVE THE CAR ALSO EXPERIENCING AND COMPLAINING OF THESE ISSUES. TRANSMISSION STILL HESITATES OR STUMBLES SOMETIMES. TWO DEALERSHIPS SAY THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH CAR AND COULDN'T DUPLICATE ANYTHING ABNORMAL WITH STEERING. CHRYSLER DOES NOTHING. CAR IS UNSAFE AT TIMES.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

3/27/2002 - FREMONT, CA
YESTERDAY I HAD A 4 WHEEL COMPUTERIZED ALIGNMENT PERFORMED. IT WAS DIFFICULT AND SOMETIMES ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO TELL THE CAR WAS OUT OF ALIGNMENT BECAUSE IT WOULD DRIFT TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT. THAT NIGHT WHEN PULLING OUT AWAY FROM FRIENDS HOUSE, HAVING WHEEL TURNED SHARP AND WAITING AT IDLE SOMETHING IN THE FRONT END WAS VIBRATING AND IT WOULD CHANGE WHEN WHEEL WAS MOVED. LATER THAT NIGHT STEERING WHEEL TIGHTENED UP AS IT HAD BEFORE ALL OF A SUDDEN WHEN DRIVING. WHEEL WAS REALLY DIFFICULT TO TURN ALL OF A SUDDEN, STEERING BECAME MUCH MORE SENSITIVE ALL OF A SUDDEN WHERE IT PREVIOUSLY WAS NOT. WHEN BRAKING OR ACCELERATING WHEEL WOULD FEEL EVEN MOVE DIFFICULT TO TURN AND ALMOST STUCK. I TRIED TO GET A FRIEND TO DRIVE THE CAR. SHE STARTED TO DRIVE IT IN A PARKING LOT, I ASKED HER TO MANUVER WITH THE CAR AND AFTER DRIVING FOR A MINUTE SHE DIDN'T WANT TO BECAUSE SHE FELT THE CAR WAS NOT HANDLING WELL AND DIDN'T FEEL RIGHT. I MANUVERED IN THE PARKING LOT AND AT 15 MILE LOW SPEED MANUVERING AND SHARP TURNS TIRES WERE SQUEALING AS IF PERFORMING HIGH SPEED MANUVERS. AT ONE TIME I WAS ABLE TO SEND THE VEHICLE INTO A CONTROLLED SKID ALTHOUGH IT HAS ABS. I COULD NOT GET CAR TO SKID AGAIN AND ABS SEEMED TO BE WORKING FINE. I NOTICED A CLUNK FELT IN THE STEERING ASSEMBLY WHEN BRAKING HARD AT LOWER SPEEDS. THE STEERING ATTITUDE AND CHARACTERISTICS SHOULD NOT INTERMITTENTLY CHANGE. THE CAR STILL WONDERS ON THE FREEWAY AND WHEEL NEEDS CONSTANT ATTENTION. THIS CAR DOES NOT FEEL SAFE TO DRIVE AND I DON'T KNOW WHY I'M CONTINUALLY BEING TOLD IT'S NORMAL. I HAVE DRIVEN 3 DODGE INTREPIDS AND KNOW HOW THEY SHOULD DRIVE. I EVEN HAD SOMEONE WHO HAS DRIVEN 3 SECOND GENERATION RENTAL CAR INTREPIDS AND HE DIDN'T LIKE THE WAY MY INTREPID DROVE AT TIMES EITHER. THE STEERING ASSEMBLY SEEMS TO BE DETERIORATING QUICKLY OVER TIME AND SOMETIMES FAILS TO PERFORM AS IT SHOULD. THE VEHICLE ALSO CAME OUT OF THE FACTORY OUT OF ALIGNMENT AND WITH TWO TIRES THAT NEEDED TO BE BALANCED AND SINCE CORRECTED. NLM

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/25/2002 - FREMONT, CA
VEHICLE LATELY HAS NOT FELT SAFE ENOUGH TO DRIVE AT TIMES. STEERING WHEEL MOVES ITSELF EXCESSIVELY AT TIMES AND MOVES EXCESSIVELY TO IMPERFECTIONS IN ROADS. STEERING CONTINUES TO DRIFT RIGHT OR LEFT. CLUNK STILL HEARD IN STEERING EVERY ONCE AND A WHILE. VIBRATION IN STEERING WHEEL SOMETIMES ON SMOOTH SURFACES AT HIGHER SPEED. I HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP AS A PRECAUTION. I AM TRYING ANOTHER DEALERSHIP TO TRY TO HAVE MY STEERING ISSUES CORRECTED. DEALERSHIP ADJSUTED TIRE PRESSURE AND STATED THAT STEERING WAS FINE AFTER ROAD TEST. SUPPOSED CHRYSLER REPRESENTATIVE WAS THERE AND SUPPOSEDLY TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE AS WELL AND STATED IT DROVE FINE AS WELL. SHOP FOREMAN STATED VIBRATION WAS BECAUSE WHEELS NEEDED TO BE BALANCED. ALSO STATED THAT IT'S NORMAL FOR VEHICLES TO DRIFT WHEN YOU LET GO OF THE WHEEL. THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THE EXCESSIVE RIGHT TIRE WEAR AND AGREED TO DO AN ALIGNMENT. DEALERSHIP STATED THEY DID NOT HAVE TIME AND SERVICE ADVISOR STATED AN ALIGNMENT COULD TAKE 7 HOURS. 7 HOURS......? I'M AFRAID THEY ARE GOING TO TRY AND ALIGN THE VEHICLE TO COUNTER THESE ISSUES OR IT'S GOING TO TAKE THAT LONG BECAUSE THERE'S A PROBLEM. THIS IS SCHEDULED FOR NEXT WEEK. DRIVING HOME FROM THE DEALER ALONG SLOPED FREEWAY ONRAMP, AFTER LETTING HANDS OFF THE WHEEL THE VEHICLE ALMOST MADE A COMPLETE RIGHT TURN ON IT'S OWN. ON THE FREEWAY VEHICLE WAS DRIFTING TO THE RIGHT AND TO THE LEFT. AFTER ACCELERATING FROM A COMPLETE STOP AND FRONT WHEEL HIT A BUMPY PART IN THE ROAD THE STEERING WHEEL TURNED ITSELF TO THE LEFT. STEERING WHEEL STILL FEELS LIKE IT STICKS AND DOES NOT RETURN LIKE IT SHOULD. I HAVE DRIVEN A CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY AS A TEST AND IT DRIVES STRAIGHT WHEN YOU LET OFF THE WHEEL, THE WHEEL DOES NOT MOVE BY ITSELF AS THE INTREPID EVEN OVER REALLY BUMPY ROADS. THE WHEEL ALWAYS RETURNS HOW IT SHOULD. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL PEOPLE DRIVE MY CAR AND THEY ALL AGREE EVEN BEFORE I EXPLAINED HOW I FELT ABOUT IT'S STEERING. CHRYSLER'S DESIGN IS POOR IF THIS IS NORMAL.

View Details

STEERING

3/21/2002 - FREMONT, CA
I HAVE BROUGHT THIS VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE WHERE I PURCHASED IT COMPLAINING OF INTERMITTENT LOOSENESS IN STEERING, SQUEAKING AND CLUNKING. THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THESE ISSUES, SQUEAKING WAS SUPPOSEDLY TIRE NOISE, CLUNKING WAS "JUST BUSHINGS". MY RIGHT FRONT TIRE IS SEVERLY WORN ON THE OUTER EDGES AT ONLY 5900 MILES, THE LEFT TIRE WEAR IS NORMAL. DEALER WOULD NOT EXPLAIN OR ASSES WHY THIS IS. TODAY I HAD THE STEERING WHEEL TURNED SHARP TO THE LEFT AND THERE WAS A VIBRATING NOISE AS IF METAL WAS HITTING AGAINST METAL. I CALLED SOMEONE OUT TO WITNESS THIS. ABOUT TWO MILES LATER I WAS DRIVING AND THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN ALL OF A SUDDEN AND STEERING FELT HEAVY. VEHICLE ALL OF A SUDDEN TURNS SHARPER AND STEERING RESPONDS DIFFERENT THAN USUAL. WHEN TRYING TO INVESTIGATE ISSUE AND MANUVERING THE STEERING BACK AND FOURTH THE VEHICLE WAS SWERVING EXCESSIVELY AS IT NEVER HAD BEFORE. FRONT END FELT AS IF IT WAS TAKING BUMPS HARDER THAN USUAL AND WAS EVEN HOPPING SLIGHLY OVER SOME BUMPS. I COULD HEAR NOISE IN THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT WHEEL AREA. I IMMEDIATELY BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. THE SHOP FOREMAN ROAD TESTED AND WOULDN'T SAY MUCH ABOUT THE STEERING. I EXPLAINED THAT THE WHEEL WAS ALWAYS MUCH EASIER TO TURN AND EXPLAINED THAT THE STEERING IS ALL OF A SUDDEN RESPONDING DIFFERENTLY. SEVERAL BUMPS FELT HARSH FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE WHERE THEY HAD NOT FELT AS HARSH BEFORE. I COULD HEAR AND FEEL A LIGHT CLUNKING DURING BRAKING THREE TIMES FROM THE PASSENGER SEAT. SHOP FOREMAN DIDN'T REALLY SEEM TO NOTICE MUCH WRONG AS USUAL. HE DID SEE THE TIRE WEAR AND WAS LIKE "WOW". HE IS GOING TO ASK THE SERVICE MANAGER FOR PERMISSION TO PUT THE VEHICLE ON THEIR ALIGNMENT MACHINE. THEY HAVE LOOKED AT THE VEHICLE ON THE LIFT TWICE AND NEVER FOUND ANYTHING VISUALLY WRONG. I HAVE MADE AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE THE VEHICLE LOOKED AT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE FOR A SECOND OPINION. I FEEL UNSAFE IN THIS VEHICLE AND UNFORTUNATELY NO OTHER ALTERNATIVE TO GET TO WORK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

3/21/2002 - FREMONT, CA
BRAKES FAILED INITIALLY AT ABOUT 30 MILES, AT ABOUT 40MPH I HIT BRAKES LIGHTLY, BRAKES DIDN'T WORK, BRAKE PEDAL FELT ROUGH AND ABS LIGHT ILLUMINATED. SEVERAL SECONDS LATER ABS LIGHT TURNED OFF AND BRAKES FELT AS IF THEY WERE WORKING AGAIN. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN SEVERAL HUNDRED MILES LATER AND WAS SIMILAR. ABOUT 200 MILES AFTER THAT I ONCE HIT THE BRAKES HARD TO SLOW DOWN, THEY FELT ROUGH AND DIDN'T WORK. BRAKES HAVE WORKED SINCE. I ASSUMED THAT THE BRAKES NEEDED TO BE BROKEN IN. I WAS RELUCTANT TO MENTION IT BECAUSE THE DEALER'S SERVICE DEPARTMENT CAN RARELY DUPLICATE OR TROUBLESHOOT A PROBLEM. TODAY I SPOKE TO THE SHOP FOREMAN AND HE WAS ABLE TO PULL CODES FROM THE BRAKE CONTROLLER AND FOUND A FAILURE CODE. THE DEALER WAS NOT ABLE TO WORK ON THE VEHICLE TODAY SO I WILL BE BRINGING IT BACK ASAP.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: ANCHORAGE

3/11/2002 - MANORVILLE, NY
MY SEAT BELTS IN THIS CAR ARE TOO EASY TO OPEN. ALL IT TAKES FOR AN ARTICLE OF CLOTHING TO HIT THE BUTTON AND IT POPS OPEN. I HAVE THREE YOUNG CHILDREN RIDING IN MY CAR WITH ME AND THE OTHER DAY MY DAUGHTER DROPPED HER JUICE CUP ONTO THE LATCH WHEN SHE FELL ASLEEP AND IT OPENED. I WAS UNAWARE THAT IT OPENED UNTIL MY OLDER DAUGHTER STATED WHAT HAD HAPPENED. I CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ISSUSED FOR THE SEATBELTS, HOWEVER I FEEL THAT THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. LATER THAT NIGHT MY HUSBAND WENT TO THE CAR AND JUST RESTED HIS ARM IN THE BACK ON THE BUTTON VERY GENTLY AS IF A CHILD MIGHT AND IT OPENED. I THINK THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED, AS WELL AS OTHER PEOPLE MADE AWARE THAT THIS MIGHT HAPPEN TO THEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

2/16/2002 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
AFTER SEVERAL DAYS OF OWNING THE VEHICLE THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR HAS BECOME NOTICEABLY OUT OF ALIGNMENT. THE DEALER WAS ABLE TO CORRECT THIS AND REALIGN THE DOOR ASSEMBLY. ALSO, I NOTICED THAT THE REAR LIGHT PIECE ON THE TOP PART OF THE TRUNK SEEMS TO HAVE BEEN CUT SLOPPY FROM THE FACTORY. THE BOTTOM EDGE IS JAGGED AND SEEMS TO HAVE BEEN POORLY TRIMMED FROM THE FACTORY. I NOTICE THIS WHEN OPENING MY TRUNK AND WHEN WASHING THE VEHICLE AND FEEL THAT IT IS TACKY. SELLING DEALER STATED THAT NO ONE USUALLY SEES THAT SO THEY ARE CUT LIKE THAT FROM THE FACTORY. THE TRUNK ALSO MAKES A RUBBING SOUND WHEN OPENING, WHICH SOUNDS LIKE THE WIRE COVER RUBBING. VEHICLE INCLUDES A TRUNK CARGO NET WITH THE FLOOR MOUNTING HOOKS NOT EXPOSED AND SEEMS AS IF YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO TEAR HOLES IN THE CARPET FROM LOOKING AT THE CARGO NET INSTRUCTIONS. I WOULD LIKE TO BE ABLE TO USE THE CARGO NET FOR GROCERIES BUT I DO NOT FEEL COMFORTABLE TEARING HOLES IN MY CARPET. I EXPECTED A QUALITY VEHICLE FOR THE PRICE I PAID AND IT SO FAR DOES NOT SEEM THAT I HAVE RECIEVED A DECENT QUALITY VEHICLE WITH ALL THE ISSUES I AM EXPERIENCING.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: RADIO/TAPE DECK/CD ETC.

2/16/2002 - FREMONT, CA
THERE IS A STRANGE UNKNOWN BEEP SOUND THAT COMES FROM THE INSIDE DRIVERS SIDE OF VEHICLE. THIS IS NOT THE DOOR A JAR CHIME. I AM NOT SURE IF IT HAS TO DO WITH THE CD PLAYER OR STEREO BEING ON. SEVERAL PASSENGERS HAVE NOTICED THIS INTERMITTENT BEEPING THAT SEEMS TO OCCUR FOR NO SPECIFIC GIVEN REASON OR TIME. THE BEEP IS ALWAYS THE SAME VOLUME, TONE AND SOUNDS LIKE SOME TYPE OF BMW OR HONDA ANTI-THEFT DEVICE THAT BEEPS INSTEAD OF CHIRPING A SIREN OR HORN. THIS JUST OCCURS SOMETIMES FOR NO SPECIFIC REASON AND I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO INVOKE IT. SEVERAL PASSENGERS THOUGHT IT WAS AN ANTI-THEFT DEVICE. THE INTREPID HAS KEYLESS ENTRY BUT NO ANTI-THEFT DEVICE AND HAS STOCK BASE CD PLAYER. I HAVE TRIED EVERYTHING TO TRY AND INVOKE IT, LOCKING, UNLOCKING, OPENING AND CLOSING THE DOORS. ALSO A SEPERATE ISSUE, WHEN DRIVING WITH CRUISE CONTROL AND ACCELERATING WITH THE CRUISE BUTTON AN INTERFERENCE TYPE, LIGHT CLICKING NOISE CAN BE HEARD IN THE DRIVERS SIDE SPEAKER DURING TRANSMISSION KICKDOWN AND ACCELERATION USING THE CRUISE CONTROL ACCEL BUTTON. THE SPEED OF THE NOISE INCREASES WITH THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE AND BEGINS TO FADE UNTIL YOU CANNOT HEAR IT. THIS IS INTERMITTENT AND DOES NOT ALWAYS OCCUR. PASSENGERS HAVE ALSO HEARD AND QUESTIONED THIS AS WELL. THESE ISSUES ARE A DISTRACTION AND I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY THEY OCCUR. SELLING DEALER CANNOT DUPLICATE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  26  27  28  29  30  31  32 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds