Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE INTREPID - 2002 DODGE INTREPID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 327 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE INTREPID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (213) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (5) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (60) Structure (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (10) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/6/2010 - SACRAMENTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE TRAVELING 30 MPH, VEHICLE WOULD NO LONGER ACCELERATE. WITHIN SECONDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND SMOKE WAS SEEN COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THERE WAS ALSO COOLANT LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE HEAD GASKET AND WATER PUMP WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THERE WERE NO PRIOR WARNINGS OF THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 103,000. UPDATED 11/19/10. THE CONSUMER STATED THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPALCED. UPDATED 11/2/410

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/25/2010 - KEYSTONE HEIGHTS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE ENGINE COMPLETELY STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THERE WAS METAL IN THE OIL. THE VEHICLE WAS INOPERABLE AND HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED FOR THE MALFUNCTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/7/2010 - OAKLAND, CA
MY CAR'S TRANSMISSION BECAME DISENGAGED FROM THE THIRD OR FOURTH GEAR AND DROPPED DOWN TO SECOND GEAR WHILE I WAS ON THE FREEWAY. THE RPM GAUGE WENT UP TO 5000 RPMS BEFORE I LET OFF THE GAS REALIZING THE CAR WOULD NOT SHIFT. WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC BEHIND ME AND MY CAR PREFERRING TO BE IN 2ND GEAR, I WAS AT RISK OF BEING REAR-ENDED. RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM REVEALED THAT IT WAS A TRANSMISSION SPEED SENSOR THAT HAD FAILED AND FURTHER INVESTIGATION INTO ONLINE FORUMS FOR PROBLEMS WITH THE MAKE AND MODEL REVEALED THAT OTHERS HAD SIMILAR ISSUES IN THE PAST WITH THEIR VEHICLES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/21/2010 - BUCKLEY , WA
I DROVE A 2002 2.7 DODGE INTREPID. ONE DAY I WAS DRIVING DOWN I-5, (THE MAIN HIGHWAY) AND MY CAR STARTED TO OVER HEAT RIGHT AWAY TO THE RED AND WAS BLOWING COLD AIR. I WAS BY MYSELF AND PULLED OVER AS FAR AS I COULD. I PULLED OVER AS FAR AS I COULD BUT MY CAR WAS STILL IN THE LANE. I WAITED A LITTLE WHILE UNTIL MY CAR COOLED DOWN, ABOUT 1 HOUR. I TRIED TO DRIVE IT TO THE GAS STATION TO USE A PHONE TO CALL MY DAD. I FINALLY GOT A HOLD OF SOMEONE TO COME TOW ME HOME. THE NEXT DAY MY DAD HAD FIXED THE THERMOSTAT THINKING THIS WOULD HELP. UM..... NO! MY CAR STARTED TO BLOW COLD AIR AGAIN. I WAS DRIVING THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY CAR JUST STOPPED ON THE FREEWAY. I WAS NOT EVEN ABLE TO PULL OVER AT ALL!!! MY CAR JUST STARTED TO SLOW DOWN AND I COULDN'T EVEN TURN MY WHEEL. I HAD TO CALL THE POLICE DEPARTMENT AND LET THEM KNOW THAT I WAS IN THE FREEWAY AND WAS SCARED TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THEY CAME AND BLOCKED THE ROAD AND PUSHED ME TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY. THIS IS THE WORST EXPERIENCE THAT HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME IN MY LIFE!!!!! MY DAD LOOKED AT THE CAR AND CHECKED THE OIL AND ALL HE COULD SEE WAS SLUDGE EVERYWHERE. I AM STILL MAKING PAYMENTS ON MY CAR AND I STILL HAVE IT IN MY YARD. THIS IS A WASTE OF MONEY AND DO NOT FEEL THAT THIS IS SOMETHING I SHOULD BE PAYING FOR. ITS JUST BEEN SITTING THERE AND AFTER READING ALL THESE COMPLAINTS I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT DODGE IS STILL SELLING THESE CARS AND PUTTING PEOPLES LIVES IN DANGER DAILY! I LOOKED ONLINE FOR WAYS TO STOP PEOPLE FROM BUYING THESE CARS AND FOUND THIS SITE. I REALLY HOPE SOMETHING HAPPENS WITH THESE CARS. ATLEAST STOP SELLING THEM!!! IF ANYONE HAS ANY ADVISE AS TO WHAT TO DO OR HOW TO FIX MY CAR WITHOUT SPENDING MORE THAN MY CAR COSTS PLEASE HELP ME! THANK YOU

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/11/2010 - APPLETON, WI
2002 DODGE INTREPID. CONSUMER STATES WHEN STOPPING THE VEHICLE, IT MADE A CLUNK SOUND AND THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT CAME ON. THE CONSUMER STATED ALMOST FROM THE TIME SHE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE, SHE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION SENSORS. AS SOON AS SHE DROVE OVER 45 MPH, THE SENSOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE WOULD REV BETWEEN 2500-300 RPMS. IT WOULD STAY IN THAT POSITION UNTIL THE SHE PULLED OVER AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND RE-STARTED IT. THE SENSORS WERE REPLACED, HOWEVER ONE WEEK LATER, THE PROBLEM RESURFACED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2010 - CLAY, NY
I OWN A 2002 DODGE INTREPID WITH A 2.7 LITER ENGINE. ENGINE OIL LIGHT KEEPS FLICKERING. ALSO, SOMETIMES THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN OFF AGAIN. I DID A CODE CHECK TO FIND IT WAS THE CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR AND OXYGEN SENSOR. I TOOK THIS VEHICLE TO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP. WHEN I SPOKE TO THE SERVICE ADVISER AND A MECHANIC, THEY STATED THAT THERE IS NOT MUCH I CAN DO, THIS IS AN ON-GOING PROBLEM WITH THESE ENGINES. I WAS SHOCKED, WAY TO GO DODGE! EVEN YOUR OWN EMPLOYEES DON'T HAVE ANY FAITH IN YOUR PRODUCTS! I REGULARLY CHANGE THE OIL MYSELF EVERY 3,000 MILES WITH SYNTHETIC.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/20/2010 - CLAY, NY
I OWN A 2002 DODGE INTREPID WITH A 2.7 LITER ENGINE. ENGINE OIL LIGHT KEEPS FLICKERING. ALSO, SOMETIMES THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN OFF AGAIN. I DID A CODE CHECK TO FIND IT WAS THE CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR AND OXYGEN SENSOR. I TOOK THIS VEHICLE TO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP. WHEN I SPOKE TO THE SERVICE ADVISER AND A MECHANIC, THEY STATED THAT THERE IS NOT MUCH I CAN DO, THIS IS AN ON-GOING PROBLEM WITH THESE ENGINES. I WAS SHOCKED, WAY TO GO DODGE! EVEN YOUR OWN EMPLOYEES DON'T HAVE ANY FAITH IN YOUR PRODUCTS! I REGULARLY CHANGE THE OIL MYSELF EVERY 3,000 MILES WITH SYNTHETIC.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

1/31/2010 - MOREHOUSE, MO
CAR JUST STARTED DYING AND NEVER GAVE A WARNING, OIL STARTED BLOWING OUT ON TOP OF THE MOTOR , WHITE SMOKE STARTED COMING OUT OF THE CAR . THE CAR HAS A 2.7L ENGINE IN IT . THIS IS THE FIRST TIME WE HAD EVER HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH THE CAR, THE OIL HAS BEEN CHANGED REGULARLY IN THE VEHICLE .

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/23/2009 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE EXITING A HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. HE WAS ABLE TO SAFELY SHIFT THE VEHICLE INTO NEUTRAL AND COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. AFTER ONE DAY OF BEING PARKED, HE NOTICED OIL LEAKAGE UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN INSPECTED OR REPAIRED BY A TECHNICIAN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 110,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/26/2009 - CRESTVIEW, FL
COOLANT WOULD COMPLETELY DISCHARGE RANDOMLY AND THE PLASTIC HARNESS INSIDE THE STEERING WHEEL BREAKS WHILE TURNING, THUS RENDERING THE HORN / AIRBAG USELESS. THE HARNESS IS A $400+ REPAIR AND THE COOLANT SYSTEM RESULTED IN $2800 IN REPAIRS DUE TO A CHAIN EFFECT OF PROBLEMS. IT ALL STEMMED FROM A DEFECT OVERFILL CAP AND WATER PUMP. THE COOLANT DISCHARGE OCCURS ON THE DRIVERS SIDE WHEEL-WELL AND COULD EASILY CAUSE LOSS OF CONTROL. IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE A FUNCTIONING AIR BAG IF THAT WERE TO HAPPEN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds