Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE INTREPID - 2002 DODGE INTREPID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 327 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE INTREPID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (213) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (5) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (60) Structure (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (10) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/28/2009 - FLAT WOODS, KY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT STATED THE WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN VIBRATING EXCESSIVELY; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE DID NOT MOVE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS ENGAGED. AFTER A WHILE, THE VEHICLE BEGAN ACCELERATING AT A RAPID SPEED WHICH CAUSED THE DRIVER TO LOSE CONTROL. THREE MECHANICS WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT BEEN NOTIFIED AND IS AWARE THAT THEY CONTACT IS UNABLE TO PAY THE REPAIR COST. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/24/2009 - PEARISBURG, VA
ENGINE JUST DIED. ESTIMATES TO REPLACE/REPAIR START AT $4500, JUST FOR THE ENGINE, NOT INCLUDING LABOR! I HAVE ALREADY HAD THE 2ND REBUILT TRANSMISSION PUT IN ABOUT 3 MONTHS AGO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/24/2009 - PEARISBURG, VA
ENGINE JUST DIED. ESTIMATES TO REPLACE/REPAIR START AT $4500, JUST FOR THE ENGINE, NOT INCLUDING LABOR! I HAVE ALREADY HAD THE 2ND REBUILT TRANSMISSION PUT IN ABOUT 3 MONTHS AGO.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/18/2009 - SINKING SPRING, PA
STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN, ENGINE FAILED WITH NO WARNING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/31/2009 - SIMI VALLEY, CA
I HAVE A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. IT HAS 90,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE TAKEN GOOD CARE TO CHANGE THE OIL ON A REGULAR BASIS. DUE TO OIL SLUDGE THE ENGINE FAILED WHILE I WAS DRIVING. IT NOW NEEDS A NEW ENGINE AT A COST OF $4,000. I STILL OWE $3,000 ON THE CAR. IT IS NOT WORTH IT TO FIX IT. THIS CAR IS KNOWN FOR ENGINE FAILURE AT 80-90K MILES. I ALMOST GOT IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/26/2009 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
ENGINE & OIL LIGHT REPEATEDLY CAME ON. IDLED LOW AND WOULD CUT OFF. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC AND CAR JUST CUT OFF WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO SLOW. CAR BEHIND ME ALMOST HIT ME AND MAN HAD ROAD RAGE. LUCKILY THE CAR RESTARTED AND GOT ME INTO MY APT COMPLEX WHERE IT CUT OFF FOR THE LAST TIME. I HAD COMPLETED OIL CHANGES AS RECOMMENDED AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO PROBLEM. THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM AS STATED PER GUY THAT ATTEMPTED TO LOOK AT THE CAR. NOW I NEED A MOTOR ON A CAR THAT IS BARELY WORTH THE VALUE OF THE CAR. THERE MAY NOT HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT OR DEATH, BUT THIS IS TOO COMMON A PROBLEM FOR DODGE TO IGNORE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/11/2009 - VISALIA, CA
BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2007 AND 3 WEEKS AFTER HAVING THE CAR THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT HAD TO GET IT REPLACE $400 WITH A EXTENDED WARRANTY, A YEAR LATER RADIATOR WENT OUT HAD TO PAY $768 , JUST PROBLEM AFTER PROBLEM WITH THIS ENGINE 2.7 LITER 2002 DODGE INTREPID , NOW THEIRS ANOTHER LEAK OF THE ANTIFREEZE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

5/19/2009 - BEAVER, PA
A/C EVAPORATOR, AC RECEIVER DRYER, HEATER CORE HAD TO BE REPLACED FOR MY 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CAR HAD LESS THAN 64,000 MILES ON IT. THE REPAIR WAS EXTENSIVE AS THE STEERING WHEEL AND DASH BOARD HAD TO BE PULLED OUT. HOURS OF LABOR APPRX= 8. THIS WAS A PROBLEM DESCRIBED IN THE TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN # 2400204A. APPARENTLY THIS PART HAS A HISTORY OF FAILURE. COST OF REPAIR WAS 897.00. THE MAIN REASON FOR THIS REPAIR IS BECAUSE THE AIR CONDITIONER STOPPED WORKING. I REALLY THOUGHT WE SHOULD OF BEEN REIMBURSED BY CHRYSLER FOR THIS REPAIR AS IT WAS SO EXTENSIVE, AND THERE WAS SO MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS PERTAINING TO THIS PART. I RESEARCHED SILENT WARRANTIES ON THIS PROBLEM BUT COULD NOT REALLY TURN UP ANYTHING TO HELP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/12/2009 - GLENDALE, AZ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND DOWNSHIFTED INTO THIRD GEAR. THE MECHANIC COULD NOT REMEDY THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT FEELS THAT THE VEHICLE IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 74,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/12/2009 - GLENDALE, AZ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND DOWNSHIFTED INTO THIRD GEAR. THE MECHANIC COULD NOT REMEDY THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT FEELS THAT THE VEHICLE IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 74,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds