Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE INTREPID - 2002 DODGE INTREPID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 327 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE INTREPID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (213) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (5) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (60) Structure (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (10) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/7/2009 - APOLLO, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE ENGINE HESITATED AND LOST POWER COMPLETELY. THE CONTACT PUSHED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. HE WAITED TWO HOURS BEFORE THE VEHICLE MANAGED TO RESTART AND THEN DROVE IT TO A MECHANIC. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE OIL RESERVOIR WAS FULL OF COOLANT AND ANTIFREEZE, WHICH WAS COMMON FOR HIS TYPE OF VEHICLE. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO ANOTHER SHOP AND WAS INFORMED OF THE SAME THING, INCLUDING THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WERE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DEFECT. THE CONTACT FEELS THAT A RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 84,000. UPDATED 6/01/09 UPDATED 06/02/09.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/24/2009 - DUDLEY, MA
THE FUEL RAIL PRESSURE REGULATOR WAS LEAKING GASOLINE AND I AM STILL NOT ABLE TO LOCATE THE PART FOR MY 2002 DODGE INTREPID.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/4/2009 - LEROY, MI
I WAS DRIVING DOWN HWY I75 SOUTH BOUND COMING HOME FROM WORK IN THE MIDDLE OF RUSH HR TRAFFIC. MY CAR WAS AT 70 MPH AND WAS DOING GREAT, THEN IT JUST STOPPED RUNNING WITH NO WARNING, DIDN'T GET HOT, NOTHING JUST DONE IN ONE MINUTE, MECHANICS SAID I NEEDED A COMPLETE REBUILD. CRANK - CAM - OIL PUMP SHOWED SCARS AND METAL FRAGMENTS. COSTS OF 3500 IN PARTS AND MACHINE TIME, 600 IN LABOR. WE COULDN'T GET OVER FAST ENOUGH TO GET OFF THE RD AND WAS ABLE TO STOP TRAFFIC AND THEN PUSH IT OFF TO THE SIDE, LATER WHEN PICKING UP THE CAR WITH A TOW DOLLY WAS HIT BY A CAR, SIDE SWIPING MY OTHER VEHICLE AND LEAVING ME AN ADDITIONAL 3000 IN REPAIRS.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

3/27/2009 - COPPERAS COVE, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR WOULD CONSISTENTLY ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IN ADDITION, HE OBSERVED SMOKE UNDERNEATH THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS AND THEY REPLACED THE WATER PUMP, VACUUM LINES, AND HOSES. NONE OF THE REPAIRS HAVE CORRECTED THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 77,000. UPDATED 4/23/09 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD START TO SMOKE AND AT TIMES IT WOULD STALL. THE TIE RODS WERE REPLACE. UPDATED 04/27/09.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/27/2009 - COPPERAS COVE, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR WOULD CONSISTENTLY ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. IN ADDITION, HE OBSERVED SMOKE UNDERNEATH THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS AND THEY REPLACED THE WATER PUMP, VACUUM LINES, AND HOSES. NONE OF THE REPAIRS HAVE CORRECTED THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 77,000. UPDATED 4/23/09 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD START TO SMOKE AND AT TIMES IT WOULD STALL. THE TIE RODS WERE REPLACE. UPDATED 04/27/09.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/12/2009 - LANGHORNE, PA
TRANS FAILED @ 57,000 MIS. 2002 DODGE INTREPID HAD 60,000 MI WARRANTY SO IT COST ME $500 DEDUCTIBLE TO HAVE IT FIXED. CAR NOW HAS 130,000 MIS & HAS BEEN OK SINCE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/12/2009 - ORO VALLEY, AZ
2002 DODGE INTREPID THERMOSTAT RADIATOR CAP STOPPED WORKING AND I GOT THAT FIXED AND WE WERE TEST DRIVING THE CAR AND IT WORKED FINE, FOR A BIT. AS WE WERE DRIVING THE CAR STARTED SHAKING AND THEN THE ENGINE BLEW. IT STOPPED WORKING IN THE MIDDLE OF DECEMBER 2008. WE NEED TO BUY A NEW ENGINE. IT WAS SUDDEN, AND WE TOOK THE CAR TO GET THE OIL CHANGE AND THE ENTIRE VEHICLE CHECKED EVERY 3 MONTHS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/9/2009 - LUISVILLE, KY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED IN THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WOULD NOT ASSIST BECAUSE THERE WERE NO RECALLS AVAILABLE; HOWEVER, SHE WAS ABLE TO LOCATE QUITE A FEW COMPLAINTS PERTAINING TO HER VEHICLE ON THE NHTSA WEB SITE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE LESS THAN 55,350.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/5/2009 - ROCHESTER, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT HEARD A KNOCKING NOISE IN THE ENGINE AND TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. HE WAS INFORMED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO AN OIL FLUSH AND A METAL FLASHING, WHICH WAS CAUSED BY A DEFECT FROM THE FACTORY. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO GUARANTEE THAT THEY COULD CORRECT THE ISSUE. HE HAS FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE FOR HIS MAKE AND MODEL VEHICLE RELATING TO THE ENGINE. THE DEALER STATED THAT IT WOULD BE BEST TO PURCHASE A NEW ENGINE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 79,541.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/3/2009 - TULSA, OK
DUE TO OIL SLUDGE BUILD UP THE ENGINE HAS FAILED ON MY 02 DODGE INTREPID. WE HAVE HAD ALL MAJOR PARTS REPLACED (COMPUTER, FUEL PUMP, TRANSMISSION, ETC). ONLY A MONTH AFTER REPLACING THE COMPUTER THE ENGINE SEIZED UP AND LEFT MY HUSBAND STRANDED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds