Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE INTREPID - 2002 DODGE INTREPID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 327 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE INTREPID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE INTREPID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (213) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (5) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (60) Structure (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (10) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/24/2009 - WINSTON-SALEM, NC
I OWN A 2002 DODGE INTREPID WITH A 2.7L ENGINE. THE CAR ONLY HAS 45,850 ORIGINAL MILES.AT TIMES IT WILL MAKE A KNOCKING NOISE THAT WILL EVENTUALLY GO AWAY. I WAS TOLD THAT THE 2.7L HAS A PROBLEM WITH SLUDGE BUILDUP CAUSING VITAL INTERNAL ENGINE PARTS NOT TO BECOME LUBRICATED. I HAVE MY OIL CHANGED EVERY 1500 TO 3000 MILES AND HAVE ONLY DRIVEN IT 23,000 MILES SINCE BUYING IT IN 2006 I HAVE TAKEN IT TO SEVERAL REPAIR SHOPS , BUT MOST MECHANICS REFUSE TO WORK ON IT BECAUSE OF THE SO CALLED SLUDGE PROBLEM AND THE HIGH COST OF THE REPAIRS. SOME SUGGESTED USING FULL SYNTHETIC OIL TO COMBAT THE PROBLEM. OTHERS HAVE STATED THAT THE ONLY SOLUTION IS TO REPLACE THE ENGINE COMPLETELY. I HAVE ALSO QUESTIONED CHRYSLER AS TO ANY RECALLS FOR THE 2.7L INTREPID BUT NO ANSWER. I HAVE ALSO NOTICED THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM ACROSS NORTH AMERICA. IF CHRYSLER KNEW THIS WAS A PROBLEM WITH THESE ENGINES, THEY SHOULD HAVE INFORMED US THE CONSUMERS AND TAKEN ACTIONS TO CORRECT IT. I THINK THEY DECIDED TO KEEP THEIR MOUTH SHUT AND FLOOD OUR COUNTRY WITH A WORTHLESS PRODUCT. CHRYSLER NEEDS TO OWN UP TO THIS DEFECT. I HAVE BEEN A LOYAL CUSTOMER OF DODGE FOR MANY YEARS BUT IS FADING FAST WHEN IT COMES TO AMERICAN MADE VEHICLES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

1/23/2009 - GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL
TWO INCIDENTS: OCTOBER 2007, A 2002 DODGE INTREPID WITH 2.7L V6 HAD AN ENGINE COOLING FAILURE CAUSING IMMEDIATE OVERHEATING PROBLEM ON FLORIDA HIGHWAYS. THE COOLING FITTING ON THE TOP OF THE ENGINE POPPED OFF CAUSING THE ENGINE TO LOOSE MOST OF IT'S COOLANT. APPROXIMATE MILEAGE 106,000 THIS WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR. AT THE TIME THE DEALER DID NOT NOTIFY ME OF THE SERIOUS PROBLEMS WITH THIS ENGINE, SUCH AS SLUDGE OIL PUMP FAILURES. ON JANUARY 19TH, 2009, THE ENGINE FAILED AGAIN. AT APPROXIMATELY 125,000 MILES. THE WATER PUMP FAILED, THE HEADS WERE BLOWN, AND PROBABLY THE SLUDGE OIL PUMP CAUSED THIS WHOLE SEQUENCE OF PROBLEMS THAT COULD HAVE BEEN AVOIDED IF DODGE MADE DESIGN CHANGES BACK IN 2007. THE ESTIMATE FOR REPLACING THE ENGINE IS AT $6500. NOT FEASIBLE TO REPAIR AND I FOUND MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ENGINE DESIGN DATING BACK TO 1998 AND 1999. BOTH FAILURES WERE IMMEDIATE WITH LITTLE WARNING TO THE DRIVER. THANK GOD NO ONE WAS INJURED. OWNED BY SON NICK STRATY

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

1/21/2009 - SPARTA, WI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE ENGINE SIZE IS A 2.7 LITER, V6. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 101,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/6/2008 - PINE BROOK, NJ
I OWN A 2002 DODGE INTREPID ALWAYS DID REGULAR OIL CHANGES. OIL LIGHT CAME ON, STARTED HEARING A KNOCKING SOUND FROM THE ENGINE. THE DEALER SAYS I HAVE TO REPLACE THE ENGINE, OTHERWISE IT MAY SEIZE WHILE DRIVING, CAUSING A SERIOUS CONDITION.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

12/6/2008 - PINE BROOK, NJ
I OWN A 2002 DODGE INTREPID ALWAYS DID REGULAR OIL CHANGES. OIL LIGHT CAME ON, STARTED HEARING A KNOCKING SOUND FROM THE ENGINE. THE DEALER SAYS I HAVE TO REPLACE THE ENGINE, OTHERWISE IT MAY SEIZE WHILE DRIVING, CAUSING A SERIOUS CONDITION.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

11/21/2008 - BELVIEW, NE
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. THE CONTACT TURNED THE IGNITION KEY AND THE ENGINE FAILED TO COMPLETELY TURNOVER. IMMEDIATELY, THERE WAS AN IGNITION MISFIRE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE WAS CALLED TO THE SCENE AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO ENGINE SLUDGE. THE VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY INOPERABLE AND HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED OF THE SAFETY RISK INVOLVED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 68,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

10/30/2008 - FAIRFIELD, TX
SLUDGE BUILD UP, OVERHEATED, WATER PUMP OUT, TIMING CHAIN BROKEN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

10/27/2008 - COLUMBUS, OH
ENGINE SLUDGE DEC 2007, ENGINE SLUDGE OCTOBER 2008, RESULTING IN VEHICLE MALFUNCTION. THE CAR STOPPED ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. THE OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CAR IMMEDIATELY DIED. LUCKILY I WASN'T REARENDED. THE OIL IS CHANGED EVERY 3000 MILES. CHRYSLER SHOULD BE REPLACING THE MOTORS ON THESE VEHICLES BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED. RIGHT NOW THE CAR IS SITTING, NON-WORKING. I CANNOT AFFORD TO REPLACE THE MOTOR.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/17/2008 - HUMMERSTOWN, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED ISSUES WITH HIS VEHICLE AND TOOK IT TO AN AUTO REPAIR SHOP. THE CRANK, FUEL, AND OIL SENSORS WERE REPLACED. THE SAME DAY, THE ENGINE FAILED. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE ENGINE WAS CLEAN AND FOUND NO FAILURES, OTHER THAN THE BEARING. RECENTLY, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO INSTALL AN IDLER AND THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THE ESTIMATED REPAIR COST FOR THE TRANSMISSION WAS $3,300. THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WOULD NOT COVER THE REPAIR COSTS. THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 85,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 61,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

9/17/2008 - HUMMERSTOWN, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED ISSUES WITH HIS VEHICLE AND TOOK IT TO AN AUTO REPAIR SHOP. THE CRANK, FUEL, AND OIL SENSORS WERE REPLACED. THE SAME DAY, THE ENGINE FAILED. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE ENGINE WAS CLEAN AND FOUND NO FAILURES, OTHER THAN THE BEARING. RECENTLY, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO INSTALL AN IDLER AND THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THE ESTIMATED REPAIR COST FOR THE TRANSMISSION WAS $3,300. THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WOULD NOT COVER THE REPAIR COSTS. THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 85,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 61,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds