Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SEQUOIA - 2002 TOYOTA SEQUOIA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 613 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA SEQUOIA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA SEQUOIA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA SEQUOIA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Exterior Lighting (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (8) Traction Control System (67)
Electrical System (39) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (53) Service Brakes Hydraulic (93) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electronic Stability Control (184) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (2) Steering (65) Unknown Or Other (18)
Engine (6) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (1) Structure (84) Vehicle Speed Control (131)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (32) Service Brakes (82) Suspension (53) Visibility (6)
Equipment (13) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (6) Wheels (12)
Equipment Adaptive (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/21/2019 - HOUSTON, TX
AFTER DRIVING ROUGHLY 40 MINUTES ON A STRAIGHT DRY HIGHWAY AT A CONSTANT 70 MPH, MY VSC OFF AND TRAC OFF LIGHTS SUDDENLY CAME ON FOR NO REASON, ACCOMPANIED BY A LOUD HIGH-PITCHED ALARM. THE STEERING FELT LIKE IT WAS DRAGGING, WAS GRINDING, AND PULLED TO THE RIGHT. FELT LIKE SOMETHING WAS BREAKING APART. VERY SCARY SINCE I WAS IN THE LEFT LANE WITH NO SHOULDER. I DECREASED MY SPEED TO ABOUT 60 AND MOVED TO THE RIGHT HAND LANE. AFTER SEVERAL SECONDS, THE ALARM AND GRINDING/DRAGGING STOPPED JUST AS MYSTERIOUSLY AS IT STARTED BEFORE I'D EVEN GOTTEN TO AN EXIT. THE LIGHTS STAYED LIT. BEFORE I USED THE VEHICLE AGAIN, I INFLATED THE TIRES FROM 32.5 TO 35 PSIA, JUST IN CASE THAT MIGHT HAVE CONTRIBUTED. THE NEXT DAY, I DROVE ON THE HIGHWAY FOR 40 MINUTES WITH NO PROBLEM, BUT ON THE WAY BACK HOME, THE SAME THING RECURRED AFTER ABOUT 20 MINUTES, AGAIN AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ON A STRAIGHT SECTION OF DRY ROAD. THIS TIME THE DRAGGING AND GRINDING WAS WORSE AND THE ALARM LASTED MUCH LONGER. AGAIN, IT MYSTERIOUSLY STOPPED AS I WAS PREPARING TO EXIT THE HIGHWAY. SEARCHING SIMILAR ANECDOTES SEEMS TO IMPLY A KNOWN FAILURE OF THE YAW SENSOR. THAT SENSOR HAS TRIGGERED THE LIGHTS TO COME ON FROM TIME TO TIME EVER SINCE 2002, BUT IT NEVER CAUSED THE LOUD ALARM OR STRUGGLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE BEFORE. THIS SHOULD DEFINITELY BE A RECALL ITEM. I THINK I'M GOING TO HAVE TO DISABLE THE VARIABLE SPEED CONTROL AND TRACTION CONTROL FEATURES OF THE VEHICLE BY REMOVING THE FUSE JUST SO I CAN KEEP DRIVING IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/21/2019 - HOUSTON, TX
AFTER DRIVING ROUGHLY 40 MINUTES ON A STRAIGHT DRY HIGHWAY AT A CONSTANT 70 MPH, MY VSC OFF AND TRAC OFF LIGHTS SUDDENLY CAME ON FOR NO REASON, ACCOMPANIED BY A LOUD HIGH-PITCHED ALARM. THE STEERING FELT LIKE IT WAS DRAGGING, WAS GRINDING, AND PULLED TO THE RIGHT. FELT LIKE SOMETHING WAS BREAKING APART. VERY SCARY SINCE I WAS IN THE LEFT LANE WITH NO SHOULDER. I DECREASED MY SPEED TO ABOUT 60 AND MOVED TO THE RIGHT HAND LANE. AFTER SEVERAL SECONDS, THE ALARM AND GRINDING/DRAGGING STOPPED JUST AS MYSTERIOUSLY AS IT STARTED BEFORE I'D EVEN GOTTEN TO AN EXIT. THE LIGHTS STAYED LIT. BEFORE I USED THE VEHICLE AGAIN, I INFLATED THE TIRES FROM 32.5 TO 35 PSIA, JUST IN CASE THAT MIGHT HAVE CONTRIBUTED. THE NEXT DAY, I DROVE ON THE HIGHWAY FOR 40 MINUTES WITH NO PROBLEM, BUT ON THE WAY BACK HOME, THE SAME THING RECURRED AFTER ABOUT 20 MINUTES, AGAIN AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ON A STRAIGHT SECTION OF DRY ROAD. THIS TIME THE DRAGGING AND GRINDING WAS WORSE AND THE ALARM LASTED MUCH LONGER. AGAIN, IT MYSTERIOUSLY STOPPED AS I WAS PREPARING TO EXIT THE HIGHWAY. SEARCHING SIMILAR ANECDOTES SEEMS TO IMPLY A KNOWN FAILURE OF THE YAW SENSOR. THAT SENSOR HAS TRIGGERED THE LIGHTS TO COME ON FROM TIME TO TIME EVER SINCE 2002, BUT IT NEVER CAUSED THE LOUD ALARM OR STRUGGLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE BEFORE. THIS SHOULD DEFINITELY BE A RECALL ITEM. I THINK I'M GOING TO HAVE TO DISABLE THE VARIABLE SPEED CONTROL AND TRACTION CONTROL FEATURES OF THE VEHICLE BY REMOVING THE FUSE JUST SO I CAN KEEP DRIVING IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/4/2019 - BEL AIR, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA SEQUOIA. WHILE PERFORMING MAINTENANCE ON THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRAME HAD HOLES AND WAS RUSTED UNDERNEATH. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,607.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/4/2019 - BLACKFOOT, ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA SEQUOIA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS EXTENSIVE RUST AND CORROSION ON THE ENTIRE FRAME, CROSS MEMBER, AND SUBFRAME. THERE WAS ALSO THE PRESENCE OF HOLES AND WARPING OF THE COMPONENTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY A DEALER. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRAME, SUBFRAME, AND CROSS MEMBER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 190,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/15/2019 - PANAMA CITY, FL
JUST DRIVING ALONG, AND FEELS LIKE BRAKES GRAB AND JERK THE WHEEL AND VSC TRAC LIGHTS GO ON. PROBLEM HAS BEEN OCCURRING INTERMITTENTLY. CAN BE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, BUT ALSO HAPPENS AT ANY SPEED. VERY DANGEROUS AND SCARY. VSC-TRAC AND TRAC-OFF LIGHTS RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED ON DRY, LEVEL PAVEMENT WHEN BRAKES WERE APPLIED, CAUSING A LOUD GRINDING NOISE (MUCH LOUDER THAN NORMAL APPLICATION OF ANTI-LOCK BRAKES).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/15/2019 - PANAMA CITY, FL
JUST DRIVING ALONG, AND FEELS LIKE BRAKES GRAB AND JERK THE WHEEL AND VSC TRAC LIGHTS GO ON. PROBLEM HAS BEEN OCCURRING INTERMITTENTLY. CAN BE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, BUT ALSO HAPPENS AT ANY SPEED. VERY DANGEROUS AND SCARY. VSC-TRAC AND TRAC-OFF LIGHTS RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED ON DRY, LEVEL PAVEMENT WHEN BRAKES WERE APPLIED, CAUSING A LOUD GRINDING NOISE (MUCH LOUDER THAN NORMAL APPLICATION OF ANTI-LOCK BRAKES).

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/15/2019 - PANAMA CITY, FL
JUST DRIVING ALONG, AND FEELS LIKE BRAKES GRAB AND JERK THE WHEEL AND VSC TRAC LIGHTS GO ON. PROBLEM HAS BEEN OCCURRING INTERMITTENTLY. CAN BE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, BUT ALSO HAPPENS AT ANY SPEED. VERY DANGEROUS AND SCARY. VSC-TRAC AND TRAC-OFF LIGHTS RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED ON DRY, LEVEL PAVEMENT WHEN BRAKES WERE APPLIED, CAUSING A LOUD GRINDING NOISE (MUCH LOUDER THAN NORMAL APPLICATION OF ANTI-LOCK BRAKES).

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/14/2019 - LOVELAND, CO
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 75MPH WE MADE A SLIGHT TURN WITH THE ROAD AND VSC-TRAC AND TRAC-OFF LIGHTS RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING ON DRY, LEVEL PAVEMENT CAUSING THE STEERING WHEEL TO PULL TO THE RIGHT. IT WAS VERY HARD TO CONTROL, AS WELL AS TO BRAKE. WE WERE IN THE MIDDLE OF HEAVY TRAFFIC. WE FINALLY PULLED OVER SHUT OFF THE SUV AND TURNED IT BACK ON. THE LIGHTS WENT OFF SO WE TRIED AGAIN. ABOUT 30MIN IT DID THE SAME EXACT THING. VERY FRIGHTENING. IS THERE A RECALL OUT ON THIS??

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/6/2019 - RYE, NH
TAKATA RECALL WE HAVE OWNED OUR SEQUIOA SINCE 12/13/2001, WE BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW. WHEN WE 1ST BOUGHT IT THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON IMMEDIATELY AND BILL DUBE OF DOVER NH REPLACED SOMETHING AND FIXED IT. I HAVE HAD MANY COMPLAINTS WITH MY VEHICLE AND RETURNED TO THE DEALERSHIP MANY TIMES THRU OUT THE YEARS. I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE ISSUES WITH VSC TRACTION CONTROL STARTING IN 2002 LIGHTS WOULD COME ON AND GO OUT, AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON WHEN THERE IS HIGH HUMIDITY AND WHEN USING AIR CONDITIONING, MY ALLOY WHEELS HAVE BEEN DISGUSTING SINCE 2004. I HAVE A EXTENSIVE REPAIR HISTORY WITH BILL DUBE DEALERSHIP THEY NEVER ADDRESSED ISSUES AS ONCE LIGHTS ON DASH TURN OFF THERE IS NO HISTORY. IN 2006 MY LIGHTS ON DASH CAME ON I BROUGHT IT TO TOYOTA OF PORTSMOUTH NH AS I WAS ALMOST AT 100000. MILES. THEY COULD NOT LOOK AT VEHICLE DUE TO WARRANTY. I DROVE TO BILL DUBE AND THEY REFUSED TO SEE ME THAT DAY OR DOCUMENT THAT LIGHTS WERE ON SO THEY COULD FIX IT. ONCE MY ODOMETER HIT 100000 WARRANTY WAS NULL AND VOID. I WAS EXTREMELY UPSET CALLED MULTIPLE TIMES TO TOYOTA CORPORATION AND APPEARED TO GET SAME JERK WHO REFUSED TO HELP AND GAVE ME THE RUN AROUND. WE HAVE OWNED OUR SEQUIOA FOR 18 1/2 YEARS. I LOVE MY CAR IT HAS APPROX 445000 MILES AND WOULD APPRECIATE ASSISTANCE. MY VSC IS CONSTANTLY ON NOW ALONG WITH THE ABS LIGHT. THE AIR BAG ONLY COMES ON WHEN THERE IS HIGH HUMIDITY AND I AM DRIVING. WHEN WE BOUGHT THE SEQUIOA THE SALESMAN ACTUALLY STATED THE SEQUIOA HAD A HARD DRIVE TO RETAIN LIGHT HISTORY. I ALSO HAVE BEEN CONCERNED WITH MY FRAME WHICH WAS REPLACED IN 2012. I HAVE RETURN TO PORTSMOUTH TOYOTA WHERE WORK WAS DOWN A FEW TIMES. MY VEHICLE APPEARS CROOKED AND NOT ALIGNED THEY THINK I AM CRAZY. I PRACTICALLY LIVE IN MY VEHICLE I WORK IN HOSPICE SO I AM VERY AWARE OF MY VEHICLES LOOK AND CONDITION. I WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR ASSISTANCE WITH MY VEHICLE, I WOULD LIKE MAKE IT TO 500000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/6/2019 - RYE, NH
TAKATA RECALL WE HAVE OWNED OUR SEQUIOA SINCE 12/13/2001, WE BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW. WHEN WE 1ST BOUGHT IT THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON IMMEDIATELY AND BILL DUBE OF DOVER NH REPLACED SOMETHING AND FIXED IT. I HAVE HAD MANY COMPLAINTS WITH MY VEHICLE AND RETURNED TO THE DEALERSHIP MANY TIMES THRU OUT THE YEARS. I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE ISSUES WITH VSC TRACTION CONTROL STARTING IN 2002 LIGHTS WOULD COME ON AND GO OUT, AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON WHEN THERE IS HIGH HUMIDITY AND WHEN USING AIR CONDITIONING, MY ALLOY WHEELS HAVE BEEN DISGUSTING SINCE 2004. I HAVE A EXTENSIVE REPAIR HISTORY WITH BILL DUBE DEALERSHIP THEY NEVER ADDRESSED ISSUES AS ONCE LIGHTS ON DASH TURN OFF THERE IS NO HISTORY. IN 2006 MY LIGHTS ON DASH CAME ON I BROUGHT IT TO TOYOTA OF PORTSMOUTH NH AS I WAS ALMOST AT 100000. MILES. THEY COULD NOT LOOK AT VEHICLE DUE TO WARRANTY. I DROVE TO BILL DUBE AND THEY REFUSED TO SEE ME THAT DAY OR DOCUMENT THAT LIGHTS WERE ON SO THEY COULD FIX IT. ONCE MY ODOMETER HIT 100000 WARRANTY WAS NULL AND VOID. I WAS EXTREMELY UPSET CALLED MULTIPLE TIMES TO TOYOTA CORPORATION AND APPEARED TO GET SAME JERK WHO REFUSED TO HELP AND GAVE ME THE RUN AROUND. WE HAVE OWNED OUR SEQUIOA FOR 18 1/2 YEARS. I LOVE MY CAR IT HAS APPROX 445000 MILES AND WOULD APPRECIATE ASSISTANCE. MY VSC IS CONSTANTLY ON NOW ALONG WITH THE ABS LIGHT. THE AIR BAG ONLY COMES ON WHEN THERE IS HIGH HUMIDITY AND I AM DRIVING. WHEN WE BOUGHT THE SEQUIOA THE SALESMAN ACTUALLY STATED THE SEQUIOA HAD A HARD DRIVE TO RETAIN LIGHT HISTORY. I ALSO HAVE BEEN CONCERNED WITH MY FRAME WHICH WAS REPLACED IN 2012. I HAVE RETURN TO PORTSMOUTH TOYOTA WHERE WORK WAS DOWN A FEW TIMES. MY VEHICLE APPEARS CROOKED AND NOT ALIGNED THEY THINK I AM CRAZY. I PRACTICALLY LIVE IN MY VEHICLE I WORK IN HOSPICE SO I AM VERY AWARE OF MY VEHICLES LOOK AND CONDITION. I WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR ASSISTANCE WITH MY VEHICLE, I WOULD LIKE MAKE IT TO 500000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds