Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK PARK AVENUE - 2003 BUICK PARK AVENUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 26 complaints filed for the 2003 BUICK PARK AVENUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 BUICK PARK AVENUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 BUICK PARK AVENUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2 
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

8/21/2009 - WOLCOTT, CT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BUICK PARK AVENUE. THE CHROME ON THE RIMS IS PEELING OFF ALL FOUR TIRES WHICH HAS ALSO CAUSED THE TIRES TO LOSE AIR CONTINUOUSLY. THE TIRES AND RIMS WERE REPLACED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER HAVE NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: RETRACTOR

3/7/2008 - OWOSSO, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BUICK PARK AVENUE. THE CONTACT IS EXPERIENCING FAILURE WITH THE RETRACTOR IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT LAP BELTS. THE SEAT BELT MUST BE ISOLATED IN ORDER TO BE RELEASED. THE RETRACTOR WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY IN AUGUST OF 2006, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE AS MECHANICAL. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE SEAT BELT COULD BE REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. THE COST FOR THE REPAIR WOULD BE $296. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 84,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2/13/2008 - BUFFALO, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BUICK PARK AVENUE. THE POWER LOCK ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR MALFUNCTIONS. THE LOCK IS MOUNTED IN THE DRIVER'S DOOR AND HAS BECOME LOOSE, WHICH CAUSES THE SWITCH TO FLOAT AROUND IN THE DOOR. HE HAS TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY COULD NOT REPLACE THE SWITCH OR REPAIR IT FOR FREE BECAUSE THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 25,864. UPDATED 03-04-08

View Details

TIRES

9/4/2007 - NORTH RIDGEVILL, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BUICK PARK AVENUE. THE VEHICLE HAS GOODYEAR CONQUEST RADIAL TUBELESS, SIZE P205/75R14 TIRES. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN PULLING TO THE LEFT AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE STRAIGHT. HE STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE TIRE HAD A RAISED RIB ON THE OUTER SIDE AND SEPARATION IN THE INTERIOR OF THE TIRE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES ON THE TIRES AND VEHICLES WERE 53,000. UPDATED 12/12/2007 UPDATED 12/12/07

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: HUB

11/8/2006 - FLINT, MI
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THERE WAS A WIND-LIKE NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. AS THE VEHICLE SPEED INCREASED, THE NOISE BECAME LOUDER. THERE WAS ALSO A TIGHTNESS IN THE STEERING WHEN TURNING TO EITHER SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A SERVICE DEALER WHO DETERMINED THAT THE HUB ASSEMBLY WAS OUT OF BALANCE. BOTH HUB ASSEMBLIES WERE REPLACED WHICH CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO NOTIFIED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: AUTOMATIC STABILITY CONTROL (ASC)

3/2/2005 - BRONX, NY
WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH DRIVER NOTICED THAT THE STABILITY SYSTEM LIGHT APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD AND REMAINED ON. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION, BUT MECHANIC COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THIS INFORMATION WAS PROVIDED BY KELLY'S WIFE ALICE JOHNSON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2004 - HENDERSONVILLE, NC
PROBLEMS WITH VEHICLE'S AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM. DURING A NORMAL 15000 MILE SERVICE A CHEMICAL WAS INTRODUCED IN THE A/C SYSTEM. THE OWNER IMMEDIATELY EXPERIENCED ALLERGIC REACTIONS THAT IMPAIRED HER DRIVING. THE REACTION HAD CONTINUED AND IS AN ON-GOING DANGER. AFTER FURTHER INFORMATION WAS OBTAIN FROM THE DEALER IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE A/C FOGGER HAD A SLIGHT HEALTH RISK LISTED ON THE MSDS SHEET WHICH INDICATED "...HARMFUL IF SWALLOWED. MAY IRRITATE EYES, SKIN AND RESPIRATORY TRACT......". THE GARAGE MANAGER STATED THAT THE CHEMICAL WAS USED TO ELIMINATE A MOLD AND MILDEW PROBLEM. NO ODOR OR MILDEW PROBLEM HAD BEEN EXPERIENCED BY THE OWNER, SO THE CONSUMER WANTS TO KNOWN WHY THE CHEMICAL WAS USED AND WHY WASN'T THE CONSUMER INFORMED OF IT'S USE.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

4/11/2004 - NORFOLK, VA
SINCE PURCHASED THE HORN DOES NOT BLOW WHEN YOU PUSH ON THE DESIGNATED SPOT ON THE STEERING WHEEL. YOU MUST 'SEARCH' FOR A SPOT TO PUSH THAT THE HORN WILL THEN BLOW. THIS IS 'HIT OR MISS'. IT MAY BLOW AND IT MAY NOT. THE DEALER HAS DONE ALL THAT HE CAN DO TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM WHICH IS TO PUSH ON VARIOUS LOCATIONS ON THE STEERING WHEEL AND SAY YOU SHOULD PUSH THERE. THE BEST HE CAN DO. I HAVE LODGED STRENUOUS COMPLAINTS WITH BUICK AND THEY ASSIGNED IT "REQUEST NUMBER 1-200878647 AND IT HAS BEEN HANDLED GENERALLY BY A MR. SEAN ARMSTRONG. MY LAST CORRESPONDENCE WITH THEM THEY SAID THEY HAD DONE ALL THEY COULD DO, WHICH SO FAR HAS BEEN NOTHING, AND FOR ME TO TAKE OTHER STEPS. I ASSUME THEY MEAN TO GO TO COURT. I BELIEVE THAT THIS 'UNDEPENDABLE' HORN FUNCTION COULD LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT AND POSSIBLY DEATH TO SOMEONE. IT SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED AND I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO RESORT TO THE LEGAL PROCESS TO GET IT TO WORK AS IT SHOULD. BUICK HAS MANH COMPLAINTS ON THIS FUNCTION I HAVE LEARNED. YOUR EXPERIENCE AND KNOWLEDGE SHOULD PROVE MOST HELPFUL IN MY MAKING A DECISION AS TO WHAT TO DO. IF YOU CALL PERRY BUICK SERVICE MANAGER (MR. TIMOTHY PERRY) HE CAN EXPLAIN. PERRY BUICK IS OUTSTANDING AND I AM NOT COMPLAINING ABOUT THEIR SERVICE. THEY DO NOT DESIGN THE AUTO. THIS BUICK PARK AVENUE ULTRA HAS EVERYTHING YOU COULD POSSIBLY WANT IN A TODAY CAR EXCEPT A HORN THAT WILL BLOW WHEN ASKED TO BLOW. YOUR KNOWLEDGE WILL BE GRATEFULLY RECEIVED. KIND REGARDS, JOHN MESICK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

2/12/2004 - OXNARD, CA
MY 2003 BUICK PARK AVENUE WITH LESS THAN 6000 MILES ON IT HAS HAD BRAKE FAILURE TWICE. BOTH INCIDENTS OCCURED AT SPEEDS LESS THAN 10 MPH. BOTH INCIDENTS INVOLVED TOTAL BRAKE FAILURE WITH THE PEDAL GOING CLEAR TO THE FLOOR AND NO STOPPING ACTION AT ALL. THE FIRST INCIDENT IN AUGUST 2003 RESULTED IN A CRASH IN WHICH THERE WAS NO FIRE AND NO INJURIES. THE MOST RECENT INCIDENT REPORTED TODAY DID NOT RESULT IN A CRASH BUT COULD HAVE EASILY HAD I NOT THROWN THE TRANSMISSION INTO PARK. DEALER REPORTS HE "CAN NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM", AND DOESN'T KNOW WHAT TO FIX. ONGOING NEGOTIATIONS CONTINUE BETWEEN ME AND THE DEALER AS I FEEL THE CAR IS DEFINITELY UNSAFE AS IS, AND IF THERE IS "NOTHING TO FIX", THEN OBVIOUSLY THE CAR WILL REMAIN UNSAFE AND COULD RESULT IN SERIOUS INJURY OR FATALITIES NOT ONLY TO MYSELF BUT TO OTHERS. I STRONGLY URGE NHTSA GET INVOLVED BEFORE ANY LIVES OR LOST OR SERIOUS INJURIES OCCUR.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

1/28/2004 - DORAVILLE, GA
THE HORN IS EXTREMELY HARD TO OPERATE; HAS BEEN FROM DAY ONE! I MUST TAKE EYES OFF ROAD FOR TOO LONG WHEN TRYING TO FIND RIGHT SPOT TO MAKE HORN BLOW. IT DOES NOT OPERATE AT HORN DECAL ON AIR BAG COVER, NOR AT CENTER OF COVER AS MANUAL SUGGESTS. HORN BLOWS SOMEWHERE IN BETWEEN DECAL AND CENTER, SOME OF THE TIME. AND WHEN I FIND THE SPOT I HAVE TO PUSH TO HARD TO MAKE IT BLOW. THIS PARTICULAR MODEL OF BUICK IS BOUGHT AND DRIVEN MOSTLY BY RETIRES. A LOT OF WHOM HAVE ARTHRITIC HANDS. THE HORN IS A SAFETY FEATURE AND THEREFORE SHOULD NOT BE THIS DIFFICULT TO USE. I HAVE BEEN TO THE DEALER THREE TIMES ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND EACH TIME THE MAN BLOWS THE HORN AND SAYS THE AIR BAG IS THE REASON FOR THE HARD TO BLOW HORN. HE SAYS NOTHING CAN BE DONE TO FIX PROBLEM. I BELIEVE A NEW REDESIGNED AIR BAG ASSEMBLY CAN FIX THIS SAFTEY DEFECT. BEFORE BUYING A NEW CAR AGAIN, I WILL BE SURE TO CHECK FOR EASE OF OPERATION OF HORN ASSEMBLY FIRST!!! MY 1996 OLDS 98 DID NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM AND THEY ARE BASICALLY THE SAME CAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds