Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC ENVOY - 2003 GMC ENVOY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 323 complaints filed for the 2003 GMC ENVOY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 GMC ENVOY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 GMC ENVOY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Power Train (38) Steering (14) Visibility (31)
Electrical System (64) Fuel System Gasoline (63) Seat Belts (14) Structure (20) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (2) Suspension (16) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes (2) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/8/2015 - RAYMORE, MO
I NOTICED A ELECTRICAL BURNING SMELL WHILE DRIVING ON A SIDE STREET. THE ENGINE MADE AN UNUSUAL NOISE SO I PULLED OVER, TURNED THE CAR OFF AND PUT ON THE HAZARD LIGHTS. WHILE WAITING FOR THE TOW TRUCK, THE CAR STARTED WITH NO KEY IN THE IGNITION. THE CAR RAN FOR A SHORT TIME THEN STOPPED AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART ITSELF ABOUT 5 TIMES. OUR MECHANIC TOOK A LOOK AT IT AND SAID THERE HAD BEEN A FIRE IN THE FUSE BOX. I TOOK PICTURES OF THE CHARRED REMAINS OF THE FUSE BOX, COVER AND CONNECTORS. MOST OF THE PLASTIC CONNECTORS UNDER THE FUSE BOX COULD NOT BE REMOVED BECAUSE THEY HAD MELTED AND WERE FUSED ONTO THE BOX. HE NOTED THE FIRE SEEMED TO ORIGINATE FROM FUSE 46, THE HEADLAMP DRIVER MODULE. FOR THE PAST FEW YEARS, I HAD BEEN EXPERIENCING HEADLIGHT AND TAIL LIGHT ISSUES INVOLVING BULBS THAT WERE BURNING OUT FREQUENTLY OR WERE GOING OUT THEN COMING BACK ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2015 - RAYMORE, MO
I NOTICED A ELECTRICAL BURNING SMELL WHILE DRIVING ON A SIDE STREET. THE ENGINE MADE AN UNUSUAL NOISE SO I PULLED OVER, TURNED THE CAR OFF AND PUT ON THE HAZARD LIGHTS. WHILE WAITING FOR THE TOW TRUCK, THE CAR STARTED WITH NO KEY IN THE IGNITION. THE CAR RAN FOR A SHORT TIME THEN STOPPED AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART ITSELF ABOUT 5 TIMES. OUR MECHANIC TOOK A LOOK AT IT AND SAID THERE HAD BEEN A FIRE IN THE FUSE BOX. I TOOK PICTURES OF THE CHARRED REMAINS OF THE FUSE BOX, COVER AND CONNECTORS. MOST OF THE PLASTIC CONNECTORS UNDER THE FUSE BOX COULD NOT BE REMOVED BECAUSE THEY HAD MELTED AND WERE FUSED ONTO THE BOX. HE NOTED THE FIRE SEEMED TO ORIGINATE FROM FUSE 46, THE HEADLAMP DRIVER MODULE. FOR THE PAST FEW YEARS, I HAD BEEN EXPERIENCING HEADLIGHT AND TAIL LIGHT ISSUES INVOLVING BULBS THAT WERE BURNING OUT FREQUENTLY OR WERE GOING OUT THEN COMING BACK ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/8/2015 - ALUM CREEK, WV
DEAR SIR/MADAM, I HAVE A 2003 GMC ENVOY SLT MODEL 4.2L V6 4WD AND AS I WAS BACKING INTO MY GARAGE I HEARD A LOUD BANG AND WHINNING NOISE AND I NOW HAVE NO REVERSE GEAR AND WHEN I SELECT THE DRIVE GEAR ON THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION I HAVE A WHINNING NOISE, I HAVE READ THE BLOGS ON THIS ISSUE AND I BELIEVE THAT GM AND GMC ARE VERY AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM, THIS REPAIR WILL COST ME UP TO $2,800.00 PLUS TAX TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REMOVED AND A REMANUFACTURED ON REPLACED ON MY VEHICLE. I WAS JUST GLAD THAT THIS MATTER HAPPENED AT MY RESIDENCE AND NOT ON SOME BACK ROAD IN WEST VA., I BELIEVE THAT AS STATED, GM AND GMC IS VERY AWARE OF THE PROBLEM WITH THE 4L603 TRANSMISSION THAT WERE USED IN THESE VEHICLES' AND THE PROBLEM WITH THE SUN-SHELL AND THE REACTION SUNGEARS THAT ARE LIKE A GERNADE EXPLODING INSIDE THE TRANSMISSION. I WOULD LIKE FOR A RECALL TO BE STARTED ON THIS PROBLEM AND THE OWNERS TO BE PAID BACK ON ALL OF THESE REPAIRS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/1/2015 - PATTERSON, CA
IN 2013 WE TOOK R VEHICLE TO GET SMOGED IT WOULDN'T PASS THE MECHANIC SAID THERE IS A CRACK IN THE GAS TANK AND THEY CAN USE SOME STUFF ON IT TO PATCH IT ,NOW A YEAR GOES BY MY SON IS USING THE CAR PUTTING GAS IN THE AT THE STATION AND ANOTHER LADY TELLS HIM YOUR LEAKING GAS TOOK IT TO THE CHEVY IN TRACY CA THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE AND THEY COULDN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT AND MY HUSBAND TOLD THEM WE NEVER RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE ABOUT THIS AND HE SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AND IT WOULD COST US 1600.00 NOW MY GMC IS SETTING IN MY DRIVEWAY AND WE R TOO AFRAID TO DRIVE IT THAT IT WILL CATCH ON FIRE AND ITS UNDRIVABLE THE NECK GOING TO THE GAS TANK IS CRACKED , MY SON DROVE THIS VEHICLE WITH HIS BABY FOR QUITE AWHILE AND THIS HAS SCARED ME TO DEATH I THINK GMC NEEDS TO MAKE THIS RIGHT AND FIX THIS PROBLEM ON MY CAR WE WOULD OF TAKEN IT IN RIGHT AWAY IF WE HAD KNOW ABOUT IT AND THAT THERE WAS A RECALL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/25/2015 - FORT WAYNE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING ON THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE TAIL LIGHT STOP LAMP ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V527000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/19/2015 - PAWLEYS ISLAND, SC
2003 GMC ENVOY. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO FUEL TANK LEAK ISSUES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/11/2015 - AMERICUS, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL INSTEAD OF THE BRAKE PEDAL WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO CRASH INTO A TREE. AS A RESULT, THE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE NECK AND LEFT SHOULDER WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 189,325.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/2/2015 - PLAISTOW, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FILLER NECK OF THE FUEL TANK WAS CRACKED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 123,000. UPDATED 3/24/15 UPDATED 04/02/15

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/27/2015 - NEW CASTLE, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY IMPAIRING THEIR VISION. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WINDSHIELD ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/22/2014 - JUPITER, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY FAILED TO RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RELEASE THE KEY AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000. UPDATED 3/24/15

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds