Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC ENVOY - 2003 GMC ENVOY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 352 complaints filed for the 2003 GMC ENVOY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 GMC ENVOY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 GMC ENVOY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (17) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (68) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Power Train (38) Steering (15) Visibility (32)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (66) Seat Belts (14) Structure (24) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (2) Suspension (18) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/6/2017 - SEAL BEACH, CA
IT STARTED WITH ENGINE MISFIRING CAUSING ENGINE TO JOLT WHICH DAMAGED #4 COIL PACK SEAL TO FAILED ALLOWING WATER INTRUSION. IN 2008, THE GMC MECHANIC REPLACED ALL SIX COILS SEALS BUT IN 2013-PRESENT P0440 ENGINE CODE IS A LEAK IN THE EVAPORATIVE EMISSION (EVAP). LOOSE FUEL TANK FILLER CAP IS THE MOST COMMON CAUSE THAT TRIGGERS THE P0440 CODE. I FAILED A FEW SMOG CHECK SPENDING HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS YET MY PROBLEM STILL EXISTENCE. I'VE CONTACTED THE BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR BECAUSE PURRFECT AUTO IN FULLERTON,CA LIED ABOUT FIXING MY CAR. THE BAR MADE PURRFECT AUTO REPLACE THE GAS TANK AND GAS CAP YET THE ENGINE LIGHT IS STILL ON DISPLAYING CODE P0440. ITS BEEN 14 YEARS AND I'M STILL DEALING WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/6/2017 - SEAL BEACH, CA
IT STARTED WITH ENGINE MISFIRING CAUSING ENGINE TO JOLT WHICH DAMAGED #4 COIL PACK SEAL TO FAILED ALLOWING WATER INTRUSION. IN 2008, THE GMC MECHANIC REPLACED ALL SIX COILS SEALS BUT IN 2013-PRESENT P0440 ENGINE CODE IS A LEAK IN THE EVAPORATIVE EMISSION (EVAP). LOOSE FUEL TANK FILLER CAP IS THE MOST COMMON CAUSE THAT TRIGGERS THE P0440 CODE. I FAILED A FEW SMOG CHECK SPENDING HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS YET MY PROBLEM STILL EXISTENCE. I'VE CONTACTED THE BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR BECAUSE PURRFECT AUTO IN FULLERTON,CA LIED ABOUT FIXING MY CAR. THE BAR MADE PURRFECT AUTO REPLACE THE GAS TANK AND GAS CAP YET THE ENGINE LIGHT IS STILL ON DISPLAYING CODE P0440. ITS BEEN 14 YEARS AND I'M STILL DEALING WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2017 - SEAL BEACH, CA
IT STARTED WITH ENGINE MISFIRING CAUSING ENGINE TO JOLT WHICH DAMAGED #4 COIL PACK SEAL TO FAILED ALLOWING WATER INTRUSION. IN 2008, THE GMC MECHANIC REPLACED ALL SIX COILS SEALS BUT IN 2013-PRESENT P0440 ENGINE CODE IS A LEAK IN THE EVAPORATIVE EMISSION (EVAP). LOOSE FUEL TANK FILLER CAP IS THE MOST COMMON CAUSE THAT TRIGGERS THE P0440 CODE. I FAILED A FEW SMOG CHECK SPENDING HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS YET MY PROBLEM STILL EXISTENCE. I'VE CONTACTED THE BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR BECAUSE PURRFECT AUTO IN FULLERTON,CA LIED ABOUT FIXING MY CAR. THE BAR MADE PURRFECT AUTO REPLACE THE GAS TANK AND GAS CAP YET THE ENGINE LIGHT IS STILL ON DISPLAYING CODE P0440. ITS BEEN 14 YEARS AND I'M STILL DEALING WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/3/2017 - COLLINGDALE, PA
MY COMPLAINT IS ABOUT THE ABS BRAKES WARNING LIGHT AND THE FEEL OF THE BRAKES WHILE IN MOTION. WHEN COMING TO A STOP, REACHIBG 5MPH, THE BRAKES PERFORMANCE IS FEELING A RESISTANT ANDJERKY. IT IS AS IF THE BRAKES DO NOT WANT TO PRESS ALL THE WAY DOWN WHEN COMPLETELY STOPPING. THE WARNING LIGHT ON MY DASH SAYS, "SERVICE ABS BRAKES." THIS IS A RATHER SCAREY FEEL COMING FROM THE BRAKE PEDDLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/26/2017 - EDISON, NJ
I WAS STOPPED AT A LIGHT WHEN THE CAR ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN, I PRESSED THE BRAKE BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP . I HIT CAR THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I HAD TO PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL TO STOP THE CAR. CAR WAS TOWED TO DEALER, THE CAUSE WAS A INTERNALLY SHORTED THROTTLE BODY. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS REPLACED. THIS WAS THE THIRD TIME CAR ACCELERATED ON OWN AND WOULD NOT STOP. THE FIRST TWO TIMES MY MECHANIC COULD NOT FIND ANY PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/26/2017 - EDISON, NJ
I WAS STOPPED AT A LIGHT WHEN THE CAR ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN, I PRESSED THE BRAKE BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP . I HIT CAR THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I HAD TO PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL TO STOP THE CAR. CAR WAS TOWED TO DEALER, THE CAUSE WAS A INTERNALLY SHORTED THROTTLE BODY. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS REPLACED. THIS WAS THE THIRD TIME CAR ACCELERATED ON OWN AND WOULD NOT STOP. THE FIRST TWO TIMES MY MECHANIC COULD NOT FIND ANY PROBLEM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/25/2017 - MARTINSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THE LOW BEAM HEADLAMPS FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. WHEN THE PASSENGER'S SIDE TURN SIGNAL WAS ACTIVATED, THE FOUR-WAY HAZARD INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V198000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/20/2016 - SPRINGPORT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE STEERING ABILITY FAILED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A TURN. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MANAGED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE HOME. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THAT WAS THE FIRST TIME THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2016 - EAST FALMOUTH, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER WINDOW AND DOOR CONTROLS MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A NEW POWER SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/8/2016 - CINCINNATTI, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE GARAGE AND WHILE DRIVING, THE ODOR OF FUEL WAS PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WOULD ALSO SHUDDER AND HESITATE WHILE DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds