Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC ENVOY - 2003 GMC ENVOY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 293 complaints filed for the 2003 GMC ENVOY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 GMC ENVOY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 GMC ENVOY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Unknown Or Other (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (12) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Power Train (36) Steering (13) Visibility (31)
Electrical System (57) Fuel System Gasoline (57) Seat Belts (12) Structure (18) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (2) Suspension (11) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (1) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/1/2014 - PITTSBOUGH, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING FROM A DRIVEWAY, THE POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILED AS THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE STEERING WHEEL ALSO BECAME HARD TO TURN. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING OVER A FOUR MONTH PERIOD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO MADE UNKNOWN REPAIRS TO THE VEHICLE BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129345.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/15/2014 - HONEDALE, PA
SMELLING OF GAS AND LEAKING ON GROUND, AS I'M READING THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WHICH IS VERY SERIOUS. I REALLY THINK GM NEEDS TO INCLUDE THIS 2003 GMC ENVOY AS PART OF THEIR RECALL AS WELL. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR YEARS IT LOOKS LIKE AND NOTHING HAS BEEN RECALLED. GUESS HUMAN LIFE IS NOT IMPORTANT.GM NEEDS TO RECALL THIS PROBLEM ASAP BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.

View Details

STEERING

2/17/2014 - SPRING GROVE, IL
ALL OF A SUDDEN THE POWER STEERING OF THE ENVOY SLT 2003 WAS COMPLETELY INTERRUPTED DUE TO A BROKEN SHAFT IN THE POWER STEERING PUMP. AS A RESULT THE SERPENTINE BELT SLIPPED ON THE EDGE OF THE POWER STEERING PUMP PULLEY AND WAS WEARING OUT QUICKLY, WHICH WOULD HAVE RESULTED IN A BROKEN BELT.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2/5/2014 - BREA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR INTERIOR PANEL WAS DAMAGED AND EXPOSING WIRES. THE CONTACT WAS ALSO UNABLE TO OPEN THE FRONT DRIVER+S SIDE DOOR BECAUSE THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE WAS INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVER+S SIDE DOOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 51,776.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2014 - SPRINNG CITY , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SPEEDOMETER WOULD PROVIDE ERRONEOUS READINGS OF 120 MPH AND THE TACHOMETER PROVIDED AN ERRONEOUS READING OF ZERO. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 121,000 AND THE APPROXIMATE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/21/2014 - WINCHESTER , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CONTACT WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH. THE VEHICLE TRAVELED DOWN AN EMBANKMENT AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AND THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE ARMS. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/2/2014 - CLIFFORD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN ODOR OF GASOLINE FUEL WAS PRESENT INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND DISCOVERED A FUEL LEAK FROM THE TOP DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE FUEL TANK. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FUEL LEAK ONLY OCCURRED WHEN THE ENGINE WAS POWERED ON. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/8/2013 - GREENWOOD , IN
DROVE TO WORK SATURDAY NIGHT 12/07/2013 PARKED CAR AT 7:30 PM WENT IN TO WORK .CAME OUT TO MY CAR AT 10:00PM FOR BREAK TO SEE MY CAR SMOKING THE PASSENGERS HEATED SEAT TURNED IT'S SELF ON AT SOME POINT AND WAS ON FIRE BURNING THE SEAT AND MY COOLER THAT WAS SITTING ON THE SEAT WAS ON FIRE AND SMOKE FILLED THE CAR WAS MAKING IT HARD TO BREATH THE SMOKE WAS THICK AND SMELLED TOXIC. ME AND MY FELLOW EMPLOYEES DUMPED SNOW ON AND UNDER THE SEAT FROM AS FAR,AWAY AS WE COULD TILL THE SMOKE CALMED DOWN.TO GET THE FIRE OUT.I AM SO GRATEFUL I WAS NOT DRIVING OR THERE WAS NO PERSON SITTING ON THE SEAT AT THE TIME COULD OF CAUSED ME TO WRECK MYSELF OR OTHERS.ON MY DRIVE HOME COULD NOT USE THE HEAT DUE TO THE FUMES BEING TO STRONG WITH THE WINDOWS UP AND HEAT ON HAD TO DRIVE WITH NO HEAT AND WINDOWS DOWN 40 MINUTES WITH THE TEMPS IN THE TEENS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/8/2013 - GREENWOOD , IN
DROVE TO WORK SATURDAY NIGHT 12/07/2013 PARKED CAR AT 7:30 PM WENT IN TO WORK .CAME OUT TO MY CAR AT 10:00PM FOR BREAK TO SEE MY CAR SMOKING THE PASSENGERS HEATED SEAT TURNED IT'S SELF ON AT SOME POINT AND WAS ON FIRE BURNING THE SEAT AND MY COOLER THAT WAS SITTING ON THE SEAT WAS ON FIRE AND SMOKE FILLED THE CAR WAS MAKING IT HARD TO BREATH THE SMOKE WAS THICK AND SMELLED TOXIC. ME AND MY FELLOW EMPLOYEES DUMPED SNOW ON AND UNDER THE SEAT FROM AS FAR,AWAY AS WE COULD TILL THE SMOKE CALMED DOWN.TO GET THE FIRE OUT.I AM SO GRATEFUL I WAS NOT DRIVING OR THERE WAS NO PERSON SITTING ON THE SEAT AT THE TIME COULD OF CAUSED ME TO WRECK MYSELF OR OTHERS.ON MY DRIVE HOME COULD NOT USE THE HEAT DUE TO THE FUMES BEING TO STRONG WITH THE WINDOWS UP AND HEAT ON HAD TO DRIVE WITH NO HEAT AND WINDOWS DOWN 40 MINUTES WITH THE TEMPS IN THE TEENS.

View Details

SEATS

12/8/2013 - GREENWOOD , IN
DROVE TO WORK SATURDAY NIGHT 12/07/2013 PARKED CAR AT 7:30 PM WENT IN TO WORK .CAME OUT TO MY CAR AT 10:00PM FOR BREAK TO SEE MY CAR SMOKING THE PASSENGERS HEATED SEAT TURNED IT'S SELF ON AT SOME POINT AND WAS ON FIRE BURNING THE SEAT AND MY COOLER THAT WAS SITTING ON THE SEAT WAS ON FIRE AND SMOKE FILLED THE CAR WAS MAKING IT HARD TO BREATH THE SMOKE WAS THICK AND SMELLED TOXIC. ME AND MY FELLOW EMPLOYEES DUMPED SNOW ON AND UNDER THE SEAT FROM AS FAR,AWAY AS WE COULD TILL THE SMOKE CALMED DOWN.TO GET THE FIRE OUT.I AM SO GRATEFUL I WAS NOT DRIVING OR THERE WAS NO PERSON SITTING ON THE SEAT AT THE TIME COULD OF CAUSED ME TO WRECK MYSELF OR OTHERS.ON MY DRIVE HOME COULD NOT USE THE HEAT DUE TO THE FUMES BEING TO STRONG WITH THE WINDOWS UP AND HEAT ON HAD TO DRIVE WITH NO HEAT AND WINDOWS DOWN 40 MINUTES WITH THE TEMPS IN THE TEENS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds