Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC ENVOY - 2003 GMC ENVOY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 313 complaints filed for the 2003 GMC ENVOY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 GMC ENVOY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 GMC ENVOY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Unknown Or Other (4)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (12) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Power Train (37) Steering (14) Visibility (31)
Electrical System (61) Fuel System Gasoline (60) Seat Belts (14) Structure (20) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (2) Suspension (15) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes (2) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/27/2015 - NEW CASTLE, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY IMPAIRING THEIR VISION. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WINDSHIELD ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,000. PAM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/22/2014 - JUPITER, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY FAILED TO RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RELEASE THE KEY AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/4/2014 - PACE, FL
ENTERING STRAIGHT STRETCH OF 2 LANE HWY.,I SWERVED TO MISS OBJECT IN MY LANE AND PART OF ADJACENT LANE. I COULD NOT STRAIGHTEN UP VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE ROLLED AND STRUCK A TREE. THE ENGINE WAS OFF AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT INFLATE. MY DOOR WAS DAMAGED AND HAD TO BE CUT OFF TO FREE MYSELF. THE ENVOY WAS TOTALED. MY WIFE'S HARNESS DID NOT HOLD AND SHE WAS FACING THE REAR BETWEEN THE FRONT SEATS. THE SIDE AIR BAGS AND FRONT AIR BAGS DID NOT WORK. THE VEHICLE WAS WELL MAINTAINED WITH NEW TIRES AND BRAKES. I WAS LIFE FLIGHTED, AND MY WIFE WAS CARRIED BY AMBULANCE TO THE HOSPITAL WHERE WE SUSTAINED MULTIPLE INJURIES.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/4/2014 - PACE, FL
ENTERING STRAIGHT STRETCH OF 2 LANE HWY.,I SWERVED TO MISS OBJECT IN MY LANE AND PART OF ADJACENT LANE. I COULD NOT STRAIGHTEN UP VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE ROLLED AND STRUCK A TREE. THE ENGINE WAS OFF AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT INFLATE. MY DOOR WAS DAMAGED AND HAD TO BE CUT OFF TO FREE MYSELF. THE ENVOY WAS TOTALED. MY WIFE'S HARNESS DID NOT HOLD AND SHE WAS FACING THE REAR BETWEEN THE FRONT SEATS. THE SIDE AIR BAGS AND FRONT AIR BAGS DID NOT WORK. THE VEHICLE WAS WELL MAINTAINED WITH NEW TIRES AND BRAKES. I WAS LIFE FLIGHTED, AND MY WIFE WAS CARRIED BY AMBULANCE TO THE HOSPITAL WHERE WE SUSTAINED MULTIPLE INJURIES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/4/2014 - PACE, FL
ENTERING STRAIGHT STRETCH OF 2 LANE HWY.,I SWERVED TO MISS OBJECT IN MY LANE AND PART OF ADJACENT LANE. I COULD NOT STRAIGHTEN UP VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE ROLLED AND STRUCK A TREE. THE ENGINE WAS OFF AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT INFLATE. MY DOOR WAS DAMAGED AND HAD TO BE CUT OFF TO FREE MYSELF. THE ENVOY WAS TOTALED. MY WIFE'S HARNESS DID NOT HOLD AND SHE WAS FACING THE REAR BETWEEN THE FRONT SEATS. THE SIDE AIR BAGS AND FRONT AIR BAGS DID NOT WORK. THE VEHICLE WAS WELL MAINTAINED WITH NEW TIRES AND BRAKES. I WAS LIFE FLIGHTED, AND MY WIFE WAS CARRIED BY AMBULANCE TO THE HOSPITAL WHERE WE SUSTAINED MULTIPLE INJURIES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/20/2014 - HENDERSON, NV
THE KEY FOB, USED TO UNLOCK THE CAR, WILL NOT UNLOCK THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. I CAN HEAR A CLICKING NOISE LIKE THE LATCH IS TRYING TO DISENGAGE, BUT IT WILL NOT. THE REMEDY FOR THIS IS TO LEAVE THE WINDOW OPEN IN ORDER TO PRESS THE UNLOCK BUTTON INSIDE THE CAR OR TO WAIT AND CONTINUOUSLY PRESS THE UNLOCK BUTTON THE KEY FOB (THE LATCH INSIDE THE DOOR WILL EVENTUALLY UNLOCK THE CAR)

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/20/2014 - HENDERSON, NV
THE KEY FOB, USED TO UNLOCK THE CAR, WILL NOT UNLOCK THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. I CAN HEAR A CLICKING NOISE LIKE THE LATCH IS TRYING TO DISENGAGE, BUT IT WILL NOT. THE REMEDY FOR THIS IS TO LEAVE THE WINDOW OPEN IN ORDER TO PRESS THE UNLOCK BUTTON INSIDE THE CAR OR TO WAIT AND CONTINUOUSLY PRESS THE UNLOCK BUTTON THE KEY FOB (THE LATCH INSIDE THE DOOR WILL EVENTUALLY UNLOCK THE CAR)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

10/1/2014 - FOND DU LAC, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE MALFUNCTIONED AND FAILED TO PROVIDE THE CORRECT FUEL LEVEL READING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL SENSOR AND THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/1/2014 - FOND DU LAC, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE MALFUNCTIONED AND FAILED TO PROVIDE THE CORRECT FUEL LEVEL READING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL SENSOR AND THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/28/2014 - AUBURN HILLS, MI
I STARTED EXPERIENCING A STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE WHILE DRIVING AND WHEN THE VEHICLES WAS SHUT DOWN. WHEN I FIRST NOTICED THE ODOR I COULD NOT SEE ANY VISIBLE LEAKS UNDER THE VEHICLE, AFTER ABOUT A WEEK I STARTED NOTICING DRIPS OF FUEL UNDER THE VEHICLE. I CRAWLED UNDER THE VEHICLE TO FIND THE LEAK AND NOTICED A VERY FINE SPRAY OF GASOLINE COMING FROM THE TOP OF THE TANK. I THEN DROPPED THE FUEL TANK AND NOTICED THAT TUBE FROM THE FUEL PUMP WAS CORRODED TO THE POINT THAT IT WAS SPRAYING GASOLINE WHILE UNDER PRESSURE. THE FUEL PUMP IS LOCATED IN A LOW POINT ON THE TOP OF THE TANK WHICH ALLOWS FOR ROAD DEBRIS/SALT AND WATER TO SIT AND ERODE THESE TUBES ON THE TOP OF THE FUEL PUMP. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM AS ALL IT WOULD TAKE IS ANY FORM OF IGNITION TO CAUSE AN UNCONTROLLABLE FIRE. GM SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO REPAIR THIS UNDER A MANDATED RECALL DUE TO THE SEVERITY OF THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds