Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (3)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Tires (2)
Electrical System (34) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Other (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Power Train (1) Structure (20) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/27/2014 - ST JOHN , IN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ROCKER PANELS HAD RUSTED. THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT INTEGRAL BODY STRUCTURE WAS WEAKENED BY THE RUST AND HAVE FORMED HOLES. THE VEHICLE WAS HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000. NE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/1/2014 - FOWLERVILLE, MI
MY WIFE TOOK HER CHEVROLET VAN IN FOR SERVICE DUE TO THE INTERIOR LIGHT NOT FUNCTIONING IT WAS TAKEN TO MAHONEY CHEVROLET AND BLOSSOM CHERVROLET. THEY TOLD HER IT WAS CORROSION CAUSING THE PROBLEM AND DID NOTHING TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM AS THEY SAID IT WAS NOT COVERED. I BEING A CERTIFIED MECHANIC AND HAVING AN ASSOCIATES DEGREE IN ELECTRONICS TROUBLE SHOT THE PROBLEM AND FOUND THE BODY CONTROL MODULE TO BE THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. THE MODULE ALSO CAUSED THE POWER WINDOWS,DOOR LOCKS,REMOTES AND ALL OTHER INTERIOR THINGS TO FAIL. I FEEL THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AS THERE ARE MILLIONS OF THESE VANS ON THE ROAD AND THESE MODULES FAIL ON THIS AND ALL OTHER MODELS OF THIS VAN SUCH AS THE PONTIAC ETC... IN A PANIC SITUATION SUCH AS AN ACCIDENT THE DRIVER WOULD HAVE TO MANUALLY OPERATE THE LOCKS OR SMASH OUT A WINDOW IF THEY WERE ABLE TO DO SO IF THERE WERE A FIRE AND IT WAS URGENT TO GET OUT OF THE VAN MANY MAY PANIC AND NOT BE ABLE TO GET OUT. I CONTACTED GM OVER THIS ISSUE AND THEY APPEARED TO AGREE WITH ME AND GAVE ME A SERVICE # OF 71-1331263820. I HAVE SENT THEM NUMEROUS E-MAILS AND PHONE CALLS BUT HAVE GOTTEN NO RESPONSE. I FEEL THIS IS THE SAME OLD GM AND THEY WONT REPAIR AN OBVIOUS DEFECT UNLESS ORDERED TO OR IF THERE ARE DEATHS FROM THE PROBLEM. I AM HOPING CONTACTING YOU WILL FORCE THEM TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND REPAIR THIS PROBLEM BEFORE SOMEONE DOES DIE BECAUSE THEY CANT GET OUT OF THEIR VAN OR THE MODULE CATCHES FIRE FROM AN OVERHEATED CHIP THAT CONTROLS THIS MODULE. THANK YOU AND I HOPE TO HEAR FROM YOU SOON

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/17/2014 - TAMPA, FL
I CANNOT FILL THE GAS TANK UNLESS GAS SPILLS OUT OF THE DEFECTIVE CONNECTION THAT GOES TO THE FUEL TANK VIA THE HOSE THAT IS CONNECTED FROM THE FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM UNTO THE GAS TANK. I HAD TO HAVE IT REPAIRED BY A MECHANIC THAT HAS DEALT WITH THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE IN THE PAST AND HE TOLD ME THAT THIS IS AND HAS BEEN A MANUFACTURED FROM THE BEGINNING CONCERNING THIS PARTICULAR MINI VAN (CHEVY VENTURE). AS LONG AS THE TANK IS HALF FULL THERE'S NO LEAKS, HOWEVER I CAN STILL SMELL A MILD SCENT OF FUMES FROM THE DEFECT OF THE VEHICLE'S FUEL SYSTEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/14/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
FUEL GAUGE WOULDN'T MEASURE, AND THE CAR WHEN STOPPED, QUIT... THE FUEL GAUGE HAD BEEN INTERMITTENTLY NOT MEASURING GAS CORRECTLY, (I EVEN FILLED A COMPLAINTS WITH 2 GAS STATIONS THINKING IT WAS THEIR GAS PUMP THAT WAS WRONG.) THIS WAS AN ONGOING PROBLEM OVER A LONG PERIOD OF TIME. THEN THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO MY RESIDENCE... I LIVE IN A DESERT AND IT'S VERY HOT, THE TOWING COMPANY SUGGESTED THE FUEL PUMP WENT ALONG WITH THE FUEL PRESSURE GAUGE. SO I HAD TO HAVE THEM REPLACED....I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS KIND OF PROBLEM WITH OTHER MAKES OF CARS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/7/2014 - MARIETTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A DELAYED RESPONSE WHEN STARING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WOULD ALSO SURGE FORWARD DURING THE IGNITION MALFUNCTION. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER NOR WAS THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000. UPDATED 05/28/14 MA

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/7/2014 - MARIETTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A DELAYED RESPONSE WHEN STARING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WOULD ALSO SURGE FORWARD DURING THE IGNITION MALFUNCTION. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER NOR WAS THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000. UPDATED 05/28/14 MA

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/28/2014 - ADA, MI
THE RECENT GM RECALL OF 2004 - 2007 COBALT AND OTHER VEHICLES FOR IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS NOW MAKES MY ISSUES IN MY 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE VAN POTENTIALLY MAKE SOME SENSE. THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES OF THE PROBLEM OVER THE YEARS BUT IT SOUNDS SIMILAR TO THE ABOVE RECALL. SOME OF THE INCIDENTS OCCURRED ON THE HIGHWAY (70 MPH), SOME HAPPENED ON THE DIRT ROADS WE LIVE ON (25 - 35 MPH). THE ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED - NO POWER OF ANY KIND. THE ENGINE COULD BE RESTARTED BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND TURNING THE KEY. IT DID NOT REQUIRE A COMPLETE VEHICLE STOPPAGE (ALTHOUGH IT DID OCCASIONALLY CAUSE A NASTY SQUEAL FROM WHAT I ASSUMED WAS THE STARTER MOTOR). THE CAR WAS PURCHASED USED FROM A DEALER SO I DO NOT KNOW IF THE ISSUE OCCURRED DURING THE FIRST YEAR OF SO OF THE VEHICLES USE. I THINK THE GM INVESTIGATION NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO OTHER MODELS. VIN CAN BE PROVIDED IF NEEDED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

2/28/2014 - ADA, MI
THE RECENT GM RECALL OF 2004 - 2007 COBALT AND OTHER VEHICLES FOR IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS NOW MAKES MY ISSUES IN MY 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE VAN POTENTIALLY MAKE SOME SENSE. THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES OF THE PROBLEM OVER THE YEARS BUT IT SOUNDS SIMILAR TO THE ABOVE RECALL. SOME OF THE INCIDENTS OCCURRED ON THE HIGHWAY (70 MPH), SOME HAPPENED ON THE DIRT ROADS WE LIVE ON (25 - 35 MPH). THE ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED - NO POWER OF ANY KIND. THE ENGINE COULD BE RESTARTED BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND TURNING THE KEY. IT DID NOT REQUIRE A COMPLETE VEHICLE STOPPAGE (ALTHOUGH IT DID OCCASIONALLY CAUSE A NASTY SQUEAL FROM WHAT I ASSUMED WAS THE STARTER MOTOR). THE CAR WAS PURCHASED USED FROM A DEALER SO I DO NOT KNOW IF THE ISSUE OCCURRED DURING THE FIRST YEAR OF SO OF THE VEHICLES USE. I THINK THE GM INVESTIGATION NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO OTHER MODELS. VIN CAN BE PROVIDED IF NEEDED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2014 - ADA, MI
THE RECENT GM RECALL OF 2004 - 2007 COBALT AND OTHER VEHICLES FOR IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS NOW MAKES MY ISSUES IN MY 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE VAN POTENTIALLY MAKE SOME SENSE. THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES OF THE PROBLEM OVER THE YEARS BUT IT SOUNDS SIMILAR TO THE ABOVE RECALL. SOME OF THE INCIDENTS OCCURRED ON THE HIGHWAY (70 MPH), SOME HAPPENED ON THE DIRT ROADS WE LIVE ON (25 - 35 MPH). THE ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED - NO POWER OF ANY KIND. THE ENGINE COULD BE RESTARTED BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND TURNING THE KEY. IT DID NOT REQUIRE A COMPLETE VEHICLE STOPPAGE (ALTHOUGH IT DID OCCASIONALLY CAUSE A NASTY SQUEAL FROM WHAT I ASSUMED WAS THE STARTER MOTOR). THE CAR WAS PURCHASED USED FROM A DEALER SO I DO NOT KNOW IF THE ISSUE OCCURRED DURING THE FIRST YEAR OF SO OF THE VEHICLES USE. I THINK THE GM INVESTIGATION NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO OTHER MODELS. VIN CAN BE PROVIDED IF NEEDED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

1/12/2014 - NORTH ATTLEBORO, MA
THE SPEEDOMETER FAILED ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. PREVIOUSLY THE FUEL AND TEMPERATURE GAUGES HAVE FAILED. CHEVY DOES NOT SEEM TO BELIEVE THIS TO BE THE RESULT OF DEFECTIVE PARTS BUT THAT IS ATTRIBUTED TO OPERATING THE VEHICLE PAST 100,000 MILES. THE REPAIR IS ESTIMATED AT $500 AND IS NOT GUARANTEED. I HAVE NOTICED NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF INSTRUMENT CLUSTER FAILURE BUT I HAVE NOT SEEN IF ANY ACTION HAS BEEN TAKEN BY CHEVROLET.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds