Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 108 complaints filed for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (3)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Tires (2)
Electrical System (33) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Other (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Power Train (1) Structure (19) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/14/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
FUEL GAUGE WOULDN'T MEASURE, AND THE CAR WHEN STOPPED, QUIT... THE FUEL GAUGE HAD BEEN INTERMITTENTLY NOT MEASURING GAS CORRECTLY, (I EVEN FILLED A COMPLAINTS WITH 2 GAS STATIONS THINKING IT WAS THEIR GAS PUMP THAT WAS WRONG.) THIS WAS AN ONGOING PROBLEM OVER A LONG PERIOD OF TIME. THEN THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO MY RESIDENCE... I LIVE IN A DESERT AND IT'S VERY HOT, THE TOWING COMPANY SUGGESTED THE FUEL PUMP WENT ALONG WITH THE FUEL PRESSURE GAUGE. SO I HAD TO HAVE THEM REPLACED....I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS KIND OF PROBLEM WITH OTHER MAKES OF CARS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/7/2014 - MARIETTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A DELAYED RESPONSE WHEN STARING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WOULD ALSO SURGE FORWARD DURING THE IGNITION MALFUNCTION. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER NOR WAS THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000. UPDATED 05/28/14 MA

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/7/2014 - MARIETTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A DELAYED RESPONSE WHEN STARING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WOULD ALSO SURGE FORWARD DURING THE IGNITION MALFUNCTION. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER NOR WAS THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000. UPDATED 05/28/14 MA

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2014 - ADA, MI
THE RECENT GM RECALL OF 2004 - 2007 COBALT AND OTHER VEHICLES FOR IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS NOW MAKES MY ISSUES IN MY 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE VAN POTENTIALLY MAKE SOME SENSE. THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES OF THE PROBLEM OVER THE YEARS BUT IT SOUNDS SIMILAR TO THE ABOVE RECALL. SOME OF THE INCIDENTS OCCURRED ON THE HIGHWAY (70 MPH), SOME HAPPENED ON THE DIRT ROADS WE LIVE ON (25 - 35 MPH). THE ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED - NO POWER OF ANY KIND. THE ENGINE COULD BE RESTARTED BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND TURNING THE KEY. IT DID NOT REQUIRE A COMPLETE VEHICLE STOPPAGE (ALTHOUGH IT DID OCCASIONALLY CAUSE A NASTY SQUEAL FROM WHAT I ASSUMED WAS THE STARTER MOTOR). THE CAR WAS PURCHASED USED FROM A DEALER SO I DO NOT KNOW IF THE ISSUE OCCURRED DURING THE FIRST YEAR OF SO OF THE VEHICLES USE. I THINK THE GM INVESTIGATION NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO OTHER MODELS. VIN CAN BE PROVIDED IF NEEDED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

2/28/2014 - ADA, MI
THE RECENT GM RECALL OF 2004 - 2007 COBALT AND OTHER VEHICLES FOR IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS NOW MAKES MY ISSUES IN MY 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE VAN POTENTIALLY MAKE SOME SENSE. THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES OF THE PROBLEM OVER THE YEARS BUT IT SOUNDS SIMILAR TO THE ABOVE RECALL. SOME OF THE INCIDENTS OCCURRED ON THE HIGHWAY (70 MPH), SOME HAPPENED ON THE DIRT ROADS WE LIVE ON (25 - 35 MPH). THE ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED - NO POWER OF ANY KIND. THE ENGINE COULD BE RESTARTED BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND TURNING THE KEY. IT DID NOT REQUIRE A COMPLETE VEHICLE STOPPAGE (ALTHOUGH IT DID OCCASIONALLY CAUSE A NASTY SQUEAL FROM WHAT I ASSUMED WAS THE STARTER MOTOR). THE CAR WAS PURCHASED USED FROM A DEALER SO I DO NOT KNOW IF THE ISSUE OCCURRED DURING THE FIRST YEAR OF SO OF THE VEHICLES USE. I THINK THE GM INVESTIGATION NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO OTHER MODELS. VIN CAN BE PROVIDED IF NEEDED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/28/2014 - ADA, MI
THE RECENT GM RECALL OF 2004 - 2007 COBALT AND OTHER VEHICLES FOR IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS NOW MAKES MY ISSUES IN MY 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE VAN POTENTIALLY MAKE SOME SENSE. THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES OF THE PROBLEM OVER THE YEARS BUT IT SOUNDS SIMILAR TO THE ABOVE RECALL. SOME OF THE INCIDENTS OCCURRED ON THE HIGHWAY (70 MPH), SOME HAPPENED ON THE DIRT ROADS WE LIVE ON (25 - 35 MPH). THE ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED - NO POWER OF ANY KIND. THE ENGINE COULD BE RESTARTED BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND TURNING THE KEY. IT DID NOT REQUIRE A COMPLETE VEHICLE STOPPAGE (ALTHOUGH IT DID OCCASIONALLY CAUSE A NASTY SQUEAL FROM WHAT I ASSUMED WAS THE STARTER MOTOR). THE CAR WAS PURCHASED USED FROM A DEALER SO I DO NOT KNOW IF THE ISSUE OCCURRED DURING THE FIRST YEAR OF SO OF THE VEHICLES USE. I THINK THE GM INVESTIGATION NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO OTHER MODELS. VIN CAN BE PROVIDED IF NEEDED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

1/12/2014 - NORTH ATTLEBORO, MA
THE SPEEDOMETER FAILED ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. PREVIOUSLY THE FUEL AND TEMPERATURE GAUGES HAVE FAILED. CHEVY DOES NOT SEEM TO BELIEVE THIS TO BE THE RESULT OF DEFECTIVE PARTS BUT THAT IS ATTRIBUTED TO OPERATING THE VEHICLE PAST 100,000 MILES. THE REPAIR IS ESTIMATED AT $500 AND IS NOT GUARANTEED. I HAVE NOTICED NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF INSTRUMENT CLUSTER FAILURE BUT I HAVE NOT SEEN IF ANY ACTION HAS BEEN TAKEN BY CHEVROLET.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/26/2013 - QUINCY, MA
GAS GAUGE DOES NOT ACCURATELY REFLECT FUEL. IT JUMPS WILDLY AT TIMES FROM FULL TO EMPTY AND BACK TO FULL. IT OFTEN SHOWS 3/4 OF A TANK WHEN IT IS ACTUALLY NEAR EMPTY. I HAD TO BEGIN TRACKING MY MILEAGE TO ENSURE I DO NOT RUN OUT OF GAS. GAS LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF BUT USUALLY COINCIDES WITH AN EMPTY READING. AND THIS IS NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY. WHEN THIS STARTED HAPPENING I RAN OUT OF GAS WITH 2 SMALL CHILDREN IN THE CAR IN WINTER DUE TO GAUGE SAID 1/2 TANK...

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2013 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 45 MPH AND NOTICED THAT THE SPEEDOMETER WAS INOPERABLE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THE CONTACT STATED THE FUEL AND TEMPERATURE GAUGE WERE ALSO INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS HAVING AN INSTRUMENT CLUSTER PANEL FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

8/27/2013 - FORDLAND, MO
THE DATE WHEN THIS FIRST APPEARED IS UNKNOWN. I BELIEVE IT HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS. I HAVE OWNED THE VAN FOR 7 YEARS. THE SPEEDOMETER CLUSTER QUIT WORKING. THIS IS A VERY COMMON OCCURRENCE ACCORDING TO OTHERS WHO OWN SIMILAR VEHICLES. I CANNOT TELL HOW FAST I AM GOING, HOW HOT MY ENGINE IS RUNNING, OR WHEN I WILL RUN OUT OF GAS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds