Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 121 complaints filed for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Tires (2)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (2) Structure (21) Visibility (7)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/28/2014 - ADA, MI
THE RECENT GM RECALL OF 2004 - 2007 COBALT AND OTHER VEHICLES FOR IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS NOW MAKES MY ISSUES IN MY 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE VAN POTENTIALLY MAKE SOME SENSE. THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES OF THE PROBLEM OVER THE YEARS BUT IT SOUNDS SIMILAR TO THE ABOVE RECALL. SOME OF THE INCIDENTS OCCURRED ON THE HIGHWAY (70 MPH), SOME HAPPENED ON THE DIRT ROADS WE LIVE ON (25 - 35 MPH). THE ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED - NO POWER OF ANY KIND. THE ENGINE COULD BE RESTARTED BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND TURNING THE KEY. IT DID NOT REQUIRE A COMPLETE VEHICLE STOPPAGE (ALTHOUGH IT DID OCCASIONALLY CAUSE A NASTY SQUEAL FROM WHAT I ASSUMED WAS THE STARTER MOTOR). THE CAR WAS PURCHASED USED FROM A DEALER SO I DO NOT KNOW IF THE ISSUE OCCURRED DURING THE FIRST YEAR OF SO OF THE VEHICLES USE. I THINK THE GM INVESTIGATION NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO OTHER MODELS. VIN CAN BE PROVIDED IF NEEDED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

2/28/2014 - ADA, MI
THE RECENT GM RECALL OF 2004 - 2007 COBALT AND OTHER VEHICLES FOR IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS NOW MAKES MY ISSUES IN MY 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE VAN POTENTIALLY MAKE SOME SENSE. THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES OF THE PROBLEM OVER THE YEARS BUT IT SOUNDS SIMILAR TO THE ABOVE RECALL. SOME OF THE INCIDENTS OCCURRED ON THE HIGHWAY (70 MPH), SOME HAPPENED ON THE DIRT ROADS WE LIVE ON (25 - 35 MPH). THE ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED - NO POWER OF ANY KIND. THE ENGINE COULD BE RESTARTED BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND TURNING THE KEY. IT DID NOT REQUIRE A COMPLETE VEHICLE STOPPAGE (ALTHOUGH IT DID OCCASIONALLY CAUSE A NASTY SQUEAL FROM WHAT I ASSUMED WAS THE STARTER MOTOR). THE CAR WAS PURCHASED USED FROM A DEALER SO I DO NOT KNOW IF THE ISSUE OCCURRED DURING THE FIRST YEAR OF SO OF THE VEHICLES USE. I THINK THE GM INVESTIGATION NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO OTHER MODELS. VIN CAN BE PROVIDED IF NEEDED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/28/2014 - ADA, MI
THE RECENT GM RECALL OF 2004 - 2007 COBALT AND OTHER VEHICLES FOR IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEMS NOW MAKES MY ISSUES IN MY 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE VAN POTENTIALLY MAKE SOME SENSE. THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES OF THE PROBLEM OVER THE YEARS BUT IT SOUNDS SIMILAR TO THE ABOVE RECALL. SOME OF THE INCIDENTS OCCURRED ON THE HIGHWAY (70 MPH), SOME HAPPENED ON THE DIRT ROADS WE LIVE ON (25 - 35 MPH). THE ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED - NO POWER OF ANY KIND. THE ENGINE COULD BE RESTARTED BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND TURNING THE KEY. IT DID NOT REQUIRE A COMPLETE VEHICLE STOPPAGE (ALTHOUGH IT DID OCCASIONALLY CAUSE A NASTY SQUEAL FROM WHAT I ASSUMED WAS THE STARTER MOTOR). THE CAR WAS PURCHASED USED FROM A DEALER SO I DO NOT KNOW IF THE ISSUE OCCURRED DURING THE FIRST YEAR OF SO OF THE VEHICLES USE. I THINK THE GM INVESTIGATION NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED TO OTHER MODELS. VIN CAN BE PROVIDED IF NEEDED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

1/12/2014 - NORTH ATTLEBORO, MA
THE SPEEDOMETER FAILED ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. PREVIOUSLY THE FUEL AND TEMPERATURE GAUGES HAVE FAILED. CHEVY DOES NOT SEEM TO BELIEVE THIS TO BE THE RESULT OF DEFECTIVE PARTS BUT THAT IS ATTRIBUTED TO OPERATING THE VEHICLE PAST 100,000 MILES. THE REPAIR IS ESTIMATED AT $500 AND IS NOT GUARANTEED. I HAVE NOTICED NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF INSTRUMENT CLUSTER FAILURE BUT I HAVE NOT SEEN IF ANY ACTION HAS BEEN TAKEN BY CHEVROLET.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/26/2013 - QUINCY, MA
GAS GAUGE DOES NOT ACCURATELY REFLECT FUEL. IT JUMPS WILDLY AT TIMES FROM FULL TO EMPTY AND BACK TO FULL. IT OFTEN SHOWS 3/4 OF A TANK WHEN IT IS ACTUALLY NEAR EMPTY. I HAD TO BEGIN TRACKING MY MILEAGE TO ENSURE I DO NOT RUN OUT OF GAS. GAS LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF BUT USUALLY COINCIDES WITH AN EMPTY READING. AND THIS IS NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY. WHEN THIS STARTED HAPPENING I RAN OUT OF GAS WITH 2 SMALL CHILDREN IN THE CAR IN WINTER DUE TO GAUGE SAID 1/2 TANK...

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2013 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 45 MPH AND NOTICED THAT THE SPEEDOMETER WAS INOPERABLE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THE CONTACT STATED THE FUEL AND TEMPERATURE GAUGE WERE ALSO INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS HAVING AN INSTRUMENT CLUSTER PANEL FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

8/27/2013 - FORDLAND, MO
THE DATE WHEN THIS FIRST APPEARED IS UNKNOWN. I BELIEVE IT HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS. I HAVE OWNED THE VAN FOR 7 YEARS. THE SPEEDOMETER CLUSTER QUIT WORKING. THIS IS A VERY COMMON OCCURRENCE ACCORDING TO OTHERS WHO OWN SIMILAR VEHICLES. I CANNOT TELL HOW FAST I AM GOING, HOW HOT MY ENGINE IS RUNNING, OR WHEN I WILL RUN OUT OF GAS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/19/2013 - BUENA PARK, CA
LIGHTS IN FRONT KEEP SHORTING OUT(TURN SIGNAL AND NIGHT). ASSEMBLY FELL APART (BOTH FRONT). REAR LIGHTING ASSEMBLY INSIDES BURNED UP 3 OF THE 6 CONNECTORS. HAVE REPLACED LIGHTS, FUSES, ETC AT LEAST ONCE A MONTH FOR THE LAST YEAR FOR THE FRONT LIGHTS.

View Details

STEERING

12/12/2012 - PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL
AS I WAS TURNING INTO THE PARKING LOT OF MY CHILD'S SCHOOL, THE STEERING LOCKED UP ON ME. I COULDN'T TURN THE WHEEL FOR ANYTHING AND THANKFULLY WAS NOT GOING FAST AT THE TIME OR I WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STOP BEFORE HAVING AN ACCIDENT WITH MY CHILDREN IN THE CAR. I TURNED THE VAN ON AND OFF, WAITED AND IT STILL WOULDN'T WORK AT ALL. IT WAS AFTER A FEW HOURS THAT I TRIED AGAIN AND IT WORKED AT THAT TIME. I DROVE CAREFULLY HOME AND HAVE TO TAKE IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP TO FIND OUT WHAT IS GOING ON AND HAVE IT FIXED BEFORE WE DO HAVE A MAJOR ACCIDENT. THERE WAS NO WARNING AT ALL PRIOR TO THIS HAPPENING AND WE HAVE HAD IT SERVICED, CHECKED, AND ALL PARTS REPLACED AS RECOMMENDED. OIL CHANGES DONE EVERY 3,000 MILES WITH FULL SYNTHETIC OIL. ALL DONE AT THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY: PRESSURE RELIEF DEVICES

11/8/2012 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ENTERING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS A STRONG GASOLINE FUEL SMELL BEING EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE FUEL TANK FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE ISSUE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07E021000 (FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER:STORAGE:TANK ASSEMBLY:PRESSURE RELIEF DEVICES). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE. UPDATED 12/11/12 THE CONSUMER STATED THE FUEL TANK INTAKE SEAL FAILED. THIS CAUSED GAS TO NO LONGER BE SAFELY CONTAINED AND TOXIC FUMES ARE BEING RELEASED. UPDATED 12/17/2012

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds