Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 121 complaints filed for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Tires (2)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (2) Structure (21) Visibility (7)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/17/2012 - DANVILLE, IL
WE BOUGHT THE VAN USED FROM A DEALERSHIP ABOUT A YEAR AGO. THE VAN WAS FINE AT FIRST BUT A COUPLE OF MONTHS AFTER WE BOUGHT THE VAN THE FUEL GAUGE FLUCTUATED. THE FUEL GAUGE WAS AT HALF, IT WENT TO EMPTY THEN FULL AND BACK TO HALF, ALL IN ONE MOTION. I THOUGHT IT WAS ODD BUT NEVER HAD A FUEL GAUGE DO THAT TO ME BEFORE. AFTER THAT THE FUEL GAUGE WOULD FLUCTUATE PERIODICALLY BUT WOULD ALWAYS GO BACK TO WERE IT WAS BEFORE IT FLUCTUATED. WE FIGURED AS LONG AS IT WENT BACK TO WERE IT WAS BEFORE IT FLUCTUATED THEN WE WOULD JUST DEAL WITH IT. BOY, WERE WE STUPID FOR THINKING THAT IT WASN'T GOING TO GET WORSE. IT EVENTUALLY GOT WORSE AND NOW IT READS FULL(BUT ITS NOT) AND JUST OUT OF NOWHERE GOES TO EMPTY AND THE FUEL LIGHT COMES ON. JUST LAST WEEK THE FUEL GAUGE READ EMPTY, WE PUT $50 WORTH OF FUEL IN THE VAN. THE GAUGE READ FULL, WE DID SOME RUNNING AROUND TOWN(WE LIVE IN A SMALL TOWN) SO WE COULDN'T HAVE USED MUCH FUEL. WE WENT HOME AND WAS GOING TO LEAVE AGAIN A FEW HOURS LATER AND WHEN WE STARTED THE VAN AND GOT DOWN THE ROAD, THE FUEL GAUGE WENT TO EMPTY IMMEDIATELY. ITS FRUSTRATING THAT THE FUEL GAUGE DOESN'T DISPLAY CORRECTLY. MY WIFE USUALLY DRIVES THE VAN AND I DON'T WANT HER TO RUN OUT OF GAS AND GET STRANDED SOMEWHERE. I'VE BEEN READING A LOT ABOUT THIS PROBLEM ON THE INTERNET AND I WAS JUST WONDERING HOW MANY PEOPLE DOES IT HAVE TO AFFECT TO WARRANT A RECALL BY GM? DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO GET HURT OR KILLED BEFORE SOMETHING GETS DONE? HAVE ALWAYS BOUGHT GM VEHICLES(NEVER HAD ANY ISSUES) BUT IT DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE IF GM KNEW ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND DECIDED TO DO NOTHING. NOW WERE STUCK PAYING 3 MORE YEARS ON A VAN THAT DOESN'T OPERATE PROPERLY. WE DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO TRADE IT IN FOR SOMETHING ELSE AND DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO GET IT FIXED. VERY FRUSTRATING!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2012 - DANVILLE, IL
WE BOUGHT THE VAN USED FROM A DEALERSHIP ABOUT A YEAR AGO. THE VAN WAS FINE AT FIRST BUT A COUPLE OF MONTHS AFTER WE BOUGHT THE VAN THE FUEL GAUGE FLUCTUATED. THE FUEL GAUGE WAS AT HALF, IT WENT TO EMPTY THEN FULL AND BACK TO HALF, ALL IN ONE MOTION. I THOUGHT IT WAS ODD BUT NEVER HAD A FUEL GAUGE DO THAT TO ME BEFORE. AFTER THAT THE FUEL GAUGE WOULD FLUCTUATE PERIODICALLY BUT WOULD ALWAYS GO BACK TO WERE IT WAS BEFORE IT FLUCTUATED. WE FIGURED AS LONG AS IT WENT BACK TO WERE IT WAS BEFORE IT FLUCTUATED THEN WE WOULD JUST DEAL WITH IT. BOY, WERE WE STUPID FOR THINKING THAT IT WASN'T GOING TO GET WORSE. IT EVENTUALLY GOT WORSE AND NOW IT READS FULL(BUT ITS NOT) AND JUST OUT OF NOWHERE GOES TO EMPTY AND THE FUEL LIGHT COMES ON. JUST LAST WEEK THE FUEL GAUGE READ EMPTY, WE PUT $50 WORTH OF FUEL IN THE VAN. THE GAUGE READ FULL, WE DID SOME RUNNING AROUND TOWN(WE LIVE IN A SMALL TOWN) SO WE COULDN'T HAVE USED MUCH FUEL. WE WENT HOME AND WAS GOING TO LEAVE AGAIN A FEW HOURS LATER AND WHEN WE STARTED THE VAN AND GOT DOWN THE ROAD, THE FUEL GAUGE WENT TO EMPTY IMMEDIATELY. ITS FRUSTRATING THAT THE FUEL GAUGE DOESN'T DISPLAY CORRECTLY. MY WIFE USUALLY DRIVES THE VAN AND I DON'T WANT HER TO RUN OUT OF GAS AND GET STRANDED SOMEWHERE. I'VE BEEN READING A LOT ABOUT THIS PROBLEM ON THE INTERNET AND I WAS JUST WONDERING HOW MANY PEOPLE DOES IT HAVE TO AFFECT TO WARRANT A RECALL BY GM? DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO GET HURT OR KILLED BEFORE SOMETHING GETS DONE? HAVE ALWAYS BOUGHT GM VEHICLES(NEVER HAD ANY ISSUES) BUT IT DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE IF GM KNEW ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND DECIDED TO DO NOTHING. NOW WERE STUCK PAYING 3 MORE YEARS ON A VAN THAT DOESN'T OPERATE PROPERLY. WE DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO TRADE IT IN FOR SOMETHING ELSE AND DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO GET IT FIXED. VERY FRUSTRATING!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/23/2012 - CONWAY, AR
TRANSMISSION BEGAN SHIFTING HARD IN MARCH 2012 (69998 MILES ON VEHICLE). PROGRESSED TO, SLIPPING WHEN STARTING TO MOVE FROM STOP, AND WOULD CATCH ABRUPTLY CAUSING A LURCH FORWARD. I HAD THE TROUBLE CODES READ, FOUND PO-1811 STORED IN VEHICLE COMPUTER. CONTACTED CHEVY DEALER, AND WAS TOLD TRANSMISSION WAS BAD. THE DEALER STRONGLY SUGGESTED A NEW TRANSMISSION OVER REPAIR/REBUILD, ESTIMATES RANGED FROM $2700.00 TO REPAIR, OR $3000.00 TO REBUILD, AND $3400.00 FOR NEW. ALSO, WAS TOLD THE OLD TRANSMISSION WOULD BE KEPT BY GM AS A "CORE" EVEN WHEN BUYING A "NEW" TRANSMISSION. CONTACTED GM CUSTOMER SERVICE, AND WAS OFFERED A TEARDOWN AND INSPECTION AT $1500.00 MY COST, WITHOUT ANY PROMISE OF ASSISTANCE FROM GM. FROM THAT POINT, I COULD CHOOSE BETWEEN REPAIR/REBUILD, OR NEW TRANSMISSION AT REGULAR PRICES (EXAMPLE: FOR A NEW TRANSMISSION $2100.00 + $1500.00 FOR TEARDOWN = $3600.00, OR $4200.00 FOR REPAIR, AND $4500.00 FOR REBUILD). AT THAT POINT GM WOULD REVIEW THE DEFECTIVE TRANSMISSION DETAILS FOR POSSIBLE MONETARY COMPENSATION. THE CRITERIA FOR GM'S DECISION INCLUDES "COULD THE FAILURE HAVE BEEN PREVENTED, BY ACTION/S FROM THE OWNER". WAS ALSO INFORMED BY THE DEALER SERVICE WRITER, GM REQUESTS OWNERS SERVICE THE TRANSMISSION AT 100,000 MILE INTERVALS AND NO OTHER SERVICE IS REQUIRED FOR PROPER MAINTENANCE. FURTHER, I WAS ASSURED I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO PREVENT THE TRANSMISSIONS FAILURE. ANOTHER EMPLOYEE IN THE SAME DEALERSHIPS SERVICE DEPARTMENT INFORMED ME GM IS VERY AWARE OF THIS TRANSMISSIONS RECORD OF PREMATURE FAILURE, ALSO THAT HE OWNS A LATE MODEL IMPALA, WITH THE SAME TRANSMISSION, WHICH IS ALSO FAILING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/25/2012 - CONCORD, NC
THE SPEEDOMETER STARTED ACTING SPORADIC NOT REGISTERING SPEED ACCURATELY THEN STOPPED WORKING ALL TOGETHER ALSO THE GAS GAUGE DOES NOT REGISTER AT ALL SINCE THE PROBLEM BEGAN .THE LOW FUEL LIGHT DOES OPERATE AS OF RIGHT NOW.I HAVE READ THAT ALOT OF VENTURE OWNERS HAVE THIS PROBLEM IT IS AVERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR 500 JUST FOR THE PARTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/4/2011 - STEPHENVILLE, TX
WE HAVE A 2004 VENTURE. THE SPEEDOMETER STARTED BEING ERRATIC FOR A TIME, FOLLOWED BY THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE, AND THE GAS GAUGE. NOW NONE OF THEM WORK. THE SPEEDOMETER IS STUCK ON 45 MPH, THE GAS IS OVER FULL (STRAIGHT DOWN) BUT SOMETIMES MOVES AROUND AT THE BOTTOM, BUT IT GENERALLY HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH WHETHER OR NOT I HAVE PUT GAS INTO THE VAN. THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE POINTS DOWN AND TO THE LEFT. NONE OF THE CLUSTER HAS WORKED IN OVER 2 YEARS. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THIS HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED CONSIDERING THE AMOUNT OF PEOPLE THAT I HAVE HEARD HAD THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/17/2011 - MILTON, FL
OUR MECHANIC FOUND THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS LEAKING AND THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR THAT PART. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE IS NO RECALL FOR OUR VAN. THE DEALER WAS. THE NHTSA ACTION NUMBER IS EA 07006. WE CALLED GM AND LEFT TWO MESSAGES FOR A REPRESENTATIVE NAMED. PLEASE REQUIRE THE DEALER TO HONOR THE RECALL. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/4/2011 - WINONA, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AND WHEN IT DID START THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE AND FUEL FUMES WERE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CONTINUED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THEY REPLACED THE PRESSURE REGULATOR IN THE FRONT OF THE ENGINE. ALTHOUGH THEY REPAIRED THE VEHICLE, IT CONTINUED TO SHAKE AND FUMES WERE COMING THROUGH THE AIR CONDITIONER VENTS. THE VEHICLE WILL BE TAKEN TO ANOTHER DEALER TO REPAIRED AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THERE WERE NO RECALLS AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,888. UPDATED 09/19/11 THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WAS A BURNING ODOR COMING FROM THE VENTILATION SYSTEM. UPDATED 11/02/11

View Details

VISIBILITY

8/4/2011 - WINONA, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AND WHEN IT DID START THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE AND FUEL FUMES WERE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CONTINUED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THEY REPLACED THE PRESSURE REGULATOR IN THE FRONT OF THE ENGINE. ALTHOUGH THEY REPAIRED THE VEHICLE, IT CONTINUED TO SHAKE AND FUMES WERE COMING THROUGH THE AIR CONDITIONER VENTS. THE VEHICLE WILL BE TAKEN TO ANOTHER DEALER TO REPAIRED AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THERE WERE NO RECALLS AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,888. UPDATED 09/19/11 THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WAS A BURNING ODOR COMING FROM THE VENTILATION SYSTEM. UPDATED 11/02/11

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/4/2011 - MOSCOW MILLS, MO
FEBRUARY 2009 - BEGINNING OF INSTRUMENT CLUSTER PANEL FAILURE - GAS GAUGE NOT FUNCTIONING. HAVE DOCUMENTATION AT MILEAGE 72,512. CONSEQUENCE - FORCED TO FILL UP AT EVERY GAS PURCHASE AND TRACK MILEAGE UNTIL TIME FOR NEXT FILL UP FOR OVER TWO YEARS. NEVER KNEW FOR CERTAIN HOW MUCH GAS WAS IN THE TANK - VERY STRESSFUL. NOVEMBER 2010 - CONTINUING CLUSTER PANEL FAILURE - SPEEDOMETER MALFUNCTIONING UNTIL COMPLETELY OUT BY JANUARY 2011. CONSEQUENCE - UNABLE TO TELL SPEED - UNWILLING TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE LONG DISTANCES AND FULL CONCENTRATION REQUIRED TO JUDGE SPEEDS BY OTHER TRAFFIC. TAKEN IN MARCH 2011 TO LOCAL DEALER, [XXX], FOR REPLACEMENT OF CLUSTER PANEL AT MY EXPENSE OF OVER $550.00 - BEFORE I AGREED TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR THEY ASSURED ME THAT THEY WOULD FLAG THE OLD PANEL FOR DIAGNOSIS INTO THE REASON GAUGES FAILED AS THEY WOULD BE SENDING IT TO GM TO BE REBUILT AND RESOLD. THEY WOULD NOT GIVE THE OLD ONE TO ME UNLESS I PAID THEM FOR IT. THE REPORT THAT I WAS CONSEQUENTLY GIVEN OF THE CAUSE FOR GAUGE FAILURES WAS THAT THE SPEEDOMETER WAS STUCK AT 100 MPH AND GAS GAUGE WAS STUCK ON EMPTY. I WROTE A LETTER TO GM EXECUTIVE AND WAS ADVISED THAT THEY WOULD BE REIMBURSING ME FOR NO PART OF THE REPAIR COST. I WAS ALSO TOLD THAT THEY HAD NO WAY OF TRACKING MY OLD PANEL AS I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALER. I HAD DONE EXTENSIVE RESEARCH INTO DEFECTIVE STEPPER MOTORS AND CLASS ACTION LAWSUITS RESULTING IN PARTIAL RECALLS AND KNEW THAT THEY WERE PERFORMING A COVER UP OF OTHER MODELS THAT WERE EFFECTED. THAT IS WHY THEY WERE NOT COOPERATIVE IN DETERMINING THE CAUSE OF MY GAUGE FAILURES. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

4/27/2011 - APPLING, GA
2004 VENTURE BEGAN OVERHEATING A MONTH AGO. DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS THE RADIATOR. HAD THAT CHANGED OUT. STILL OVERHEATED, NEXT THE TEMP GAUGE, THEN THE THERMOSTAT, WATER PUMP. STILL OVERHEATING. IT HAS NOW SPENT 2 DAYS AT THE DEALERSHIP AND AGAIN THEY HAVE TRIED OTHER OPTIONS. WHEN THEY TOOK IT FOR A TEST DRIVE THIS AFTERNOON IT OVERHEATED AND THEY HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED. I BEGAN SEARCHING THE INTERNET AND I AM FINDING NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS LIKE MINE FOR THE CHEVY VENTURE. SOME OF THE PEOPLE HAVE BEEN HAVING TROUBLE FOR 2 YEARS. I HAVE ALREADY PULLED OUT $1,300 ON THIS PROBLEM! THIS SEEMS TO BE A WIDE SPREAD PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. PLEASE HELP.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds