Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 121 complaints filed for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Tires (2)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (2) Structure (21) Visibility (7)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS: CONCEALMENT DEVICES

6/22/2010 - WANTAGH, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN IT WOULD RAIN, WATER WOULD ENTER THE HEAD LIGHT AND DIRECTIONAL TURN SIGNAL LIGHTS. THE BULBS WERE CONTINUOUSLY BURNING OUT DUE TO CONDENSATION FROM THE WATER. THE FRONT RIGHT DIRECTIONAL BULB CAUSED THE SOCKET AND WIRES TO OVERHEAT. THE DEALER STATED THE FAILURE WAS COMMON AND RECOMMENDED DRILLING A SMALL HOLE IN THE BOTTOM OF THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY TO ALLOW THE WATER TO FLOW OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 66,143.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/25/2010 - PENSACOLA, FL
I HAVE A 2004 CHEVY VENTURE VAN AND MY TEMP GAUGE AND GAS GAUGE ARE NOT WORKING CORRECTLY, NEVER KNOW HOW MUCH GAS I REALLY HAVE AND DON'T KNOW IF MY VAN IS OVER HEATING, THE GAUGE IS POINTING DOWN AND WON'T RESET TO COLD POSITION. I WENT ON LINE TO RESEARCH AND FOUND MANY PEOPLE WITH THE SAME TYPE VAN WITH SAME PROBLEM WITH THE CLUSTER PANEL,I FEEL THIS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FOR A RECALL SINCE THERE ARE SO MANY CASE, AND IT IS QUITE EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/6/2010 - APPOMATTOX, VA
LAST SUMMER I NOTICED MY TEMPERATURE GAGE WAS GOING OVER TO THE HOT MARK WHILE I WAS DRIVING ALONG. I PAY CLOSE ATTENTION TO MY GAUGES AT ALL TIMES,I HAVE 3 DAUGHTERS WITH ME AT ALL TIMES. I PULLED OVER AT A REST AREA AND LET IT SIT A WHILE. 45 MINUTES LATER IT WAS STILL ON THE HOT AS SOON AS I TURNED THE KEY. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT TO OUR MECHANIC AND HE SAID THE AIR CONDITIONING COIL MAY BE CLOGGED AND HE REPAIRED IT. WAS OK FOR A FEW DAYS AND THEN IT WAS RIGHT BACK TO HOT. I HAD THE TEMP. GAUGE SENSOR REPLACED IN DEC.09 AND THAT HASN'T HELPED.MY ENGINE IS NOT HOT BUT MY FEAR IS,WITH MY DAUGHTERS IN THE CAR AND NOT KNOWING IF OR WHEN IT REALLY IS GETTING HOT. IT STAYS ON HOT EVEN IF THEREIS NO AIR OR HEAT ON AND IT CAN SIT IN MY DRIVE FOR 2 DAYS AND WHEN I START IT,IT GOES STRAIGHT TO HOT,AND PAST THE RED PART.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/24/2010 - STRONSGILLE, OH
2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE MINIVAN. INTERMITTENT PROBLEM WITH ABS & TRACTION CONTROL. WHEN CAR HITS A SHARP-HARD BUMP (IE POTHOLE) OR WHEN TURNING SHARP TO PARK, THE ALERT THAT ABS AND TC TURNS ON. HAVE REPLACED ROTORS AND SENSORS BY DEALER AND AUTHORIZED MECHANIC. CHEVY DEALER DENIES THAT HAVING WIRES FROM WHEEL BEARING MODULE TO COMPUTER TIGHT AS GUITAR STRINGS MAY CAUSE TEMPORARY DISCONNECTION OR BAD CONTACTS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING FOR SEVERAL YEARS, DEALER ONLY SOLUTION IS TO AGAIN REPLACE ROTORS (OVER $1000) WITH NO GUARANTEE THAT IT WILL FIX INTERMITTENT ABD AND TC DISABLING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

1/17/2010 - FRANKLIN, NY
2004 CHEVY VENTURE - GAS GAUGE JUMPS WILDLY , GIVES INACCURATE READINGS. DOESN'T SEEM ASSOCIATED WITH THE FUEL PUMP SENDING UNIT. APPEARS TO BE ELECTRICALLY SHORTING, AS WHEN IT PARK IT WILL BOUNCE UP AND DOWN AND IT JUST SEEMS AS SOME SORT OF CURRENT PROBLEM.. STARTED 1 YEAR AGO. TO KNOW THE FUEL LEVEL, WE TRACK THE MILEAGE MANUALLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/17/2010 - FRANKLIN, NY
2004 CHEVY VENTURE - GAS GAUGE JUMPS WILDLY , GIVES INACCURATE READINGS. DOESN'T SEEM ASSOCIATED WITH THE FUEL PUMP SENDING UNIT. APPEARS TO BE ELECTRICALLY SHORTING, AS WHEN IT PARK IT WILL BOUNCE UP AND DOWN AND IT JUST SEEMS AS SOME SORT OF CURRENT PROBLEM.. STARTED 1 YEAR AGO. TO KNOW THE FUEL LEVEL, WE TRACK THE MILEAGE MANUALLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/13/2009 - ELIZABETHTON, TN
I OWN A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE LS. RECENTLY THE SPEEDOMETER BEGAN MALFUNCTIONING. THE NEEDLE ON THE SPEEDOMETER WILL JUMP, NOT RETURN TO ZERO WHEN STOPPED, OR WILL STAY STUCK AT A PREVIOUS SPEED. THE SPEEDOMETER IS CURRENTLY NOT WORKING AT ALL. I HAVE PURCHASED A LEADING REPAIR MANUAL AND FOLLOWED THE TROUBLESHOOTING GUIDE WHICH LEAD ME TO REPLACE THE VSS (VEHICLE SPEED SENSOR). THIS DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. AFTER HOURS OF RESEARCH AND SPEAKING TO SEVERAL MECHANICS, I HAVE FOUND THAT THIS IS A RATHER COMMON DEFECT IN THE ACTUAL GAUGE CLUSTER. ALSO, I HAVE FOUND THAT THERE IS A RATHER LARGE NUMBER OF VENTURE OWNERS THAT HAVE THIS SAME ISSUE. BECAUSE THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM RUNS THROUGH THE SPEEDOMETER, A NEW GAUGE CLUSTER MUST BE RE-PROGRAMMED BY THE DEALER MAKING IT ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM MYSELF AT A REASONABLE PRICE. I FEEL THAT BECAUSE THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE CHEVROLET VENTURE THAT GM SHOULD RECALL THE DEFECTIVE GAUGES AND FIX THE PROBLEM. FURTHERMORE, I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE THE DRIVER HAS NO WAY OF MONITORING THEIR SPEED IN NORMAL OR HAZARDOUS DRIVING CONDITIONS. ALSO, BASED ON MY RESEARCH I HAVE FOUND THAT THE SPEEDOMETER IS THE BEGINNING OF MORE PROBLEMS RELATED TO THE OTHER GAUGES SUCH AS THE FUEL GAUGE AND TEMPERATURE GAUGE. THE CRUISE CONTROL SYSTEM COULD BE AFFECTED ALSO BECAUSE IT USES INFORMATION FROM THE VSS AND THE SPEEDOMETER READING. AN IMPROPER READING ON THE SPEEDOMETER COULD CAUSE A MALFUNCTION IN THE CRUISE CONTROL SYSTEM RESULTING IN AN ACCIDENT. I USE THIS VEHICLE DAILY TO TRANSPORT MY CHILDREN TO AND FROM SCHOOL AND OTHER FAMILY ACTIVITIES SO SAFETY IS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT. CERTAINLY I AM RELYING ON THE ADVISE AND EXPERTISE OF ASE CERTIFIED MECHANICS, MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER, AND OTHER DISAPPOINTED CHEVY OWNERS. I WOULD LIKE CHEVROLET AND GM TO TAKE A LOOK AT THIS ISSUE, AND IF NECESSARY, CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THANK YOU FOR YOU TIME AND ATTENTION IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/22/2009 - KALAMAZOO, MI
CHEVROLET VENTURES SEEM TO HAVE AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM AFFECTING THE RIGHT SIDE (FROM THE DRIVER'S PERSPECTIVE). I'VE NOTICED A LOT WITH THE DRIVING LIGHTS OUT ON THAT SIDE, AFTER I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY OWN. I'VE REPLACED THE BULB IN THE FRONT AS WELL AS IN THE BACK MULTIPLE TIMES. WITHIN A MONTH OR SO, THE BULBS ARE BLOWN OUT AGAIN. THE RIGHT SIDE BLINKERS DON'T WORK IN THE FRONT OR THE BACK AFTER A MONTH OR SO AFTER THEY'RE REPLACED. RECENTLY, I TURNED ON THE BRIGHTS AND THE LIGHTS WENT OUT ALL TOGETHER. WE'VE HAD THIS VAN FOR 4 YEARS AND THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/16/2009 - FORT WORTH, TX
THE ELECTRIC PASSENGER DOOR ON MY 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE HAS REPEATEDLY CLOSED WITH VARIOUS CHILDREN'S BODY PARTS IN ITS PATH. THIS CLOSING HAS OCCURRED WHEN ONE CHILD IS GETTING INTO OR OUT OF THE VAN AND THAT CHILD OR ANOTHER CHILD HAS ACCIDENTALLY PUSHED THE BUTTON TO CLOSE THE DOOR, OR WHEN I HAVE REMOTELY PUSHED THE BUTTON TO CLOSE THE DOOR AND ONE OF THE CHILDREN HAS REACHED BACK IN FOR SOMETHING. THE DOOR DOES NOT STOP, AND CRUSHES WHATEVER IS IN IT'S PATH. FORTUNATELY I HAVE BEEN QUICK ENOUGH TO AVOID ANY SERIOUS INJURIES, BUT MY CHILDREN HAVE BEEN PRETTY BRUISED UP AND MY SEVEN-YEAR-OLD DAUGHTER WAS CUT BY THE DOOR.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: TRUNK LID: LOCK

3/31/2009 - CHATTANOOGA, TN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR TRUNK DOOR NO LONGER WORKED. SHE WOULD ATTEMPT TO OPEN THE LATCH AND POSITION THE REAR LATCH, OR HITCH, IN THE OPEN POSITION ONLY TO HAVE IT SLAM SHUT ON HER. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE LESS THAN 81,817.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds