Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 121 complaints filed for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Tires (2)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (2) Structure (21) Visibility (7)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

8/3/2007 - WILMINGTON, NC
2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE VAN POWER SLIDING DOOR CUSTOMER STATES THAT THE POWER OF THE DOOR ALMOST CRUSHED HER SONS A THE CONSUMER STATED THAT THE POWER SLIDING DOOR TO HER VEHICLE THE PRESSURE AT WHICH THE DOOR CLOSES IS RIDICULOUS. THE CONSUMER STATED HER CHILD NOR HER GRANDMOTHER PROVIDING SUFFICIENT FORCE COULD STOP THE DOOR FROM CLOSING. THE CONSUMER STATED SHE WAS INFORMED BY JEFF CHEVROLET THAT THE DOOR WAS OPERATING AT FACTORY SPECS. THE CONSUMER HAD THE VEHICLE INSPECTED AFTER ALMOST CRUSHING HER SON'S ARM. THE CONSUMER DID A COMPARISON WITH HONDA AND MAZDA, IN THOSE VEHICLES YOU DO NOT HAVE TO USE SO MUCH PRESSURE AND ARE ADJUSTED FOR THE SAFETY OF THE CHILDREN BUT THE VENTURE IS NOT. THE CONSUMER STATED SHE WOULD LIKE THE MANUFACTURER TO LOOK INTO THIS DEFECT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS

4/18/2007 - VIRDEN, IL
I HAVE BEEN STOPPED & WARNED BY OTHERS CONSTANTLY SINCE I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE ABOUT HAVING NO BRAKE LIGHTS, EXCEPT FOR THE THIRD BRAKE LIGHT, ABOVE THE REAR GLASS. I REPLACED TWO BULBS 3057 IN THE TAIL EIGHTS AT LEAST EVERY 3 WEEKS. THE BULBS LOOKED FINE. I HAVE TO REMOVE, SOMETIMES REPLACE, SOMETIMES JUST RESET THE BULBS. BEEN TO THE DEALERSHIP COUNTLESS TIMES ,TO NO AVAIL! VERY FRUSTRATING & DANGEROUS. WILL CAUSE CRUISE CONTROL TO FAIL - GENERALLY THE FIRST WARNING I HAVE TO ALERT ME OF THE TAIL LIGHT FAILURE. JUST WAITING TO BE REAR ENDED!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TAIL LIGHTS

4/18/2007 - VIRDEN, IL
I HAVE BEEN STOPPED & WARNED BY OTHERS CONSTANTLY SINCE I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE ABOUT HAVING NO BRAKE LIGHTS, EXCEPT FOR THE THIRD BRAKE LIGHT, ABOVE THE REAR GLASS. I REPLACED TWO BULBS 3057 IN THE TAIL EIGHTS AT LEAST EVERY 3 WEEKS. THE BULBS LOOKED FINE. I HAVE TO REMOVE, SOMETIMES REPLACE, SOMETIMES JUST RESET THE BULBS. BEEN TO THE DEALERSHIP COUNTLESS TIMES ,TO NO AVAIL! VERY FRUSTRATING & DANGEROUS. WILL CAUSE CRUISE CONTROL TO FAIL - GENERALLY THE FIRST WARNING I HAVE TO ALERT ME OF THE TAIL LIGHT FAILURE. JUST WAITING TO BE REAR ENDED!

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

4/12/2007 - FALLS CHURCH , VA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE RIGHT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR OPENED INTERMITTENTLY. ALSO, THIS FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH. THE DOOR WAS CLOSED MANUALLY AND THE FAILURE CONTINUED TO OCCUR, AND HAS OCCURRED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED. THERE WAS A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN THAT INCLUDED A CHECK LIST. SEVERAL DEALERS HAVE CLEANED THE CONTACTS ON THE DOOR WHICH DIDN'T CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE DEALER MAINTAINED THAT THE ACTUATED CONTROL MODULES COULD BE THE CAUSE. HOWEVER, THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13000, AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 32239.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS

3/30/2007 - PICKERINGTON, OH
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE WITH 65000 MILES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CIRCUIT BOARD WAS BAD ON BOTH SIDES OF THE VEHICLE, WHICH CAUSED THE BRAKE LIGHTS TO FAIL. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE BRAKE LIGHTS FOUR TIMES, AND HAS HAD FOUR DIFFERENT MECHANICS CHECKING AT THE VEHICLE, AND THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT OF THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

3/30/2007 - PICKERINGTON, OH
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE WITH 65000 MILES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CIRCUIT BOARD WAS BAD ON BOTH SIDES OF THE VEHICLE, WHICH CAUSED THE BRAKE LIGHTS TO FAIL. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE BRAKE LIGHTS FOUR TIMES, AND HAS HAD FOUR DIFFERENT MECHANICS CHECKING AT THE VEHICLE, AND THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT OF THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: INTEGRATED CHILD SEAT

3/20/2007 - CLINTON, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE VEHICLE COMES STANDARD WITH A BUILT-IN CHILD SAFETY SEAT. WHILE FASTENED IN THE CAR SEAT THE CONTACT'S 2 YEAR OLD CHILD WAS ABLE TO REACH THE ADULT SEAT BELT, WRAP IT AROUND HIS NECK, AND BEGAN TO CHOKE. AN AIR GUN WAS NEEDED TO REMOVE THE SEAT BELT FROM THE CHILD'S NECK. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE 77000. UPDATED 04/12/070.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: MODULE

2/27/2007 - COLUMBUS, IN
2004 CHEVROLET, VENTURE, 65000 MILES, THE COOLANT TEMPERATURE GAUGE STARTED TO FUNCTION ERRATICALLY, THEN IT JUST GOES UP EVEN PASSED THE RED MARKINGS ON THE INDICATOR. I HAVE REPLACED THE COOLANT TEMPERATURE SENDING UNIT(SENSOR), THE THERMOSTAT, CHECKED ALL THE GROUNDING TO THE PCM BUT EVERYTHING IT'S GOOD. STILL THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE JUST RESETS WHEN I OPEN AND CLOSE THE IGNITION LOCK. I WILL BE TAKING THIS TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP FOR A DIAGNOSTIC ON THE PCM.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

1/25/2007 - SCRANTON, SC
- WHILE DRIVING THE 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURA AT 10 MPH OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY THE CONTACT 'S VEHICLE ACCELERATED AND THE PASSENGER'S SIDE SLIDING DOOR OPENED. IN THE SECOND INCIDENT, THE PASSENGER'S SIDE SLIDING DOOR WAS OPENED WHEN SHE DROVE OUT OF A DEPARTMENT STORE PARKING LOT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/4/2006 - NEWBERN, TN
MY HUSBAND AND I PURCHASED A 2004 CHEVY VENTURE ON OCTOBER 24,2004. IT HAD LESS THAN 6,000 MILES ON IT. ON SEPTEMBER 27,2006, WHILE MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE,THE VAN BEGAN TO SERGE/ STALL. HE PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE AND GOT OUT OF THE VAN. HE NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE HOOD AND FIGURED THAT IT MAY HAVE JUST OVERHEATED( NO WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON ). HE PULLED UP ON THE HOOD AND FLAMES SHOT OUT AT HIM. HE DROPPED THE HOOD DOWN AND WITHIN MINUTES THE VAN WAS COMPLETELY INFLAMED. 911 WAS CALLED TO THE SCENE AS WELL AS LAW ENFORCEMENT. WITH THE EXCEPTION OF SINGED HAIR AND MINOR FACIAL BURNS MY HUSBAND IS OK. THE FIRE INSPECTOR TOLD MY HUSBAND THAT THE FIRE APPARENTLY STARTED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE MOTOR. MOST OF THE TIME MY 3 CHILDREN TRAVELED IN THIS VAN. THEY WOULD HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO ESCAPE THIS FIRE. THE VAN ONLY HAD AROUND 40,000 MILES ON IT . I AM WRITING THIS WITH THE HOPE THAT PEOPLE PAY CLOSE ATTENTION TO SURGING OR STALLING VENTURES. I'M NOT SURE WHAT CAUSED MY VAN TO CATCH ON FIRE. HOPEFULLY THE INSURANCE COMPANY WILL SOON KNOW, BUT I WANTED TO MAKE GM AWARE OF A POTENTIALLY LIFE THREATENING PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds