Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 121 complaints filed for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Tires (2)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (2) Structure (21) Visibility (7)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

8/17/2006 - CHICAGO, IL
: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE HAD BRAKE PROBLEMS FOR ALL FOUR WHEELS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SERVICE DEALER ON 13 OCCASIONS. ON THE 9TH VISIT, THE MANUFACTURER AUTHORIZED A 72,000-MILE WARRANTY. ON 8/14/2006, WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE LEFT REAR SLIDING DOOR FELL OFF THE ROLLER TRACK. THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED AT AN AUTHORIZED BODY SHOP. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

8/17/2006 - CHICAGO, IL
: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE HAD BRAKE PROBLEMS FOR ALL FOUR WHEELS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SERVICE DEALER ON 13 OCCASIONS. ON THE 9TH VISIT, THE MANUFACTURER AUTHORIZED A 72,000-MILE WARRANTY. ON 8/14/2006, WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE LEFT REAR SLIDING DOOR FELL OFF THE ROLLER TRACK. THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED AT AN AUTHORIZED BODY SHOP. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: AIR CONDITIONER

7/23/2006 - BRAWLEY, CA
I PURCHASED A CHEVROLET VENTURE 2004 BRAND NEW IN OCTOBER. NEXT YEAR IN MID MAY THE AIR CONDITIONER WORK GOOD BUT THAT ONLY LAST IT A MONTH OR LESS. NOW I BOUGHT THIS VAN FOR MY BUSINESS IN TRANSPORTATION. I CAN NOT HAVE MY PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE BEING SO HOT. SINCE THEN UNTIL NOW ITS BEEN IN AND OUT OF THE SHOP AND STILL THE AIR CONDITIONER IS NOT WORKING. THE PROBLEM IS THAT HOT AIR COMES OUT AND THE VAN DOES NOT OVERHEAT. THE WEIRD PART IS THAT THE WHEN THE TEMPERATURE RISING THE AIR COMES OUT A LITTLE MORE COOLER BUT NOT LIKE ITS SUPPOSED TO. ITS HARD FOR ME TO BEING TAKING THE VAN IN ALL THE TIME. THIS IS MY VAN THAT I HAVE THE WHEELCHAIR INSTALLED IN FOR MY PASSENGERS. I BOUGHT IT NEW WITH THE CONFIDENCE THAT IT WILL BE IN GOOD CONDITION AND COMFORTABLE MY SELF AND MY PASSENGER. THIS VAN IS USED FOR BUSINESS, SO ITS HARD TO TAKE IT TO THE SHOP AND STILL COMING OUT THE SAME. THE VAN HAS BEEN RECHARGED, THE FILTERS HAVE BEEN CLEANED AND CHANGED, THE AIR DUCT/DOOR HAS BEEN INSPECTED. EVERY THING THAT IS NEED TO BE INSPECTED AND CHANGED HAS BEEN PERFORMED.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/29/2006 - ST. PETERS,, MO
ON OCCASIONS THE WEATHER STRIPPING ON THE SIDE POWER DOOR INTERFERES WITH THE CLOSING AND LOCKING OF THE DOOR. THIS HAS ON THREE OCCASIONS, HAS SUBJECTED MY GRANDSON AND PETS TO BEING POSSIBLY THROWN OUT OF THE VEHICLE SUSTAINING SERIOUS INJURIES THE DEALER ADVISED US THAT THIS WAS NOT THE BEST DESIGNING BUT COULD ONLY REPLACE WITH AN ORIGINAL VERSION OF THE PART. SEEMS TO ME THAT THIS WOULD BE ONLY A BANDAID APPROACH TO A POTENTIALLY SERIOUS PROBLEM. IT IS MY FEELING THAT IS SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

6/25/2006 - OXFORD, PA
STARED HEARING A NOISE BACK IN DECEMBER OF 2005. DIDN'T KNOW WHERE THE NOISE OR WHAT IT WAS UNTIL LAST WEEK. LOOKED IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND NOTICED THE WINDOW VIBRATING. ON FURTHER INVESTIGATION SAW THAT THE WINDOW MOLDING WAS NOT ATTACHED AND CALLED THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT CAR WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THEY WOULD CHARGE ME TO REPLACE MOLDING. TODAY I NOTICED THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW STARTING TO MAKE A NOISE. HAVEN'T HAD THIS CAR TWO YEARS YET AND ONLY 40,000 MILES JUST THINK THAT IT IS WRONG FOR THEM TO NOT FIX THIS PROBLEM. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THIS CAR OVER FIFTY MILES PER HOUR IN FEAR THAT THE WINDOW WILL FLY OUT AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. HAVE THERE BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS PROBLEM?

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/25/2006 - OXFORD, PA
STARED HEARING A NOISE BACK IN DECEMBER OF 2005. DIDN'T KNOW WHERE THE NOISE OR WHAT IT WAS UNTIL LAST WEEK. LOOKED IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND NOTICED THE WINDOW VIBRATING. ON FURTHER INVESTIGATION SAW THAT THE WINDOW MOLDING WAS NOT ATTACHED AND CALLED THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT CAR WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THEY WOULD CHARGE ME TO REPLACE MOLDING. TODAY I NOTICED THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW STARTING TO MAKE A NOISE. HAVEN'T HAD THIS CAR TWO YEARS YET AND ONLY 40,000 MILES JUST THINK THAT IT IS WRONG FOR THEM TO NOT FIX THIS PROBLEM. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THIS CAR OVER FIFTY MILES PER HOUR IN FEAR THAT THE WINDOW WILL FLY OUT AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. HAVE THERE BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS PROBLEM?

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

6/7/2006 - MACOMB, IL
I WAS AVOIDING A HEAD ON COLLISION WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE THAT HAD SWERVED INTO MY LANE OF TRAFFIC. MY VEHICLE WENT TO THE RIGHT DOWN INTO A DITCH PROCEEDED INTO A CULVERT AND EMBANKMENT, OVER A RESIDENCE DRIVEWAY AND HEAD ON INTO A UTILITY POLE. THE IMPACT WITH THE UTILITY POLE WAS JUST TO THE SIDE OF DEAD CENTER IN THE FRONT. THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VAN HAS BEEN CLAIMED AS A TOTAL LOST BY INSURANCE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

2/22/2006 - BRODHEAD, WI
2004 CHEVY VENTURE-THIS VEHICLE WAS OUR CHOICE DUE TO THE CONNIVANCE WITH TWO YOUNG CHILDREN, NOW AGES 2 AND 3 YEARS OLD. THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL INCIDENCES IN WHICH MY ARM HAS BEEN BRUISED BY THE POWER DOOR MECHANISM. ONE OF SUCH INCIDENCES I HAD TAKEN BOTH CHILDREN OUT OF THE CAR AND WAS REACHING BACK INSIDE THE REAR LEFT DOOR TO RETRIEVE THE DIAPER BAG. SOMEHOW THE DOOR MECHANISM WAS TRIGGERED TO CLOSE. I THOUGHT IF I APPLIED PRESSURE TO THE DOOR IT WOULD REVERSE HOWEVER THIS MECHANISM IS SEVERELY DELAYED. THUS THE DOOR MECHANISM WAS NOT TRIGGERED TO REVERSE UNTIL MY ARM WAS COMPLETELY SANDWICHED BETWEEN THE DOOR & DOOR FRAME. BY THE TIME THE DOOR REVERSED MY ARM WAS SORE AND BRUISED. I HAVE OBVIOUSLY LEARNED TO BE VERY CAUTIOUS WITH THIS DOOR NOT TO GET A BODY PART TRAPPED IN THIS DOOR SINCE THAT OCCASION. THIS CAUTIOUSNESS EXTENDS TO BEING OBSESSIVE ABOUT MY CHILDREN AND THEIR ABILITY TO REACH THE DOOR BUTTON & BEING ABLE TO HAVE A LIMB OBSTRUCTING THE DOOR. WE MAKE SURE THE CHILDREN ARE IMMEDIATELY BUCKLED INTO THEIR CAR SEATS TO ENSURE THAT THEY CAN NOT OPEN AND CLOSE THE DOOR. HOWEVER THE FACT THAT I AS A 23 YEAR OLD ADULT HAS TO APPLY CONSIDERABLE PRESSURE TO REVERSE THE DOOR WORRIES ME. ONE DAY I CHOSE TO TEST THE DOOR TO SEE HOW MUCH PRESSURE I WOULD HAVE TO APPLY TO REVERSE THE DOOR I FOUND THAT APPLYING AS MUCH PRESSURE WITH ONE HAND AS POSSIBLE I WAS STILL UNABLE TO REVERSE THE DOOR UNTIL THE DOOR IS WITH IN 4 INCHES OF THE DOOR FRAME REQUIRING AS MUCH PRESSURE AS I WOULD HAVE TO APPLY TO OPERATE A LAWN MOWER. MY CHILDREN DO NOT HAVE THIS AMOUNT OF STRENGTH IN ANY LIMB OF THEIR BODIES. IF FOR SOME REASON THEY WOULD BE IN A SITUATION WHERE THEIR LIMB WOULD BE OBSTRUCTING THIS DOOR THEY WOULD NO DOUBT SUFFER EXTREME INJURY. AS A MOTHER THEIR SAFETY REST ON ME AND I FEEL THAT I AM DOING ALL I CAN TO PREVENT AN INJURY WITH THIS SITUATION HOWEVER I TRULY WISH FOR THIS MOTORIZED MECHANISM TO BE THOROUGHLY INVESTIGATED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

2/17/2006 - PERRYVILLE, MO
ON OR ABOUT JULY OF 2005 WE NOTICED OUR DRIVER BRAKE WAS PUTTING OFF THE REDISH DUST SIGNALING A NEED FOR NEW BRAKE PADS. WE BOUGHT NEW PADS AND MY HUSBAND WENT TO REPLACE THE PADS. THE PADS ON THE DRIVER SIDE WERE SHOT AND NEEDED REPLACED. THE PADS ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WERE BRAND NEW! THERE WASN'T ANY USE OFF THEM. WE PURCHASED THE VAN IN NOV OF 2004. THE VAN HAS ALWAYS HAD NOISE WHEN COMING TO A STOP. I HAD IT EXPLAINED TO ME, FROM A SERVICE TECH AT A LOCAL CHEVY DEALERSHIP, AS MY BRAKES ARE PRESSED BUT MY VAN STILL HAS THE MOTION BEHIND IT TO ALLOW THE ROTOR TO CONT. TURNING, TILL THE COMPLETE STOP. THIS NOISE IS REALLY NOTICEABLE AT HIGHER SPEEDS NEEDING TO STOP. THE VAN AT TIMES DOESN'T FEEL LIKE IT WANTS TO STOP. I FEAR ITS JUST A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE IT DOESN'T. WE HAVE HAD SEVERAL PEOPLE LOOK AT AND THEY ALL SAY IT LOOKS OK, BUT DON'T LIKE THE SOUND IT MAKING. I MADE IT A POINT TO HAVE THE VAN IN THE CHEVY SHOP BEFORE MY 36,000 MILE WARRANTY EXPIRED. THEY TOLD ME THE SAME THING ABOUT THE ROTOR STILL TURNING SLOWLY TILL COMPLETE STOP. BRAKES SHOULD STOP YOUR CAR! MY OLD PARTS I'M NOT SURE IF MY HUSBAND SAVED THEM OR NOT. HE IS CURRENTLY DEPLOYED IN IRAQ. I WILL CHECK WITH HIM. PLEASE CONSIDER CHECKING THE BRAKE SYSTEMS ON THE 2004 VENTURE VANS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

12/8/2005 - EDISON, NJ
FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT REQUEST REGARDING PRUTHVIKA PATEL VS. CHEVROLET & HERTZ.**NSFERRED TO T**. THE COMPLAINANT REPRESENTS A CLIENT WHO SUSTAINED RIGHT WRIST INJURY ON APRIL 2, 2005 WHILE SHE WAS A PASSENGER IN A 2004 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE INJURY WAS INCURRED WHILE SHE ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE POWER SLIDING DOOR. THE COMPLAINANT REQUEST A COPY OF ALL RECORDS FROM NTSB AND NHTSA WITH RESPECT TO GENERAL MOTORS RECALL OF OVER 700,000 MINIVANS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds