Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CARAVAN - 2004 DODGE CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 63 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seats (3) Structure (4)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Power Train (4) Steering (6) Wheels (3)
Engine (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/4/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
2004 DODGE CARAVAN. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO GAS GAUGE PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE VEHICLE IS LEAKING GAS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/9/2014 - DOWNEY, CA
PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR KEEPS COMING OFF TRACK FOR NO APPARENT REASON. JUST OPERATING THE DOOR CAUSES THIS TO HAPPEN, AND IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION TOO, WHICH CAN BE VERY DANGEROUS, BECAUSE OUR VEHICLE IS MODIFIED BY BRAUN FOR HANDICAP ACCESSIBILITY. THERE IS A METAL RAMP WHICH WILL COME DOWN IF THE DOOR OPENS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/10/2013 - DAMASCUS, MD
AS MENTIONED BY SEVERAL OTHER POSTINGS, THE CARAVAN ENGINE WILL STALL OUT AFTER THE GAS TANK IS FILLED. THIS HAPPENS ALMOST EVERY TIME THE VEHICLE IS FUELED. IT WILL STALL OUT WITHIN A FEW MINUTES OF DRIVING AFTER LEAVING THE GAS STATION. IT HAS STALLED OUT IN TRAFFIC, AT STOP LIGHTS, AND NOW I AVOID TRAVELING ON THE ROADWAY FOR SEVERAL MINUTES AFTER FUELING IF POSSIBLE, CHOOSING INSTEAD TO TRAVEL THROUGH PARKING LOTS OR BACK ROADS BEFORE ENTERING ANY MAIN ARTERIES. A SERVICE REPAIRMAN AT THE DEALERSHIP SAID HE HAD NEVER HEARD OF SUCH A THING AND HAD NO IDEA WHAT THE PROBLEM COULD BE. ANOTHER MECHANIC MENTIONED IT MIGHT BE A VALVE IN THE TOP OF THE TANK THAT IS DEFECTIVE BUT THE ONLY REPAIR IS TO REPLACE THE WHOLE GAS TANK AS THE PART IS NOT A SEPARATE PIECE. BASED ON MY OWN ONLINE RESEARCH, I THINK THIS IS A DEFECT WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL.

View Details

ENGINE

11/15/2013 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
I WAS TRAVELING ON THE FREEWAY AT SPEED OR SLIGHTLY ABOVE WHEN MY GAS LIGHT WENT ON AND THE VAN STARTED TO SPUTTER. THEN THE ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON AND MY SPEED DECREASED TO APPX 40 MPH. I IMMEDIATELY GOT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD DURING RUSH HOUR AND CARS SPEEDING BY ME. IT WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND SCARY. A POLICE OFFICER STOPPED TO ASSIST ME AND TRY TO GET ME TOWED. I MADE IT TO THE NEXT GAS STATION. I ADDED GAS AND OIL. HOWEVER, DUE TO THE FACT THAT IT WAS SHAKING AND NOT ABLE TO MAKE IT ABOVE 40 MPH, I DECIDED TO HAVE IT TOWED HOME UNTIL A DECISION COULD BE MADE ABOUT WHAT TO DO. THE NEXT MORNING WE TOWED TO OUR MECHANIC AND IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE ENGINE DROPPED. THE BOLTS THAT HELD IT IN FAILED. I AM LUCKY. NOW WE HAVE THE ENGINE BACK UP IN PLACE AND ARE DETERMINING WHAT ELSE IS BROKEN DUE TO THIS FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/15/2013 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
I WAS TRAVELING ON THE FREEWAY AT SPEED OR SLIGHTLY ABOVE WHEN MY GAS LIGHT WENT ON AND THE VAN STARTED TO SPUTTER. THEN THE ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON AND MY SPEED DECREASED TO APPX 40 MPH. I IMMEDIATELY GOT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD DURING RUSH HOUR AND CARS SPEEDING BY ME. IT WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND SCARY. A POLICE OFFICER STOPPED TO ASSIST ME AND TRY TO GET ME TOWED. I MADE IT TO THE NEXT GAS STATION. I ADDED GAS AND OIL. HOWEVER, DUE TO THE FACT THAT IT WAS SHAKING AND NOT ABLE TO MAKE IT ABOVE 40 MPH, I DECIDED TO HAVE IT TOWED HOME UNTIL A DECISION COULD BE MADE ABOUT WHAT TO DO. THE NEXT MORNING WE TOWED TO OUR MECHANIC AND IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE ENGINE DROPPED. THE BOLTS THAT HELD IT IN FAILED. I AM LUCKY. NOW WE HAVE THE ENGINE BACK UP IN PLACE AND ARE DETERMINING WHAT ELSE IS BROKEN DUE TO THIS FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/27/2013 - MONTGOMERY, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP, THE VEHICLE STALLED AS THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 101,224. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/26/2013 - FLORIDA 33917, FL
I REPLACED THE BRAKES ON MY 2004 DODGE CARAVAN WITH DURALAST BRAKES FROM AUTO ZONE. THERE IS A SEVERE PROBLEM WITH THE TOLERANCES ON THE PADS. I HAVE BEEN INSTALLING BRAKES FOR 50 YEARS. THERE IS A SEVER DEFECT WITH THESE REPLACEMENT PARTS. THE PADS WILL NOT ALLOW THE CALIPER TO RETRACT THE PADS WEDGE AGAINST THE ROTOR-DISC. THEY CAUSED A VEHICLE FIRE FROM THE EXTREME HEAT. I CONTACTED AUTO ZONE AND INSTALLED ANOTHER SET . THIS TIME IT CAUSED THE BRAKE ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE TO OVERHEAT. I GOT A THIRD SET THIS TIME I MEASURED THE PADS WITH A VERNIER CALIPER ACCURATE TO 1/1000 INCH AND THEY VARIED BY A 1/10 OF AN INCH WHICH IS OUTRAGEOUS. THAT JUST ACCOUNTS FOR UNACCEPTABLE MEASUREMENTS AND NOT SPECIAL OR ORIENTATIONAL DEFECTS WHICH I SUSPECT EXIST BUT HAVE NO EXACT PATTERN TO COMPARE. THESE BRAKES ARE AN EXTREME HAZARD.

View Details

WHEELS

7/31/2013 - GILBERT, AZ
I HAD MY TIRES ROTATED AT COSTCO WHERE THEY WERE PURCHASED IN 2012. IN THE SPRING OF 2013, I WAS GOING TO PUT NEW BRAKES ON THE REAR OF MY 2004 MINIVAN, AND COULD NOT GET TWO OF THE LUG NUTS OFF. SO I JUST PUT IT OFF FOR A WHILE. ON JULY 30, 2013, I WENT OUT TO GET IN MY VAN AND HAD A FLAT TIRE ON THAT SAME WHEEL. I ATTEMPTED TO REMOVE THE TIRE AND TWO OF THE STUD BOLTS BROKE. I REMOVED THE REST OF THE LUGNUTS AND TOOK THE TIRE TO BE REPAIRED AT COSTCO. ON THE 31ST, I TOOK MY VAN TO AN AUTO REPAIR SHOP AND TOLD THEM OF THE PROBLEM, SO I WANTED THEM TO PUT NEW BRAKES ON AND REPLACE THE WHEEL STUDS. AS THEY WERE DOING THE REPAIR, TWO MORE OF THE STUDS BROKE. THIS IS NOW 4 WHEEL STUDS ON THE SAME WHEEL. NONE OF THE LUG NUTS WERE REMOVABLE FROM THESE BOLTS. I THOUGHT THAT COSTCO HAD OVERTIGHTENED THE LUG NUTS. AFTER LOOKING ONLINE AND SEEING THAT SO MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM, I AM WONDERING IF THE BOLTS ARE DEFECTIVE. IN 50 YEARS OF DRIVING CARS AND REPAIRING A LOT OF THEM MYSELF, I HAVE NEVER HAD A BROKEN WHEEL STUD. I AM THANKFUL THIS DID NOT HAPPEN ON THE ROAD SOMEWHERE IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE. IF THESE BOLTS ARE DEFECTIVE, HOW STRONG ARE THEY WHEN I AM DRIVING AT A HIGH SPEED ON THE FREEWAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/14/2013 - STONE MOUNTAIN, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT OVER THE COURSE OF FIVE YEARS, WHENEVER HE FILLED THE FUEL TANK THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL IMMEDIATELY AFTER. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER ON THREE DIFFERENT OCCASIONS BUT THE NO CAUSE FOR THE FAILURE WAS DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 91,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

2/21/2013 - WALLINGFORD, CT
MY FAMILY BEGAN NOTICING A GAS SMELL SEVERAL MONTHS AGO. IT WAS MORE NOTICEABLE WHEN EXITING THE VEHICLE AND WHEN IN A CLOSED GARAGE. AT FIRST I THOUGHT IT MIGHT BE FROM SOME GAS SPILL ON FUELING. I DID NOT SEE ANY LEAKS ON THE GROUND OR IN THE ENGINE AREA. I JUST HAD THE VAN SERVICED AT THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS A GAS LEAK. UPON CLOSER INSPECTION IT APPEARS THERE IS A VERY SLOW LEAK (SEEPAGE) COMING AT THE CONNECTION OFF THE FUEL PUMP AND FUEL LINE. THIS LOOKS LIKE A TWIST-OFF CONNECTION. THE DEALER TOLD ME IT WOULD COST $96/HR TO PINPOINT AND DIAGNOSIS THE EXACT PROBLEM. I JUST FOUND ANOTHER PERSON ON THE WEB WITH THE EXACT SAME COMPLAINT. I HAVE NOT YET HAD AN "EXACT DIAGNOSIS" OR REPAIR MADE. UPDATED 03/26/13 THE CONSUMER STATED THE FUEL PUMP WAS INSPECTED AND REPLACED BY A LOCAL DEALER. THEY CONFIRMED THE PUMP WAS LEAKING THROUGH A CRACKED HOUSING. THE GAS TANK WAS STAINED BY THE FUEL LEAKING DOWN UPON IT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds