Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CARAVAN - 2004 DODGE CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 63 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seats (3) Structure (4)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Power Train (4) Steering (6) Wheels (3)
Engine (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/3/2011 - NILES, MI
WHILE DRIVING IN CITY TRAFFIC, I FELT SLUGGISH ACCELERATION FROM A STOP LIGHT. THE NEXT STOP LIGHT THE BRAKES FELT HARD, AND AGAIN ACCELERATION WAS SLOW. AFTER A FEW MINUTES OF DRIVING I SMELLED MY BRAKES BURNING AND I TOOK THE CAR IN TO THE CLOSEST REPAIR SHOP. SMOKE WAS POURING OUT OF BOTH FRONT WHEEL WELLS. BRAKES LOCKED, PADS AND ROTORS BURNT, MASTER CYLINDER NOT ALLOWING FLUID TO RETURN. MASTER CYLINDER REPLACED WITH FRONT PADS AND OTHER WORK. EXACT SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED 15 WEEKS LATER. DIFFERENT SHOP. REPLACED ABS UNIT. SAME PROBLEM ENCOUNTERED 8 WEEKS LATER AFTER MINIMAL DRIVING. SHOP FIXED THE PROBLEM, BUT NO WRITE UP BECAUSE HE FIXED FOR FREE. 1 YEAR LATER, SAME PROBLEM. BRAKES LOCKED, BRAKES BURNING, BRAKES SMOKING. IT SITS IN MY DRIVEWAY AS I TRY TO DETERMINE WHAT TO DO ABOUT THIS CAR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/22/2011 - ASBURY, NJ
THIS COMPLAINT IS ABOUT ANOTHER 2004 DODGE CARAVAN THAT STALLS AFTER FILLING UP THE TANK. THE PROBLEM IS THAT THE STALLING OCCURS WITHOUT WARNING-I.E. IN THE MIDDLE OF CROSSING AN INTERSECTION OR,SAY, PULLING OUT OF THE GAS STATION INTO TRAFFIC! SPOKE WITH CHRYSLER THIS MORNING ABOUT IT AND THEY SEEM OBLIVIOUS TO THE PROBLEM. KIND OF HARD TO BELIEVE SINCE ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS GOOGLE "CARAVAN STALLS AFTER FILLING UP" AND THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ONLINE. MECHANICS ARE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM BUT THE GENERAL PUBLIC ONLY SEEMS TO BE AWARE AFTER THE OCCURRENCE! PLEASE TAKE SOME TIME TO CHECK INTO THIS BEFORE SOME LITTLE KID GETS HURT.

View Details

STEERING

3/16/2011 - WINNIPEG, 00
POWER STEERING PRESSURE HOSE LEAKING - REPLACED TWO TIMES IN THREE YEARS - NO RECALL ON THIS ITEM, ADVISED BY DEALER THAT THIS IS A FREQUENT REPAIR AND IS SERIOUS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/22/2010 - WARWICK, RI
THIS COMPLAINT IS FOR A 2004 DODGE CARAVAN THE PROBLEM OCCURS WHEN THE GAS TANK IS FILLED. THE VEHICLE STALLS AND RUNS ROUGH FOR SEVERAL MILES AND SOMETIMES MANY MORE. I BELIEVE THE DEFECT IS THE LIQUID/VAPOR VALVE BUILT INTO THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK. IT FAILS AND ALLOWS FUEL INTO THE EVAC CANISTER AND VAPOR LINES WHICH COULD EXPLODE OR CAUSE A FIRE AS THEY ARE NOT DESIGNED TO HOLD GASOLINE. CHRYSLER SEEMS TO CARE LESS. I'M SURE WHEN PEOPLE START TO BURN TO DEATH SOMETHING WILL BE DONE. THANK YOU

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/8/2010 - WILLOUGHBY, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE CARAVAN. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO REPLACE A FLAT TIRE HOWEVER, SHE WAS UNABLE TO REMOVE THE SPARE TIRE DUE TO A DEFECTIVE CABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR FACILITY WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED BY THE MECHANIC THAT THE CABLE WOULD NEED TO BE SEVERED IN ORDER TO RELEASE THE SPARE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED NOR WAS THE WIRE SEVERED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/8/2009 - ST. MARYS, OH
THE ISSUE IS WITH THE DODGE CARAVANS 2004 ECM'S, THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF THESE PARTS GOING OUT ON THESE VANS. I JUST HAD MINE GO OUT ON MY WAY TO OSU HOSPITAL TWO HOURS AWAY FROM HOME. THERE WAS NO WARNING AT ALL ONE MIN MY VAN IS FINE THE NEXT IT JERKED,ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND VAN DROPS IN LOW GEAR AND WILL NOT SHIFT. HAD TESTED BY DEALER WITH SIMULATOR AND IT WAS THE ECM, I DID SOME CHECKING TO SEE IF THERE WAS A RECALL,TO MY SURPRISE NO RECALL BUT THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH THESE VANS. THE ISSUE IS: IF KNOWN PROBLEM AND THE REPAIR PRICE IS VERY COSTLY WHY HAS THERE NOT BEEN A RECALL? IN MY CASE THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT THANKFULLY, NOW HAD WE NOT BEEN IN TRAFFIC THAT WAS SLOW MOVING WE WOULD HAVE FOR SURE CAUSED ACCIDENT WHEN IT DROPPED IN TO LOW GEAR. THESE VANS A NORMALLY USED FOR FAMILIES AND MOST OF US CAN NOT AFFORD THE PRICE IT COST TO HAVE OUR VAN FIXED. I MYSELF DID ALOT OF CHECKING AROUND ON THIS ISSUE BEFORE EVEN CONSIDERING TO FILE THIS AND DECIDED THAT WE AS THE OWNERS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR A VERY WELL KNOWN PROBLEM WITH THESE VANS IT SHOULD BE THE MAKERS RESPONSIBILITY TO DO A RECALL AND FIX IT. THE PART ALONE WAS TO COST $750.00, TEST DONE TO SEE IF THAT'S WHAT IT WAS COST $140.00 AND GRAND TOTAL WITH LABOR $1200.00 NOW THANKFUL I HAD THE RESOURCES TO GET THIS BUT TO THOSE OF US WHO DO NOT THEY ARE OUT OF FAMILY TRANSPORTATION. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ATTENTION IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

CHILD SEAT

8/25/2009 - FREDERICK, MD
I USE THE EVENFLO CHASE DLX BOOSTER CAR SEAT FOR MY 3 YEAR OLD. MOST OF THE TIME WE DON'T HAVE OCCASION TO REMOVE THE SEAT, BUT BECAUSE I WAS LEAVING HER WITH MY MOM OVERNIGHT, I WANTED TO TAKE THE SEAT OUT FOR HER USE. WHEN I TRIED TO REINSTALL THE SEAT THE FOLLOWING EVENING, THE LOWER "TETHER" SNAPPED COMPLETELY OUT AT THE PLASTIC "BOLT" ON THE BACK OF THE SEAT. THERE WAS NO WAY TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND I HAD TO INSTALL THE SEAT WITH THE SEAT BELT AND "H CLIP". MY CONCERN IS IF I HADN'T UNINSTALLED/REINSTALLED THE SEAT, USING THE VEHICLE TETHER SYSTEM, AND I HAD TO MAKE A SUDDEN STOP OR BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT, MY DAUGHTER MAY HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED. THE SEAT IS STILL USABLE WITH THE SEAT BELT, HOWEVER, THIS MATTER IS OF GREAT CONCERN. I DON'T WANT ANY OTHER PARENT TO NOT KNOW ABOUT THIS DEFECT AND THINK THEIR CHILD IS SAFE. (RELATED VEHICLE INFORMATION: MODEL YEAR=2004, MAKE=DODGE, MODEL=CARAVAN).

View Details

VISIBILITY

7/6/2009 - SURPRISE, AZ
CLOSED ALL DOORS USING THE KEY FOB AND WENT TO CHURCH. THE REAR SLIDING PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN WITH THE KEY FOB. GOT INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND YOU CAN NOT MANUALLY PULL THE LEVER UP. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD. IT APPEARS THE PASSENGER DOOR IS BEGINNING TO MALFUNCTION ALSO. KEY FOB WON'T OPEN IT, BUT YOU CAN OPEN MANUALLY. TIRES WEAR OUT QUICKLY IN THE FRONT. I ALSO LOST A TAIL LIGHT ON THE HIGHWAY. IT JUST SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE. I HAVE NOTICED THE SAME THING BEGINNING TO HAPPEN TO THE OTHER TAIL LIGHT. DODGE IS MAKING A KILLING ON THESE. THEY ARE APPROXIMATELY 113 DOLLARS!!! NOW MY AIR CONDITIONER HAS COLD AIR , BUT NOT BLOWING.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

7/6/2009 - SURPRISE, AZ
CLOSED ALL DOORS USING THE KEY FOB AND WENT TO CHURCH. THE REAR SLIDING PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN WITH THE KEY FOB. GOT INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND YOU CAN NOT MANUALLY PULL THE LEVER UP. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD. IT APPEARS THE PASSENGER DOOR IS BEGINNING TO MALFUNCTION ALSO. KEY FOB WON'T OPEN IT, BUT YOU CAN OPEN MANUALLY. TIRES WEAR OUT QUICKLY IN THE FRONT. I ALSO LOST A TAIL LIGHT ON THE HIGHWAY. IT JUST SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE. I HAVE NOTICED THE SAME THING BEGINNING TO HAPPEN TO THE OTHER TAIL LIGHT. DODGE IS MAKING A KILLING ON THESE. THEY ARE APPROXIMATELY 113 DOLLARS!!! NOW MY AIR CONDITIONER HAS COLD AIR , BUT NOT BLOWING.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/6/2009 - SURPRISE, AZ
CLOSED ALL DOORS USING THE KEY FOB AND WENT TO CHURCH. THE REAR SLIDING PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN WITH THE KEY FOB. GOT INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND YOU CAN NOT MANUALLY PULL THE LEVER UP. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD. IT APPEARS THE PASSENGER DOOR IS BEGINNING TO MALFUNCTION ALSO. KEY FOB WON'T OPEN IT, BUT YOU CAN OPEN MANUALLY. TIRES WEAR OUT QUICKLY IN THE FRONT. I ALSO LOST A TAIL LIGHT ON THE HIGHWAY. IT JUST SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE. I HAVE NOTICED THE SAME THING BEGINNING TO HAPPEN TO THE OTHER TAIL LIGHT. DODGE IS MAKING A KILLING ON THESE. THEY ARE APPROXIMATELY 113 DOLLARS!!! NOW MY AIR CONDITIONER HAS COLD AIR , BUT NOT BLOWING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds