Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1261 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (54) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (469) Steering (38) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (6) Structure (433) Vehicle Speed Control (72)
Engine (40) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (7) Suspension (39) Visibility (102)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes (16) Tires (17) Visibility Wiper (11)
Equipment (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (40)
Exterior Lighting (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/10/2017 - DUNBAR, PA
BOUGHT A 2004 FORD EXPLORER IN MARCH 22, 2017 FROM LBSI AUTOMOTIVE. SEEN A CRACK IN REAR PANEL, DIDN'T THINK MUCH OF IT. ON JULY 9 2017 WENT TO OPEN LIFT GATE AT WALMART AND HINGE BUSTED AND WINDOW SHATTERED ON ME AND MY HUSBAND HIT MY FACE GLASS ALL OVER ME, CUT MY HUSBAND IN FEW PLACES, . LOOKING ONLINE TO REPLACE IT AND SEEN THAT THE CRACK IN REAR PANEL WAS CAUSING PROBLEMS. I HAD A 3 MONTH OLD SON IN BACK SEAT AND THANK GOD IT DIDN'T GET ON HIM. MY OPINION THE DEALER SHOULD HAVE BEEN AWARE OF THIS AND TOLD US.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/31/2017 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE ABOUT 70MPH. I WAS IN THE FAR LEFT LANE. MY EXPLORER SUDDENLY LOST PRESSURE TRIED HITTING THE GAS PEDAL TO THE FLOOR, RPMS, STILL DROPPING, NO FUEL PRESSURE AT ALL. I WAS TRYING DESPERATELY TO GET OVER AT THE SAME TIME TRYING TO TAKE INTO ACCOUNT THE SPEED OF THE OTHER VEHICLES AND IF I WAS GOING FAST ENOUGH TO MAKE IT OVER TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC. BY THE TIME I MADE IT OVER TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER I WAS LITERALLY GOING ABOUT 5MPH. IT WAS THE MOST INTENSE MOMENT IN MY LIFE, CAR, TRUCKS, TRACTOR TRAILERS MOVING AT 70+MPH DON'T SEE YOU UNTIL THEY ARE UP ON YOU. I HAVE RESEARCHED AND FORD HAS KNOWN ISSUES WITH THEIR THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY. INSTEAD OF TAKING CARE THE ISSUE THEY WAIT UNTIL SOMETHING CATASTROPHIC HAPPENS TO TAKE CARE OF IT. THIS UNACCEPTABLE THEY KNOW THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THIS PART AND THEY WAIT AND WAIT UNTIL SOME MAGICAL NUMBER OR LORD FORBIDS SOMEONE DIES TRYING TO GET OFF THE ROAD. YOU CALL THEM AND THEY TELL YOU "NO RECALLS ON YOUR VEHICLE AT THIS TIME KEEP YOUR RECEIPT IF YOU GET IT REPAIRED INCASE A RECALL OCCURS IN THE FUTURE" WHAT THIS MEANS IS, "THEY PROBABLY KNOW THERE IS AN ISSUE BUT ENOUGH PEOPLE HAVEN'T COMPLAINED"! THEY HAVE LAWSUITS BEING FILED AS WE SPEAK SO I'M ASKING "NHTSA" TO ISSUE AN INVESTIGATION ON OUR BEHALF. EVERYONE PLEASE MAKE YOUR VOICES HEARD!!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/18/2017 - INDEP, MO
I WAS IN MY DRIVEWAY AND I POPPED MY BACK WINDOW, SO I COULD GET SOME ITEMS OUT OF MY BACK PART OF MY VEHICLE. WHEN I WENT TO CLOSE THE BACK WINDOW, MY WINDOW FELL SIDEWAYS, ALMOST BUSTING ME UPSIDE MY HEAD. I'VE READ A FEW THINGS SAYING THAT THIS WAS A RECALL ON THE YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL OF MY VEHICLE. I'M NOT SURE HOW TO GO ABOUT FINDING OUT IF THAT IS CORRECT OR NOT. IF IT WASN'T RECALLED, IT SHOULD OF BEEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/5/2017 - RIVERDALE, GA
WHILE TRAVELING ON THE I285 INTERSTATE WE HEARD A LOUD POP/ SNAP AND WE WERE TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHERE IT CAME FROM, MY DAUGHTER NOTICED GLASS SHARDS ON CLOTHES AND THAT TS WHEN WE LOOKED UP AND REALIZED THE MOONROOF HAD SHATTERED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2017 - PORTLAND, OR
THERE IS A CRACK RUNNING VERTICALLY THROUGH THE ENTIRE REAR PANEL JUST BELOW THE WINDOW. IT RUNS RIGHT ALONG SIDE THE FORD EMBLEM. THIS HAPPENED IN DEC. 2014. I DO NOT KNOW/RECALL IF THE VEHICLE WAS MOVING OR NOT. I JUST DISCOVERED THE CRACK. I THOUGHT THAT IT HAD HAPPENED BECAUSE WE WERE VISITING BEND, OR AND IT WAS EXTREMELY COLD. THIS ISN'T A SAFETY ISSUE I DON'T BELIEVE. BUT, GIVEN I SEE AT LEAST ONE EXPLORER EVERY 2-3 DAYS WITH THE SAME CRACK IT SEEMS TO ME THAT FORD SHOULD FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/6/2017 - HARRISBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, AN OVERDRIVE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WHILE THE VEHICLE DECREASED IN SPEED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 127,695.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/5/2017 - JEFFERSON, WI
I HAVE ALREADY PUT A COMPLAINT IN ABOUT MY THROTTLE BODY ISSUE. THIS EVENING I WENT ABOUT A MILE AND A HALF, AND MY WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND MY TRUCK STARTED TO NOT TO BE ABLE TO MOVE. I PULLED OVER, TURNED IT OFF. WAITED A BIT AND RESTARTED IT. THIS TIME IT TOOK A BIT TO GET IT TO START UP. I THEN PROCEEDED TO GO BACK HOME BECAUSE OF HOW IT WAS ACTING A MILE AND A HALF AFTER DRIVING, NOT OFTEN TWO MINUTES LATER IT HAPPENS AGAIN, AND THE ENGINE STARTED CHUGGING, I COULDN'T MOVE, AND I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED AGAIN! I THEN AGAIN TURNED IT OFF AND WAITED AND THEN STARTED THE TRUCK UP. IT TOOK SOMETIME ONCE AGAIN TO START. I FINALLY MADE IT BACK HOME IN TEARS. I WAS ABLE TO GET CODES OFF, SINCE I PICKED A UP A CODE RAFFIA FEW DAYS PRIOR. I GOT CODE P2104, P2111, AND P2112. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. I WILL BE CALLING FORD TOMORROW!

View Details

ENGINE

3/5/2017 - JEFFERSON, WI
I HAVE ALREADY PUT A COMPLAINT IN ABOUT MY THROTTLE BODY ISSUE. THIS EVENING I WENT ABOUT A MILE AND A HALF, AND MY WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND MY TRUCK STARTED TO NOT TO BE ABLE TO MOVE. I PULLED OVER, TURNED IT OFF. WAITED A BIT AND RESTARTED IT. THIS TIME IT TOOK A BIT TO GET IT TO START UP. I THEN PROCEEDED TO GO BACK HOME BECAUSE OF HOW IT WAS ACTING A MILE AND A HALF AFTER DRIVING, NOT OFTEN TWO MINUTES LATER IT HAPPENS AGAIN, AND THE ENGINE STARTED CHUGGING, I COULDN'T MOVE, AND I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED AGAIN! I THEN AGAIN TURNED IT OFF AND WAITED AND THEN STARTED THE TRUCK UP. IT TOOK SOMETIME ONCE AGAIN TO START. I FINALLY MADE IT BACK HOME IN TEARS. I WAS ABLE TO GET CODES OFF, SINCE I PICKED A UP A CODE RAFFIA FEW DAYS PRIOR. I GOT CODE P2104, P2111, AND P2112. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. I WILL BE CALLING FORD TOMORROW!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/5/2017 - JEFFERSON, WI
I HAVE ALREADY PUT A COMPLAINT IN ABOUT MY THROTTLE BODY ISSUE. THIS EVENING I WENT ABOUT A MILE AND A HALF, AND MY WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND MY TRUCK STARTED TO NOT TO BE ABLE TO MOVE. I PULLED OVER, TURNED IT OFF. WAITED A BIT AND RESTARTED IT. THIS TIME IT TOOK A BIT TO GET IT TO START UP. I THEN PROCEEDED TO GO BACK HOME BECAUSE OF HOW IT WAS ACTING A MILE AND A HALF AFTER DRIVING, NOT OFTEN TWO MINUTES LATER IT HAPPENS AGAIN, AND THE ENGINE STARTED CHUGGING, I COULDN'T MOVE, AND I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED AGAIN! I THEN AGAIN TURNED IT OFF AND WAITED AND THEN STARTED THE TRUCK UP. IT TOOK SOMETIME ONCE AGAIN TO START. I FINALLY MADE IT BACK HOME IN TEARS. I WAS ABLE TO GET CODES OFF, SINCE I PICKED A UP A CODE RAFFIA FEW DAYS PRIOR. I GOT CODE P2104, P2111, AND P2112. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. I WILL BE CALLING FORD TOMORROW!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/28/2017 - JEFFERSON, WI
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY GOING 60MPG, OUT OF NO WHERE MY FORD EXPLORER STOPS MOVING AND DECREASES IN SPEED FAST. AT THAT SAME TIME A WRENCH SYMBOL POPPED UP ON MY DASH. I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED DUE TO THE SPEED DROPPING SO FAST, I COULD NOT PULL OVER FAST ENOUGH. ONCE PULLED OVER, I TURNOFF MY FORD FOR A FEW MINUTES. AFTER A FEW MINUTES I STARTED IT BACK UP. THE WRENCH SYMBOL WAS GONE, I WAS ABLE TO THEN ACCELERATE AND GET TO THE CORRECT SPEED FOR THE SPEED LIMIT. ONCE I GOT HOME I STOPPED AT MY LOCAL SHOP AND THEY SCANNED THE COMPUTER TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON. I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS MY THROTTLE BODY. I WAS NOT GIVING ANY CODES AND THE SHOP OWNER CLEARED THE CODES OUT OF THE SYSTEM. HE TOLD ME THAT IF IT COMES BACK HE DID SAY THAT IF IT COMES BACK I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE MY THROTTLE BODY. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS I KNOW THERE ARE RECALLS THAT ARE BEING PETITION ON OTHER FORD VEHICLES AND I HAVE READ MANY COMPLAINTS ON OTHER WEBSITES IN REGARDS TO THIS ISSUE FORD SHOULD REALLY REPLACE THESE BECAUSE THEY CAN CAUSE A VERY HAZARDOUS ACCIDENT WHEN IT THE THROTTLE BODY STOPS PERFORMING. I HOPE THIS CAN BE LOOKED INTO AND CORRECTED IN A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME I KNOW THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS ISSUE. THANK YOU

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds