Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1267 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (56) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (472) Steering (39) Unknown Or Other (30)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (6) Structure (435) Vehicle Speed Control (73)
Engine (40) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (7) Suspension (39) Visibility (102)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes (16) Tires (17) Visibility Wiper (11)
Equipment (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (40)
Exterior Lighting (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 115
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/28/2017 - WOODRUFF, SC
WELL WE JUST BOUGHT THIS EXPLORER AND JUST AS I HAVE READ FROM OTHERS ON THIS WEBSITE OUR EXPLORER IS DOING SIMILAR THINGS. SUCH AS SHIFTING IN REVERSE TAKES 3-7 SECONDS TO TAKE HOLD, GOING UP THE MOUNTAINS THE SUV HAD MAJOR KICKBACKS AND JERKS. I HAVE NOT TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP AS OF NOW. WILL MAKE AN APT. AND PUT RESULTS LATER.

View Details

STEERING

11/23/2017 - BLAIRSVILLE, PA
ALL FOUR SEALS WHERE LEAKING INCLUDING PINION SEALS. CLUNKING NOISE 40 TO 50MPH WHEN YOU LET GO OF THE GAS ,HOLDS BACK,HEATER GAUGE+MPH GAUGE DON'T WORK MOST.OF THE TIME.PAINT CHIPPING AWAY ALL OVER.REPLACED ALL SEALS 5 TIMES +YOKE CVHALF SHAFT. REPLACED FRONT DIFFERENTIAL STILL MAKING THE NOISE.POOR LIGHTING AT NIGHT.IT HAS A MISS FIRE GAVE IT A TUNEUP AND STILL IS DOING IT. RADIO VOLUME WON'T TURN DOWN IT GOES LOUDER WHEN TURNING DOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/23/2017 - BLAIRSVILLE, PA
ALL FOUR SEALS WHERE LEAKING INCLUDING PINION SEALS. CLUNKING NOISE 40 TO 50MPH WHEN YOU LET GO OF THE GAS ,HOLDS BACK,HEATER GAUGE+MPH GAUGE DON'T WORK MOST.OF THE TIME.PAINT CHIPPING AWAY ALL OVER.REPLACED ALL SEALS 5 TIMES +YOKE CVHALF SHAFT. REPLACED FRONT DIFFERENTIAL STILL MAKING THE NOISE.POOR LIGHTING AT NIGHT.IT HAS A MISS FIRE GAVE IT A TUNEUP AND STILL IS DOING IT. RADIO VOLUME WON'T TURN DOWN IT GOES LOUDER WHEN TURNING DOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/23/2017 - BLAIRSVILLE, PA
ALL FOUR SEALS WHERE LEAKING INCLUDING PINION SEALS. CLUNKING NOISE 40 TO 50MPH WHEN YOU LET GO OF THE GAS ,HOLDS BACK,HEATER GAUGE+MPH GAUGE DON'T WORK MOST.OF THE TIME.PAINT CHIPPING AWAY ALL OVER.REPLACED ALL SEALS 5 TIMES +YOKE CVHALF SHAFT. REPLACED FRONT DIFFERENTIAL STILL MAKING THE NOISE.POOR LIGHTING AT NIGHT.IT HAS A MISS FIRE GAVE IT A TUNEUP AND STILL IS DOING IT. RADIO VOLUME WON'T TURN DOWN IT GOES LOUDER WHEN TURNING DOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/16/2017 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
BRAKE LIGHTS CAME ON BY THEMSELVES, BOTH WHILE DRIVING AND AT A STANDSTILL. I COULD PULL THE ON THE BRAKE PEDDLE BUT WHEN I SHUT THE DOOR THE BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD COME ON. WHEN DRIVING IT MUST HAVE BEEN CONFUSING TO PEOPLE BEHIND ME THINKING I KEPT APPLYING THE BRAKES. I TOOK IT TO A SHOP TO HAVE THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH REPLACE AND FOUND THAT THERE WASN'T A REPLACEMENT SWITCH AVAILABLE AND A DIFFERENT ONE HD TO BE WIRED IN AT THE COST OF OVER $180.00.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/9/2017 - FENTON, MO
WHEN THE EXPLORER WAS BOUGHT USED IN 2015 THE CRACKS THAT ARE COMMON IN THE GLASS LIFT GATE COVER PANEL DID NOT EXIST. WE PURPOSELY DID NOT OPEN THE GLASS PART OF THE LIFT GATE TO AVOID CRACKING IT. EVENTUALLY IT CRACKED ON ITS OWN JUST FROM OPENING THE FULL TAILGATE. THEN RECENTLY THE LIFT GATE LATCH KEEPER BOLTS/STUDS RUSTED TO THE POINT OF FAILURE BEHIND THE CRACKED PANEL AND THE GLASS LIFT GATE RELEASED ON ITS OWN. LUCKILY THE EXPLORER WAS PARKED. HOWEVER, THE INTERIOR LIGHTS CAME ON AS A RESULT. THIS DRAINED MY BATTERY IN THIS SUMMER'S HEAT. I HAD TO PURCHASE A NEW BATTERY. TO AVOID THIS BATTERY ISSUE FROM HAPPENING AGAIN, I RIGGED THE LIFT GATE LATCH WITH ZIP TIES THROUGH THE HOLES TO TEMPORARILY HOLD THE LIFT GATE SHUT. IT WON'T HOLD LONG LIKE THIS SO I NEED TO FIX THE ATTACHMENT PARTS THAT RUSTED BEHIND THE GLASS AND THEN THE COLORED COVER PANEL THAT IS NOW BADLY CRACKED, THE CRACKING OF THIS VERY POORLY DESIGNED AND POOR CHOICE OF MATERIAL BODY PART LET WATER GET BEHIND IT AND HOLD THERE AFTER IT CRACKED LIKE VIRTUALLY ALL THOSE ON OTHER EXPLORERS. THIS TRAPPED WATER CAUSED RUST OF THE LATCH ATTACHMENT STUDS BEHIND IT. FORD'S ISSUANCE OF VSB'S ABOUT THIS ISSUE ARE PROOF THEY WERE FULLY AWARE OF THERE BAD MATERIAL CHOICE FOR THIS PANEL AND I FEEL THEY SHOULD STILL BE ON THE HOOK TO REPAIR AND REPLACE PARTS DESPITE FAILURE OCCURRING AFTER THE VEHICLES WARRANTY EXPIRATION, BASED ON SUCH A POORLY DESIGNED AND WIDESPREAD TAILGATE ISSUE THAT IS LATER IN THE VEHICLE'S LIFE A SAFETY ISSUE, SINCE THE GLASS LIFT GATE CAN OPEN UPON LATCH ATTACHMENT BOLT FAILURE, DUE TO RUST.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/9/2017 - FENTON, MO
WHEN THE EXPLORER WAS BOUGHT USED IN 2015 THE CRACKS THAT ARE COMMON IN THE GLASS LIFT GATE COVER PANEL DID NOT EXIST. WE PURPOSELY DID NOT OPEN THE GLASS PART OF THE LIFT GATE TO AVOID CRACKING IT. EVENTUALLY IT CRACKED ON ITS OWN JUST FROM OPENING THE FULL TAILGATE. THEN RECENTLY THE LIFT GATE LATCH KEEPER BOLTS/STUDS RUSTED TO THE POINT OF FAILURE BEHIND THE CRACKED PANEL AND THE GLASS LIFT GATE RELEASED ON ITS OWN. LUCKILY THE EXPLORER WAS PARKED. HOWEVER, THE INTERIOR LIGHTS CAME ON AS A RESULT. THIS DRAINED MY BATTERY IN THIS SUMMER'S HEAT. I HAD TO PURCHASE A NEW BATTERY. TO AVOID THIS BATTERY ISSUE FROM HAPPENING AGAIN, I RIGGED THE LIFT GATE LATCH WITH ZIP TIES THROUGH THE HOLES TO TEMPORARILY HOLD THE LIFT GATE SHUT. IT WON'T HOLD LONG LIKE THIS SO I NEED TO FIX THE ATTACHMENT PARTS THAT RUSTED BEHIND THE GLASS AND THEN THE COLORED COVER PANEL THAT IS NOW BADLY CRACKED, THE CRACKING OF THIS VERY POORLY DESIGNED AND POOR CHOICE OF MATERIAL BODY PART LET WATER GET BEHIND IT AND HOLD THERE AFTER IT CRACKED LIKE VIRTUALLY ALL THOSE ON OTHER EXPLORERS. THIS TRAPPED WATER CAUSED RUST OF THE LATCH ATTACHMENT STUDS BEHIND IT. FORD'S ISSUANCE OF VSB'S ABOUT THIS ISSUE ARE PROOF THEY WERE FULLY AWARE OF THERE BAD MATERIAL CHOICE FOR THIS PANEL AND I FEEL THEY SHOULD STILL BE ON THE HOOK TO REPAIR AND REPLACE PARTS DESPITE FAILURE OCCURRING AFTER THE VEHICLES WARRANTY EXPIRATION, BASED ON SUCH A POORLY DESIGNED AND WIDESPREAD TAILGATE ISSUE THAT IS LATER IN THE VEHICLE'S LIFE A SAFETY ISSUE, SINCE THE GLASS LIFT GATE CAN OPEN UPON LATCH ATTACHMENT BOLT FAILURE, DUE TO RUST.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/10/2017 - DUNBAR, PA
BOUGHT A 2004 FORD EXPLORER IN MARCH 22, 2017 FROM LBSI AUTOMOTIVE. SEEN A CRACK IN REAR PANEL, DIDN'T THINK MUCH OF IT. ON JULY 9 2017 WENT TO OPEN LIFT GATE AT WALMART AND HINGE BUSTED AND WINDOW SHATTERED ON ME AND MY HUSBAND HIT MY FACE GLASS ALL OVER ME, CUT MY HUSBAND IN FEW PLACES, . LOOKING ONLINE TO REPLACE IT AND SEEN THAT THE CRACK IN REAR PANEL WAS CAUSING PROBLEMS. I HAD A 3 MONTH OLD SON IN BACK SEAT AND THANK GOD IT DIDN'T GET ON HIM. MY OPINION THE DEALER SHOULD HAVE BEEN AWARE OF THIS AND TOLD US.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/31/2017 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE ABOUT 70MPH. I WAS IN THE FAR LEFT LANE. MY EXPLORER SUDDENLY LOST PRESSURE TRIED HITTING THE GAS PEDAL TO THE FLOOR, RPMS, STILL DROPPING, NO FUEL PRESSURE AT ALL. I WAS TRYING DESPERATELY TO GET OVER AT THE SAME TIME TRYING TO TAKE INTO ACCOUNT THE SPEED OF THE OTHER VEHICLES AND IF I WAS GOING FAST ENOUGH TO MAKE IT OVER TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC. BY THE TIME I MADE IT OVER TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER I WAS LITERALLY GOING ABOUT 5MPH. IT WAS THE MOST INTENSE MOMENT IN MY LIFE, CAR, TRUCKS, TRACTOR TRAILERS MOVING AT 70+MPH DON'T SEE YOU UNTIL THEY ARE UP ON YOU. I HAVE RESEARCHED AND FORD HAS KNOWN ISSUES WITH THEIR THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY. INSTEAD OF TAKING CARE THE ISSUE THEY WAIT UNTIL SOMETHING CATASTROPHIC HAPPENS TO TAKE CARE OF IT. THIS UNACCEPTABLE THEY KNOW THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THIS PART AND THEY WAIT AND WAIT UNTIL SOME MAGICAL NUMBER OR LORD FORBIDS SOMEONE DIES TRYING TO GET OFF THE ROAD. YOU CALL THEM AND THEY TELL YOU "NO RECALLS ON YOUR VEHICLE AT THIS TIME KEEP YOUR RECEIPT IF YOU GET IT REPAIRED INCASE A RECALL OCCURS IN THE FUTURE" WHAT THIS MEANS IS, "THEY PROBABLY KNOW THERE IS AN ISSUE BUT ENOUGH PEOPLE HAVEN'T COMPLAINED"! THEY HAVE LAWSUITS BEING FILED AS WE SPEAK SO I'M ASKING "NHTSA" TO ISSUE AN INVESTIGATION ON OUR BEHALF. EVERYONE PLEASE MAKE YOUR VOICES HEARD!!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/18/2017 - INDEP, MO
I WAS IN MY DRIVEWAY AND I POPPED MY BACK WINDOW, SO I COULD GET SOME ITEMS OUT OF MY BACK PART OF MY VEHICLE. WHEN I WENT TO CLOSE THE BACK WINDOW, MY WINDOW FELL SIDEWAYS, ALMOST BUSTING ME UPSIDE MY HEAD. I'VE READ A FEW THINGS SAYING THAT THIS WAS A RECALL ON THE YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL OF MY VEHICLE. I'M NOT SURE HOW TO GO ABOUT FINDING OUT IF THAT IS CORRECT OR NOT. IF IT WASN'T RECALLED, IT SHOULD OF BEEN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 115
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds