Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1176 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (46) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Power Train (451) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (24)
Engine (21) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (4) Structure (401) Vehicle Speed Control (63)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (6) Suspension (36) Visibility (96)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (10) Tires (16) Visibility Wiper (9)
Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (37)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/18/2014 - DURYEA, PA
LEAVING WORK AT END OF DAY, PULLED OUT OF PARKING SPACE AND REAR GLASS SHATTERED. THE EDGES OF THE BACK HATCH PULLED AWAY FROM THE TRUCK AND CURLED UP CAUSING THE GLASS TO BLOW INTO THE TRUCK. A CRACK IN THE PLASTIC OF THE HATCH (WHICH I HAVE SEEN ON MANY OF THIS YEAR MODEL) HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED AND I HAVE EMAILED FORD MANY TIMES ABOUT THIS PROBLEM FOR FEAR OF WATER GETTING IN BEHIND THE PANEL. MY BELIEF IS THAT WATER DID GET BEHIND THE PANEL AND THAT IS WHAT CAUSED THE PLASTIC PANEL TO PULL AWAY AND BLOW IN THE GLASS. LUCKILY MY CHILDREN WERE NOT SITTING IN THE 2ND OR 3RD ROW SEATING OR THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN A MUCH LARGER PROBLEM. I BELIEVE FORD SHOULD HAVE THIS PROBLEM ADDRESSED AND RECALLED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY HURT FROM THAT FLYING GLASS.

View Details

WHEELS: LUGS/NUTS/BOLTS

12/10/2014 - ALLISON PARK, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, A RATTLING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. AFTER PARKING AND INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT FOUR LUG NUTS WERE DETACHED FROM THE REAR PASSENGER TIRE AND TWO OF THE RIM SPOKES WERE CRACKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

WHEELS: RIM

12/10/2014 - ALLISON PARK, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, A RATTLING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. AFTER PARKING AND INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT FOUR LUG NUTS WERE DETACHED FROM THE REAR PASSENGER TIRE AND TWO OF THE RIM SPOKES WERE CRACKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/6/2014 - CEDAR PARK, TX
THE CAR IS IN PARKING CONDITION AT WORK AND AFTER A LONG AWHILE IT WOULD NOT START EVEN THE FULL BATTERY. I HAVE ATTEMPTED TO MAKE LOTS OF CHECKS FOR ALL COMPONENT LIKE RELAYS, FUSES AND WIRING CONNECTION THEY ARE ALL FINE, IN GOOD CONDITION. BUT FINDING OUT THE STARTER RELAY HAD NO POWER, NO CURRENT FLOWING THROUGH IT. I BELIEF THAT THE FAULTY IS ( PCM UNIT ) POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE THAT BLOCKED A CURRENT FROM THE STARTER RELAY.

View Details

WHEELS

12/5/2014 - ST. LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER LIMITED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THERE WAS A VIBRATION COMING FROM THE REAR DRIVER SIDE WHEEL. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE WHEEL WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 144,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/1/2014 - FRENCHBURG, KY
THE TRANSMISSION FAILED EARLY ON AT ABOUT 88000 MILES, WE PURCHASED AND REPLACED THIS. MY HUSBAND HAD BEEN IN AUTO REPAIR AND PARTS FOR OVER 20 YEARS, SO HIM AND MY SON DONE THE REPAIR, WITHOUT COUNTING ANYTHING FOR LABOR THE TOTAL COST FOR THE REPAIR WAS AROUND $2000.00. FROM THAT POINT ON WE HAVE HAD LOTS OF MAJOR PROBLEMS THAT HAD TO BE REPAIRED OR PARTS REPLACED. THE INTAKE AND PARTS COST US AROUND 700.00, NO CHARGE FOR LABOR. THE TIMING C+HAIN FAILED AND WE CHOOSE THIS TIME TO TAKE IT TO THE REPAIR SHOP WHICH COST US $1100.00!!! NOW AT 156000 MILES THE TRANSMISSION HAS FAILED, THIS ONE HAS AROUND 68000 MILES ON IT. WE HAVE NEVER HAD ONE DIME IN HELP FROM FORD ON ANYTHING. THIS IS THE THIRD EXPLORER WE HAVE OWNED IN THE PAST 15 YEARS. WE ALSO OWN 3 F-150'S AND A MUSTANG. WE HAVE NEVER HAD THIS KIND OF PROBLEMS WITH ANY OF THE OTHER VEHICLES. I CAN HONESTLY SAY WE ARE VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS 2004 EXPLORER AND I FEEL WE WILL MOST LIKELY NOT PURCHASE ANOTHER FORD VEHICLE IN THE FUTURE!!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

12/1/2014 - FRENCHBURG, KY
THE TRANSMISSION FAILED EARLY ON AT ABOUT 88000 MILES, WE PURCHASED AND REPLACED THIS. MY HUSBAND HAD BEEN IN AUTO REPAIR AND PARTS FOR OVER 20 YEARS, SO HIM AND MY SON DONE THE REPAIR, WITHOUT COUNTING ANYTHING FOR LABOR THE TOTAL COST FOR THE REPAIR WAS AROUND $2000.00. FROM THAT POINT ON WE HAVE HAD LOTS OF MAJOR PROBLEMS THAT HAD TO BE REPAIRED OR PARTS REPLACED. THE INTAKE AND PARTS COST US AROUND 700.00, NO CHARGE FOR LABOR. THE TIMING C+HAIN FAILED AND WE CHOOSE THIS TIME TO TAKE IT TO THE REPAIR SHOP WHICH COST US $1100.00!!! NOW AT 156000 MILES THE TRANSMISSION HAS FAILED, THIS ONE HAS AROUND 68000 MILES ON IT. WE HAVE NEVER HAD ONE DIME IN HELP FROM FORD ON ANYTHING. THIS IS THE THIRD EXPLORER WE HAVE OWNED IN THE PAST 15 YEARS. WE ALSO OWN 3 F-150'S AND A MUSTANG. WE HAVE NEVER HAD THIS KIND OF PROBLEMS WITH ANY OF THE OTHER VEHICLES. I CAN HONESTLY SAY WE ARE VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS 2004 EXPLORER AND I FEEL WE WILL MOST LIKELY NOT PURCHASE ANOTHER FORD VEHICLE IN THE FUTURE!!!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

11/28/2014 - AUSTELL, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE REAR HATCH OPENED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/20/2014 - QUAKERTOWN, PW
THIS IS THE SECOND OCCURRENCE OF THIS EVENT. FIRST ONE FAILED AT 90,000 3 YEARS AGO. THIS WAS A REBUILD FORD TRANSMISSION INSTALLED BY THE DEALER. IT FAILED AGAIN, THIS TIME THE CAR WAS ABLE TO GET SAFELY TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, SAFETY WAS AN ISSUE AS IT WAS NOT A MOVABLE CAR AND STRANDED ON SIDE OF BUSY ROAD.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

10/14/2014 - CUMMING, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFTGATE BACK PANEL DEVELOPED MULTIPLE CRACKS, WHICH CAUSED THE LIFTGATE WINDSHIELD TO BECOME VERY UNSTABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds