Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1240 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (54) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (463) Steering (36) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (426) Vehicle Speed Control (68)
Engine (35) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (7) Suspension (38) Visibility (102)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes (14) Tires (17) Visibility Wiper (11)
Equipment (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (40)
Exterior Lighting (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/17/2016 - MILTON, FL
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET I ACTIVATED THE CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE, BUT WHEN I DEEXCELLERATED USING THE THE STEERING WHEEL CRUISE CONTROL BUTTONS DOWN TO A SPEED BELOW 40, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND POWER STEERING OFF, WHILE I WAS STILL IN MOTION ON THE STREET. I HAD TO PUT THE VEHICLE INTO PARK AND CRANK UP AGAIN (WHICH ALMOST DIDN'T CRANK BACK UP), TO GET BACK RUNNING. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME USING MY CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE AND HAVE READ OTHER HORROR STORIES OF THEIR FORD EXPLORER SHUTTING OFF MID DRIVE DUE TO USING THE DECEL BUTTON DURING CRUISE CONTROL. MUST BE RECALLED FOR HIGHWAY AND INTERSTATE SAFETY HAZARD IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/17/2016 - MILTON, FL
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET I ACTIVATED THE CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE, BUT WHEN I DEEXCELLERATED USING THE THE STEERING WHEEL CRUISE CONTROL BUTTONS DOWN TO A SPEED BELOW 40, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND POWER STEERING OFF, WHILE I WAS STILL IN MOTION ON THE STREET. I HAD TO PUT THE VEHICLE INTO PARK AND CRANK UP AGAIN (WHICH ALMOST DIDN'T CRANK BACK UP), TO GET BACK RUNNING. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME USING MY CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE AND HAVE READ OTHER HORROR STORIES OF THEIR FORD EXPLORER SHUTTING OFF MID DRIVE DUE TO USING THE DECEL BUTTON DURING CRUISE CONTROL. MUST BE RECALLED FOR HIGHWAY AND INTERSTATE SAFETY HAZARD IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/17/2016 - MILTON, FL
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET I ACTIVATED THE CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE, BUT WHEN I DEEXCELLERATED USING THE THE STEERING WHEEL CRUISE CONTROL BUTTONS DOWN TO A SPEED BELOW 40, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND POWER STEERING OFF, WHILE I WAS STILL IN MOTION ON THE STREET. I HAD TO PUT THE VEHICLE INTO PARK AND CRANK UP AGAIN (WHICH ALMOST DIDN'T CRANK BACK UP), TO GET BACK RUNNING. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME USING MY CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE AND HAVE READ OTHER HORROR STORIES OF THEIR FORD EXPLORER SHUTTING OFF MID DRIVE DUE TO USING THE DECEL BUTTON DURING CRUISE CONTROL. MUST BE RECALLED FOR HIGHWAY AND INTERSTATE SAFETY HAZARD IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

ENGINE

7/9/2016 - JACKSON, MI
PROBLUMS WITH TIMING CHAIN THE GUIDES AND TENTIONER ALWAYS BRAKING OR THE TIMING CHAIN IT SELF BRAKING , IT IS ALL I HEAR ABOUT THE 4.0 MOTORS , I MY SELF THIS IS THE SECOND ONE THAT IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE THROTTLE WOULD NOT RESPOND AFTER STARTING. ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL AND ENGINE SERVICE WARNING LIGHTS LIT ON DASH. ENGINE WOULD NOT REV OVER 1000 RPM. HAD TO GET ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY REPLACED AT A COST OF $875 PLUS $65 TOWING. ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL FAILURE HAS BEEN COMMON FORDS GOING BACK TO 2002. FORD HAS REPLACED OVER 1.6 MILLION UNITS UNDER THEIR CONSUMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM. HOWEVER, THERE WAS NO RECALL. CALLED FORD, AND WAS ASSIGNED A CASE #, HOWEVER, FORD WOULD NOT ASSIST WITH PAYMENT. VEHICLE OUT OF WARRANTY. 31,155 ACTUAL MILEAGE

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE THROTTLE WOULD NOT RESPOND AFTER STARTING. ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL AND ENGINE SERVICE WARNING LIGHTS LIT ON DASH. ENGINE WOULD NOT REV OVER 1000 RPM. HAD TO GET ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY REPLACED AT A COST OF $875 PLUS $65 TOWING. ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL FAILURE HAS BEEN COMMON FORDS GOING BACK TO 2002. FORD HAS REPLACED OVER 1.6 MILLION UNITS UNDER THEIR CONSUMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM. HOWEVER, THERE WAS NO RECALL. CALLED FORD, AND WAS ASSIGNED A CASE #, HOWEVER, FORD WOULD NOT ASSIST WITH PAYMENT. VEHICLE OUT OF WARRANTY. 31,155 ACTUAL MILEAGE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/19/2016 - SARASOTA, FL
THE PANEL UNDER THE REAR LIFT GATE WINDOW HAS CRACKED 3 TIMES NOW. THIS PANEL CRACKS NEAR THE FORD EMBLEM ON EITHER THE RIGHT OR LEFT SIDE. I CALLED FORD AND FILED A COMPLAINT AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY HAVE NO INFORMATION ON THIS BEING AN ISSUE. MY PANEL HAS CRACKED FOR THE 4TH TIME AND FORD IS REFUSING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE SINCE 2005. I CAN SUBMIT PHOTOS IF NEEDED TO SUPPORT THIS MATTER. THE PANEL APPEARS TO CRACK DUE TO THE LIFT GATE FLEXING WHEN IT IS OPENED AND CLOSED. IN THE PAST 3 YEARS, I HAVE OBSERVED "ALL" THE FORDS AROUND THAT YEAR HAVE BUSTED PANELS AND THEY'RE TELLING ME THERE IS NO PROBLEM.....ANOTHER COVER-UP IN THE MAKING!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

4/5/2016 - HOPKINS, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. AFTER OPENING THE LIFTGATE WINDOW, THE CONTACT NOTICED A CRACK ON THE DRIVER SIDE HATCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 172,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/2/2016 - GLENDALE, AZ
TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AT APPROX 93,000 MILES, HEAT WENT OUT AROUND 85,000 MILES, SEAT BELTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED ONCE UNDER WARRANTY AND AGAIN DON'T WORK, ELECTRIC SEAT DOESN'T WORK, MISC. OTHER THINGS

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/2/2016 - GLENDALE, AZ
TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AT APPROX 93,000 MILES, HEAT WENT OUT AROUND 85,000 MILES, SEAT BELTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED ONCE UNDER WARRANTY AND AGAIN DON'T WORK, ELECTRIC SEAT DOESN'T WORK, MISC. OTHER THINGS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds