Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1199 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (49) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Power Train (455) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (28)
Engine (26) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (4) Structure (409) Vehicle Speed Control (63)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (6) Suspension (36) Visibility (98)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes (12) Tires (16) Visibility Wiper (9)
Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (38)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 108
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/9/2015 - SUN CITY, CA
THERE IS A VERTICAL CRACK ON THE TOP REAR LIFT GATE 10" TO THE LEFT OF THE VEHICLE LOGO TOWARD THE REAR DOOR. IN COLD TEMPERATURES, THE CRACK IS BARELY VISIBLE YET IN WARMER TEMPERATURES, THE CRACK WOULD EXPAND.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/25/2015 - SALEM, UT
THE LIFTGATE GLASS HINGE ON MY 2004 FORD EXPLORER BROKE AS I WAS CLOSING THE REAR WINDOW GLASS. WITHOUT WARNING IT JUST CAME UNDONE WITH THE SCREW POPPING LOOSE. CHEAPLY MADE MATERIAL OF THE LIFTGATE GLASS HINGE WAS CLEARLY THE CAUSE, ALONG WITH A FAULTY DESIGN THAT ALLOWS THE BOLT TO STRIP OUT OF THE HINGE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/22/2015 - WINDSOR LOCKS, CT
CRACKED REAR HATCH. I HAD HEARD ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND MY HATCH DIDN'T CRACK TILL AFTER THIS COLD WINTER. BUT, THIS IS THE FIRST WINTER THAT THIS EXPLORER HAS BEEN KEPT OUTSIDE, NOT GARAGED. MY GARAGED IS UNDER MY HOUSE AND INSULATED. IT NEVER GETS BELOW FREEZING IN THE GARAGE. I CALLED FORD AND ASKED THEM IF THEY CAN HELP FINANCIALLY WITH THE REPAIRS. THEY SAID NO.

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2015 - LORAIN, OH
HAD MY USED 2004 FORD EXPLORER FOR A WEEK AND I NOTICED THE TRANSMISSION JERKING WHEN IT SHIFT INTO THE LAST GEAR. SOMETIMES WHEN I PUT IT IN REVERSE, I HAVE TO WAIT FOR A FULL MINUTE FOR IT TO FINALLY REVERSE. SOMETIMES IT JERKS HARD WHEN I PUT IT IN REVERSE OR DRIVE. I'M SURE THE DEALERSHIP KNEW ABOUT ALL THIS BUT NEVER REVEALED IT. OF COURSE WHEN YOU BUY AS IS, YOUR SCREWED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/16/2015 - LORAIN, OH
HAD MY USED 2004 FORD EXPLORER FOR ONE WEEK AND THE LIFTGATE LATCHES BOTH BROKE. IF IT HADN'T BEEN FOR THE SHOCKS THAT WERE ON THE LIFTGATE, THE WINDOW WOULD HAVE CRASHED TO THE GROUND AND SHATTERED IN A THOUSAND PIECES. FROM WHAT I'M TOLD, I'M GOING TO HAVE TO CONTACT THE DEALERSHIP AND PAY GOD KNOWS WHAT TO HAVE IT FIXED. CAN'T EVEN USE MY TRUNK NOW. THE DEALERSHIP IS A JOKE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/11/2015 - TOANO, VA
I WAS DRIVING INTERSTATE 64 GETTING OFF THE EXIST GOING AROUND THE RAMP AND A KNOCKING NOISE STARTED AS I ROUNDED THE CURB, THEN OIL PRESSURE DROPPED, MY POWER WAS GONE AND, I BARELY MADE IT OFF THE RAMP, BUT LUCKILY THE VEHICLE HAD ENOUGH SPEED TO COAST THE CURB TO GET TO A SAFE PLACE TO STOP. UPON HAVING IT CHECKED OUT BY A LOCAL MECHANIC HE SUGGESTED THAT THE ENGINE AND OIL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED? AS A SINGLE MOTHER I DON'T HAVE THE MONEY FOR THE REPAIRS, AND FROM OTHERS COMPLAINTS THAT I'VE SEEN IT MAKES ME WONDER IF ITS WORTH THE TROUBLE TO FIND ANOTHER ENGINE AND WILL IT HAPPEN AGAIN. I THOUGHT HAD FOUND A GOOD VEHICLE THAT ONLY LASTED A FEW MONTHS...FEELING IRRITATED...GET IT TOGETHER FORD BECAUSE THIS 2004 EXPLORER IS TROUBLE!! WAS THIS JUST A TEST DUMMY MODEL TO SEE WHAT PROBLEMS WOULD COME OF IT??? WE WANT AND NEED ANSWERS TO THESE PROBLEMS. WE'RE SPENDING SO MUCH HARD EARNED MONEY ON A VEHICLE THAT HAS MORE PROBLEMS THAT KEEPS HAPPENING OFTEN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/11/2015 - TOANO, VA
I WAS DRIVING INTERSTATE 64 GETTING OFF THE EXIST GOING AROUND THE RAMP AND A KNOCKING NOISE STARTED AS I ROUNDED THE CURB, THEN OIL PRESSURE DROPPED, MY POWER WAS GONE AND, I BARELY MADE IT OFF THE RAMP, BUT LUCKILY THE VEHICLE HAD ENOUGH SPEED TO COAST THE CURB TO GET TO A SAFE PLACE TO STOP. UPON HAVING IT CHECKED OUT BY A LOCAL MECHANIC HE SUGGESTED THAT THE ENGINE AND OIL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED? AS A SINGLE MOTHER I DON'T HAVE THE MONEY FOR THE REPAIRS, AND FROM OTHERS COMPLAINTS THAT I'VE SEEN IT MAKES ME WONDER IF ITS WORTH THE TROUBLE TO FIND ANOTHER ENGINE AND WILL IT HAPPEN AGAIN. I THOUGHT HAD FOUND A GOOD VEHICLE THAT ONLY LASTED A FEW MONTHS...FEELING IRRITATED...GET IT TOGETHER FORD BECAUSE THIS 2004 EXPLORER IS TROUBLE!! WAS THIS JUST A TEST DUMMY MODEL TO SEE WHAT PROBLEMS WOULD COME OF IT??? WE WANT AND NEED ANSWERS TO THESE PROBLEMS. WE'RE SPENDING SO MUCH HARD EARNED MONEY ON A VEHICLE THAT HAS MORE PROBLEMS THAT KEEPS HAPPENING OFTEN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/25/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I'VE HAVE MY VEHICLE FOR 10 YEARS. PAID THE DEALERSHIP $450 TO HAVE A WARRANTY FOR THE POWER TRAIN AND WHEN I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THEM TO FIX IT THEY WOULDN'T. I FIND OUT THAT MY MAJOR ISSUES ARE THE MECHANICAL DIFFERENTIAL. STILL HAVING THE THIS ISSUE TO THIS DAY AND CAN NEVER HAVE MY TRANSMISSION CLEANED OR FLUSHED BECAUSE OF THAT. ALSO, MY FUEL SYSTEM GETS CLOGGED A LOT AND GAS MILEAGE IS HORRIBLE. ALSO, MY ANTIFREEZE LEAKS AFTER I PAID MONEY TO HAVE THE CRACKED SEAL FIXED. THIS IS JUST SCRATCHING THE SURFACE. I HAVE MANY THINGS WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE I FEEL SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER BUT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT DEFECTS ARE OUT THERE FOR MY VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/25/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I'VE HAVE MY VEHICLE FOR 10 YEARS. PAID THE DEALERSHIP $450 TO HAVE A WARRANTY FOR THE POWER TRAIN AND WHEN I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THEM TO FIX IT THEY WOULDN'T. I FIND OUT THAT MY MAJOR ISSUES ARE THE MECHANICAL DIFFERENTIAL. STILL HAVING THE THIS ISSUE TO THIS DAY AND CAN NEVER HAVE MY TRANSMISSION CLEANED OR FLUSHED BECAUSE OF THAT. ALSO, MY FUEL SYSTEM GETS CLOGGED A LOT AND GAS MILEAGE IS HORRIBLE. ALSO, MY ANTIFREEZE LEAKS AFTER I PAID MONEY TO HAVE THE CRACKED SEAL FIXED. THIS IS JUST SCRATCHING THE SURFACE. I HAVE MANY THINGS WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE I FEEL SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER BUT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT DEFECTS ARE OUT THERE FOR MY VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I'VE HAVE MY VEHICLE FOR 10 YEARS. PAID THE DEALERSHIP $450 TO HAVE A WARRANTY FOR THE POWER TRAIN AND WHEN I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THEM TO FIX IT THEY WOULDN'T. I FIND OUT THAT MY MAJOR ISSUES ARE THE MECHANICAL DIFFERENTIAL. STILL HAVING THE THIS ISSUE TO THIS DAY AND CAN NEVER HAVE MY TRANSMISSION CLEANED OR FLUSHED BECAUSE OF THAT. ALSO, MY FUEL SYSTEM GETS CLOGGED A LOT AND GAS MILEAGE IS HORRIBLE. ALSO, MY ANTIFREEZE LEAKS AFTER I PAID MONEY TO HAVE THE CRACKED SEAL FIXED. THIS IS JUST SCRATCHING THE SURFACE. I HAVE MANY THINGS WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE I FEEL SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER BUT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT DEFECTS ARE OUT THERE FOR MY VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 108
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds