Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1184 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (47) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Power Train (451) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (24)
Engine (23) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (4) Structure (403) Vehicle Speed Control (63)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (6) Suspension (36) Visibility (97)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (12) Tires (16) Visibility Wiper (9)
Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (37)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/25/2015 - CLEVELAND, NC
REAR PANEL CRACKED IN THE SHED. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE MY TRANSMISSION A YEAR AGO REPLACE FRONT HUBS SEVERAL TIMES. AND JUST LAST WEEK I HAD TO REPLACE THE BACK WHEEL BEARING AGAIN. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY FORD HAS NOT DONE A RECALL ON THESE THINGS.I SEE A LOT OF FORDS WITH THE SAME CRACK ON THE BACK HATCH.THIS IS JUST CRAZY. IF I NEW WE COULDN'T CHECK TRANSMISSION FLUID I WOULD HAVE NEVER GOT THIS TRUCK.I WILL NEVER BUY A FORD AGAIN. WE ALSO HAVE A 1994 DIESEL THAT WE HAD TO PUT A TRANSMISSION IN AT 80,000 MILES IT SITS IN THE SHED AND NOW MY HUSBAND DRIVES A CHEVY.OUR FORD DIESEL ONLY HAS 134,000 ON IT WHAT ASHAM. IT WILL NOT EVEN CRANK WHEN ITS COLD. BAD WORK FORD!!!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/22/2015 - SAN JOSE, CA
MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING OUR FORD EXPLORER, HAD COME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND WAS WAITING TO EXIT THE FREEWAY, TRAFFIC IN FRONT OF HER HAD ALSO STOPPED. SHE GOT HIT FROM BEHIND BY A CAR WHO FAILED TO STOP AND WAS GOING AT UNSAFE SPEED, ACCORDING TO POLICE REPORT, AND PUSHED OUR EXPLORER ONTO A TRUCK. THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG DEPLOYED BUT THERE WAS NO OTHER PASSENGER IN THE CAR. THE DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY AND MY DAUGHTER HIT HER FACE AGAINST THE STEERING WHEEL. WE HAVE BEEN THE ONLY OWNERS OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/20/2015 - HORNELL, NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERVICE ENGINE AND THE BATTERY WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS JERKING AND MAKING A LOUD NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE FRONT LEFT HUB AND WHEEL BEARING, THE REAR SPRINGS, THE THREE PASSENGER GEAR CALIPERS, FOUR REAR DRIVER CALIPERS, THE BATTERY, FIVE REAR BRAKE PADS AND SIX REAR ROTORS PLUS AN OIL CHANGE. THREE WEEKS AFTER THE REPAIRS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE PEDAL HESITATED TO RESPOND. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,817. DJR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/20/2015 - HORNELL, NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERVICE ENGINE AND THE BATTERY WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS JERKING AND MAKING A LOUD NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE FRONT LEFT HUB AND WHEEL BEARING, THE REAR SPRINGS, THE THREE PASSENGER GEAR CALIPERS, FOUR REAR DRIVER CALIPERS, THE BATTERY, FIVE REAR BRAKE PADS AND SIX REAR ROTORS PLUS AN OIL CHANGE. THREE WEEKS AFTER THE REPAIRS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE PEDAL HESITATED TO RESPOND. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,817. DJR

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/20/2015 - HORNELL, NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERVICE ENGINE AND THE BATTERY WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS JERKING AND MAKING A LOUD NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE FRONT LEFT HUB AND WHEEL BEARING, THE REAR SPRINGS, THE THREE PASSENGER GEAR CALIPERS, FOUR REAR DRIVER CALIPERS, THE BATTERY, FIVE REAR BRAKE PADS AND SIX REAR ROTORS PLUS AN OIL CHANGE. THREE WEEKS AFTER THE REPAIRS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE PEDAL HESITATED TO RESPOND. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,817. DJR

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/23/2014 - HADDONFIELD, NJ
THE REAR LIFT GATE WINDOW OF MY 2004 FORD EXPLORER EXPLODED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED. ACCORDING TO THE FORD DEALER, THIS APPARENTLY IS SOMETHING THAT IS KNOWN TO HAPPEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/18/2014 - DURYEA, PA
LEAVING WORK AT END OF DAY, PULLED OUT OF PARKING SPACE AND REAR GLASS SHATTERED. THE EDGES OF THE BACK HATCH PULLED AWAY FROM THE TRUCK AND CURLED UP CAUSING THE GLASS TO BLOW INTO THE TRUCK. A CRACK IN THE PLASTIC OF THE HATCH (WHICH I HAVE SEEN ON MANY OF THIS YEAR MODEL) HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED AND I HAVE EMAILED FORD MANY TIMES ABOUT THIS PROBLEM FOR FEAR OF WATER GETTING IN BEHIND THE PANEL. MY BELIEF IS THAT WATER DID GET BEHIND THE PANEL AND THAT IS WHAT CAUSED THE PLASTIC PANEL TO PULL AWAY AND BLOW IN THE GLASS. LUCKILY MY CHILDREN WERE NOT SITTING IN THE 2ND OR 3RD ROW SEATING OR THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN A MUCH LARGER PROBLEM. I BELIEVE FORD SHOULD HAVE THIS PROBLEM ADDRESSED AND RECALLED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY HURT FROM THAT FLYING GLASS.

View Details

WHEELS: RIM

12/10/2014 - ALLISON PARK, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, A RATTLING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. AFTER PARKING AND INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT FOUR LUG NUTS WERE DETACHED FROM THE REAR PASSENGER TIRE AND TWO OF THE RIM SPOKES WERE CRACKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

WHEELS: LUGS/NUTS/BOLTS

12/10/2014 - ALLISON PARK, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, A RATTLING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. AFTER PARKING AND INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT FOUR LUG NUTS WERE DETACHED FROM THE REAR PASSENGER TIRE AND TWO OF THE RIM SPOKES WERE CRACKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/6/2014 - CEDAR PARK, TX
THE CAR IS IN PARKING CONDITION AT WORK AND AFTER A LONG AWHILE IT WOULD NOT START EVEN THE FULL BATTERY. I HAVE ATTEMPTED TO MAKE LOTS OF CHECKS FOR ALL COMPONENT LIKE RELAYS, FUSES AND WIRING CONNECTION THEY ARE ALL FINE, IN GOOD CONDITION. BUT FINDING OUT THE STARTER RELAY HAD NO POWER, NO CURRENT FLOWING THROUGH IT. I BELIEF THAT THE FAULTY IS ( PCM UNIT ) POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE THAT BLOCKED A CURRENT FROM THE STARTER RELAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds