Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1283 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (57) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (474) Steering (41) Unknown Or Other (34)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (7) Structure (437) Vehicle Speed Control (75)
Engine (42) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (7) Suspension (40) Visibility (102)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes (17) Tires (17) Visibility Wiper (12)
Equipment (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (40)
Exterior Lighting (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/20/2019 - CURWENSVILLE, PA
TAKATA RECALL: WHILE DRIVING, ESPECIALLY UPHILL OR AT HIGH SPEEDS (SUCH AS THE INTERSTATE) THE VEHICLE WILL SPUTTER AND SHAKE AND LOSE HORSEPOWER (THIS ESPECIALLY HAPPENS DURING WARM WEATHER). WHEN THIS HAPPENS, THE ODOMETER DROPS, AND YOU CANNOT GET THE SPEED TO INCREASE, WHICH IS A TERRIFYING EXPERIENCE WHEN YOU'RE TRAVELLING ON THE INTERSTATE WITH CARS GOING 70+ MPH BEHIND YOU AND YOU HAVE TRACTOR TRAILERS BESIDE YOU. I'VE TAKEN MY JEEP TO 3+ GARAGES TO REMEDY THE ISSUE, AND THEY'RE ALL LEFT SCRATCHING THEIR HEADS BECAUSE THE SYSTEM HAS WIPED EVERY CODE THAT WAS THROWN, AND EVERYTHING THEY TRY DOES NOT HELP MATTERS - NONE OF THEM KNOW WHAT TO DO ASIDE FROM GUESSING AND REPLACING PARTS. THE LAST GARAGE I WENT TO RESEARCHED THE ISSUE, AS DID I, AND THERE ARE COUNTLESS FORUMS WITH THESE COMPLAINTS ABOUT JEEPS. FURTHERMORE, A LOT GO ON TO SAY THEY REPLACED THIS, THAT, AND THE OTHER AND THE PROBLEM GOES AWAY FOR A SMALL AMOUNT OF TIME BEFORE STARTING UP AGAIN, AND THEY AND THEIR MECHANICS ARE ALSO AT A LOSS. THIS HAS BEEN ABOUT 2 YEARS OF RESEARCHING, GARAGE WORK, AND AN INABILITY TO TAKE THE VEHICLE LONG DISTANCES OR HIGH SPEEDS. ONE POST I READ EVEN SAID IT COULD BE A SERIOUS FIRE HAZARD WHICH IS DANGEROUS FOR THOSE IN THE VEHICLE AND THOSE ON THE ROADWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/20/2019 - ORLANDO, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE DASH LIGHTS START BLINKING AND CAR STOPS ACCELERATING, TURNS ON BY WON'T MOVE. MECHANIC SAYS ENGINE IS NOT COMMUNICATING WITH TRANSMISSION. ELECTRICAL ISSUE SEEMS LIKE. WHEN IT RESTS IT WILL WORK BUT THEN AFTER DRIVING IT HAPPENS AGAIN. IT JUST STOPS WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING, DANGEROUS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/20/2019 - ORLANDO, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE DASH LIGHTS START BLINKING AND CAR STOPS ACCELERATING, TURNS ON BY WON'T MOVE. MECHANIC SAYS ENGINE IS NOT COMMUNICATING WITH TRANSMISSION. ELECTRICAL ISSUE SEEMS LIKE. WHEN IT RESTS IT WILL WORK BUT THEN AFTER DRIVING IT HAPPENS AGAIN. IT JUST STOPS WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING, DANGEROUS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/20/2019 - ORLANDO, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE DASH LIGHTS START BLINKING AND CAR STOPS ACCELERATING, TURNS ON BY WON'T MOVE. MECHANIC SAYS ENGINE IS NOT COMMUNICATING WITH TRANSMISSION. ELECTRICAL ISSUE SEEMS LIKE. WHEN IT RESTS IT WILL WORK BUT THEN AFTER DRIVING IT HAPPENS AGAIN. IT JUST STOPS WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING, DANGEROUS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/2/2019 - JASPER, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPEDITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE LAMPS, TURN SIGNALS, AND EMERGENCY FLASHERS FAILED TO OPERATE PROPERLY. THIS WAS A DISTRACTION TO THE CONTACT'S DRIVING BECAUSE HE COULD NOT NOTIFY OTHER DRIVERS OF THE VEHICLE'S MOVEMENTS. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THEY DID NOT HAVE TIME TO DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT CALLED A FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE, BUT THEY DID NOT ASSIST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 264,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2019 - UNIONTOWN, OH
MY STEERING COLUMN BROKE RIGHT OFF! TRYING TO PUT IT IN DRIVE @99,735 MI. HAD TO TOW IT TO SHOP, AND REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN. I SEE OTHER PEOPLE HAD THIS SAME PROBLEM. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS!!! I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION @ 103,000 MILES IT WOULD SKIP 3RD GEAR. SEEMS EVERYONE ELSE HAS TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION. ALSO BACK BEARINGS!! WHAT A DISGRACE. RECALL THIS DISGRACEFUL WORKMANSHIP! NO HONOR!

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2019 - UNIONTOWN, OH
MY STEERING COLUMN BROKE RIGHT OFF! TRYING TO PUT IT IN DRIVE @99,735 MI. HAD TO TOW IT TO SHOP, AND REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN. I SEE OTHER PEOPLE HAD THIS SAME PROBLEM. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS!!! I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION @ 103,000 MILES IT WOULD SKIP 3RD GEAR. SEEMS EVERYONE ELSE HAS TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION. ALSO BACK BEARINGS!! WHAT A DISGRACE. RECALL THIS DISGRACEFUL WORKMANSHIP! NO HONOR!

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/20/2019 - UNIONTOWN, OH
MY STEERING COLUMN BROKE RIGHT OFF! TRYING TO PUT IT IN DRIVE @99,735 MI. HAD TO TOW IT TO SHOP, AND REPLACE THE STEERING COLUMN. I SEE OTHER PEOPLE HAD THIS SAME PROBLEM. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS!!! I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION @ 103,000 MILES IT WOULD SKIP 3RD GEAR. SEEMS EVERYONE ELSE HAS TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION. ALSO BACK BEARINGS!! WHAT A DISGRACE. RECALL THIS DISGRACEFUL WORKMANSHIP! NO HONOR!

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/14/2019 - SIMI VALLEY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE THE CONTACT'S SON WAS DRIVING 40 MPH, HE LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND STRUCK A TREE, A LIGHT POST, AND AN ELECTRICAL BOX. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT'S SON WAS NOT INJURED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW YARD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED AND WAS DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS BY THE TOW COMPANY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 291,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/27/2018 - WAIPAHU, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING AND ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT GEARS, THE CONTACT'S SON PULLED TOO HARD AND FRACTURED THE GEAR SHIFTER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS CURRENTLY TOO LOOSE AND WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO ANY GEAR. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds