Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1150 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (44) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Power Train (444) Steering (32) Unknown Or Other (22)
Engine (15) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (4) Structure (396) Vehicle Speed Control (62)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (6) Suspension (35) Visibility (95)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (9) Tires (16) Visibility Wiper (8)
Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (31)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 103
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/17/2014 - CONCORD, NC
DRIVER #1(ME) WAS TRAVELING SOUTH ON STATESVILLE RD. DRIVER #1 STATED THAT SHE WAS INITIALLY A FEW CAR LENGTHS BEHIND VEHICLE #2. DRIVER #1 STATED THAT VEHICLE #2 MADE A SUDDEN STOP. DRIVER #1 STATED THAT SHE COULD NOT STOP IN TIME AND STRUCK VEHICLE #2 IN THE REAR. DRIVER #2 STATED THAT HE STOPPED TO TURN INTO CENTER AND WAS REAR ENDED BY VEHICLE #1. WITNESSES, STATED THAT THE DRIVER OF THE HONDA (VEHICLE #2) APPEARED TO HAVE OVER SHOT HIS TURN, AND SLAMMED ON HIS BRAKES TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN INTO THE PVA.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/5/2014 - UNION GROVE, WI
UPON OPENING THE REAR GLASS HATCH, THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE HINGE BROKE WHEN FULLY OPEN AND THE WINDOW FELL DOWN, HITTING ME IN THE HEAD. THE PANEL BELOW ON THIS SAME WINDOW TO THE LEFT OF THE FORD LOGO PLATE HAD ALSO CRACKED ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/24/2014 - CAMERON, NC
THE BACK HATCH WINDOW DOSNT SEEM TO LINE UP WITH THE LATCH. THE BACK HATCH ALSO CRACKED RIGHT NEAR THE FORD LOGO. I HAVE SEEN MANY OF THE EXPLORERS THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO. ITS TIME FORD FIXES THIS DEFECT. ALSO WHILE DOING AROUND 60-65 MPH MY TIMING CHAINS BROKE, ALL 3 OF THEM AT THE SAME TIME. I COULD UNDERSTAND 1 MAYBE BUT ALL 3 ? THIS TO HAS TO BE A MANUFACTURER DEFECT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/24/2014 - CAMERON, NC
THE BACK HATCH WINDOW DOSNT SEEM TO LINE UP WITH THE LATCH. THE BACK HATCH ALSO CRACKED RIGHT NEAR THE FORD LOGO. I HAVE SEEN MANY OF THE EXPLORERS THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO. ITS TIME FORD FIXES THIS DEFECT. ALSO WHILE DOING AROUND 60-65 MPH MY TIMING CHAINS BROKE, ALL 3 OF THEM AT THE SAME TIME. I COULD UNDERSTAND 1 MAYBE BUT ALL 3 ? THIS TO HAS TO BE A MANUFACTURER DEFECT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/24/2014 - ROYSE CITY, TX
WHILE OPENING THE SMALLER WINDOW IN THE BACK OF THE CAR, THE WINDOW STARTED TO FALL. LUCKILY THERE WERE TWO PEOPLE TO CATCH IT. I NOTICED THE PASSENGER SIDE HINGE WAS BROKEN. WE USUALLY TAKE OUR INFANT AROUND TO THE BACK OF THE CAR WHILE WE LOAD THINGS. FORTUNATELY, WE HAD ALREADY BUCKLED HER IN. HAD THE GLASS FALLEN OR WE NOT PAID ATTENTION , IT COULD HAVE SERIOUSLY INJURED HER OR US.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/18/2014 - GREEN BELT, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR WHEEL WELLS AND FRAME WERE RUSTED. AND THE REAR HATCH WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

WHEELS

6/17/2014 - DADE CITY, FL
WHEN DRIVING TO WORK I BEGAN TO HEAR A NOISE IN THE FRONT END PART OF THE VEHICLE. AFTER LEAVING WORK AND DRIVING LESS THAN 1 MILE THE NOISE GOT LOUD, SO I PULLED OVER AND WAITED FOR A TOW TRUCK. HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A SHOP AND FIXED. 1 YEAR AND 1 WEEK LATER IT HAD TO BE REPLACED AGAIN.

View Details

WHEELS

6/16/2014 - HAVERHILL, MA
DAUGHTER DRIVING VEHICLE, RIGHT WHEEL BEARING CEASED, CAUSING REAR END OF VEHICLE TO FISH TAIL, HAD TO DRIVE HOME ON BACK ROAD (NOT HIGHWAY) AS THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE FLIPPED. CAR WAS SMOKING SO BAD, COULD NOT BE PLACED INTO GARAGE AS IT WOULD HAVE BURNED DOWN THE HOUSE. HAD TO BE TOWED, DAMAGED FROM BEARING TO REAR AXEL AND EMERGENCY BREAK/CABLES. IF SHE WERE ON THE HIGHWAY SHE WOULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. THERE ARE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, WHAT WILL IT TAKE? ANYONE HEARD OF ANY CLASS ACTIONS TO MAKE FORD STEP UP TO BAT AND RECALL THESE UNSAFE VEHICLES?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/13/2014 - LYNN, MA
WHEN CLOSING REAR PANEL, THE PANEL CRACKED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/12/2014 - DAYTON, NJ
WHEN ACCELERATING THE SUV SHAKES, IT HAS A HARD TIME SOMETIMES GOING FROM ONE GEAR INTO ANOTHER. I STARTED THE TRUCK TODAY AND IT MADE A THUMPING SOUND. THE TRANSMISSION IS GOING ON IT AND I TAKE CARE OF IT. I HAVE A HARD TIME GETTING THE TRUCK TO GO INTO GEAR TO GO IN REVERSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 103
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds