Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1189 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (49) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Power Train (454) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (24)
Engine (25) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (4) Structure (404) Vehicle Speed Control (63)
Engine And Engine Cooling (71) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (6) Suspension (36) Visibility (98)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes (12) Tires (16) Visibility Wiper (9)
Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (37)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 107
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/25/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I'VE HAVE MY VEHICLE FOR 10 YEARS. PAID THE DEALERSHIP $450 TO HAVE A WARRANTY FOR THE POWER TRAIN AND WHEN I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THEM TO FIX IT THEY WOULDN'T. I FIND OUT THAT MY MAJOR ISSUES ARE THE MECHANICAL DIFFERENTIAL. STILL HAVING THE THIS ISSUE TO THIS DAY AND CAN NEVER HAVE MY TRANSMISSION CLEANED OR FLUSHED BECAUSE OF THAT. ALSO, MY FUEL SYSTEM GETS CLOGGED A LOT AND GAS MILEAGE IS HORRIBLE. ALSO, MY ANTIFREEZE LEAKS AFTER I PAID MONEY TO HAVE THE CRACKED SEAL FIXED. THIS IS JUST SCRATCHING THE SURFACE. I HAVE MANY THINGS WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE I FEEL SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER BUT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT DEFECTS ARE OUT THERE FOR MY VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/25/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I'VE HAVE MY VEHICLE FOR 10 YEARS. PAID THE DEALERSHIP $450 TO HAVE A WARRANTY FOR THE POWER TRAIN AND WHEN I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THEM TO FIX IT THEY WOULDN'T. I FIND OUT THAT MY MAJOR ISSUES ARE THE MECHANICAL DIFFERENTIAL. STILL HAVING THE THIS ISSUE TO THIS DAY AND CAN NEVER HAVE MY TRANSMISSION CLEANED OR FLUSHED BECAUSE OF THAT. ALSO, MY FUEL SYSTEM GETS CLOGGED A LOT AND GAS MILEAGE IS HORRIBLE. ALSO, MY ANTIFREEZE LEAKS AFTER I PAID MONEY TO HAVE THE CRACKED SEAL FIXED. THIS IS JUST SCRATCHING THE SURFACE. I HAVE MANY THINGS WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE I FEEL SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER BUT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT DEFECTS ARE OUT THERE FOR MY VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/25/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I'VE HAVE MY VEHICLE FOR 10 YEARS. PAID THE DEALERSHIP $450 TO HAVE A WARRANTY FOR THE POWER TRAIN AND WHEN I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THEM TO FIX IT THEY WOULDN'T. I FIND OUT THAT MY MAJOR ISSUES ARE THE MECHANICAL DIFFERENTIAL. STILL HAVING THE THIS ISSUE TO THIS DAY AND CAN NEVER HAVE MY TRANSMISSION CLEANED OR FLUSHED BECAUSE OF THAT. ALSO, MY FUEL SYSTEM GETS CLOGGED A LOT AND GAS MILEAGE IS HORRIBLE. ALSO, MY ANTIFREEZE LEAKS AFTER I PAID MONEY TO HAVE THE CRACKED SEAL FIXED. THIS IS JUST SCRATCHING THE SURFACE. I HAVE MANY THINGS WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE I FEEL SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER BUT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT DEFECTS ARE OUT THERE FOR MY VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/9/2015 - KETCHUM, ID
WHILE CLOSING THE REAR WINDOW GLASS HATCH THE DRIVER SIDE HINGE BROKE ALLOWING THE WINDOW TO FALL OUT ON THAT SIDE. THE REAR GLASS HATCH WINDOW IS HEAVY AND COULD HAVE EASLY BROKEN THE HINGE SIDE ALLOWING THE GLASS TO FALL OFF THE VEHICLE. A PREVIOUS FORD RECALL ON THE VERY SAME COMPONENT COVERED VEHICLES UP TO 2003. THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM IS OCCURRING TO THIS 2004 VEHICLE. CONTACTED FORD AND THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO HELP OWNERS OUT. HAD THE VEHICLE BEEN TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND THE HINGE LET GO, THERE WOULD BE A VERY HIGH PROBABILITY OF PROPERTY DAMAGE AND A VERY HIGH PROBABILITY OF PERSONAL INJURY TO OTHERS ON THE ROAD.

View Details

STEERING

2/5/2015 - KENNETT SQUARE, PA
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 10:52 PM AND WITH NO WARNING THE ENTIRE TRUCK SHUT DOWN/OFF. ALL LIGHTS INSIDE AND OUT SHUT OFF, ENGINE SHUT OFF, NO POWER TO THE ENTIRE VEHICLE. COASTED TO A STOP, PUT IT IN PARK AND TURNED THE KEY OFF AND THEN BACK ON - THE TRUCK STARTED RIGHT UP WITH OUT A PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2015 - KENNETT SQUARE, PA
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 10:52 PM AND WITH NO WARNING THE ENTIRE TRUCK SHUT DOWN/OFF. ALL LIGHTS INSIDE AND OUT SHUT OFF, ENGINE SHUT OFF, NO POWER TO THE ENTIRE VEHICLE. COASTED TO A STOP, PUT IT IN PARK AND TURNED THE KEY OFF AND THEN BACK ON - THE TRUCK STARTED RIGHT UP WITH OUT A PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

2/5/2015 - KENNETT SQUARE, PA
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 10:52 PM AND WITH NO WARNING THE ENTIRE TRUCK SHUT DOWN/OFF. ALL LIGHTS INSIDE AND OUT SHUT OFF, ENGINE SHUT OFF, NO POWER TO THE ENTIRE VEHICLE. COASTED TO A STOP, PUT IT IN PARK AND TURNED THE KEY OFF AND THEN BACK ON - THE TRUCK STARTED RIGHT UP WITH OUT A PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2015 - BOCA RATON, FL
GOOD MORNING, MY CAR WAS PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY, NOT RUNNING, 11:15PM, WHEN HORN STARTED TO CONTINUOUSLY AND WOULD NOT STOP. SMELT WIRES BURNING. I STARTED THE CAR AND WAS ATTEMPTING TO MOVE IT OUT OF MY NEIGHBORHOOD AND UPON DRIVING, I TAPPED THE HORN AND IT STOPPED. SMELL OF WIRES BURNING. IT HAPPENED AGAIN, YESTERDAY AM AND TODAY AM, ON THE WAY TO GO, AND I HIT THE HORN AND IT STOPPED. CAN THIS BE AIRBAG RELATED??? I AM SCARED TO DRIVE MY CAR, FEARING THE AIRBAG WILL OPEN OR A FIRE IS GOING TO START.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2015 - LINCOLN, NE
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION SEIZED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE ACCELERATOR WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE GEARS FAILED TO SHIFT AND THE TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/25/2015 - CLEVELAND, NC
REAR PANEL CRACKED IN THE SHED. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE MY TRANSMISSION A YEAR AGO REPLACE FRONT HUBS SEVERAL TIMES. AND JUST LAST WEEK I HAD TO REPLACE THE BACK WHEEL BEARING AGAIN. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY FORD HAS NOT DONE A RECALL ON THESE THINGS.I SEE A LOT OF FORDS WITH THE SAME CRACK ON THE BACK HATCH.THIS IS JUST CRAZY. IF I NEW WE COULDN'T CHECK TRANSMISSION FLUID I WOULD HAVE NEVER GOT THIS TRUCK.I WILL NEVER BUY A FORD AGAIN. WE ALSO HAVE A 1994 DIESEL THAT WE HAD TO PUT A TRANSMISSION IN AT 80,000 MILES IT SITS IN THE SHED AND NOW MY HUSBAND DRIVES A CHEVY.OUR FORD DIESEL ONLY HAS 134,000 ON IT WHAT ASHAM. IT WILL NOT EVEN CRANK WHEN ITS COLD. BAD WORK FORD!!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 107
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds