Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1167 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (46) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Power Train (447) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (23)
Engine (20) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (4) Structure (400) Vehicle Speed Control (63)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (6) Suspension (36) Visibility (96)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (10) Tires (16) Visibility Wiper (9)
Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 105
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/14/2014 - CUMMING, GA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFT GATE BACK PANEL EXPERIENCED MULTIPLE CRACKS MAKING THE LIFT GATE WINDSHIELD VERY UNSTABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000. JFT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/9/2014 - TUCSON, AZ
I WAS AT A STOPLIGHT AND WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN MY CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. THE CAR WAS IN DRIVE AND IT WOULD JUST REV. THE CARS BEHIND ME STARTED HONKING. I PUT IT IN THE LOWER GEARS AND FINALLY STARTED MOVING FORWARD AND DROVE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. AS I WAS DRIVING TO THE DEALERSHIP IN THE LOWER GEARS THE CAR SHIFTED OUT OF GEAR WHILE IN TRAFFIC, I PUT IT IN NEUTRAL AND BACK INTO 3 AND IT STARTED MOVING FORWARD AGAIN. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS SINCE THE CAR WILL JUST SHIFT IN AND OUT OF GEAR AND STOP MOVING FORWARD. AT THE DEALERSHIP THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE WHILE IN DRIVE OR REVERSE. THEY TOLD ME THE TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $4,200, THIS IS AFTER I JUST HAD THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED TWO MONTHS AGO AT A COST OF $1,800. FORD NEED TO DO A RECALL IN THESE TRANSMISSIONS IT COULD LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

10/9/2014 - TUCSON, AZ
I WAS AT A STOPLIGHT AND WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN MY CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. THE CAR WAS IN DRIVE AND IT WOULD JUST REV. THE CARS BEHIND ME STARTED HONKING. I PUT IT IN THE LOWER GEARS AND FINALLY STARTED MOVING FORWARD AND DROVE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. AS I WAS DRIVING TO THE DEALERSHIP IN THE LOWER GEARS THE CAR SHIFTED OUT OF GEAR WHILE IN TRAFFIC, I PUT IT IN NEUTRAL AND BACK INTO 3 AND IT STARTED MOVING FORWARD AGAIN. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS SINCE THE CAR WILL JUST SHIFT IN AND OUT OF GEAR AND STOP MOVING FORWARD. AT THE DEALERSHIP THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE WHILE IN DRIVE OR REVERSE. THEY TOLD ME THE TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $4,200, THIS IS AFTER I JUST HAD THE THROTTLE BODY REPLACED TWO MONTHS AGO AT A COST OF $1,800. FORD NEED TO DO A RECALL IN THESE TRANSMISSIONS IT COULD LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

WHEELS: LUGS/NUTS/BOLTS

9/12/2014 - FAIRFAX, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND VIBRATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED TWICE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC REPLACED THE STUDS ON BOTH FRONT WHEELS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,884.

View Details

STEERING

9/11/2014 - FITCHBURG, MA
MY VEHICLE BURNED THROUGH ANOTHER ALTERNATOR, EVERYTHING ON THE VEHICLE IS 100% FACTORY SO I DON'T KNOW WHAT IS CAUSING THAT. IMMEDIATELY AFTER I REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR FOR THE SECOND TIME IN 6 MONTHS, THE POWER STEERING HAS VANISHED. I CHECKED ALL THE BELTS MADE SURE EVERYTHING IS RUNNING PROPERLY AND IN THE CORRECT PLACE. THE POWER STEERING PUMP SEEMS TO BE PUMPING BUT NOT WORKING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/11/2014 - FITCHBURG, MA
MY VEHICLE BURNED THROUGH ANOTHER ALTERNATOR, EVERYTHING ON THE VEHICLE IS 100% FACTORY SO I DON'T KNOW WHAT IS CAUSING THAT. IMMEDIATELY AFTER I REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR FOR THE SECOND TIME IN 6 MONTHS, THE POWER STEERING HAS VANISHED. I CHECKED ALL THE BELTS MADE SURE EVERYTHING IS RUNNING PROPERLY AND IN THE CORRECT PLACE. THE POWER STEERING PUMP SEEMS TO BE PUMPING BUT NOT WORKING.

View Details

ENGINE

9/10/2014 - LANCASTER, CA
WHEN I SLOW DOWN OR COME TO A STOP, THE TRUCK CUTS OFF. EVEN WHIL IN MIDE TURN.

View Details

ENGINE

9/5/2014 - WILLIAMSBURG, KY
WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, ITS NOT WANTING TO RUN. THEN WHEN I START TO PULL OUT IT STALLS. I MEAN, U PUSH THE GAS PEDAL AND IT TAKES MAYBE FOUR SECONDS BEFORE ANYTHING HAPPENS, THEN THE TIRES SPIN IT JERKS FORWARD AND MY KIDS SCREAM. IT JERKS U BACK IN THE SEAT. OK, WE'RE ON THE ROAD, I DONT KNOW IF ITS GOING TO RUN. ONE MINUTE ITS ACTING LIKE ITS GETTING ENOUGH FUEL. THE NEXTS ITS LIKE IT ISNT. NOW THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON. I CALL THE GUY WHO WORKS ON CARS, HE USE TO BE A HEAD MECHANIC FOR FOR HAS HIS OWN SHOP NOW, HE AUTOMATICALLY TELLS ME ITS THE THROTTLE BODY AND SAYS IF I CANT FIND A USED ONE, U WONT LIKE BUYIN A NEW ONE. AN THE BAD THING IS U HAVE TO REPLACE THEM ABOUT EVERY 120000 MILES. NOW ISNT THAT GREAT. THE AUTO PARTS STORE SAYS ABOUT $725 WILL TAKE CARE OF THE PART, WHAT ABOUT THE LABOR??? I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE BECAUSE IT HAD A THIRD ROW SEAT. I HAVE THREE KIDS. I NEED IT TO BE SAFE, NOT A DEATH TRAP. FORD KNOWS IT HAS A PROBLEM, FIX IT!!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/5/2014 - WILLIAMSBURG, KY
WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, ITS NOT WANTING TO RUN. THEN WHEN I START TO PULL OUT IT STALLS. I MEAN, U PUSH THE GAS PEDAL AND IT TAKES MAYBE FOUR SECONDS BEFORE ANYTHING HAPPENS, THEN THE TIRES SPIN IT JERKS FORWARD AND MY KIDS SCREAM. IT JERKS U BACK IN THE SEAT. OK, WE'RE ON THE ROAD, I DONT KNOW IF ITS GOING TO RUN. ONE MINUTE ITS ACTING LIKE ITS GETTING ENOUGH FUEL. THE NEXTS ITS LIKE IT ISNT. NOW THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON. I CALL THE GUY WHO WORKS ON CARS, HE USE TO BE A HEAD MECHANIC FOR FOR HAS HIS OWN SHOP NOW, HE AUTOMATICALLY TELLS ME ITS THE THROTTLE BODY AND SAYS IF I CANT FIND A USED ONE, U WONT LIKE BUYIN A NEW ONE. AN THE BAD THING IS U HAVE TO REPLACE THEM ABOUT EVERY 120000 MILES. NOW ISNT THAT GREAT. THE AUTO PARTS STORE SAYS ABOUT $725 WILL TAKE CARE OF THE PART, WHAT ABOUT THE LABOR??? I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE BECAUSE IT HAD A THIRD ROW SEAT. I HAVE THREE KIDS. I NEED IT TO BE SAFE, NOT A DEATH TRAP. FORD KNOWS IT HAS A PROBLEM, FIX IT!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/5/2014 - WILLIAMSBURG, KY
WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, ITS NOT WANTING TO RUN. THEN WHEN I START TO PULL OUT IT STALLS. I MEAN, U PUSH THE GAS PEDAL AND IT TAKES MAYBE FOUR SECONDS BEFORE ANYTHING HAPPENS, THEN THE TIRES SPIN IT JERKS FORWARD AND MY KIDS SCREAM. IT JERKS U BACK IN THE SEAT. OK, WE'RE ON THE ROAD, I DONT KNOW IF ITS GOING TO RUN. ONE MINUTE ITS ACTING LIKE ITS GETTING ENOUGH FUEL. THE NEXTS ITS LIKE IT ISNT. NOW THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON. I CALL THE GUY WHO WORKS ON CARS, HE USE TO BE A HEAD MECHANIC FOR FOR HAS HIS OWN SHOP NOW, HE AUTOMATICALLY TELLS ME ITS THE THROTTLE BODY AND SAYS IF I CANT FIND A USED ONE, U WONT LIKE BUYIN A NEW ONE. AN THE BAD THING IS U HAVE TO REPLACE THEM ABOUT EVERY 120000 MILES. NOW ISNT THAT GREAT. THE AUTO PARTS STORE SAYS ABOUT $725 WILL TAKE CARE OF THE PART, WHAT ABOUT THE LABOR??? I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE BECAUSE IT HAD A THIRD ROW SEAT. I HAVE THREE KIDS. I NEED IT TO BE SAFE, NOT A DEATH TRAP. FORD KNOWS IT HAS A PROBLEM, FIX IT!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 105
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds