Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1237 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (53) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (462) Steering (36) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (426) Vehicle Speed Control (67)
Engine (33) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (7) Suspension (38) Visibility (102)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes (13) Tires (17) Visibility Wiper (11)
Equipment (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (40)
Exterior Lighting (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE THROTTLE WOULD NOT RESPOND AFTER STARTING. ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL AND ENGINE SERVICE WARNING LIGHTS LIT ON DASH. ENGINE WOULD NOT REV OVER 1000 RPM. HAD TO GET ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY REPLACED AT A COST OF $875 PLUS $65 TOWING. ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL FAILURE HAS BEEN COMMON FORDS GOING BACK TO 2002. FORD HAS REPLACED OVER 1.6 MILLION UNITS UNDER THEIR CONSUMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM. HOWEVER, THERE WAS NO RECALL. CALLED FORD, AND WAS ASSIGNED A CASE #, HOWEVER, FORD WOULD NOT ASSIST WITH PAYMENT. VEHICLE OUT OF WARRANTY. 31,155 ACTUAL MILEAGE

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE THROTTLE WOULD NOT RESPOND AFTER STARTING. ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL AND ENGINE SERVICE WARNING LIGHTS LIT ON DASH. ENGINE WOULD NOT REV OVER 1000 RPM. HAD TO GET ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY REPLACED AT A COST OF $875 PLUS $65 TOWING. ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL FAILURE HAS BEEN COMMON FORDS GOING BACK TO 2002. FORD HAS REPLACED OVER 1.6 MILLION UNITS UNDER THEIR CONSUMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM. HOWEVER, THERE WAS NO RECALL. CALLED FORD, AND WAS ASSIGNED A CASE #, HOWEVER, FORD WOULD NOT ASSIST WITH PAYMENT. VEHICLE OUT OF WARRANTY. 31,155 ACTUAL MILEAGE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/19/2016 - SARASOTA, FL
THE PANEL UNDER THE REAR LIFT GATE WINDOW HAS CRACKED 3 TIMES NOW. THIS PANEL CRACKS NEAR THE FORD EMBLEM ON EITHER THE RIGHT OR LEFT SIDE. I CALLED FORD AND FILED A COMPLAINT AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY HAVE NO INFORMATION ON THIS BEING AN ISSUE. MY PANEL HAS CRACKED FOR THE 4TH TIME AND FORD IS REFUSING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE SINCE 2005. I CAN SUBMIT PHOTOS IF NEEDED TO SUPPORT THIS MATTER. THE PANEL APPEARS TO CRACK DUE TO THE LIFT GATE FLEXING WHEN IT IS OPENED AND CLOSED. IN THE PAST 3 YEARS, I HAVE OBSERVED "ALL" THE FORDS AROUND THAT YEAR HAVE BUSTED PANELS AND THEY'RE TELLING ME THERE IS NO PROBLEM.....ANOTHER COVER-UP IN THE MAKING!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

4/5/2016 - HOPKINS, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. AFTER OPENING THE LIFTGATE WINDOW, THE CONTACT NOTICED A CRACK ON THE DRIVER SIDE HATCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 172,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/2/2016 - GLENDALE, AZ
TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AT APPROX 93,000 MILES, HEAT WENT OUT AROUND 85,000 MILES, SEAT BELTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED ONCE UNDER WARRANTY AND AGAIN DON'T WORK, ELECTRIC SEAT DOESN'T WORK, MISC. OTHER THINGS

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/2/2016 - GLENDALE, AZ
TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AT APPROX 93,000 MILES, HEAT WENT OUT AROUND 85,000 MILES, SEAT BELTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED ONCE UNDER WARRANTY AND AGAIN DON'T WORK, ELECTRIC SEAT DOESN'T WORK, MISC. OTHER THINGS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/2/2016 - GLENDALE, AZ
TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AT APPROX 93,000 MILES, HEAT WENT OUT AROUND 85,000 MILES, SEAT BELTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED ONCE UNDER WARRANTY AND AGAIN DON'T WORK, ELECTRIC SEAT DOESN'T WORK, MISC. OTHER THINGS

View Details

ENGINE

1/27/2016 - COFFEYVILLE, KS
CAME HOME FROM WORK FRIDAY EVENING AND SAT. MORNING THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. TOOK BATTERY IN AND TESTED, IT WAS DEAD. REPLACED THE BATTERY AND THE CAR STILL WOULD NOT START. ONLY CLICKED, RELAY AND STARTER WERE FINE. HAD TO TOW IT TO A MECHANIC WHO HAS DETERMINED THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM HAS SHUT DOWN MY ENGINE FOR NO REASON. THE KEY NO LONGER CONNECTS TO THE SYSTEM. WHY IS THERE NOT A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE?? I HAVE SEEN ONLINE FORUMS AND MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE. NOW I HAVE TO TOW MY VEHICLE TO A DEALER 40 MILES AWAY AND PAY TO HAVE MY VEHICLE AND KEYS REPROGRAMMED. OVER $120!!! THIS ISSUE LEFT ME STRANDED WITH NO VEHICLE FOR OVER A WEEK. I THINK FORD SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR AND TOW COSTS!!!

View Details

ENGINE

1/6/2016 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD BOOM AND DISCOVERED THAT HIS PARKED VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FLAMES. THE INSURANCE COMPANY DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/14/2015 - OMAHA, NE
IN THE MIDDLE OF THE REAR PANEL UNDER THE REAR GLASS NEAR THE REAR WIPER CRACKS. THE FIRST TIME WE PAID TO HAVE THE PANEL REPLACED. BECAUSE WE WERE CONCERNED THAT THE GLASS WOULD COME LOOSE CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. LESS THAN 18 MONTHS AND THE CRACKS HAVE REAPPEARED ONLY NOW THERE ARE TWO CRACKS IN THE SAME LOCATION. WE HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE CARS ON THE ROAD WITH THIS SAME CRACK. THE DEALER SAYS THEY HAVE SEEN AS WELL. CALLED FORD REGARDING THIS ISSUE. HOWEVER, FORD REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE IS A DEFAULT IN THE PANEL WHICH CAN CAUSES THE REAR GLASS TO FALL OUT CAUSING SERIOUS ACCIDENTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds