Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1233 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (52) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (460) Steering (36) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (422) Vehicle Speed Control (67)
Engine (32) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (7) Suspension (38) Visibility (102)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes (13) Tires (17) Visibility Wiper (11)
Equipment (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (40)
Exterior Lighting (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

4/5/2016 - HOPKINS, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. AFTER OPENING THE LIFTGATE WINDOW, THE CONTACT NOTICED A CRACK ON THE DRIVER SIDE HATCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 172,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/2/2016 - GLENDALE, AZ
TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AT APPROX 93,000 MILES, HEAT WENT OUT AROUND 85,000 MILES, SEAT BELTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED ONCE UNDER WARRANTY AND AGAIN DON'T WORK, ELECTRIC SEAT DOESN'T WORK, MISC. OTHER THINGS

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/2/2016 - GLENDALE, AZ
TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AT APPROX 93,000 MILES, HEAT WENT OUT AROUND 85,000 MILES, SEAT BELTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED ONCE UNDER WARRANTY AND AGAIN DON'T WORK, ELECTRIC SEAT DOESN'T WORK, MISC. OTHER THINGS

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/2/2016 - GLENDALE, AZ
TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AT APPROX 93,000 MILES, HEAT WENT OUT AROUND 85,000 MILES, SEAT BELTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED ONCE UNDER WARRANTY AND AGAIN DON'T WORK, ELECTRIC SEAT DOESN'T WORK, MISC. OTHER THINGS

View Details

ENGINE

1/27/2016 - COFFEYVILLE, KS
CAME HOME FROM WORK FRIDAY EVENING AND SAT. MORNING THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. TOOK BATTERY IN AND TESTED, IT WAS DEAD. REPLACED THE BATTERY AND THE CAR STILL WOULD NOT START. ONLY CLICKED, RELAY AND STARTER WERE FINE. HAD TO TOW IT TO A MECHANIC WHO HAS DETERMINED THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM HAS SHUT DOWN MY ENGINE FOR NO REASON. THE KEY NO LONGER CONNECTS TO THE SYSTEM. WHY IS THERE NOT A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE?? I HAVE SEEN ONLINE FORUMS AND MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE. NOW I HAVE TO TOW MY VEHICLE TO A DEALER 40 MILES AWAY AND PAY TO HAVE MY VEHICLE AND KEYS REPROGRAMMED. OVER $120!!! THIS ISSUE LEFT ME STRANDED WITH NO VEHICLE FOR OVER A WEEK. I THINK FORD SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR AND TOW COSTS!!!

View Details

ENGINE

1/6/2016 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD BOOM AND DISCOVERED THAT HIS PARKED VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FLAMES. THE INSURANCE COMPANY DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/14/2015 - OMAHA, NE
IN THE MIDDLE OF THE REAR PANEL UNDER THE REAR GLASS NEAR THE REAR WIPER CRACKS. THE FIRST TIME WE PAID TO HAVE THE PANEL REPLACED. BECAUSE WE WERE CONCERNED THAT THE GLASS WOULD COME LOOSE CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. LESS THAN 18 MONTHS AND THE CRACKS HAVE REAPPEARED ONLY NOW THERE ARE TWO CRACKS IN THE SAME LOCATION. WE HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE CARS ON THE ROAD WITH THIS SAME CRACK. THE DEALER SAYS THEY HAVE SEEN AS WELL. CALLED FORD REGARDING THIS ISSUE. HOWEVER, FORD REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE IS A DEFAULT IN THE PANEL WHICH CAN CAUSES THE REAR GLASS TO FALL OUT CAUSING SERIOUS ACCIDENTS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/13/2015 - MCKINNEY, TX
WAS DRIVING ON THE ROAD ALMOST TO MY PARENTS HOUSE WHEN I HEARD AN EXPLOSIVE SOUND. I LOOK IN MY MIRROR TO DISCOVER THAT MY REAR WINDSHIELD HAD EXPLODED. AT FIRST I THOUGHT A ROCK HAD HIT IT BUT WHEN I GOT OUT I DISCOVERED THAT THE HYDRAULIC ARMS HAD EXPANDED AND PUSHED OUT THE SIDES OF THE HATCH, WHICH RESULTED IN THE SHATTERING OF THE WINDSHIELD. MY CHILDREN WERE IN THE CAR BUT FORTUNATELY THE GLASS ONLY EXPLODED INTO THE BACK OF THE CAR AND NOT INTO THEIR SEATS.

View Details

WHEELS

11/30/2015 - ALLEN, TX
THE RIGHT REAR PASSENGER WHEEL CAME OFF MY 2004 FORD EXPLORER WHEN I WAS DRIVING WESTBOUND ON INTERSTATE 70 NEAR KINGDOM CITY, MO. ALL FIVE (5) BOLTS AND LUG NUTS SECURING THE WHEEL/TIRE WERE BROKEN OFF. MY WIFE AND I WERE TRAVELING AT 70 MPH IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE OF INTERSTATE WHEN THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOUD NOISE FROM THE REAR AND THE VEHICLE SWERVED VIOLENTLY TO THE RIGHT AND THEN LEFT. THE VEHICLE SPUN AND ENTERED INTO THE GRASS MEDIAN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSTATE AND THE CABLE STOPPING SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE BECAME ENTWINED WITH THE CABLE SYSTEM CAUSING IT TO FLIP ON ITS SIDE AND COME TO REST. THE LEFT AND RIGHT SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED, BUT THE FRONT AIR BAGS DID NOT. MY WIFE AND I HAD DIFFICULTY RELEASING THE SEAT BELTS SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS LAYING ON ITS RIGHT SIDE. I WAS FINALLY ABLE TO RELEASE BOTH SEAT BELTS AND OPEN THE SUN ROOF FOR BOTH OF US TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. THE ENGINE AREA WAS SMOKING, BUT DID NOT CATCH FIRE. LUCKILY, MY 2004 FORD EXPLORER DID NOT COMPLETELY ROLL OVER OR THAT MY VEHICLE NOR MY LOOSE REAR WHEEL AND TIRE DID NOT HIT ANOTHER VEHICLE THAT WERE NEAR ME ON INTERSTATE 70 AT THE TIME OF THIS ACCIDENT. UPON EXAMINATION OF RIGHT REAR WHEEL WELL, THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL AND TIRE WERE COMPLETELY MISSING AND THE FIVE (5) LUG BOLTS HAD ALL SHEARED. THERE APPEARED TO QUITE A BIT OF FLUID AROUND THE WHEEL WELL. IT MIGHT HAVE BEEN BRAKE FLUID. WE WERE ABLE TO FIND ONE OF THE LUG NUTS, WHICH STILL HAD A PART OF THE SHEARED BOLT REMAINING INSIDE. I WOULD NEVER HAVE THOUGHT THAT ALL FIVE LUG BOLTS SECURING THE WHEEL AND TIRE COULD FRACTURE AND SHEAR ALLOWING THE WHEEL AND TIRE TO BECOME FREE OF THE VEHICLE AXLE. THE MISSOURI STATE HIGHWAY PATROL WROTE UP AN ACCIDENT REPORT, #150733145. MY WIFE AND I WERE PRETTY SHAKEN UP BY THE ACCIDENT. HER RIGHT SIDE, ARM AND WRIST AND MY HEAD, NECK AND SIDE HURT AFTER THE ACCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/12/2015 - HAMPTON, VA
MY CAR WAS PARKED IN FRONT OF MY RESIDENCE ON THE STREET, IT HAD NOT BEEN DRIVEN THAT DAY. THE BACK WINDOW IN THE TAILGATE EXPLODED, CAUSING DAMAGE TO THE TAILGATE. NO ONE WAS DRIVING IT, IT HAD NOT BEEN TOUCHED THAT DAY. THERE WAS A PRIOR CRACK IN THE TAILGATE WHICH I HAVE SEEN ON OTHER EXPLORER'S, AND SINCE LEARNED THAT IT IS A DEFECT IN THE CARE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds