Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1247 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (54) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (466) Steering (37) Unknown Or Other (26)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (428) Vehicle Speed Control (69)
Engine (36) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (7) Suspension (38) Visibility (102)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes (16) Tires (17) Visibility Wiper (11)
Equipment (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (40)
Exterior Lighting (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 113
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/12/2016 - CORYDON, IN
TRANSMISSION FAILURE WITH OVERDRIVE LIGHT BLINKING .NO FIRST GEAR,SHIFTS HARD , SOMETIME IT WONT SHIFT WITHOUT LETTING OFF GAS .WITH CODESPO731,PO733,PO734,PO745 NEEDS TOTAL REBUILD THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 40 MILES A HOUR , ABS LIGHT IS ON . CODES SHOW WRONG LINE PRESSURE.ENGINE KNOCKING , TIMMING CHAIN ISSUES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/12/2016 - CORYDON, IN
TRANSMISSION FAILURE WITH OVERDRIVE LIGHT BLINKING .NO FIRST GEAR,SHIFTS HARD , SOMETIME IT WONT SHIFT WITHOUT LETTING OFF GAS .WITH CODESPO731,PO733,PO734,PO745 NEEDS TOTAL REBUILD THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 40 MILES A HOUR , ABS LIGHT IS ON . CODES SHOW WRONG LINE PRESSURE.ENGINE KNOCKING , TIMMING CHAIN ISSUES.

View Details

ENGINE

11/12/2016 - CORYDON, IN
TRANSMISSION FAILURE WITH OVERDRIVE LIGHT BLINKING .NO FIRST GEAR,SHIFTS HARD , SOMETIME IT WONT SHIFT WITHOUT LETTING OFF GAS .WITH CODESPO731,PO733,PO734,PO745 NEEDS TOTAL REBUILD THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 40 MILES A HOUR , ABS LIGHT IS ON . CODES SHOW WRONG LINE PRESSURE.ENGINE KNOCKING , TIMMING CHAIN ISSUES.

View Details

STEERING

11/7/2016 - KISSIMMEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING AND BRAKING, WHICH RESULTED IN A CRASH. ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND THEN TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WAS ONE INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT WAS TREATED FOR SECOND DEGREE BURNS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

11/7/2016 - KISSIMMEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING AND BRAKING, WHICH RESULTED IN A CRASH. ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND THEN TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WAS ONE INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT WAS TREATED FOR SECOND DEGREE BURNS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/7/2016 - KISSIMMEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING AND BRAKING, WHICH RESULTED IN A CRASH. ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND THEN TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WAS ONE INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT WAS TREATED FOR SECOND DEGREE BURNS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/5/2016 - JEFFERSON, WI
CRACKS ON REAR PANEL HAPPENED A FEW YEARS AGO. I WAS TOLD IT'S A COMMON KNOWN PROBLEM WITH FORD, BUT THEY WON'T REPAIR IT AND IT'S NOT NEEDED. NOW THE HATCH WON'T FULLY CLOSE OR LOCK SHUT DUE TO THE PARTS BEHIND THE FORD EMBLEM RUSTING OUT DUE TD THE CRACKS. WATER HAS GOTTEN BEHIND IT, ALSO THE REAR WIPER WILL NOT WORK DUE TO THE WATER GETTING THROUGH FROM THE CRACKS. I CAN NOW NOT DRIVE MY ONLY TRUCK THAT FITS MY FAMILY. WE WERE LEAVING TO GO OUT TO A FAMILY ADVENT, AND I NOTICED THE BACK HATCH WAS OPEN, THAT IS WHEN I FOUND OUT HOW DAMAGED IT WAS DUE TO THE PANEL BEING CRACKED. I CALLED FORD, THEY TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE TO REPAIR IT OUT OF MY OWN POCKET AT A FORD DEALERSHIP. THIS COULD CAUSE A HUGE ISSUE IF I DROVE AND THE BACK WIDOW FULLY CAME OFF WHILE DRIVING, IT COULD HAVE SEVERALLY HURT SOMEONE OR DAMAGED ANOTHER VEHICLE AND OR PERSON, OR PERSONS. THIS COMMON ISSUE NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED AND RECALLED. I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/4/2016 - RACINE, WI
TRANSMISSION FAILURE. SHIFT SOLENOID "B" CIRCUIT FAILURE TRANSMISSION DOES NOT SHIFT INTO 2ND GEAR UNTIL VEHICLE REACHES 3000 RPM. O/D LIGHT FLASHES, SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT ACTIVATES AND TRANSMISSION STAYS IN 3RD GEAR. DON'T USE VEHICLE AND IS OUT OF EXTENDED WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

8/17/2016 - MILTON, FL
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET I ACTIVATED THE CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE, BUT WHEN I DEEXCELLERATED USING THE THE STEERING WHEEL CRUISE CONTROL BUTTONS DOWN TO A SPEED BELOW 40, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND POWER STEERING OFF, WHILE I WAS STILL IN MOTION ON THE STREET. I HAD TO PUT THE VEHICLE INTO PARK AND CRANK UP AGAIN (WHICH ALMOST DIDN'T CRANK BACK UP), TO GET BACK RUNNING. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME USING MY CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE AND HAVE READ OTHER HORROR STORIES OF THEIR FORD EXPLORER SHUTTING OFF MID DRIVE DUE TO USING THE DECEL BUTTON DURING CRUISE CONTROL. MUST BE RECALLED FOR HIGHWAY AND INTERSTATE SAFETY HAZARD IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/17/2016 - MILTON, FL
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET I ACTIVATED THE CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE, BUT WHEN I DEEXCELLERATED USING THE THE STEERING WHEEL CRUISE CONTROL BUTTONS DOWN TO A SPEED BELOW 40, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND POWER STEERING OFF, WHILE I WAS STILL IN MOTION ON THE STREET. I HAD TO PUT THE VEHICLE INTO PARK AND CRANK UP AGAIN (WHICH ALMOST DIDN'T CRANK BACK UP), TO GET BACK RUNNING. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME USING MY CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE AND HAVE READ OTHER HORROR STORIES OF THEIR FORD EXPLORER SHUTTING OFF MID DRIVE DUE TO USING THE DECEL BUTTON DURING CRUISE CONTROL. MUST BE RECALLED FOR HIGHWAY AND INTERSTATE SAFETY HAZARD IMMEDIATELY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 113
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds