Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1210 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (50) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (456) Steering (36) Unknown Or Other (30)
Engine (29) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (4) Structure (413) Vehicle Speed Control (63)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (6) Suspension (38) Visibility (98)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes (13) Tires (17) Visibility Wiper (9)
Exterior Lighting (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (39)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 109
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

6/1/2015 - QUEEN CREEK, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, A LOUD ABNORMAL NOISE EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE AND IT STARTED TO SWERVE OUT OF CONTROL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 185,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

WHEELS

5/24/2015 - WHITEHALL, OH
CAR STARTS BUT WILL GO FORWARD WHEN SHIFTED IN REVERSE. TURNED THE CAR OFF THEN BACK ON, BUT WHEN I WOULD PUT THE CAR BACK IN REVERSE OR DRIVE, IT STALLED OUT. HAD IT TOWED AND THEN IT WAS FINE AFTER THAT. NOW ITS ABOUT 6 MONTHS LATER, NOW MY ORANGE WRENCH LIGHT POPS UP AND CRUISE CONTROL SHUTS OFF AT 65MPH. THEN IT JERKS A COUPLE TIMES. HAVE HAD IT CHECKED AND CAME BACK WITH 14 CODES MAINLY FOR TRANSMISSION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/24/2015 - WHITEHALL, OH
CAR STARTS BUT WILL GO FORWARD WHEN SHIFTED IN REVERSE. TURNED THE CAR OFF THEN BACK ON, BUT WHEN I WOULD PUT THE CAR BACK IN REVERSE OR DRIVE, IT STALLED OUT. HAD IT TOWED AND THEN IT WAS FINE AFTER THAT. NOW ITS ABOUT 6 MONTHS LATER, NOW MY ORANGE WRENCH LIGHT POPS UP AND CRUISE CONTROL SHUTS OFF AT 65MPH. THEN IT JERKS A COUPLE TIMES. HAVE HAD IT CHECKED AND CAME BACK WITH 14 CODES MAINLY FOR TRANSMISSION.

View Details

ENGINE

5/24/2015 - WHITEHALL, OH
CAR STARTS BUT WILL GO FORWARD WHEN SHIFTED IN REVERSE. TURNED THE CAR OFF THEN BACK ON, BUT WHEN I WOULD PUT THE CAR BACK IN REVERSE OR DRIVE, IT STALLED OUT. HAD IT TOWED AND THEN IT WAS FINE AFTER THAT. NOW ITS ABOUT 6 MONTHS LATER, NOW MY ORANGE WRENCH LIGHT POPS UP AND CRUISE CONTROL SHUTS OFF AT 65MPH. THEN IT JERKS A COUPLE TIMES. HAVE HAD IT CHECKED AND CAME BACK WITH 14 CODES MAINLY FOR TRANSMISSION.

View Details

STEERING

5/17/2015 - ANN ARBOR, MI
COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT APPEARED 2 DAYS PREVIOUS BUT DID NOT YET MAKE IT TO THE MECHANIC. COMPUTER READING SUGGESTED A SENSOR PROBLEM. ENGINE SHUT DOWN, LOST POWER STEERING AND ALL SYSTEMS. ENGINE RESTARTED BUT NOW IDLES ROUGH.

View Details

ENGINE

5/17/2015 - ANN ARBOR, MI
COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT APPEARED 2 DAYS PREVIOUS BUT DID NOT YET MAKE IT TO THE MECHANIC. COMPUTER READING SUGGESTED A SENSOR PROBLEM. ENGINE SHUT DOWN, LOST POWER STEERING AND ALL SYSTEMS. ENGINE RESTARTED BUT NOW IDLES ROUGH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/17/2015 - ANN ARBOR, MI
COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT APPEARED 2 DAYS PREVIOUS BUT DID NOT YET MAKE IT TO THE MECHANIC. COMPUTER READING SUGGESTED A SENSOR PROBLEM. ENGINE SHUT DOWN, LOST POWER STEERING AND ALL SYSTEMS. ENGINE RESTARTED BUT NOW IDLES ROUGH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/6/2015 - BOONSBORO, MD
CAR WAS PARKED. I OPENED REAR HATCH (JUST THE WINDOW PART) AND THE PASSENGER SIDE HINGE BROKE CAUSING HATCH TO FALL DOWN ON MY HEAD (QUITE PAINFUL!). ABOUT A YEAR AGO THIS SAME THING HAPPENED WITH THE DRIVERS SIDE HINGE (THOUGH I WAS ABLE TO CATCH IT BEFORE IT HIT MY HEAD). I HAD THAT SIDE REPAIRED, BUT NOW IT LOOKS CORRODED SO I WORRY IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/5/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
TRANSMISSION FAILURE, COMMON FOR FORD EXPLORER 2004.

View Details

ENGINE

4/24/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND STARTED BLOWING FUEL FUMES INTO THE DRIVER'S CABIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPARK PLUG BLEW OUT OF THE CYLINDER AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 109
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds