Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2004 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1251 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (54) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (468) Steering (37) Unknown Or Other (26)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (429) Vehicle Speed Control (71)
Engine (38) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (7) Suspension (38) Visibility (102)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes (16) Tires (17) Visibility Wiper (11)
Equipment (7) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (40)
Exterior Lighting (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/6/2017 - HARRISBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, AN OVERDRIVE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WHILE THE VEHICLE DECREASED IN SPEED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 127,695.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/5/2017 - JEFFERSON, WI
I HAVE ALREADY PUT A COMPLAINT IN ABOUT MY THROTTLE BODY ISSUE. THIS EVENING I WENT ABOUT A MILE AND A HALF, AND MY WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND MY TRUCK STARTED TO NOT TO BE ABLE TO MOVE. I PULLED OVER, TURNED IT OFF. WAITED A BIT AND RESTARTED IT. THIS TIME IT TOOK A BIT TO GET IT TO START UP. I THEN PROCEEDED TO GO BACK HOME BECAUSE OF HOW IT WAS ACTING A MILE AND A HALF AFTER DRIVING, NOT OFTEN TWO MINUTES LATER IT HAPPENS AGAIN, AND THE ENGINE STARTED CHUGGING, I COULDN'T MOVE, AND I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED AGAIN! I THEN AGAIN TURNED IT OFF AND WAITED AND THEN STARTED THE TRUCK UP. IT TOOK SOMETIME ONCE AGAIN TO START. I FINALLY MADE IT BACK HOME IN TEARS. I WAS ABLE TO GET CODES OFF, SINCE I PICKED A UP A CODE RAFFIA FEW DAYS PRIOR. I GOT CODE P2104, P2111, AND P2112. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. I WILL BE CALLING FORD TOMORROW!

View Details

ENGINE

3/5/2017 - JEFFERSON, WI
I HAVE ALREADY PUT A COMPLAINT IN ABOUT MY THROTTLE BODY ISSUE. THIS EVENING I WENT ABOUT A MILE AND A HALF, AND MY WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND MY TRUCK STARTED TO NOT TO BE ABLE TO MOVE. I PULLED OVER, TURNED IT OFF. WAITED A BIT AND RESTARTED IT. THIS TIME IT TOOK A BIT TO GET IT TO START UP. I THEN PROCEEDED TO GO BACK HOME BECAUSE OF HOW IT WAS ACTING A MILE AND A HALF AFTER DRIVING, NOT OFTEN TWO MINUTES LATER IT HAPPENS AGAIN, AND THE ENGINE STARTED CHUGGING, I COULDN'T MOVE, AND I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED AGAIN! I THEN AGAIN TURNED IT OFF AND WAITED AND THEN STARTED THE TRUCK UP. IT TOOK SOMETIME ONCE AGAIN TO START. I FINALLY MADE IT BACK HOME IN TEARS. I WAS ABLE TO GET CODES OFF, SINCE I PICKED A UP A CODE RAFFIA FEW DAYS PRIOR. I GOT CODE P2104, P2111, AND P2112. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. I WILL BE CALLING FORD TOMORROW!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/5/2017 - JEFFERSON, WI
I HAVE ALREADY PUT A COMPLAINT IN ABOUT MY THROTTLE BODY ISSUE. THIS EVENING I WENT ABOUT A MILE AND A HALF, AND MY WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND MY TRUCK STARTED TO NOT TO BE ABLE TO MOVE. I PULLED OVER, TURNED IT OFF. WAITED A BIT AND RESTARTED IT. THIS TIME IT TOOK A BIT TO GET IT TO START UP. I THEN PROCEEDED TO GO BACK HOME BECAUSE OF HOW IT WAS ACTING A MILE AND A HALF AFTER DRIVING, NOT OFTEN TWO MINUTES LATER IT HAPPENS AGAIN, AND THE ENGINE STARTED CHUGGING, I COULDN'T MOVE, AND I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED AGAIN! I THEN AGAIN TURNED IT OFF AND WAITED AND THEN STARTED THE TRUCK UP. IT TOOK SOMETIME ONCE AGAIN TO START. I FINALLY MADE IT BACK HOME IN TEARS. I WAS ABLE TO GET CODES OFF, SINCE I PICKED A UP A CODE RAFFIA FEW DAYS PRIOR. I GOT CODE P2104, P2111, AND P2112. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. I WILL BE CALLING FORD TOMORROW!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/28/2017 - JEFFERSON, WI
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY GOING 60MPG, OUT OF NO WHERE MY FORD EXPLORER STOPS MOVING AND DECREASES IN SPEED FAST. AT THAT SAME TIME A WRENCH SYMBOL POPPED UP ON MY DASH. I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED DUE TO THE SPEED DROPPING SO FAST, I COULD NOT PULL OVER FAST ENOUGH. ONCE PULLED OVER, I TURNOFF MY FORD FOR A FEW MINUTES. AFTER A FEW MINUTES I STARTED IT BACK UP. THE WRENCH SYMBOL WAS GONE, I WAS ABLE TO THEN ACCELERATE AND GET TO THE CORRECT SPEED FOR THE SPEED LIMIT. ONCE I GOT HOME I STOPPED AT MY LOCAL SHOP AND THEY SCANNED THE COMPUTER TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON. I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS MY THROTTLE BODY. I WAS NOT GIVING ANY CODES AND THE SHOP OWNER CLEARED THE CODES OUT OF THE SYSTEM. HE TOLD ME THAT IF IT COMES BACK HE DID SAY THAT IF IT COMES BACK I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE MY THROTTLE BODY. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS I KNOW THERE ARE RECALLS THAT ARE BEING PETITION ON OTHER FORD VEHICLES AND I HAVE READ MANY COMPLAINTS ON OTHER WEBSITES IN REGARDS TO THIS ISSUE FORD SHOULD REALLY REPLACE THESE BECAUSE THEY CAN CAUSE A VERY HAZARDOUS ACCIDENT WHEN IT THE THROTTLE BODY STOPS PERFORMING. I HOPE THIS CAN BE LOOKED INTO AND CORRECTED IN A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME I KNOW THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS ISSUE. THANK YOU

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2017 - JEFFERSON, WI
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY GOING 60MPG, OUT OF NO WHERE MY FORD EXPLORER STOPS MOVING AND DECREASES IN SPEED FAST. AT THAT SAME TIME A WRENCH SYMBOL POPPED UP ON MY DASH. I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED DUE TO THE SPEED DROPPING SO FAST, I COULD NOT PULL OVER FAST ENOUGH. ONCE PULLED OVER, I TURNOFF MY FORD FOR A FEW MINUTES. AFTER A FEW MINUTES I STARTED IT BACK UP. THE WRENCH SYMBOL WAS GONE, I WAS ABLE TO THEN ACCELERATE AND GET TO THE CORRECT SPEED FOR THE SPEED LIMIT. ONCE I GOT HOME I STOPPED AT MY LOCAL SHOP AND THEY SCANNED THE COMPUTER TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON. I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS MY THROTTLE BODY. I WAS NOT GIVING ANY CODES AND THE SHOP OWNER CLEARED THE CODES OUT OF THE SYSTEM. HE TOLD ME THAT IF IT COMES BACK HE DID SAY THAT IF IT COMES BACK I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE MY THROTTLE BODY. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS I KNOW THERE ARE RECALLS THAT ARE BEING PETITION ON OTHER FORD VEHICLES AND I HAVE READ MANY COMPLAINTS ON OTHER WEBSITES IN REGARDS TO THIS ISSUE FORD SHOULD REALLY REPLACE THESE BECAUSE THEY CAN CAUSE A VERY HAZARDOUS ACCIDENT WHEN IT THE THROTTLE BODY STOPS PERFORMING. I HOPE THIS CAN BE LOOKED INTO AND CORRECTED IN A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME I KNOW THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS ISSUE. THANK YOU

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/5/2017 - PALMETTO, GA
I LOOKED AT THE BACK OF MY 2004 FORD EXPLORER, LTD ONE MORNING (10/11/2016) AND THERE WAS A CRACK STRAIGHT DOWN THE BACK PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY. AFTER DISCOVERING THE SPLIT IN THE PANEL I STARTED TO NOTICE THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL EXPLORER WITH THIS SAME PROBLEM. I ASKED MY DEALER AND THEY SAID THERE WAS NO RECALL AND THE ONLY SUGGESTION WOULD BE TO GET IT REPAIRED MYSELF. THIS IS CLEARLY A FORD ISSUE. NOW WHILE DRIVING A HEAR RATTLING AND HOPE THE ENTIRE PANEL DOESN'T FALL OFF. I DID CALL THE FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE TODAY TO REGISTER MY CONCERNS. THEY ALSO TOLD ME THERE WERE NO RECALLS AT THIS TIME BUT HE WOULD FILE MY CONCERN AND GAVE ME A CASE #CAS-11411018 FOR FUTURE REFERENCE. I AM ON A RETIRED INCOME AND THIS IS SOMETHING I CAN'T AFFORD TO HAVE REPAIRED THEN KEEP RECEIPTS IN HOPE THAT FORD WILL DO THE RIGHT THING AND RECALL AND/OR ASSIST ME WITH THE REPAIR EXPENSES. IN READING ON-LINE AFTER SEVERAL OWNERS HAD THE PANEL REPLACED, IT CRACKED AGAIN LATER. PLEASE ADVISE ME AND HELP ME GET ASSISTANCE WITH THIS ISSUE WITH MY 2004 FORD EXPLORER, LTD BACK PANEL SPLITTING FOR NO OBVIOUS REASON.

View Details

ENGINE

11/12/2016 - CORYDON, IN
TRANSMISSION FAILURE WITH OVERDRIVE LIGHT BLINKING .NO FIRST GEAR,SHIFTS HARD , SOMETIME IT WONT SHIFT WITHOUT LETTING OFF GAS .WITH CODESPO731,PO733,PO734,PO745 NEEDS TOTAL REBUILD THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 40 MILES A HOUR , ABS LIGHT IS ON . CODES SHOW WRONG LINE PRESSURE.ENGINE KNOCKING , TIMMING CHAIN ISSUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/12/2016 - CORYDON, IN
TRANSMISSION FAILURE WITH OVERDRIVE LIGHT BLINKING .NO FIRST GEAR,SHIFTS HARD , SOMETIME IT WONT SHIFT WITHOUT LETTING OFF GAS .WITH CODESPO731,PO733,PO734,PO745 NEEDS TOTAL REBUILD THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 40 MILES A HOUR , ABS LIGHT IS ON . CODES SHOW WRONG LINE PRESSURE.ENGINE KNOCKING , TIMMING CHAIN ISSUES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/12/2016 - CORYDON, IN
TRANSMISSION FAILURE WITH OVERDRIVE LIGHT BLINKING .NO FIRST GEAR,SHIFTS HARD , SOMETIME IT WONT SHIFT WITHOUT LETTING OFF GAS .WITH CODESPO731,PO733,PO734,PO745 NEEDS TOTAL REBUILD THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 40 MILES A HOUR , ABS LIGHT IS ON . CODES SHOW WRONG LINE PRESSURE.ENGINE KNOCKING , TIMMING CHAIN ISSUES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds