Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F350 - 2004 FORD F350 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by FORD

There are 104 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD F350

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD F350. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD F350, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel System Diesel (8) Power Train (15) Steering (4) Tires (8)
Electrical System (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

1/5/2011 - ORRSTOWN, PA
SUDDEN POWER LOSSES AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS RESULTING IN ENGINE SHUTTING OFF AND NOT BEING ABLE TO BE RESTARTED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

10/5/2010 - MIAMIVILLE, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD F-350. UPON ENTERING THE VEHICLE HE APPLIED PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL AND IT EXTENDED TO THE FLOOR. HE STEPPED OUT OF THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED BRAKE FLUID LEAKING FROM UNDERNEATH. HE ALSO NOTICED THAT THE BRAKE LINES WERE COMPLETELY COVERED WITH RUST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT EXAMINED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 123,000.

View Details

TIRES

9/23/2010 - PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL
GENERAL TIRES - AMERITRAC MTS LT 235/85R16 - ON 9/23/2010 WE WERE DRIVING ON I-75 IN 2004 FORD F-350 SUPER DUTY DUALLY - THE LEFT FRONT TREAT SEPARATED FROM THE TIRE, THE TIRE DIDN'T LOOSE TIRE PRESSURE, BUT IT CAME APART. IT DAMAGED THE LEFT FRONT FENDER, FRONT BUMPER, AND DRIVER SIDE DOOR. THESE TIRES HAD OVER HALF OF THE TREAD REMAINING. LUCKILY WE WERE ABLE TO KEEP CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

TIRES

8/19/2010 - LEVITTOWN, PA
ON 6-13-09 I HAD A TIRE EXPLODE ON MY 2004 FORD F350 SUPER DUTY PICKUP TRUCK WHILE DRIVING ON THE NORTHEAST EXTENSION OF THE PA TURNPIKE. WE WERE PULLING A 5TH WHEEL TRAILER LOADED WITH ATV'S AND MY HUSBAND AND I HAD OUR 11 YEAR OLD NIECE AND 12 YEAR OLD NEPHEW WITH US. WE STRUCK A MINIVAN. THE MINIVAN INCURRED DAMAGE TO PASSENGER SIDE REAR QUARTER PANEL. OUR TRUCK INCURRED DAMAGE TO THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT QUARTER PANEL, THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT DOOR, THE FRONT BUMPER, THE ABS SENSOR, AND THE RUNNING BOARD. THE TIRE WAS SENT TO A FORENSIC LAB AND THE REPORT INDICATES THAT THE GENERAL AMERICTECH TIRE WAS NOT ONLY MANUFACTURED INCORRECTLY BUT WAS ALSO DESIGNED INCORRECTLY. I HAD TO REPLACE 7 TIRES ON MY TRUCK AS I FELT THE AMERITECH'S WERE NOT SAFE.

View Details

STRUCTURE

7/16/2010 - NEW SALEM , MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD F350. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR FACILITY FOR ROUTINE BRAKE MAINTENANCE. THE MECHANIC ADVISED THAT THE REAR BACKING PLATES ON BOTH REAR WHEELS WERE COMPLETELY RUSTED AND WERE AFFECTING THE BRAKE PADS. THE MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO MAKE REPAIRS TO THE BRAKES. THE MANUFACTURER WOULD NOT PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE WITH THE CORROSION FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THE TRANSMISSION LINES WERE PREVIOUSLY REPLACED, AT HIS EXPENSE, DUE TO CORROSION. IN ADDITION, THE OIL PAN WAS ALSO CORRODED. THERE WERE NO FURTHER REPAIRS. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 150,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM: INJECTORS

3/26/2010 - SCOTTSBORO, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD F350. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY BEGAN TO SHAKE AND JERK FORWARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE EGR COOLER AND THREE FUEL INJECTORS WERE THE CAUSE FOR THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AT THAT TIME. LATER, THE HIGH OIL PRESSURE PUMP AND OIL COOLER FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS AWAITING FURTHER REPAIRS AT THE TIME OF THE COMPLAINT. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER BUT WAS TOLD THAT SHE WOULD HAVE TO ASSUME ALL REPAIR COSTS AT HER EXPENSE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE APPROXIMATELY WAS 121,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 130,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/26/2010 - SCOTTSBORO, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD F350. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY BEGAN TO SHAKE AND JERK FORWARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE EGR COOLER AND THREE FUEL INJECTORS WERE THE CAUSE FOR THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AT THAT TIME. LATER, THE HIGH OIL PRESSURE PUMP AND OIL COOLER FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS AWAITING FURTHER REPAIRS AT THE TIME OF THE COMPLAINT. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER BUT WAS TOLD THAT SHE WOULD HAVE TO ASSUME ALL REPAIR COSTS AT HER EXPENSE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE APPROXIMATELY WAS 121,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 130,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/25/2010 - SILVERDALE, WA
SINCE NEW VEHICLE PURCHASE, MY FORD F350 DIESEL P/U EXPERIENCED ENGINE SURGING (200-250 RPM) WHILE STOPPED WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION IN DRIVE. THE SURGE WAS SIGNIFICANT ENOUGH TO LURCH THE TRUCK FORWARD WITH THE BRAKE APPLIED, SUCH AS AT A STOPLIGHT. IN SEVERAL CASES, I ALMOST REAR ENDED OTHER VEHICLES BEFORE APPLYING THE BRAKE HARD ENOUGH TO STOP THE TRUCK FROM MOVING FORWARD. I LATER LEARNED TO ANTICIPATE THE SURGE USING THE BRAKES TO MINIMIZE MOVEMENT OF THE TRUCK WHILE STOPPED. MY SURGING PROBLEM WAS CONFIRMED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS BY TECHNICIANS DURING TEST RIDES, BUT THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM IN THE SHOP. IN ALL CASES, THE FIRST STEP WAS TO REFLASH THE ECM WHICH MASKED THE PROBLEM FOR SEVERAL DAYS WHILE THE TRUCK RELEARNED MY DRIVING HABITS AND PREVENTED A DIAGNOSIS. THE ENGINE HAD TO BE OPERATED AT FULL TEMPERATURE IN ROAD CONDITIONS BEFORE THE PROBLEM DEVELOPED. IN THE SHOP, IDLING THE ENGINE TO WARM UP TO NORMAL OPERATING TEMPERATURE WAS NOT SUFFICIENT TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. FORD DEALERS MADE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS (10 OR MORE) TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM: REPLACING INJECTOR CONTROL PRESSURE (ICP) MODULE, EGR VALVE, AND ICP WIRING CONNECTORS TO NO AVAIL. THE PROBLEM WAS FINALLY DIAGNOSED AND CORRECTED, OUT OF WARRANTY AT APPROX. 44,500 MILES, BY REPLACING THE ENGINE WIRING HARNESS. I FOUND A DEALER WHO WAS WILLING TO SEND A TECHNICIAN ON A TEST RIDE WITH ME AND HOOK UP AN ONBOARD COMPUTER LAPTOP THAT IDENTIFIED THE PROBLEM BEFORE REFLASHING THE COMPUTER ECM. A NUMBER OF SURGING COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER OWNERS OF FORD F350 ARE POSTED IN ONLINE FORUMS DOCUMENTING SIMILAR CIRCUMSTANCES AND FRUSTRATION. THE INCIDENT DATE PROVIDED IS THE APPROXIMATE DATE OF THE FIRST OCCURRENCE. IN MY CASE, THE SURGING OCCURRED ON A NEAR DAILY BASIS, ALTHOUGH INTERMITTENTLY, FOR 41000 MILES OF DRIVING WITHOUT ANY RESOLUTION FROM FORD. THE ENGINE WIRING HARNESS WAS REPLACED IN FEB 2009 WHICH CORRECTED THE SURGING IN MY TRUCK. I PAID A $100 DEDUCTIBLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2010 - SILVERDALE, WA
SINCE NEW VEHICLE PURCHASE, MY FORD F350 DIESEL P/U EXPERIENCED ENGINE SURGING (200-250 RPM) WHILE STOPPED WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION IN DRIVE. THE SURGE WAS SIGNIFICANT ENOUGH TO LURCH THE TRUCK FORWARD WITH THE BRAKE APPLIED, SUCH AS AT A STOPLIGHT. IN SEVERAL CASES, I ALMOST REAR ENDED OTHER VEHICLES BEFORE APPLYING THE BRAKE HARD ENOUGH TO STOP THE TRUCK FROM MOVING FORWARD. I LATER LEARNED TO ANTICIPATE THE SURGE USING THE BRAKES TO MINIMIZE MOVEMENT OF THE TRUCK WHILE STOPPED. MY SURGING PROBLEM WAS CONFIRMED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS BY TECHNICIANS DURING TEST RIDES, BUT THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM IN THE SHOP. IN ALL CASES, THE FIRST STEP WAS TO REFLASH THE ECM WHICH MASKED THE PROBLEM FOR SEVERAL DAYS WHILE THE TRUCK RELEARNED MY DRIVING HABITS AND PREVENTED A DIAGNOSIS. THE ENGINE HAD TO BE OPERATED AT FULL TEMPERATURE IN ROAD CONDITIONS BEFORE THE PROBLEM DEVELOPED. IN THE SHOP, IDLING THE ENGINE TO WARM UP TO NORMAL OPERATING TEMPERATURE WAS NOT SUFFICIENT TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. FORD DEALERS MADE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS (10 OR MORE) TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM: REPLACING INJECTOR CONTROL PRESSURE (ICP) MODULE, EGR VALVE, AND ICP WIRING CONNECTORS TO NO AVAIL. THE PROBLEM WAS FINALLY DIAGNOSED AND CORRECTED, OUT OF WARRANTY AT APPROX. 44,500 MILES, BY REPLACING THE ENGINE WIRING HARNESS. I FOUND A DEALER WHO WAS WILLING TO SEND A TECHNICIAN ON A TEST RIDE WITH ME AND HOOK UP AN ONBOARD COMPUTER LAPTOP THAT IDENTIFIED THE PROBLEM BEFORE REFLASHING THE COMPUTER ECM. A NUMBER OF SURGING COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER OWNERS OF FORD F350 ARE POSTED IN ONLINE FORUMS DOCUMENTING SIMILAR CIRCUMSTANCES AND FRUSTRATION. THE INCIDENT DATE PROVIDED IS THE APPROXIMATE DATE OF THE FIRST OCCURRENCE. IN MY CASE, THE SURGING OCCURRED ON A NEAR DAILY BASIS, ALTHOUGH INTERMITTENTLY, FOR 41000 MILES OF DRIVING WITHOUT ANY RESOLUTION FROM FORD. THE ENGINE WIRING HARNESS WAS REPLACED IN FEB 2009 WHICH CORRECTED THE SURGING IN MY TRUCK. I PAID A $100 DEDUCTIBLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: DIESEL

1/15/2010 - ELGIN, TX
2004 F350 DIESEL 6.0 ,EGR COOLER WENT OUT. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HWY WHEN THIS OCCURED. CLOUDS OF SMOKE WENT OUT THE TAILPIPE, ENGINE OVERHEATING STRANDING ME IN THE CENTER LANE STOPPED BEFORE I COULD GET OVER TO THE SHOULDER. PASSERBY'S HELP ME PUSH MY TRUCK OFF A BUSY HWY. SMOKE WAS SO THICK I COULDNT NOR COULD OTHER DRIVERS SEE AROUND ME. FORD HAS HAD NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS ENGINE AND PART,BUT HAVE FAILED TO RESPOND,OR THEY WAITING FOR A DEATH TO OCCUR. THE INTERNET IS FULL OF COMPLAINTS FOR THE EXACT SAME THING. LETTERS TO FORD MOTOR CO. AND MY LOCAL DEALER LEIF JOHNSON FORD WERE UNSUCCESSFUL. I'M NOT ABLE TO PAY THE ALMOST $3000 THE DEALER WANTS TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT ON FORD'S PART. VERY FUSTRATED AS I HAVE A EXPENSIVE TRUCK JUST PARKED FOR SEVERAL MONTHS IN MY DRIVEWAY. UPDATED 2/17/10 UPDATED 02/22/10

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds