Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 290 complaints filed for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (25) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Seat Belts (8) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (2) Structure (12) Visibility (6)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (71) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (4) Wheels (6)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/1/2019 - ORLANDO, FL
THE VEHICLE KEEPS WON'T START AFTER PUMPING GAS. IT TAKES AWHILE, AND STALLS. EVEN STALLED WHILE DRIVING, WHICH TERRIFIES ME. I DON'T WANT TO BE OUT ON THE HIGHWAY POSSIBLY RISKING AN ACCIDENT. I WENT TO PEPBOYS AND SPENT $1800 ON TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS, AND ITS STILL DOING THE SAME THING. IT HAPPENED MORE THAN ONCE, AND CONTINUES TO HAPPEN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/13/2019 - EAGAN, MN
THIS WAS COVERED BY HYUNDIA RECALL CAMPAIGN 124. I FILLED UNDER CASE # 9878948. SPRING REPAIR 2/12/14, SOLD CAR 4/5/14, RECALL 2/4/15. THEY ONLY WOULD PAY FOR $318 OF THE $917 TOTAL REPAIR AND SAID IT HAS TO GO TO A HYUNDIA DEALERSHIP. THEY REFUSED TO PAY FOR THE SENSERS, STRUT MOUNTS , SWAY BAR LINK ETC PER THE INVOICE. I CONTACTED THE PERSON I SOLD IT TO AND MADE A DEALER APPMT BUT THEY DIDN'T SHOW. HYUNDIA CONSUMER AFFAIRS 800-633-5151 TOLD ME TO FILE A DISPUTE WITH BBB AUTOLINE WHICH I DID UNDER CASE # HYU1713624. THEY NEVER RESPONDED. BBB AUTOLINE NOW SAYS THAT THEY DON'T HANDLE RECALLS DISPUTES BUT YOU DO. I JUST TALKED TO THEM AND THEY REFERRED ME TO YOU. WITHOUT EVER TALKING TO ME, WHILE I WAS TRYING TO GET THE CAR INTO A DEALER AND WAITING FOR THE BBB AUTOLINE RESPONSE HYUNDIA CLOSED OUT THE CASE. IRONICALLY HYUNDIA WOULD HAVE REPLACED BOTH SPRINGS WITH OEM, ALL OTHER DAMAGED PARTS AND ANY DAMAGED TIRES PER THEIR RECALL. IT WOULD HAVE COST THEM 2X AS MUCH AS THE $917. THEY WOULDN'T EVEN CALL MY MECHANIC WHO THE LOCAL HYUNDIA DEALER ACKNOWLEDGED AS REPUTABLE. IN OUR CASE, THE BROKEN SPRING BENT THE STRUT, DAMAGED THE SWAY BAR AND TORE THE ABS SENSOR WIRE. THE LANGUAGE IN THE RECALL INFORMATION ACTUALLY CALLS FOR THE DEALER TO REPLACE INSTALLED NON-OEM STRUTS WITH OEM STRUTS SO THE NEW BRACKET WILL FIT PROPERLY. GIVEN THIS, I AM SURPRISED THAT YOU CHOSE NOT TO PAY FOR THE COST OF THE ONE STRUT AND MOUNT ($62.1 6 +$135.88) & REPAIR ($37.20) AND THE SPRING REPAIR ($37.20). LIKEWISE HYUNDIA CHOSE NOT TO PAY FOR THE DAMAGED ABS SENSOR ($175.94) AND ITS REPAIR ($55.80). IN MINNESOTA, LIKE MOST STATES, PARTS ARE SUBJECT TO SALES TAX OF 7.125%. IN THIS CASE IT ADDED UP TO ($45.25) WHICH HYUNDIA CHOSE NOT TO PAY. LIKEWISE HYUNDIA CHOOSE NOT TO PAY THE SHOP SUPPLIES ($13.18) AND THE ENVIRONMENTAL FEE ($4.93) WHICH ARE PRETTY TYPICAL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/28/2018 - UTICA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS UNDERGOING AN ALIGNMENT, THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT COIL SPRINGS WERE RUSTED, FRACTURED, AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IN ADDITION, THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE, AND THE VEHICLE WAS UNSTABLE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT HAD TO CAUTIOUSLY APPLY THE BRAKE PEDAL AND, AT TIMES, DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL WITH FORCE TO ENSURE THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION) AND 04V131000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC); HOWEVER, THE MANUFACTURER ISSUED THREE TSBS FOR THE BRAKES AND THREE TSBS FOR THE SUSPENSION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/28/2018 - UTICA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS UNDERGOING AN ALIGNMENT, THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT COIL SPRINGS WERE RUSTED, FRACTURED, AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IN ADDITION, THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE, AND THE VEHICLE WAS UNSTABLE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT HAD TO CAUTIOUSLY APPLY THE BRAKE PEDAL AND, AT TIMES, DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL WITH FORCE TO ENSURE THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION) AND 04V131000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC); HOWEVER, THE MANUFACTURER ISSUED THREE TSBS FOR THE BRAKES AND THREE TSBS FOR THE SUSPENSION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/20/2018 - UTICA, NY
WELL MY VEHICLE HAS EXPERIENCED THE ABS ISSUE THAT HAS BEEN RECALLED ON OTHER 04 SANTA FES AS WELL AS THE CORROSION FROM ROAD SALT TO THE COIL SPRINGS. THEY ARE CORRODED AND HAVE COMPLETELY SNAPPED. MY CAR IS WITHIN THE YEARS AND MODEL FOR THOSE RECALLS BUT IT IS NOT INCLUDED IN THAT RECALL,BUT I MY VEHICLE IS HAVING THOSE EXACT ISSUES ADDRESSED IN THE RECALL

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/20/2018 - UTICA, NY
WELL MY VEHICLE HAS EXPERIENCED THE ABS ISSUE THAT HAS BEEN RECALLED ON OTHER 04 SANTA FES AS WELL AS THE CORROSION FROM ROAD SALT TO THE COIL SPRINGS. THEY ARE CORRODED AND HAVE COMPLETELY SNAPPED. MY CAR IS WITHIN THE YEARS AND MODEL FOR THOSE RECALLS BUT IT IS NOT INCLUDED IN THAT RECALL,BUT I MY VEHICLE IS HAVING THOSE EXACT ISSUES ADDRESSED IN THE RECALL

View Details

STEERING

5/24/2018 - GLENN HEIGHTS, TX
MY STEERING WHEEL STOPPED WORKING ONE DAY WHILE ON THE FREEWAY(IN MOTION). I TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC, THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM NOT EVEN A WEEK LATER IT STARTED TO MESS UP AGAIN. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

5/12/2018 - VALPARAISO, IN
2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE 2.7 LITER ENGINE, HIGH IDLES AT 3,000 RPM ON START UP AND NEVER GOES DOWN EVEN WHEN ENGINE REACHES NORMAL OPERATING TEMPERATURE, AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION NOT EVEN ACTING RIGHT SINCE THIS PROBLEM STARTED, THIS IS A HAZARD AND CAN CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THE CAR SHOWS NO ENGINE CODES, OR TRANSMISSION CODES, IT HAS HAD LOWER INTAKE, UPPER INTAKE GASKETS CHANGED, IAC MOTOR CHANGED, THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR CHANGED, TEMPERATURE SENSOR CHANGED, CLEANED THROTTLE BODY BORE WHERE THROTTLE PLATE CLOSES, CHANGED VACUUM HOSES, MADE SURE THROTTLE CABLE AND CRUISE CONTROL CABLE WERE BINDING OR HOLDING THROTTLE OPEN, AND NONE OFF THESE THINGS HAVE HELPED. I HAVE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS OF THIS PROBLEM, MANY ACCIDENTS THAT HAVE OCCURRED BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM, AND HAVE READ A FORUM THAT SAID HYUNDAI DOES NOT HAVE A FAIL SAFE MODE BUILT INTO THERE COMPUTERS LIKE MOST CARS DO SO THIS KIND OF SITUATION DOES NOT OCCUR. VEHICLE STILL NOT FIXED, AND HYUNDAI NEEDS TO RECALL THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THERE ARE ANY FATALITIES FROM NEGLECT OF A KNOWN PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/12/2018 - VALPARAISO, IN
2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE 2.7 LITER ENGINE, HIGH IDLES AT 3,000 RPM ON START UP AND NEVER GOES DOWN EVEN WHEN ENGINE REACHES NORMAL OPERATING TEMPERATURE, AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION NOT EVEN ACTING RIGHT SINCE THIS PROBLEM STARTED, THIS IS A HAZARD AND CAN CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THE CAR SHOWS NO ENGINE CODES, OR TRANSMISSION CODES, IT HAS HAD LOWER INTAKE, UPPER INTAKE GASKETS CHANGED, IAC MOTOR CHANGED, THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR CHANGED, TEMPERATURE SENSOR CHANGED, CLEANED THROTTLE BODY BORE WHERE THROTTLE PLATE CLOSES, CHANGED VACUUM HOSES, MADE SURE THROTTLE CABLE AND CRUISE CONTROL CABLE WERE BINDING OR HOLDING THROTTLE OPEN, AND NONE OFF THESE THINGS HAVE HELPED. I HAVE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS OF THIS PROBLEM, MANY ACCIDENTS THAT HAVE OCCURRED BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM, AND HAVE READ A FORUM THAT SAID HYUNDAI DOES NOT HAVE A FAIL SAFE MODE BUILT INTO THERE COMPUTERS LIKE MOST CARS DO SO THIS KIND OF SITUATION DOES NOT OCCUR. VEHICLE STILL NOT FIXED, AND HYUNDAI NEEDS TO RECALL THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THERE ARE ANY FATALITIES FROM NEGLECT OF A KNOWN PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/12/2018 - VALPARAISO, IN
2004 HYUNDAI SANTA FE 2.7 LITER ENGINE, HIGH IDLES AT 3,000 RPM ON START UP AND NEVER GOES DOWN EVEN WHEN ENGINE REACHES NORMAL OPERATING TEMPERATURE, AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION NOT EVEN ACTING RIGHT SINCE THIS PROBLEM STARTED, THIS IS A HAZARD AND CAN CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THE CAR SHOWS NO ENGINE CODES, OR TRANSMISSION CODES, IT HAS HAD LOWER INTAKE, UPPER INTAKE GASKETS CHANGED, IAC MOTOR CHANGED, THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR CHANGED, TEMPERATURE SENSOR CHANGED, CLEANED THROTTLE BODY BORE WHERE THROTTLE PLATE CLOSES, CHANGED VACUUM HOSES, MADE SURE THROTTLE CABLE AND CRUISE CONTROL CABLE WERE BINDING OR HOLDING THROTTLE OPEN, AND NONE OFF THESE THINGS HAVE HELPED. I HAVE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS OF THIS PROBLEM, MANY ACCIDENTS THAT HAVE OCCURRED BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM, AND HAVE READ A FORUM THAT SAID HYUNDAI DOES NOT HAVE A FAIL SAFE MODE BUILT INTO THERE COMPUTERS LIKE MOST CARS DO SO THIS KIND OF SITUATION DOES NOT OCCUR. VEHICLE STILL NOT FIXED, AND HYUNDAI NEEDS TO RECALL THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THERE ARE ANY FATALITIES FROM NEGLECT OF A KNOWN PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds