Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS RX330 - 2004 LEXUS RX330 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 273 complaints filed for the 2004 LEXUS RX330

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 LEXUS RX330. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 LEXUS RX330, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Equipment (3) Power Train (71) Service Brakes Hydraulic (68) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (6) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (22) Seats (1) Structure (28) Visibility (19)
Engine (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/16/2017 - GRANBURY, TX
MY 2004 LEXUS RX330 IS JUMPING ALL OVER THE ROAD, REPAIR SHOP DIAGNOSTICS SHOW THE RIDE HEIGHT CONTROL AND AIR RIDE STRUTS HAVE FAILED CAUSING AN UNSAFE CONDITION, APPARENTLY LEXUS WAS FULLY AWARE OF THE ISSUE ONLY MAKING THIS MODEL YEAR WITH THE AIR RIDE CONTROL AND KNOWING THE SYSTEM WILL ONLY LAST TEN YEARS BEFORE FAILURE. I GUESS THEY FIGURED AFTER TEN YEARS MOST VEHICLES WOULD HAVE EITHER INSTALLED THE CONVERSION KIT OR HAVE BEEN SOLD FORWARD SO MANY TIMES THAT NEW OWNERS WOULD NOT PURSUE A SAFETY RECALL. AN ENTIRE INDUSTRY HAS BEEN CREATED TO DEAL WITH THE ISSUE RETAILING CONVERSION KITS SO MUCH SO THAT MY TOYOTA REPAIR SHOP HAS SUGGESTED INSTALLING THE CONVERSION KIT WHICH THEY OFFER. MY VEHICLE BOUNCES WHEN NAVIGATING TURNS AND BUMPS, WHILE SITTING STILL THE VEHICLE RAISES AND LOWERS INDEPENDENT OF ANYTHING MANUALLY INITIATED AND SIDE TO SIDE LIFTS AND LOWERS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/16/2017 - GRANBURY, TX
MY 2004 LEXUS RX330 IS JUMPING ALL OVER THE ROAD, REPAIR SHOP DIAGNOSTICS SHOW THE RIDE HEIGHT CONTROL AND AIR RIDE STRUTS HAVE FAILED CAUSING AN UNSAFE CONDITION, APPARENTLY LEXUS WAS FULLY AWARE OF THE ISSUE ONLY MAKING THIS MODEL YEAR WITH THE AIR RIDE CONTROL AND KNOWING THE SYSTEM WILL ONLY LAST TEN YEARS BEFORE FAILURE. I GUESS THEY FIGURED AFTER TEN YEARS MOST VEHICLES WOULD HAVE EITHER INSTALLED THE CONVERSION KIT OR HAVE BEEN SOLD FORWARD SO MANY TIMES THAT NEW OWNERS WOULD NOT PURSUE A SAFETY RECALL. AN ENTIRE INDUSTRY HAS BEEN CREATED TO DEAL WITH THE ISSUE RETAILING CONVERSION KITS SO MUCH SO THAT MY TOYOTA REPAIR SHOP HAS SUGGESTED INSTALLING THE CONVERSION KIT WHICH THEY OFFER. MY VEHICLE BOUNCES WHEN NAVIGATING TURNS AND BUMPS, WHILE SITTING STILL THE VEHICLE RAISES AND LOWERS INDEPENDENT OF ANYTHING MANUALLY INITIATED AND SIDE TO SIDE LIFTS AND LOWERS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/28/2017 - STANTON, CA
THE SERVICE (FOOT) BRAKE IS NOT HOLDING PRESSURE AT A STOP SIGN OR STOP LIGHT WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN DRIVE. EVEN THOUGH FOOT BRAKE IS APPLIED FULLY, VEHICLE TENDS TO MOVE FORWARD AND MAY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT WITH THE CAR/OBJECT IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/15/2017 - LARGO, FL
THE MAIN DASHBOARD IS CRACKED ALL AROUND THE PASSENGER AIRBAG, IGNITION SWITCH, FROM THE DRIVER SIDE ALL THE WAY TO THE PASSENGER SIDE. IT IS GETTING WORSE BY THE MINUTE! IT IS PART OF THE LEXUS WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM AND I HAVE BEEN GETTING THE RUN AROUND FOR TWO YEARS. EACH TIME I CALL, ITS THE SAME OLD STORY: 'NOT ENOUGH DASHBOARDS COMING IN AND THEY ARE BEING REPLACED AS THEY COME IN." I AM NUMBER 452 OUT OF 1400 LEXUS RX'S THAT NEED REPLACEMENT. ITS RIDICULOUS THAT IN 2 YEARS THEY HAVEN'T REPLACED A THIRD OF THE DASHBOARDS??? ITS A SCAM, THEY ARE JUST WAITING PEOPLE OUT UNTIL THEY RUN OUT OF TIME. THOUGH THEY WILL TELL YOU THAT THE WARRANTY PASSES TO ANYONE YOU SELL THE CAR TO BUT WHO IS GOING TO BELIEVE THAT?? THEY'VE WASTED 2 YEARS AND AREN'T EVEN CLOSE TO REPLACING THE DASHBOARDS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/21/2017 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON THE 59 FREEWAY 1/20/17, WHEN I HEARD A LOUD POP, LIKE A ROCK HITTING THE WINDSHIELD. HOWEVER THERE WAS NO DAMAGE, SO I KEPT DRIVING. I HEARD A NOISE WHERE THE SUNROOF IS THIS MORNING (1/21), AND FOUND THAT THE SUNROOF WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED. HOUSTON HAS HAD A LOT OF RAIN AND HAIL THE LAST COUPLE DAYS, BUT I PARK IN A GARAGE, SO MY CAR HASN'T BEEN OUTSIDE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/18/2016 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX330. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS DEFECTIVE AND EXHIBITED FRACTURES NEAR THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG AREA. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT PROVIDE THE REPLACEMENT DASHBOARD; THEREFORE, THEY WERE UNABLE TO PERFORM THE REPLACEMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/18/2016 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX330. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS DEFECTIVE AND EXHIBITED FRACTURES NEAR THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG AREA. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT PROVIDE THE REPLACEMENT DASHBOARD; THEREFORE, THEY WERE UNABLE TO PERFORM THE REPLACEMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/8/2016 - ATLANTIC BEACH, FL
PARENT CO, TOYOTA ISSUED A VOLUNTARY REPLACEMENT OF DASHBOARD DUE TO CRACKED, STICKY, SHINY CONDITION IN WHAT WAS AN OBVIOUS ATTEMPT TO STAVE OFF AN OFFICIAL GOVERNMENT RECALL AND/OR A CLASS ACTION. PARENT CO, TOYOTA IS NOW STALLING BY NOT SUPPLYING THE DEALERS WITH SAID DASHBOARDS THEY PROMISED TO REPLACE. I FIRST BROUGHT THIS ISSUE TO THE ATTENTION OF MY DEALER IN MAY OF 2012. EVEN IF THE DEALER WAS RECEIVING THE DASHBOARDS AT THE RATE OF 2 OR 3 A WEEK AS ORIGINALLY PROMISED, IT WOULD BE ANOTHER FULL YEAR OR MORE BEFORE THEY WOULD REPLACE MINE. AT THIS TIME, THE DEALERS ARE RECEIVING NONE AND NO DASHBOARDS ARE BEING REPLACED. THIS IS NOT JUST A COSMETIC ISSUE, IT'S A SEVERE SAFETY HAZARD. IN THE CASE OF MY DASH, WHICH IS COMPLETELY COVERED WITH CRACKS, IF THE AIRBAG IS DEPLOYED AT 200 MPH THOSE SMALL LITTLE PIECES OF PLASTIC WILL SHRED MY FACE AND THE FACES OF ANYONE RIDING WITH ME INTO HAMBURGER. CONSIDERING THE FACT THAT THE TAKATA AIR BAGS CAN BE DEPLOYED EVEN WHEN THERE ISN'T A ACCIDENT, MAKES IT EVEN A BIGGER HAZARD. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH, THE GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO STEP IN AND ISSUE AN OFFICIAL RECALL AND FORCE TOYOTA TO REPLACE THE DASHBOARDS IMMEDIATELY WITHOUT ANY MORE LEGAL STALL TACTICS. THE VEHICLE IS ESSENTIALLY UNDRIVEABLE IN IT'S PRESENT CONDITION. I HAVE HEALTH CONDITIONS THAT PREVENT ME FROM WORKING AT THIS TIME AND NEED THE VEHICLE TO GET TO MY DOCTORS. I COULDN'T AFFORD TO BUY A NEW VEHICLE EVEN IF THIS ONE WAS IN EXCELLENT TRADE-IN VALUE. IT'S BEEN OVER 4 YEARS FOR ME, LONGER FOR OTHERS AND WILL BE MULTIPLE MORE YEARS AT THIS RATE. I NEED A SAFE VEHICLE TO DRIVE, LIKE THE ONE I WAS PROMISED WHEN I PURCHASED THIS ONE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/8/2016 - ATLANTIC BEACH, FL
PARENT CO, TOYOTA ISSUED A VOLUNTARY REPLACEMENT OF DASHBOARD DUE TO CRACKED, STICKY, SHINY CONDITION IN WHAT WAS AN OBVIOUS ATTEMPT TO STAVE OFF AN OFFICIAL GOVERNMENT RECALL AND/OR A CLASS ACTION. PARENT CO, TOYOTA IS NOW STALLING BY NOT SUPPLYING THE DEALERS WITH SAID DASHBOARDS THEY PROMISED TO REPLACE. I FIRST BROUGHT THIS ISSUE TO THE ATTENTION OF MY DEALER IN MAY OF 2012. EVEN IF THE DEALER WAS RECEIVING THE DASHBOARDS AT THE RATE OF 2 OR 3 A WEEK AS ORIGINALLY PROMISED, IT WOULD BE ANOTHER FULL YEAR OR MORE BEFORE THEY WOULD REPLACE MINE. AT THIS TIME, THE DEALERS ARE RECEIVING NONE AND NO DASHBOARDS ARE BEING REPLACED. THIS IS NOT JUST A COSMETIC ISSUE, IT'S A SEVERE SAFETY HAZARD. IN THE CASE OF MY DASH, WHICH IS COMPLETELY COVERED WITH CRACKS, IF THE AIRBAG IS DEPLOYED AT 200 MPH THOSE SMALL LITTLE PIECES OF PLASTIC WILL SHRED MY FACE AND THE FACES OF ANYONE RIDING WITH ME INTO HAMBURGER. CONSIDERING THE FACT THAT THE TAKATA AIR BAGS CAN BE DEPLOYED EVEN WHEN THERE ISN'T A ACCIDENT, MAKES IT EVEN A BIGGER HAZARD. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH, THE GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO STEP IN AND ISSUE AN OFFICIAL RECALL AND FORCE TOYOTA TO REPLACE THE DASHBOARDS IMMEDIATELY WITHOUT ANY MORE LEGAL STALL TACTICS. THE VEHICLE IS ESSENTIALLY UNDRIVEABLE IN IT'S PRESENT CONDITION. I HAVE HEALTH CONDITIONS THAT PREVENT ME FROM WORKING AT THIS TIME AND NEED THE VEHICLE TO GET TO MY DOCTORS. I COULDN'T AFFORD TO BUY A NEW VEHICLE EVEN IF THIS ONE WAS IN EXCELLENT TRADE-IN VALUE. IT'S BEEN OVER 4 YEARS FOR ME, LONGER FOR OTHERS AND WILL BE MULTIPLE MORE YEARS AT THIS RATE. I NEED A SAFE VEHICLE TO DRIVE, LIKE THE ONE I WAS PROMISED WHEN I PURCHASED THIS ONE.

View Details

WHEELS

8/17/2016 - OTTAWA, NY
SPARE TIRE HOLDER RUSTED AND BROKE FREE WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. FULL SIZE SPARE FELL OFF AND WAS LOST ON HIGHWAY/ROAD. THE FULL SIZE SPARE SITS UNDER THE REAR BODY OF CAR, AS SUCH WHEN THE SECURING SYSTEM FAILED I DID NOT REALIZE THAT AND THE WHEEL HAD DROPPED. THE MISSING WHEEL WASN'T REALIZED UNTIL I EXPERIENCED A FLAT TIRE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds