Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS RX330 - 2004 LEXUS RX330 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 243 complaints filed for the 2004 LEXUS RX330

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 LEXUS RX330. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 LEXUS RX330, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electrical System (6) Exterior Lighting (20) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Visibility (16)
Engine (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (68) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Power Train (69) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/15/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
2004 LEXUS RX330. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO WARRANTY COVERAGE ENHANCEMENT. THE CONSUMER STATED A RADIATOR LEAK WAS DISCOVERED DURING AN OIL CHANGE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE INDICATOR LIGHT, NEVER ILLUMINATED TO ALERT HER THERE WAS A PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM: RADIATOR ASSEMBLY

10/15/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
2004 LEXUS RX330. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO WARRANTY COVERAGE ENHANCEMENT. THE CONSUMER STATED A RADIATOR LEAK WAS DISCOVERED DURING AN OIL CHANGE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE INDICATOR LIGHT, NEVER ILLUMINATED TO ALERT HER THERE WAS A PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/11/2014 - ANNAPOLIS , MD
I OWN A 2004 LEXUS RX 330. AS HAS BEEN WIDELY REPORTED ON THE INTERNET, THE DASHBOARD IN THESE CARS HAS A TENDENCY TO CRACK AND PEAL, PARTICULARLY AROUND THE AREA ABOVE THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. AT THE OUTSET THIS APPEARS TO BE A COSMETIC ISSUE. HOWEVER, WHEN I RECENTLY WENT TO AN AUTO UPHOLSTERY SHOP TO INQUIRE ABOUT REPAIR, THE TECHNICIAN BECAME ALARMED BECAUSE I -- LIKE PRESUMABLY MANY OTHERS -- HAD SOUGHT TO INITIATE A TEMPORARY REPAIR BY PLACING HEAVY-DUTY DUCT TAPE OVER THE CRACKED AREA. THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED ME TO IMMEDIATELY REMOVE THE DUCT TAPE BECAUSE OF HIS CONCERN THAT IT WOULD INTERFERE WITH THE DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIRBAG. THUS, IN THIS INSTANCE, WHILE THE ACTUAL PROBLEM MAY ONLY BE COSMETIC, THE TENDENCY OF CONSUMERS TO SEEK TO TEMPORARILY REPAIR THE ISSUE PARTICULARLY GIVEN THE PROHIBITIVE COST OF DASHBOPARD REPLACEMENT AS A PROPER REPAIR++ CREATES A SITUATION OF GRAVE CONCERN FOR PASSENGER SAFETY. I HAD DRIVEN THE CAR THOUSANDS OF MILES WITH THE DUCT TAPE COVERING THE AIRBAG WITHOUT A THOUGHT TO THE RISK I WAS TAKING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/12/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
I WAS ON THE FEEDER OF THE FREEWAY AND WAS GETTING READY TO ENTER THE FREEWAY ENTRANCE RAMP. I PUSHED ON THE GAS PEDAL TO ACCELERATE, AT THIS TIME THE CAR SPED UP ON ITS OWN BEYOND THE SPEED THAT I WAS ATTEMPTING TO GO. I REMOVED MY FOOT FROM THE PEDAL; HOWEVER THE CAR KEPT ACCELERATING. I PUSHED ON THE BRAKES AND THE CAR KEPT ACCELERATING. I HAD HEARD ABOUT THE FLOOR MAT CAUSING THIS PROBLEM; SO I CHECKED THE GAS PEDAL AND THERE WAS NOTHING NEAR PEDAL. THE FLOOR MAT HAD NOT MOVED EVERYTHING WAS IN PLACE. I PUT MY FOOT UNDER THE GAS PEDAL AND ATTEMPTED TO RAISE THE PEDAL; THIS HAD NO EFFECT ON THE SPEED. I STOMPED ON THE GAS PEDAL A COUPLE OF TIMES AND THE PEDAL THEN STARTED RESPONDING NORMALLY. I TRIED TO RECREATE THE PROBLEM SEVERAL TIMES WITH NO RESPONSE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

9/10/2014 - BAL HARBOUR, FL
OVER THE LAST 2 MONTHS I HAVE NOTICED A DETERIORATION OF THE DASHBOARD AS CRACKS AND PEELING HAVE OCCURRED . THE REST OF THE VEHICLE IS IN FINE CONDITION. I ASSUME THAT THE FLORIDA CLIMATE HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH IT. HOWEVER, I MUST POINT OUT THAT MY VEHICLE IS NORMALLY PARKED IN THE BASEMENT OF A CONDOMINIUM WHERE I HAVE BEEN RESIDING DURING THE ENTIRE PERIOD THAT I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE. I DID CALL THE CUSTOMER RELATIONS DEPT. OF LEXUS AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED AFTER 4 YEARS OR 50,000 MILES. I HAPPENED TO EXAMINE A 1990 MERCEDES BENZ SEDAN AND NOTICED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS COMPLETELY INTACT. I UNDERSTAND FROM MEDIA COVERAGE THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE DASHBOARD'S CONDITION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/10/2014 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
APPROXIMATELY A YEAR AFTER PURCHASING MY 2004 LEXUS RX330 FROM A DEALERSHIP THE DASH BOARD STARTED TO CRACK. EVENTUALLY, IT TRAVELED ACROSS THE ENTIRE DASH BOARD. I CONTACT LEXUS CORPORATE OFFICE TO COMPLAIN. AFTER REFERRING ME TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP TO EXAMINE IT AND TAKE PHOTOS AND WRITE UP THE DAMAGE, THEY LATER TOLD ME IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY WHICH I ALREADY KNEW. HOWEVER, THEY ADMITTED IT WAS DUE TO INFERIOR AND FAULTY MATERIAL LEXUS USED IN 2004 THRU 2006 IN THEIR MODELS AND ALSO TOYOTA DASHBOARDS. THE COST TO REPLACE THE DASH IS $2,500 THIS IS MY 3RD LEXUS SUV BUT IT WILL BE MY LAST! I FEEL LEXUS SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE TO REPLACE THE DASH BOARDS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/3/2014 - ORLANDO , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX330. THE CONTACT STATED THE DASHBOARD HAD DEVELOPED A CRACK AND STARTED TO MELT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DECLINED TO REPAIR OR DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/21/2014 - LEXINGTON, SC
MY ELECTRICAL WIRING HAS A HUGE ISSUE. I AM CONFIDENT THIS HAS TO BE A HAZARD OF SOME KIND! A FEW YEARS AGO I STARTED HAVING ISSUES LOCKING/UNLOCKING MY CAR DOORS WITH THE KEY FOB. ONLY ONE OR TWO DOORS WOULD LOCK/UNLOCK ON COMMAND. AFTER RESEARCH I FOUND THIS TO BE A POSSIBLE ACTUATOR PROBLEM. LEXUS ESTIMATED THE COST TO BE $700/ACTUATOR (PER DOOR). WITHOUT HAVING THE ACTUATORS FIXED JUST YET, A COUPLE OF DAYS PASSED AND I NOTICED MY TAIL LIGHT WENT OUT. THE NEXT DAY A HEADLIGHT WENT OUT. I VISITED OUR LOCAL ADVANCED AUTO WHERE THEY REPLACED MY HEADLIGHT AND ONLY 'WIGGLE' REAR TAILLIGHT RESULTING IN IT TO WORK AGAIN. UPON LEAVING, I NOTICED THAT ALL OF MY DOOR LOCKS WORKED AGAIN! THIS BULB ADJUSTMENT EFFECTED THE OTHER ELECTRICAL ITEMS. MANY MONTHS LATER, I HAVE REPLACED A HANDFUL OF BULBS AND HAD TO 'WIGGLE' TOO MANY BULBS TO COUNT. THIS EXACT ISSUE HAS NOW SUBSIDED BUT I AM STILL SEEING OTHER ELECTRICAL ISSUES THROUGHOUT. RIGHT NOW, MY WINDOW MOTOR GRINDS ON PAST THE WINDOW BEING CLOSED AND MY SUNROOF WILL NOT WORK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/21/2014 - LEXINGTON, SC
MY 2004 LEXUS RX330'S DASHBOARD HAS BEEN CRACKING SINCE THE DAY I PURCHASED IT. THE VEHICLE ORIGINATED IN FLORIDA AND NOW IN SOUTH CAROLINA. THE HEAT AND HUMIDITY HAVE DESTROYED THIS CAR! WHEN I PURCHASED IT USED, THE DASHBOARD HAD A COUPLE OF CRACKS IN IT SO I ASSIDUOUSLY USED A WINDOW SHIELD EVERY SINGLE TIME I GET OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THE TASK IS SUCH A HABIT THAT I EVEN DO THIS UNNECESSARILY AT NIGHT! THE HEAT INSIDE THE CAR STILL COMPLETELY MELTS THE DASH TO NO AVAIL. SOMETIMES WHEN I TURN THE KEY, MY FINGERNAIL WILL ACCIDENTALLY TOUCH THE DASH MATERIAL (IT WRAPS SO IT SURROUNDS THE IGNITION) AND THE MATERIAL WILL COME OFF UNDER MY FINGERNAIL. CRANKING YOUR VEHICLE IS NOT A FORCEFUL ENDEAVOR EITHER, IT IS GENTLE AND I AM VERY CONSCIOUS NOT TO TOUCH THE DASHBOARD MATERIAL BECAUSE OF THIS MELTING ISSUE. ONE WOULD THINK THAT A BRAND SUCH AS LEXUS WOULD BE EMBARRASSED TO HAVE THESE VEHICLES SEEN IN PUBLIC!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/7/2014 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
MY CAR HAS A PROBLEM WITH EXCESS MOISTURE AND CONDENSATION IN THE HEADLIGHT HOUSING. IT HAS CONTINUED TO WORSEN FOR THE PAST SEVERAL YEARS. LEXUS REFUSED TO RECOGNIZE THIS PROBLEM AS ITS RESPONSIBILITY UNTIL DECEMBER, 2013 WHEN IT ISSUED A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT TO ALL LEXUS RX OWNERS THAT HAD THIS PROBLEM. THAT NOTICE INDICATED THAT PARTS WERE BEING MANUFACTURED AND WOULD BE AVAILABLE BY MAY, 2014. MY CAR WAS INSPECTED AND WAS ADVISED THE REPAIR WOULD BE MADE AS SOON AS THE PARTS WERE AVAILABLE. IN EARLY JULY I CONTACTED MY DEALER (CHERRY HILL LEXUS) WHO REFERRED ME TO LEXUS CORPORATE. I WAS ADVISED BY LEXUS CORPORATE THAT PARTS WOULD BE AVAILABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM BY THE END OF JULY. NOW, 8 MONTHS AFTER THE WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT WAS ANNOUNCED, PARTS ARE STILL NOT AVAILABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THE DEALER SAYS CONTACT LEXUS AND LEXUS SAYS CONTACT THE DEALER; THE RUN-A-ROUND IS GETTING A LITTLE OLD. THE SERIOUS NATURE OF THIS PROBLEM WAS RECOGNIZED BY A US FEDERAL JUDGE IN IN HO V. TOYOTA, THE COURT SAID IN THE INSTANT MATTER, THE COURT FINDS THAT PLAINTIFFS SUCCESSFULLY SHOWED THAT THE ALLEGED DEFECT POSED A GENUINE SAFETY RISK BECAUSE A HEADLAMP FLICKERING OR GOING OUT AT NIGHT OR IN INCLEMENT WEATHER COULD PUT THE CAR'S DRIVER IN DANGER. A REASONABLE CONSUMER WOULD CONSIDER THIS RISK MATERIAL BECAUSE OF THE INHERENT RISKS OF PHYSICAL INJURY IN THE EVENT OF A HEADLAMP-RELATED ACCIDENT, OR THE COSTS ASSOCIATED WITH CONTINUALLY REPAIRING PROBLEMATIC HEADLAMPS. LEXUS'S ENHANCED WARRANTY FOLLOWED THE ISSUANCE OF THE COURT'S ABOVE OPINION. MY CAR HAS THE SAME TYPE OF PROBLEM AS DISCUSSED IN THE OPINION. ANY HELP YOU COULD PROVIDE IN HAVING THIS NEEDED REPAIR WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds