Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS RX330 - 2004 LEXUS RX330 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

There are 222 complaints filed for the 2004 LEXUS RX330

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 LEXUS RX330. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 LEXUS RX330, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (18) Seat Belts (2) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (5) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Engine (1) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (5) Visibility (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (69) Service Brakes Hydraulic (68) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/30/2013 - VIRGINIA BEACH , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX 330. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING IN REVERSE, THE POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THE HARMONIC BALANCE PULLEY WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE INCIDENT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/10/2013 - MARIETTA, GA
I WAS RECENTLY GIFTED MY MOTHER'S 2004 LEXUS RX330 AND HAVE BEEN NOTICING FOR SOME TIME NOW AN EXTENSIVELY CRACKED DASHBOARD THAT HAD BEEN GETTING PROGRESSIVELY WORSE FOR THE PAST SEVERAL YEARS. IN ADDITION, THERE ARE SEVERAL STICKY SPOTS ON THE DASH WHICH APPEARS TO BE MELTING MATERIAL. I HAVE SEEN THIS COMPLAINT ONLINE REPEATEDLY FROM OTHER RX330 OWNERS AND WAS WONDERING IF THERE IS A CLASS ACTION SUIT. THERE IS STILL AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE CAR. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALERSHIP IN MIAMI THEY HAVE REFUSED TO COVER THE ENTIRE COST OF REPAIR. THIS IS CLEARLY A MANUFACTURER DEFECT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/16/2013 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
I WAS DRIVING SOUTHBOUND ON THE 405 IN LOS ANGELES. I WAS BEGINNING TO CHANGE LANES AND WAS LOOKING INTO MY DRIVER'S SIDE REAR VIEW MIRROR WHEN I OBSERVED THE MOLDING COME OFF OF THE LEFT REAR QUARTER PANEL WINDOW AND STRIKE THE HOOD AND WINDSHIELD OF THE CAR BEHIND ME. IT OCCURRED TO ME HOW DANGEROUS THIS COULD HAVE BEEN IF A MOTORCYCLIST HAD BEEN FOLLOWING ME. IT COULD HAVE EASILY HIT HIM OR HER DIRECTLY IN THE FACE. IN RESEARCHING THE INTERNET FOR A PRICE ON THE MOLDING, I HAVE SINCE LEARNED A LARGE NUMBER OF RX330 OWNERS HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE. ADDITIONALLY, I HAVE LEARNED THAT LEXUS DOES NOT SELL THE MOLDING SEPARATELY. INSTEAD, THEY SELL THE ENTIRE WINDOW ASSEMBLY, AND I HAVE SEEN POSTINGS OF SOME OWNERS PAYING AS MUCH AS $400.00 TO HAVE A DEALER REPLACE THE WINDOW. THIS ITEM SHOULD NOT BE REGULARLY LAUNCHING ITSELF OFF OF THESE VEHICLES ENDANGERING OTHERS ON THE ROADWAY. LEXUS SHOULD BE RETROFITTING THESE VEHICLES WITH IMPROVED MOUNTING FOR THIS MOLDING INSTEAD OF CHARGING OWNERS FOR THE COMPANY'S MISTAKE. WITH THE NUMBER OF THESE VEHICLES ON THE ROAD, IT SEEMS IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE FOLLOWING ONE OF THESE VEHICLES IS INJURED OR WORSE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: REARVIEW MIRRORS/DEVICES

9/16/2013 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
I WAS DRIVING SOUTHBOUND ON THE 405 IN LOS ANGELES. I WAS BEGINNING TO CHANGE LANES AND WAS LOOKING INTO MY DRIVER'S SIDE REAR VIEW MIRROR WHEN I OBSERVED THE MOLDING COME OFF OF THE LEFT REAR QUARTER PANEL WINDOW AND STRIKE THE HOOD AND WINDSHIELD OF THE CAR BEHIND ME. IT OCCURRED TO ME HOW DANGEROUS THIS COULD HAVE BEEN IF A MOTORCYCLIST HAD BEEN FOLLOWING ME. IT COULD HAVE EASILY HIT HIM OR HER DIRECTLY IN THE FACE. IN RESEARCHING THE INTERNET FOR A PRICE ON THE MOLDING, I HAVE SINCE LEARNED A LARGE NUMBER OF RX330 OWNERS HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE. ADDITIONALLY, I HAVE LEARNED THAT LEXUS DOES NOT SELL THE MOLDING SEPARATELY. INSTEAD, THEY SELL THE ENTIRE WINDOW ASSEMBLY, AND I HAVE SEEN POSTINGS OF SOME OWNERS PAYING AS MUCH AS $400.00 TO HAVE A DEALER REPLACE THE WINDOW. THIS ITEM SHOULD NOT BE REGULARLY LAUNCHING ITSELF OFF OF THESE VEHICLES ENDANGERING OTHERS ON THE ROADWAY. LEXUS SHOULD BE RETROFITTING THESE VEHICLES WITH IMPROVED MOUNTING FOR THIS MOLDING INSTEAD OF CHARGING OWNERS FOR THE COMPANY'S MISTAKE. WITH THE NUMBER OF THESE VEHICLES ON THE ROAD, IT SEEMS IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE FOLLOWING ONE OF THESE VEHICLES IS INJURED OR WORSE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/3/2013 - LEXINGTON PARK, MD
DEFECTS IN HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY CAUSED WATER FROM RAIN TO ACCUMULATE INSIDE THE LAMP, OVERTIME, THE WATER CAUSED THE HI-VOLTAGE UNIT TO SHORT OUT AND THE HEADLAMP IS IN-OPERATIVE (THIS IS FOR THE LOW BEAM HID LIGHTS). REPLACEMENT COST IS $1,800 PER LAMP ASSEMBLY (DEALERS QUOTE). THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE SINCE THE LOW BEAM IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR DRIVING AT NIGHT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/27/2013 - GOSHEN, IN
THIS IS OUR 2ND COMPLAINT REGARDING OUR 2004 RX 330. WE HAVE OWNED IT FOR 8 MONTHS AND HAVE PUT 7K MILES ON IT SINCE PURCHASE, AND IT ONLY HAS 85K NOW. SINCE PURCHASE WE NOTICED THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTING AND JERKING PROBLEMS AT ALL RATES OF SPEED WHEN STARTING/ DRIVING/STOPPING. WE CONTACTED OUR LOCAL LEXUS DEALERSHIP TO ASK IF SOMETHING COULD BE DONE, AND WAS ADVISED THEY COULD CHECK TO SEE IF THE PREVIOUS 1ST OWNER OF VEHICLE HAD EVER "UPGRADED" THE COMPUTER CHIP THAT CONTROLS THE SYSTEM. SO, WE TOOK IT IN AND THEY DETERMINED IT HAD NOT BEEN DONE SO WE PAID THE $100.00 FOR THE UPGRADE. WE HOPED IT HAD SOLVED THE ISSUE, BUT NOW IT IS EVEN WORSE. SEVERAL DAYS AFTER GETTING THE VEHICLE BACK, I WAS ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY GOING 70 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ON AND ACCELERATED TO CHANGE LANES AND PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE. DURING MY ATTEMPT TO PASS WITH MY FOOT ON THE ACCELERATOR, FOR 5 OR 10 SECONDS THE ENGINE/ TRANSMISSION FROZE AND IT WAS LIKE YOU WERE IN NEUTRAL GEAR, IT DID NOTHING, AND FINALLY WITH MY FOOT ALL THE WAY DOWN ON THE ACCELERATOR IT KICKED BACK INTO GEAR AND I WAS ABLE TO PASS THE VEHICLE TO MY SIDE. IF SOMEONE WOULD HAVE BEEN BEHIND ME I'M SURE THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT, AS THE TRUCK WAS IN MOTION BUT NOT ACCELERATING. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID THEY HAD COMPLAINTS AND WERE AWARE OF THE ACCELERATION ISSUE, BUT HAD NO COMPLAINTS ABOUT WHAT HAPPENED WITH IT "FREEZING" LIKE THAT. HE SAID THE TRUCK WILL JUST HAVE TO "LEARN MY DRIVING PATTERN", AND UNLESS TOYOTA DOES A RECALL IT WILL ALWAYS HAVE THESE ISSUES. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED, SOONER THAN LATER AND IT IS JUST NOT A "FLOOR MAT" CLIP FIX. I AM NOW AFRAID TO DRIVE THIS TRUCK SINCE IT'S A TOSS UP AS TO WHEN OR WHERE IT COULD HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/4/2013 - GOSHEN, IN
WE PURCHASED OUR 2004 LEXUS RX330 IN JANUARY 2013 AS THE 2ND OWNER WITH 78K MILES. WE BEGAN TO NOTICE AT LOWER SPEEDS THE TRUCK WILL JERK FORWARD WITH NO WARNING WHEN BEGINNING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP, OR EVEN WHEN DRIVING AT HIGHER SPEEDS ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN MAKING LAND CHANGES OR SLOWING DOWN IN TRAFFIC. WE HAVE A 2001 LEXUS RX 300, AND IT NEVER HAS HAD THIS ISSUE. WE ARE VERY CONCERNED AND THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE, AND WILL BE CONTACTING OUR LOCAL LEXUS DEALERSHIP TO LET THEM KNOW, SO IT CAN BE DOCUMENTED. SINCE READING OTHERS COMPLAINTS, IT SEEMS THAT LEXUS IS NOT STANDING BEHIND THIS ISSUE, WE MAY BE LOOKING TO TRADE IT IN AND GO BACK TO THE HONDA CRV, WHICH HAD NO PROBLEMS AT ALL, WE JUST LIKED THE LUXURY OF THE LEXUS, AND WANTED AN UPGRADE, NOT A VEHICLE THAT CAN CAUSE AN ACCIDENT WITH NO WARNING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/30/2013 - LILBURN, GA
FRONT END COLLISION IN 2004 LEXUS RX 330 WITH 206,000 MILES GOING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH. CAR IS TOTALED PER INSURANCE ADJUSTER. DRIVER AND THREE CHILDREN IN CAR. NO SERIOUS INJURIES. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. HAVE CONTACTED LEXUS AND AM AWAITING ANSWER. CAR HAS BEEN TO DEALERSHIP SEVERAL TIMES SINCE PURCHASED AND NOTHING MENTIONED ABOUT AIRBAG ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/30/2013 - LILBURN, GA
FRONT END COLLISION IN 2004 LEXUS RX 330 WITH 206,000 MILES GOING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH. CAR IS TOTALED PER INSURANCE ADJUSTER. DRIVER AND THREE CHILDREN IN CAR. NO SERIOUS INJURIES. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. HAVE CONTACTED LEXUS AND AM AWAITING ANSWER. CAR HAS BEEN TO DEALERSHIP SEVERAL TIMES SINCE PURCHASED AND NOTHING MENTIONED ABOUT AIRBAG ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/30/2013 - LILBURN, GA
FRONT END COLLISION IN 2004 LEXUS RX 330 WITH 206,000 MILES GOING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH. CAR IS TOTALED PER INSURANCE ADJUSTER. DRIVER AND THREE CHILDREN IN CAR. NO SERIOUS INJURIES. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. HAVE CONTACTED LEXUS AND AM AWAITING ANSWER. CAR HAS BEEN TO DEALERSHIP SEVERAL TIMES SINCE PURCHASED AND NOTHING MENTIONED ABOUT AIRBAG ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds