Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS RX330 - 2004 LEXUS RX330 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 228 complaints filed for the 2004 LEXUS RX330

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 LEXUS RX330. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 LEXUS RX330, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Exterior Lighting (18) Seats (1) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electrical System (5) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (6) Visibility (16)
Engine (1) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (68) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (69) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/23/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
MY STEERING STARTED GETTING STIFF AND MAKING A GRINDING SOUND WITHOUT WARNING. IT WOULD THEN DISAPPEAR AFTER DRIVING FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES. I NOTICED THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLE AT THE 90,000 MARK. I BOUGHT A LEXUS BECAUSE I THOUGHT THE VEHICLE WOULD BE SOLID BUT IT SEEMS LIKE EVERYTHING IS STARTING TO GO. I HAD TO REPLACE THE SUNROOF, AIR CONDITIONING PUMP, RADIATOR AND TRANSMISSION AFTER HITTING 80,000. I DON'T WANT TO PUT ANY MORE $$$ INTO THE CAR AT THIS POINT BECAUSE IT DOESN'T SEEM WORTH. ONE PROBLEM AFTER THE NEXT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/5/2014 - MOUNT PLEASANT, SC
PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG IS COMPROMISED DUE TO THE DASH CRACKING APART. THE CAR IS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION AND HAS BEEN GARAGE KEPT, SO HEAT IS NOT THE ISSUE WITH THE DASH. THE DASH PROBLEM IS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT.

View Details

STEERING

5/30/2014 - SAINT JOHN , IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX330. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY VEERED FROM SIDE TO SIDE, AND ALSO BEGAN SHAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 126,700.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/28/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE AIR SUSPENSION HAS AN EXHAUST VALVE SOLENOID ON THE AIR SUSPENSION COMPRESSOR THAT STOPPED WORKING THAT CAUSES THE SUSPENSION TO FULLY EXTEND UPWARDS. WITH THE SUSPENSION FULLY EXTEND UPWARDS THE RIDE IS HARSH AND STABILITY.OF VEHICLE IS DECREASED. LEXUS WILL ONLY REPLACE THE WHOLE COMPRESSOR, THE QUOTED PRICE FOR PARTS AND LABOR IS $3500.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/16/2014 - MIAMI, FL
THE VEHICLE DASHBOARD HAS EXPERIENCED ABNORMAL CRACKING AND DECOMPOSITION THROUGHOUT. IT STARTED WITH HAIRLINE CRACKS WHICH SPREAD ALL THROUGH THE DASH. SINCE THE DASH STARTED TO TURN STICKY/GUMMY, PIECES OF THE DASH STARTED FALLING OFF NEAR THE ENDS (E.G. WHERE THE DASH MEETS THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT). OF CONCERN IS AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT IN CASE OF AN ACCIDENT. FOR EXAMPLE, SINCE THE DASH HAS BEEN COMPROMISED AND HAS CRACKS, WOULD THE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT CAUSE THE DASH TO SPLINTER AND SHOOT PIECES AT THE CAR'S OCCUPANTS? WOULD THE STICKINESS OF THE DASH CAUSE THE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT TO FAIL SINCE IT CAN STICK TO THE DASH DUE TO IT'S NEWLY ACQUIRED ADHESIVE PROPERTIES? VISIBILITY CONCERNS ARISE DUE TO THE REFLECTIONS OF THE DASH ON THE WINDSHIELD. SINCE THE DASH CAN NO LONGER BE KEPT CLEAN BECAUSE EVERYTHING STICKS TO IT, BOTHERSOME REFLECTIONS ARE CAST ON THE WINDSHIELD DURING CERTAIN LIGHTING CONDITIONS. THE LOCAL LEXUS DEALERSHIP AND LEXUS CORPORATE WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THEY SAID THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AND SINCE MY VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN SERVICED AT THE DEALERSHIP, THEY WOULD NOT PAY TO REPLACE THE DASH; THEY DID OFFER A 25% DISCOUNT FOR THE COST OF THE PARTS. FROM MY RESEARCH, IT APPEARS FAULTY MATERIALS MAY HAVE BEEN USED BY TOYOTA/LEXUS FOR A PERIOD OF SOME YEARS AS THERE ARE MANY REPORTS OF THIS SAME CONDITION HAPPENING TO OTHER OWNERS. SINCE THERE ARE SAFETY CONCERNS INVOLVED, I BELIEVE LEXUS SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE AND REPLACE THE FAULTY DASHBOARDS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/16/2014 - MIAMI, FL
THE VEHICLE DASHBOARD HAS EXPERIENCED ABNORMAL CRACKING AND DECOMPOSITION THROUGHOUT. IT STARTED WITH HAIRLINE CRACKS WHICH SPREAD ALL THROUGH THE DASH. SINCE THE DASH STARTED TO TURN STICKY/GUMMY, PIECES OF THE DASH STARTED FALLING OFF NEAR THE ENDS (E.G. WHERE THE DASH MEETS THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT). OF CONCERN IS AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT IN CASE OF AN ACCIDENT. FOR EXAMPLE, SINCE THE DASH HAS BEEN COMPROMISED AND HAS CRACKS, WOULD THE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT CAUSE THE DASH TO SPLINTER AND SHOOT PIECES AT THE CAR'S OCCUPANTS? WOULD THE STICKINESS OF THE DASH CAUSE THE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT TO FAIL SINCE IT CAN STICK TO THE DASH DUE TO IT'S NEWLY ACQUIRED ADHESIVE PROPERTIES? VISIBILITY CONCERNS ARISE DUE TO THE REFLECTIONS OF THE DASH ON THE WINDSHIELD. SINCE THE DASH CAN NO LONGER BE KEPT CLEAN BECAUSE EVERYTHING STICKS TO IT, BOTHERSOME REFLECTIONS ARE CAST ON THE WINDSHIELD DURING CERTAIN LIGHTING CONDITIONS. THE LOCAL LEXUS DEALERSHIP AND LEXUS CORPORATE WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THEY SAID THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AND SINCE MY VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN SERVICED AT THE DEALERSHIP, THEY WOULD NOT PAY TO REPLACE THE DASH; THEY DID OFFER A 25% DISCOUNT FOR THE COST OF THE PARTS. FROM MY RESEARCH, IT APPEARS FAULTY MATERIALS MAY HAVE BEEN USED BY TOYOTA/LEXUS FOR A PERIOD OF SOME YEARS AS THERE ARE MANY REPORTS OF THIS SAME CONDITION HAPPENING TO OTHER OWNERS. SINCE THERE ARE SAFETY CONCERNS INVOLVED, I BELIEVE LEXUS SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE AND REPLACE THE FAULTY DASHBOARDS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/16/2014 - MIAMI, FL
THE VEHICLE DASHBOARD HAS EXPERIENCED ABNORMAL CRACKING AND DECOMPOSITION THROUGHOUT. IT STARTED WITH HAIRLINE CRACKS WHICH SPREAD ALL THROUGH THE DASH. SINCE THE DASH STARTED TO TURN STICKY/GUMMY, PIECES OF THE DASH STARTED FALLING OFF NEAR THE ENDS (E.G. WHERE THE DASH MEETS THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT). OF CONCERN IS AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT IN CASE OF AN ACCIDENT. FOR EXAMPLE, SINCE THE DASH HAS BEEN COMPROMISED AND HAS CRACKS, WOULD THE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT CAUSE THE DASH TO SPLINTER AND SHOOT PIECES AT THE CAR'S OCCUPANTS? WOULD THE STICKINESS OF THE DASH CAUSE THE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT TO FAIL SINCE IT CAN STICK TO THE DASH DUE TO IT'S NEWLY ACQUIRED ADHESIVE PROPERTIES? VISIBILITY CONCERNS ARISE DUE TO THE REFLECTIONS OF THE DASH ON THE WINDSHIELD. SINCE THE DASH CAN NO LONGER BE KEPT CLEAN BECAUSE EVERYTHING STICKS TO IT, BOTHERSOME REFLECTIONS ARE CAST ON THE WINDSHIELD DURING CERTAIN LIGHTING CONDITIONS. THE LOCAL LEXUS DEALERSHIP AND LEXUS CORPORATE WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THEY SAID THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AND SINCE MY VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN SERVICED AT THE DEALERSHIP, THEY WOULD NOT PAY TO REPLACE THE DASH; THEY DID OFFER A 25% DISCOUNT FOR THE COST OF THE PARTS. FROM MY RESEARCH, IT APPEARS FAULTY MATERIALS MAY HAVE BEEN USED BY TOYOTA/LEXUS FOR A PERIOD OF SOME YEARS AS THERE ARE MANY REPORTS OF THIS SAME CONDITION HAPPENING TO OTHER OWNERS. SINCE THERE ARE SAFETY CONCERNS INVOLVED, I BELIEVE LEXUS SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE AND REPLACE THE FAULTY DASHBOARDS.

View Details

STEERING

12/30/2013 - VIRGINIA BEACH , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX 330. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING IN REVERSE, THE POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THE HARMONIC BALANCE PULLEY WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE INCIDENT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/10/2013 - MARIETTA, GA
I WAS RECENTLY GIFTED MY MOTHER'S 2004 LEXUS RX330 AND HAVE BEEN NOTICING FOR SOME TIME NOW AN EXTENSIVELY CRACKED DASHBOARD THAT HAD BEEN GETTING PROGRESSIVELY WORSE FOR THE PAST SEVERAL YEARS. IN ADDITION, THERE ARE SEVERAL STICKY SPOTS ON THE DASH WHICH APPEARS TO BE MELTING MATERIAL. I HAVE SEEN THIS COMPLAINT ONLINE REPEATEDLY FROM OTHER RX330 OWNERS AND WAS WONDERING IF THERE IS A CLASS ACTION SUIT. THERE IS STILL AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE CAR. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALERSHIP IN MIAMI THEY HAVE REFUSED TO COVER THE ENTIRE COST OF REPAIR. THIS IS CLEARLY A MANUFACTURER DEFECT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/16/2013 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
I WAS DRIVING SOUTHBOUND ON THE 405 IN LOS ANGELES. I WAS BEGINNING TO CHANGE LANES AND WAS LOOKING INTO MY DRIVER'S SIDE REAR VIEW MIRROR WHEN I OBSERVED THE MOLDING COME OFF OF THE LEFT REAR QUARTER PANEL WINDOW AND STRIKE THE HOOD AND WINDSHIELD OF THE CAR BEHIND ME. IT OCCURRED TO ME HOW DANGEROUS THIS COULD HAVE BEEN IF A MOTORCYCLIST HAD BEEN FOLLOWING ME. IT COULD HAVE EASILY HIT HIM OR HER DIRECTLY IN THE FACE. IN RESEARCHING THE INTERNET FOR A PRICE ON THE MOLDING, I HAVE SINCE LEARNED A LARGE NUMBER OF RX330 OWNERS HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE. ADDITIONALLY, I HAVE LEARNED THAT LEXUS DOES NOT SELL THE MOLDING SEPARATELY. INSTEAD, THEY SELL THE ENTIRE WINDOW ASSEMBLY, AND I HAVE SEEN POSTINGS OF SOME OWNERS PAYING AS MUCH AS $400.00 TO HAVE A DEALER REPLACE THE WINDOW. THIS ITEM SHOULD NOT BE REGULARLY LAUNCHING ITSELF OFF OF THESE VEHICLES ENDANGERING OTHERS ON THE ROADWAY. LEXUS SHOULD BE RETROFITTING THESE VEHICLES WITH IMPROVED MOUNTING FOR THIS MOLDING INSTEAD OF CHARGING OWNERS FOR THE COMPANY'S MISTAKE. WITH THE NUMBER OF THESE VEHICLES ON THE ROAD, IT SEEMS IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE FOLLOWING ONE OF THESE VEHICLES IS INJURED OR WORSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds