Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS RX330 - 2004 LEXUS RX330 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 264 complaints filed for the 2004 LEXUS RX330

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 LEXUS RX330. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 LEXUS RX330, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electrical System (6) Exterior Lighting (22) Seats (1) Structure (28) Visibility (19)
Engine (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Power Train (70) Service Brakes Hydraulic (68) Unknown Or Other (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/18/2016 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX330. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS DEFECTIVE AND EXHIBITED FRACTURES NEAR THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG AREA. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT PROVIDE THE REPLACEMENT DASHBOARD; THEREFORE, THEY WERE UNABLE TO PERFORM THE REPLACEMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/18/2016 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX330. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS DEFECTIVE AND EXHIBITED FRACTURES NEAR THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG AREA. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT PROVIDE THE REPLACEMENT DASHBOARD; THEREFORE, THEY WERE UNABLE TO PERFORM THE REPLACEMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/8/2016 - ATLANTIC BEACH, FL
PARENT CO, TOYOTA ISSUED A VOLUNTARY REPLACEMENT OF DASHBOARD DUE TO CRACKED, STICKY, SHINY CONDITION IN WHAT WAS AN OBVIOUS ATTEMPT TO STAVE OFF AN OFFICIAL GOVERNMENT RECALL AND/OR A CLASS ACTION. PARENT CO, TOYOTA IS NOW STALLING BY NOT SUPPLYING THE DEALERS WITH SAID DASHBOARDS THEY PROMISED TO REPLACE. I FIRST BROUGHT THIS ISSUE TO THE ATTENTION OF MY DEALER IN MAY OF 2012. EVEN IF THE DEALER WAS RECEIVING THE DASHBOARDS AT THE RATE OF 2 OR 3 A WEEK AS ORIGINALLY PROMISED, IT WOULD BE ANOTHER FULL YEAR OR MORE BEFORE THEY WOULD REPLACE MINE. AT THIS TIME, THE DEALERS ARE RECEIVING NONE AND NO DASHBOARDS ARE BEING REPLACED. THIS IS NOT JUST A COSMETIC ISSUE, IT'S A SEVERE SAFETY HAZARD. IN THE CASE OF MY DASH, WHICH IS COMPLETELY COVERED WITH CRACKS, IF THE AIRBAG IS DEPLOYED AT 200 MPH THOSE SMALL LITTLE PIECES OF PLASTIC WILL SHRED MY FACE AND THE FACES OF ANYONE RIDING WITH ME INTO HAMBURGER. CONSIDERING THE FACT THAT THE TAKATA AIR BAGS CAN BE DEPLOYED EVEN WHEN THERE ISN'T A ACCIDENT, MAKES IT EVEN A BIGGER HAZARD. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH, THE GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO STEP IN AND ISSUE AN OFFICIAL RECALL AND FORCE TOYOTA TO REPLACE THE DASHBOARDS IMMEDIATELY WITHOUT ANY MORE LEGAL STALL TACTICS. THE VEHICLE IS ESSENTIALLY UNDRIVEABLE IN IT'S PRESENT CONDITION. I HAVE HEALTH CONDITIONS THAT PREVENT ME FROM WORKING AT THIS TIME AND NEED THE VEHICLE TO GET TO MY DOCTORS. I COULDN'T AFFORD TO BUY A NEW VEHICLE EVEN IF THIS ONE WAS IN EXCELLENT TRADE-IN VALUE. IT'S BEEN OVER 4 YEARS FOR ME, LONGER FOR OTHERS AND WILL BE MULTIPLE MORE YEARS AT THIS RATE. I NEED A SAFE VEHICLE TO DRIVE, LIKE THE ONE I WAS PROMISED WHEN I PURCHASED THIS ONE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/8/2016 - ATLANTIC BEACH, FL
PARENT CO, TOYOTA ISSUED A VOLUNTARY REPLACEMENT OF DASHBOARD DUE TO CRACKED, STICKY, SHINY CONDITION IN WHAT WAS AN OBVIOUS ATTEMPT TO STAVE OFF AN OFFICIAL GOVERNMENT RECALL AND/OR A CLASS ACTION. PARENT CO, TOYOTA IS NOW STALLING BY NOT SUPPLYING THE DEALERS WITH SAID DASHBOARDS THEY PROMISED TO REPLACE. I FIRST BROUGHT THIS ISSUE TO THE ATTENTION OF MY DEALER IN MAY OF 2012. EVEN IF THE DEALER WAS RECEIVING THE DASHBOARDS AT THE RATE OF 2 OR 3 A WEEK AS ORIGINALLY PROMISED, IT WOULD BE ANOTHER FULL YEAR OR MORE BEFORE THEY WOULD REPLACE MINE. AT THIS TIME, THE DEALERS ARE RECEIVING NONE AND NO DASHBOARDS ARE BEING REPLACED. THIS IS NOT JUST A COSMETIC ISSUE, IT'S A SEVERE SAFETY HAZARD. IN THE CASE OF MY DASH, WHICH IS COMPLETELY COVERED WITH CRACKS, IF THE AIRBAG IS DEPLOYED AT 200 MPH THOSE SMALL LITTLE PIECES OF PLASTIC WILL SHRED MY FACE AND THE FACES OF ANYONE RIDING WITH ME INTO HAMBURGER. CONSIDERING THE FACT THAT THE TAKATA AIR BAGS CAN BE DEPLOYED EVEN WHEN THERE ISN'T A ACCIDENT, MAKES IT EVEN A BIGGER HAZARD. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH, THE GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO STEP IN AND ISSUE AN OFFICIAL RECALL AND FORCE TOYOTA TO REPLACE THE DASHBOARDS IMMEDIATELY WITHOUT ANY MORE LEGAL STALL TACTICS. THE VEHICLE IS ESSENTIALLY UNDRIVEABLE IN IT'S PRESENT CONDITION. I HAVE HEALTH CONDITIONS THAT PREVENT ME FROM WORKING AT THIS TIME AND NEED THE VEHICLE TO GET TO MY DOCTORS. I COULDN'T AFFORD TO BUY A NEW VEHICLE EVEN IF THIS ONE WAS IN EXCELLENT TRADE-IN VALUE. IT'S BEEN OVER 4 YEARS FOR ME, LONGER FOR OTHERS AND WILL BE MULTIPLE MORE YEARS AT THIS RATE. I NEED A SAFE VEHICLE TO DRIVE, LIKE THE ONE I WAS PROMISED WHEN I PURCHASED THIS ONE.

View Details

WHEELS

8/17/2016 - OTTAWA, NY
SPARE TIRE HOLDER RUSTED AND BROKE FREE WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. FULL SIZE SPARE FELL OFF AND WAS LOST ON HIGHWAY/ROAD. THE FULL SIZE SPARE SITS UNDER THE REAR BODY OF CAR, AS SUCH WHEN THE SECURING SYSTEM FAILED I DID NOT REALIZE THAT AND THE WHEEL HAD DROPPED. THE MISSING WHEEL WASN'T REALIZED UNTIL I EXPERIENCED A FLAT TIRE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/30/2016 - WESTFIELD, MA
MY 2004 LEXUS RX330 WAS STOPPED IN A PARKING LOT WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE ABOUT TO GET READY TO LET A PASSENGER LEAVE THE VEHICLE. THE CAR WAS STATIONARY AND NOT MOVING. WHEN SUDDENLY THE CAR ACCELERATED TO FULL THROTTLE. WITHIN SECONDS THE CAR TOOK OFF AND JUMPED A CURB AND DROVE AT FULL THROTTLE. AS SOON AS I REALIZED WHAT WAS HAPPENING, I THEN PRESSED HARD ON THE BRAKE AND WAS FINALLY ABLE TO STOP THE CAR AFTER IT DROVE ABOUT 50 FT. I WAS IN SHOCK THAT THIS OCCURRED. MY HEAD HAD FLUNG BACK ALONG WITH MY PASSENGER WITH TERRIFIC FORCE. ONCE STOPPED AND I WAS COMPOSED, I DROVE THE CAR OFF THE GRASSY AREA IT WAS NOW ON AND RELUCTANTLY DROVE IT HOME. SOME DEGREE OF NECK PAIN LATER WAS NOTICED. THERE WAS NO FLOOR MAT ISSUE OR ANY NOTICEABLE OBSTRUCTIONS TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. LATER UPON INSPECTION OF THE CAR THERE APPEARED TO BE SOME BODY DAMAGE TO THE CAR. NOT SURE WHERE IT CAME FROM OR IF WE HIT ANYTHING OTHER THEN THE CURB THOUGH. THE CAR ACTED AS THOUGH IT WAS POSSESSED. NEEDLESS TO SAY, I WILL BE LOOKING FOR ANOTHER CAR WITHOUT DRIVE BY WIRE IF THEY STILL EXIST.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/29/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX330. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 11V112000 (VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) AND 10V499000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE REPAIRS WOULD BE COMPLETED WITHIN 4 TO 6 WEEKS. THE CONTACT CALLED FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME AND RECEIVED NO FOLLOW UP RESPONSE FROM THE DEALER. MONTHS LATER, THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/29/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX330. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 11V112000 (VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) AND 10V499000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE REPAIRS WOULD BE COMPLETED WITHIN 4 TO 6 WEEKS. THE CONTACT CALLED FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME AND RECEIVED NO FOLLOW UP RESPONSE FROM THE DEALER. MONTHS LATER, THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/27/2016 - EGG HARBOR, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX330. WHILE BACKING UP THE VEHICLE IN THE DRIVEWAY AT A LOW RATE OF SPEED, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY EXPERIENCED UNINTENDED ACCELERATION AND CRASHED INTO THE GARAGE AND HOUSE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. DURING THE INCIDENT, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO IMMEDIATELY STOP WHILE DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2016 - EGG HARBOR, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 LEXUS RX330. WHILE BACKING UP THE VEHICLE IN THE DRIVEWAY AT A LOW RATE OF SPEED, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY EXPERIENCED UNINTENDED ACCELERATION AND CRASHED INTO THE GARAGE AND HOUSE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. DURING THE INCIDENT, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO IMMEDIATELY STOP WHILE DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds