Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 623 complaints filed for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (73) Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (25)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (49) Service Brakes Hydraulic (55) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (40) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (13) Steering (79) Vehicle Speed Control (240)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (3) Structure (19) Visibility (12)
Engine (24) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (23) Wheels (3)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/25/2013 - JAMAICA, NY
ON MY 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY LE, AT THE EXACT MOMENT I APPLIED THE BRAKES AT IDLE SPEED, THERE WAS AN EXTREMELY LOUD AND HIGH REVOLUTION RACING SOUND. THIS CONDITION WAS EXTREME. I CHANGED GEAR SELECTOR FROM "DRIVE" TO "PARK" AND THERE WAS NO CHANGE IN RACING SOUND OR NOISE LEVEL. HOWEVER, CAR DID NOT SURGE FORWARD AND NO ADDITIONAL BRAKE PRESSURE WAS REQUIRED. I TURNED ENGINE OFF AND CAR RESTARTED NORMALLY. A MECHANIC CHECKED OUT MY CAR AND FOUND NOTHING WRONG. A SIMILAR INCIDENT OCCURRED ABOUT 2-3 MONTHS EARLIER WHILE BACKING UP AT IDLE SPEED. NOT SURE IF IT IS POSSIBLE FOR ENGINE TO DISENGAGE FROM TRANSMISSION, WHICH MIGHT EXPLAIN WHY CAR DID NOT SURGE FORWARD (AND BACKWARD RESPECTIVELY). THIS SAME CAR IN MARCH OF 2010 EXPERIENCED UNINTENDED ACCELERATION (PARKED UNDER A CELL TOWER) WHICH WAS MUCH WORSE THAN DESCRIBED ABOVE-I FILED A COMPLAINT IN 2010 FOR THIS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/21/2013 - HENDERSON , KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 60 MPH WHEN THE ACCELERATOR WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY MOTOR WAS RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000. ...UPDATED 11-18-13

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/18/2013 - WALNUT CREEK, CA
ON I-5, IN THE FAST LANE OUTSIDE PORTLAND, OREGON WITHOUT WARNING THE CAR LOST ALL POWER. I WAS ABLE TO DRIFT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BUT WAS STILL IN TRAFFIC. WHEN I REACHED A REPAIR SHOP THEY DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS A CHIP FAILURE IN THE GAS PEDAL. THIS COULD HAVE HAPPENED ANYWHERE, WITHOUT GAS THE CAR JUST STOPS, AND THE RESULT COULD BE FAR MORE SERIOUS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/18/2013 - WALNUT CREEK, CA
ON I-5, IN THE FAST LANE OUTSIDE PORTLAND, OREGON WITHOUT WARNING THE CAR LOST ALL POWER. I WAS ABLE TO DRIFT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BUT WAS STILL IN TRAFFIC. WHEN I REACHED A REPAIR SHOP THEY DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS A CHIP FAILURE IN THE GAS PEDAL. THIS COULD HAVE HAPPENED ANYWHERE, WITHOUT GAS THE CAR JUST STOPS, AND THE RESULT COULD BE FAR MORE SERIOUS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2013 - BERKELEY HEIGHTS, NJ
AUTOMATIC LOCKS WILL NOT LOCK OR UNLOCK THE BACK PASSENGER DOOR. ALL OTHER DOOR LOCKS OPERATE PROPERLY. CREATES SAFETY ISSUES AS DOOR DOES NO LOCK WHEN SHIFTED INTO DRIVE, THE DRIVER CAN NO LONGER LOCK THE DOORS WHILE IN THE DRIVER SEAT OR USING THE KEY FOB. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS CAR HAS HAD THE SAME ISSUE. LAST TIME, IN 2009, TOYOTA DEALER MADE ALL REPAIRS (~$500).

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/9/2013 - REISTERSTOWN, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND AS A RESULT, THE AIR BAG SEAT ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/7/2013 - BYRNES MILL, MO
THE SEAT BELT FOLDS UNDER THE UPPER SHOULDER AREA OF THE RE-TRACTOR, THUS BINDING IN THE RE-TRACTOR THIS CONDITION CAUSES EITHER THE SEAT BELT UNUSABLE OR FURTHER TIGHTENING CAUSING BREATHING PROBLEMS AND OR POSSIBLE ENTRAPMENT IN THE VEHICLE. TO THIS END, I FEEL THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE. I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH TOYOTA, CASE # [XXX] ON AUG. 07-2013, AFTER WHICH THEY TOLD ME THEY HAD NO SUCH PREVIOUS COMPLAINTS? A GOOGLE SEARCH OR YOUTUBE SEARCH WILL FIND SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF "FOLDING SEAT BELTS RESULTING IN JAMMING". INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/17/2013 - BUCYRUS, OH
THROTTLE BODY FAILURE, ENGINE SHUTS DOWN, WILL RESTART IN LIMP MODE. CORRODED DEFECTIVE THROTTLE BODY. NEW PART ON ORDER FROM TOYOTA. $900 REPAIR. THIS ALSO HAPPENED IN 2007 AN $850 REPAIR. I CALLED TOYOTA IN 2007 AND AGAIN THIS TIME. TOYOTA REFUSES TO PROVIDE NEW THROTTLE BODY OR PAY FOR REPAIR. I ASSERT THIS IS A DESIGN AND SAFETY PROBLEM THAT TOYOTA SHOULD REPAIR OR RECALL AT NO CHARGE. I PURCHASED CAR NEW AND HAVE BEEN A LOYAL TOYOTA CUSTOMER. PURCHASED FOUR NEW TOYOTA CARS SINCE 2002. WHY WOULD I PURCHASE ANOTHER CAR FROM TOYOTA?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/17/2013 - BUCYRUS, OH
THROTTLE BODY FAILURE, ENGINE SHUTS DOWN, WILL RESTART IN LIMP MODE. CORRODED DEFECTIVE THROTTLE BODY. NEW PART ON ORDER FROM TOYOTA. $900 REPAIR. THIS ALSO HAPPENED IN 2007 AN $850 REPAIR. I CALLED TOYOTA IN 2007 AND AGAIN THIS TIME. TOYOTA REFUSES TO PROVIDE NEW THROTTLE BODY OR PAY FOR REPAIR. I ASSERT THIS IS A DESIGN AND SAFETY PROBLEM THAT TOYOTA SHOULD REPAIR OR RECALL AT NO CHARGE. I PURCHASED CAR NEW AND HAVE BEEN A LOYAL TOYOTA CUSTOMER. PURCHASED FOUR NEW TOYOTA CARS SINCE 2002. WHY WOULD I PURCHASE ANOTHER CAR FROM TOYOTA?

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/5/2013 - TROY, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE CONTACT REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. UPON IMPACT, THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER FRONT AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds