Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 623 complaints filed for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (73) Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (25)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (49) Service Brakes Hydraulic (55) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (40) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (13) Steering (79) Vehicle Speed Control (240)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (3) Structure (19) Visibility (12)
Engine (24) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (23) Wheels (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/15/2017 - BOCA RATON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING OUT OF A PARKING LOT, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED UNEXPECTEDLY OVER A CURB AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED (17014133). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 136,700.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/12/2017 - GREENSBORO, NC
THE DESIGN OF THE BRAKE PEDAL BRACKET IS DANGEROUS. IT OVERHANGS THE BRAKE PEDAL. WHEN WEARING A SHOE SIZE GREATER THAN A MEN'S SIZE 10 OR ABOVE, THE TOE OF THE SHOE HITS THE BRACKET ABOVE THE PEDAL INHIBITING THE ABILITY TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL. VERY SCARY. I NOTICED WHEN I CHANGE TO A LARGER SHOE SIZE BECAUSE OF BUNION PAIN AND EXPERIENCED THE FEAR OF APPLYING THE BRAKES BUT NOT MAKING IMMEDIATE CONTACT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH ON 4 LANE ROAD IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. HAD TO CHANGE BACK INTO 9.5 MEN'S SIZE SHOE TO DRIVE THE CAR SAFELY. CHECKED OTHER MODEL CARS AND THEY DO NOT HAVE THIS BEND IN THE BRACKET. ALL ARE BENT BEHIND THE PEDAL NOT OVER THE PEDAL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/12/2017 - GREENSBORO, NC
I HAVE BUNION PAIN THAT REQUIRED ME TO GET LARGER SHOES. WHEN I STARTING WEARING THESE SHOES I NOTICED THAT THE TOE OF THE SHOE WOULD COME IN CONTACT WITH THE BRACKET THAT ATTACHES THE BRAKE PEDAL, INTERFERING WITH ME APPLYING IMMEDIATE PRESSURE TO THE BREAK PEDAL. THE BRACKET IS DESIGNED WITH A BEND THAT OVERHANGS THE TOP OF THE BRAKE PEDAL. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. I SIZE SHOE GREATER THAN A MEN'S SIZE 10 INTERFERES WITH BREAKING. IT ALMOST CAUSED A CRASH. I WAS IN MOTION AND THE TOE OF MY SHOE WOULD BEND BACK ON THIS BRACKET BEFORE MY FOREFOOT WOULD COME PUSH FAR ENOUGH DOWN ON THE PEDAL TO BRAKE. I EXAMINED SEVERAL OTHER CAR MODELS AND NONE OF THEM HAS A BRACKET WITH THIS BEND OVER HANGING THE BRAKE PEDAL. VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/1/2017 - WINSTON SALEM, NC
I HAVE A 2004 TOYOTA SOLARA, DASH IS CRACKED AND STICKY RIGHT WHERE AIRBAG IS. I CALLED TOYOTA AND ASK BECAUSE I WAS TOLD THAT THEY WERE FIXING THIS DEFAULT. I NEVER RECEIVED NOTICE OF THESE FIXES. I CALLED TOYOTA AND THEY REFUSED TO HELP OR ANSWER WHY I NEVER RECEIVED NOTICE OF THESE FIXES. THEY ARE REFUSING ANY HELP. I PURCHASED THIS CAR NEW AND IT HAS LESS THEN A 100,000 MILE. REP VERY RUDE AND REFUSED TO GIVE ME HER NAME AND REFUSED TO GIVE ME HER MANAGER. PLEASE HELP I AM DISABLE AND NEED MY CAR. THEY NEVER SENT ME ANY NOTICE OF FIXING THESE PROBLEMS. CRACK IS SO CLOSE TO WERE AIRBAG IS AND SHE SAID NOT HER PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP!

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2017 - WINSTON SALEM, NC
I HAVE A 2004 TOYOTA SOLARA, DASH IS CRACKED AND STICKY RIGHT WHERE AIRBAG IS. I CALLED TOYOTA AND ASK BECAUSE I WAS TOLD THAT THEY WERE FIXING THIS DEFAULT. I NEVER RECEIVED NOTICE OF THESE FIXES. I CALLED TOYOTA AND THEY REFUSED TO HELP OR ANSWER WHY I NEVER RECEIVED NOTICE OF THESE FIXES. THEY ARE REFUSING ANY HELP. I PURCHASED THIS CAR NEW AND IT HAS LESS THEN A 100,000 MILE. REP VERY RUDE AND REFUSED TO GIVE ME HER NAME AND REFUSED TO GIVE ME HER MANAGER. PLEASE HELP I AM DISABLE AND NEED MY CAR. THEY NEVER SENT ME ANY NOTICE OF FIXING THESE PROBLEMS. CRACK IS SO CLOSE TO WERE AIRBAG IS AND SHE SAID NOT HER PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP!

View Details

ENGINE

6/29/2017 - SHREVEPORT, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. AFTER TAKING THE VEHICLE TO TWO SEPARATE CERTIFIED MECHANICS, IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE GASKET HAD BLOWN AND THE RADIATOR FAILED. THE MECHANICS STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS UNFIT TO DRIVE AND THE CONTACT'S BEST OPTION WAS TO OBTAIN A NEW VEHICLE. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/23/2017 - DUMAS, AR
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. AFTER THE CONTACT PLACED THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A FENCE AND A BUILDING. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT INJURED HER BACK AND UPPER NECK, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT'S NECK INJURY WAS DIAGNOSED AS AN UPPER SPRAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN UNKNOWN LOCAL DEALER WHERE IT WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/23/2017 - DUMAS, AR
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. AFTER THE CONTACT PLACED THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A FENCE AND A BUILDING. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT INJURED HER BACK AND UPPER NECK, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT'S NECK INJURY WAS DIAGNOSED AS AN UPPER SPRAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN UNKNOWN LOCAL DEALER WHERE IT WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/4/2017 - LEWISTON, ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING INTO A PARKING LOT AT 2 MPH, THE VEHICLE'S SPEED RAPIDLY ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT SHIFTED THE GEAR INTO NEUTRAL AND STOPPED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACCELERATOR SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT HAD TO PAY $800 FOR THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000. UPDATED 06/21/17

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/1/2017 - WENATCHEE, WA
BOUGHT CAR WITH 113,000 MILES, IMMEDIATELY NOTICED IT USED OIL BEYOND NORMAL BUT DEALER TOLD ME THAT IT WHAT NORMAL FOR THAT CAR. CONSUMPTION HAS GROWN TO 1.5 QT PER 1400 MILES. ALSO PAINT FROM ROOF, TRUNK AND HOOD STARTED PEELING AROUND 120000 MILES. CAR HAS 195,000 MILES CURENTLY

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds